Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance for Wii
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.2

1558 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun... after awhile.

posted by kainewynd2 (PHOENIX, NY) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This was the first game I played on my Wii after Wii Sports and it is a completely different animal. I went from completely intuitive controls to arcade style movement and strange combos again. If I had sent it back right then as I planned to I would have given it a 3.

However, I played through a few more levels and after that the controls felt much more natural and the storyline became much more fun (depsite horrible over-acting in the voice department... but it is comic based so what do you do...).

Because of this, I give it an 8. The game is a lot of fun once you get into it a little bit, but the voice acting drops it a point as does the time it takes to get into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nicely done!

posted by ZipZip509 (LITTLETON, CO) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

22 out of 27 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game rocks!! The controlls, while different, allow a new way to enjoy this game and it's more than fun to rope a goon with Spiderman and sling him around. Especially if you get to throw him off the side of a building. Ghostrider is patently unfair and super cool - thank you game developers for not nerfing him just because he's not as popular as some of the other heroes in the game. I may be a bit biased though, he's one of my favorites - right up there with Dr. Strange. Who is also patently unfair and more fun than I could have imagined. I suppose that's part of why you have to unlock those two, among others. Now I just need to find some extra Wii-motes so we can play multiplayer. This is going to rock!!

Perhaps the graphics could have been a bit better for a next gen system, but they didn't have a detrimental effect on gameplay, and if they seemed a bit comic bookish... well duh. On the whole, this game is incredibly playable and lots of fun - and really, that's what I play for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

When Marvel tries to market everyone at once...

posted by Mooglewing (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

For starters the game is a fun romp through the marvel universe outside of the X-men portion of the universe. This can also be one of the main problems with the game. In trying to avoid being the sequel to the x-men games it pulls out a lot of obscure villans and even repeats some of them over and over. But, over all they did very the enviroment enough for a repeative game play genre to make it interesting for the most part.

As a story goes this game is what you expect from a comic book game where they take a whole bunch of story arcs for different characters and shoe horn them into a story line. It really turns into a poor mans summer cross over series.

The game play is pretty good, but it is a button masher on a consol with out a lot of buttons. They have moved the special moves away from buttton combos and turned them into special motions with the Wii-mote. This is pulled off with some success but you can't rely on pulling off a specific move in a pinch. Also, there is one mini-game in the story arc relating to a classic piece of gaming that really doesn't work with the Wii-mote.

Over all the most suprising thing about the game was the length. It is really easy to spend atleast 15 hours in just the game play. Also , there are a lot of side missions that can be unlocked after finding in game items. So if you are a completist this could take you awhile.

Lastly, I have to say this is a fun game, but is more or a rental than a buy. Also, I have not tried other versions of this game, but if you have a different consol other than the Wii I would recomend playing it on that other console. This one was defently a after thought rushed to meet launch day for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Needs a control pad

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is not the type of game Nintendo was thinking of when they came up with the Wii-mote/nun-chuck controlls.

For some reason alot of your moves dont seem to be recognized by the system making it difficult to get through tough battles. There really needs to be a regular controller for games like this.

Other than the crippling controlls, the game is the same exact thing as the marvel games before it. Its basically X-Men Legends with more characters.

Like most of the reiews here will tell you, its hardly worth even a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it

posted by trogdor (SAVANNAH, GA) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

There are two real big hindrances to Marvel Ultimate Alliance for the Wii. Number one would have to be the control scheme. While the developers maybe deserve a little credit for trying to take advantage of the Wii's innovative controls, their attempt falls way, way short. The game is a hack and slash dungeon crawler and trying to dispose of enemies by constantly shaking the wiimote in all directions makes your arm feel like its going to fall off half way through the first level. Also the game does a poor job of picking up on the different types of movements it expects, making percise attack types all but impossible. This is definiately a game that I feel is better left to a button mashing control scheme (I really liked the little bit I played on the 360 at my brother's house). The second major flaw is the in game graphics. Textures are really blocky and shadows seem spastic and buggy, and the overall presentation is not what I expected, even from a Wii game.
These two factors caused me to send it back after only playing for an hour or so. While I have heard it is a good game on other consoles, I think it translated very badly to the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

posted by sithgecko (LINCOLN, NE) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Great looking game, its just the camera view keeps adjusting automatically and will spin and spin and spin and spin. Very frustrating. I actually started to feel motion sickness from it.

sithgecko

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A sad port

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A sad port, this game better belongs on other systems. Controls don't feel right, and graphics look poor. It can be hard to know what you are doing half the time.
Also, they advertise that you can 'shoot webs like Spidey'. Well, you can't do that until you earn enough to unlock the skill, and even then, it feels kinda boring.

A port that was only thrown over to the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good despite some graphical downgrades

posted by bukibell (MITCHELL, NE) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a very good game at this point in the wii's life, If you haven't picked this game up and tried it i would highly recommend doing. The control scheme although nontraditional for a hack n' slash is very fun and intuitive, plus if you do not enjoy it you can simply use the a button to attack and only have to use the wii's motion sensibility for special powers. I think that although it may not live up to the titles on other consoles, that if you own a wii you should at least give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocre Alliance?

posted by Rayboyo (PEORIA, IL) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Not bad not good, the graphics and sound are definitely sub par but overall it can be really fun at times....
Its worth trying... If you don't like it send it back... This is gamefly after all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Marvel Ultimate Alliance

posted by Alex12391 (Stella, NC) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 22 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the worse games i have ever played and what makes it worse is that I was so looking forward to it. Graphic are like something that the PSP hacked up. And don't worry your sensor bar is not broken the controls are really that bad. This game is not worth its 50 dollar price tag. I suggest that you get Zelda,Rayman,or Excite Truck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Worth Your Time

posted by Optix73 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Really don't buy or even rent this game unless you absolutely loved the game X-men Legends but graphics suck game play no better and controls PLEASE! Not wad u except but one thing was that lots of characters but besides that nothing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sucks

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

to hard and on the second level on the elavator it wouldent bring me up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I really wanted to like it-try on another platform

posted by HoneyPot (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I loved x men legends on PS2. I really wanted to like this game, I enjoy 4 player co-op games that aren't "party" style (Wii has so many of those).

However, despite my best best desires to really like this game, the wii controls drove me crazy! I could not get over the thrusting, swiping rolling flinging etc it wanted me to do with the controls to fight. I mean the whole game is fighting, flailing around all game long non stop to beat up baddies was not fun. There are buttons you can press, but the only problem is the tutorials never actually go over any of that! They instruct everything using the terrible wii motion controls.

The game needs to be played with a gamecube controller or wii classic (snes) controller.

I'd recommend trying the game out on another platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not rent this game

posted by patdaddy (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

After playing for 10 mins I realized this was just a recycled version of the X-men game from PS2 that came out at least three years ago. The graphics are bad the game play is boring and leads no where. Not much fun even if you are a die hard marvel fan like I am. I give it the worst rating I can think of. Suckie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way better...

posted by superdude9 (COLERAIN, NC) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is kinda like x men legends 3... but with waay better graphics, detail, and more characters!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun... At first....

posted by Erasmus (ELYRIA, OH) Aug 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

It was pretty neat at first. But it was the same thing over and over and over. And when the end was near... Boom. Only took just over 2 /12 hours to beat it.

Way too easy, voice acting was horrible, many glitches, graphics would be good if it was released for the Playstation 1.

The only thing I thought was cool was the bonus unlock features.... And that's 'bout it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Marvel Ultimate Awesomness

posted by okie8733 (PLACERVILLE, CA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

What to say about Marvel Ultimate Alliance? Well, do you all remember the X-Men Legends games? This is that with all new graphics, a whole bunch of Marvel characters, and Wii controls. Ultimate Alliance starts off with you unable to pick your characters, and you have to start with Captain America, Spiderman, Thor, and Wolverine, although you can switch characters at any S.H.I.E.L.D. Extraction points, which is also where you save and load your game.

One other plus is the ability to unlock different costumes. To do this, you either play with a character constantly until you have them all or you complete a comic book mission of that character.

All in all, MUA is a great game which I am sad that I have to trade in. :-(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

If you liked xmen ledgends you will like this the only thing defferent is the charaters you play.

I wanted more but even on the wii the graphics look the same as xmen ledgends.

The controls are good the camera is good and charater selection is good.

Game play is fine some different levals like when you fight arcade was fun you get to play pit fall and some other things.

but all and all its xmen ledgends with more marval charaters to choice from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marvel Ultimate Action

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Ultimate Alliance is one of the best action RPGs out there. It offers a wide variety of playable heroes, good level variety, and an interesting supporting cast. The motion controls, however, aren't very useful. In addition, the Wii version didn't additional heroes and villains like the XBOX 360. Try this game out, though. It has a long and complex story that is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boring at first, fun later

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I have no idea what makes this game boring and not fun to play at first, but what I do know is after you pass the first 2 level's its really fun. At first it kind of seems like the worst game ever made but somehow it gets really good when you get going.

sooo.... Like the other review said if I would have played the first level and sent it back I would of rated it a 3 but it was actually great once you get going.

And for the most fun having more then 1 player makes this game a blast because its up to 4 players on the same screen and it really doesn't bother the game play whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good idea, but hampered by poor execution

posted by BleuNinja (COVINGTON, WA) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is an excellent idea and good plot that just wasn't very well executed. During the couple of times my brother and I played this game, we hit some problems.
First, there's the classic Wii fighting. Your arms will quickly tire after shaking the Wiimote at wave after wave of enemies (I recommend switching to an A attack). Half the time, it won't even recognize your movement.
Second, there's the enemies themselves. You soon will run into Doom-bots armed with laser eyes. Unfortunately, no one in your team (Captain America, Spider-Man, Thor, and Wolverine) has a ranged attack (with the exception of Spider-man, whose fighting is the hardest to control). Therefore, they will cut down your health by the time you get to them and blast you away after you get close. This is even more apparent when you fight Radioactive Man, who constantly fires blast after blast of powerful energy.
Finally, we ran into a serious glitch. The Z button, which when held down normally results in "Block" and "Dodge", inexplicably held its effects the whole time, causing our character to stand still in an odd pose and flip whenever we attempted to move. We were able to partially solve this by holding down B, but it was still an inconvenience. (We checked on Brawl and Z worked fine, so the problem is not with our controller.)
Perhaps this game may be better for more serious and skilled gamers, but this game left these two casual gamers with a sense of disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Marvel Ultimate Alliance

posted by renton7215 (MEDFORD, OR) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I can't say enough about this game! Easy playability, cool superheroes to be. You are able to change their outfits and then upgrade them. You can also upgrade skills. I currently have Wolverine in Astonishing outfit, Thor in classic outfit, Captain America in a WWII outfit, and Colossus in a retro outfit. I had a hard time NOT playing this game for hours on end. You guys are going to have to wait awhile to get it back, unless I just end up buying it. Very worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Kickn Butt time!!

posted by sjdanielek (AVONDALE, AZ) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I like the whle game lots of good moves comliment each hero. You can upgrade all the heros skills change heros in game play. You get certain skills for each hero that are unique. Great game the levels offer something interesting in each one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Since when should Activision ally with Marvel?

posted by Gutzman (CANFIELD, OH) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Answer: Never...

Activision should worry about their vision more then their act. This game is nice, but the graphics make me want to cry, they're like early PS2 graphics.

Controls: It's the Wiimote & Nunchuck combo. Character control is really annoying, same with attacking. You will also be locking on A LOT, because it's really hard to aim.

Game: Game play is fun, pick up to 4 of your favorite Mavel characters, each with their own attacks, some can even fly (go figure :P). Boss battles are fun, but not that hard though. Challenge mode for gamers, and Quiz mode for Die-hard Mavel fans (like my dad). Equip your Heros with items to enhance their fighting. And of course the Multiplayer, fight with your friends to destroy evil. Game gets REALLY boring after you exaust the above.

Overall, great gameplay but Mavel was better of going with EA or THQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CAN'T BUY THIS!!!!!?

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This is the best arrangement of characters EVER! =.... and I can't buy it although it has HIGH availabilty and been out for almost two years....thanks gamefly ...MUST BUY!!! GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse