Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance for PSP Games
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, GBA, Wii, Xbox 360, Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
7.5

522 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I imagined

posted by waynetango (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 23, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 9 rating because I actually played it through till the end. I must admit that I did use the cheats but only for the reason that i wanted to be able to use all the characters and be able to use all their powers. Which i must say really added to the experience. It was exciting to play characters that i read about in the comics as i was a child. This is a game that you need to play but it does take some time getting used to how to change your powers. I can honestly say that i enjoyed playing it just for the fun of being able to play as the THING, Or even better CAPTAIN AMERICA.

Give it a try rent it, play it, just have fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ultamite Alliance Review

posted by mishipsp (EL PASO, TX) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

What they did right
Fit it all into one UMD!
Including 20 playable characters, 4 exclusive to the PSP
Stick to the great X-Men Legends gameply style
Plenty of unlockables to keep you busy

What they did wrong
No Hulk or Punisher
Unstable camera

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game, sure to take up hours of your time.

posted by ColOneil (EUGENE, OR) Mar 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is by far one of the greatest on the psp. Its not with out a few flaws and not everybody will take to this game like i did.

First off if you liked x-men legends then you love this game. it has the same playing style....

choose your team

explore your base between missions

leveling up your characters and more

The story line is brand new and is pretty good, considering there are tons of games hopeing to jump off a surge of popularity and just through out a bad game to make a quick buck.

Now when it comes to compareing this game to its other system counter parts (ps2,360) it realy dose an awsome job. the high res cut sceans are the same quality as the ones ps2 and 360. now the game play has a slightly less sense of quality but not by much.

Now the online play is what realy hurts this game. you start out the level haveing to chose one hero and thats all you have through the whole level. not only that but there is a considerable amount of lag between the pushing of a button and the action takeing place. unless you realy love online play and have a lot of patience i would sugest staying away from the online multiplayer.

the one interesting thing is that you can creat an online account and up load your stats such as most used character and time played ect. and you can track your stats online.

The camera can be kind of a drag because you have no controle over it whats so ever, even though you have a good view most of the time there are a few times where the camera can realy get in the way.

all in all this game is awesome, good graphics, great story line and plenty of action. this game can fill hours apon hours of your time, its perfect for long road trips or just pulling out if you have an unexpected amount of free time, or if you just want to have some fun this game defenatly will not disapoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but.....

posted by holmz45 (JACKSON, TN) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a good game but I grew tired of it quick. Its really cool with all the characters in it but it just got boring. I never finished playing it. I would definitely recommend you rent it. Ive even considered renting it for a different console just to check out the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marvel Ultimate Alliance

posted by Roekyy (JAMAICA, NY) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

great game I rented it and I thought it was ok with alright graphics.All my friends who tried this game ended up buying it.awesome character selection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A comic lovers wet dream.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before anything, let me say I am very much a comic book fan. That said, being able to select from an army of heroes to make my own 4-part-team is awesome. I did this in both XMEN LEGENDS games, but in this one it is a lot more fun because of the diverse selection of playable characters. This game is more or less exactly like XMEN LEGENDS in that you control four heroes at once, and basically complete rpg-dungeon-crawler-missi- ons along the way. The graphics and voice acting are both solid, the wide array of characters is beyond solid, and the fun factor is incredible. This is not just a simple beat-em-up either, a lot of the bosses require strategy, and that is a nice bonus. The only flaw keeping me from giving this a 10 is the fact you do have to squint here and there due to this title being on the psp. Other than that, a flawless videogame. A+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the Best Comic/RPG games ever made

posted by Andyb32378 (GRAHAM, NC) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been disappointed as of late with the quality of comic book adaptations that have come onto the scene of gaming consoles and movies. Recently, I started playing Marvel Alliance and I have to tell you, it was not only true to form of the Marvel Universe, but it was also an RPG that you could play to the end and actually want to play over again immediately. The controls were easy to use, the missions were challenging and interesting, you could mix and match Marvel Heroes like Spiderman and the Fantastic Four, but also some lesser known but great characters like Deadpool (who wisecracks true to form) and Elektra. You pick your team of four superheroes and you can switch them out, keep the same team through all of the missions, whatever your preference is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

depending on your type of games it was ok

posted by steven87 (WINFIELD, KS) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

if u like x-men legends one and two then you will like this game but then again that was the problem because it was to much like those game but over all besides that quirk it was a good game i love the fact that all the heros can join they just need to do that in a different way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MARVEL Ultimate Alliance

posted by smells (CALLICOON CENTER, NY) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

My first experience with this game came when it first came out and I played with my brother on xbox. I liked it, so I bought it for psp, and to this day I have not regretted it. The unlockables are amazing and there are so many characters to choose from. I highly recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of anything associated with MARVEL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

posted by cookies97 (DUDLEY, NC) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

NEED MORE SHEILD PLACE IN THE GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NOT SO GOOD

posted by 777GTHVN (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

The game play is not good at all. Controls are easy to learn and the cut scenes are beautiful. Overall I think this game is for younger audience's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great button-masher and great licensing

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

Regardless of what anyone says about this game having "RPG" elements, I have to say that's rubbish. Yes, you can pick and choose what powers you upgrade. Yes, you can take some side collections quests. It's still a button-mashing beat 'em up. That's not a bad thing, either.

The game is by no means boring if for no other reason than the obscene amounts of Marvel characters and cameos that are in the game. If you're a Marvel comics fan you're doing yourself a grave disservice by not picking this title up.

You have the standard mashing game combo system, leveling logic, and special powers. If your characters can fly in the comics they will also have the ability to fly in the game. Playing as the Silver Surfer and scooting around on your board is ridiculously fun. Combat is simply a matter of deciding if you're going to grapple, punch, or fire off a super power. The combat controls are easy, fluid, and intuitive with NO LAG OR MOVE QUEUES like some masher games.

The villain boss fights are all fantastic and no villain or hero appearance ever strays from character. The story is actually pretty decent from a "didn't see that coming" feel.

All in all a great drooling fan-boy experience for all of us comic nerds. Pick it up. Rent it. Buy it. Whatever. Just play it in some way and enjoy. One of my favorites for the PSP to this date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Can play from the start

posted by jessewh (COLUMBUS, MS) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This is a game you can pop in and start playing. For the PSP there are more special things in the game. I have the game on many systems and on the PSP offers the most without paying extra. You have a hardcore setting and many other ways to play through the game. If you are able to get some friends together this is an awsome game.
This is one of the games which really is not hard, but not always easy. There is not a point in the game which I just got mad and had to set it down. This is one of the games which is just fun to get on and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

didn't like it

posted by jay7928 (LAWRENCEVILLE, IL) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I didn't like this game very much it looked good the characters you could pick was neat have not been a fan of these games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Man It needs all of them

posted by PBandJ (OLNEY, MD) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

Well good story and game play. Camra was ok and not bad yet I wish to play as more people and play the villains even.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A real ultimate

posted by Simoun (CERRITOS, CA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game features a lot of stuff from the Marvel universe. And that's what I like about it. Despite the player building the correct team in this game, it is the individual character that makes this game good. Each playable character has their own specific powers and abilities. Unlike in X-men Legends II (wherein I always had Iceman in my team so that I can get through some puzzles), any team will allow you to finish the game.

The lenght of the game itself is ok, not too long, not too short. There are also comic missions which will allow the player to use a specific character and play (sort of) a comic book episode of that character. It also has tons of unlockables (comic book covers, extra players, etc.) which will keep you playing for more hours. Some of the comic missions actually got me interested in reading the profiles of some characters (Ronin, Captain Marvel, etc.).

One thing I like in the PSP version is the additional playable characters (Ronin, Captain Marvel, Hawkeye, etc.). In my opinion, Ronin has the best power of them all. After unlocking her final super power (echo effect), she can use that to imitate Deadpool's spinning blades and she does not spend any energy on it. So you continue to spin as long as you hold that assigned button, perfect for those tough bosses (Ulik, etc.)

Camera is good for me as well. I actually think that was just perfect as I do not like action/adventure games (in 3rd person) wherein you have to manually move the camera (with the right analog stick) as you move your character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game is about fair

posted by Samson123 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is fair. This is what I think of the game.
Ratings1-10

Graphics-7.2- These graphics are not the best, but I have seen worse.

Game play-3.2- This game play is very bad. I only played it for three min. and it was very bad.

Music-8.0- This music is cool.

Controls-5.9- These controls are complicated at first. But then after a while you know what most of them do.

Overall-4.9-This game you rent if you want. But don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »