Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance for PS3
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

2584 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Marvel Game EVER!!!!

posted by WackyJack (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game, good gameplay, a film-worthy story-line, and of course deadpool's hilarious one-liners!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad, ignore the Gamefly ratings, Rent it!

posted by jmele10 (VACAVILLE, CA) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game isn't bad at all. I was close not to rent it because of the overall rating people have given it but I decided to get it since I'm a Marvel fan and I dont regret it! The game is not a perfect 10, the graphics are not that great but remember this was a PS2 game turned PS3. Gameplay is like the X-Men series. I had fun playing it, storyline was cool and not boring at all like others say. You have to find ways to beat the bosses and maybe that's where gamers got bored since they couldn't think to beat them. If you like anything to do with Marvel or super heros then RENT IT!! But nobody plays it online, I mean this game did come out like 2 years ago. Now with Marvel Alliance 2 coming out soon, I hope to see a lot of improvements, especially graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Real Review

posted by TURockstar (TULSA, OK) Dec 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

A good game and a good time:

Graphics(6): The graphics arent bad, but really arent a step up from the ps2. There is some cool lighting and levels that will definitely catch your eye, but there could be more to it. I'll forgive since it's a launch title.

Control(8): There isnt any real issue with all the game asks you to do. However, the six axis can be a little sensitive when trying to roll.

Fun(7.5 single player, 9 with more than one person): I really enjoyed this game when playing with my friend. There isn't anything to deep or complicated and, depending on your character, you wont do much more than hit one or two buttons over and over again. However, if you like Diablo and games like it, then you will truely enjoy the superhero spin this game has. With unique items and tons of playable characters, as well as many unlockables throughout the game, you will definitely enjoy this game for a couple of weeks. Then, like most Diablo clones, you will either beat it or forget about it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

posted by UltimatCap (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ultmately I found this title to be really fun. Having read many Marvel titles in the past I picked up this game & was pleasantly suprised. Comic book games usually blow but this was fun, not difficult to play & it seemed to get every character right. Not only were the characters done well there were tons of Marvel characters. The story played well with a fairly good pace. I Thought the animations (in game) were good but could have been better. Cut scenes weren't too long & were rendered beautifully. The game has good replay ability (for me anyway).I would recommend this game to any Marvel comics fan or any parent. There's not too much graphic violence, no nudity harsh language. All and all a fun light hearted go around for all age groups.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Apr 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

forget ign play it your self it looks amazing at 1080p better then the xbox360 version i had bolth first a krap box360 elite got rid of it then bought the ps3 got marvel for it its alot more ploished but looks the best at 1080p no frame rate drop at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth a rent.

posted by stinkbert9 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most are are right about the the X-man legends relation but, in my opinion they mainly just upgraded legends. I'm surprised that Blade was in there though.Activision could do better, it was fun remembering Spider man and friends and all those other cheesy shows.This is a must rent or even must buy game abilitys never get old!Different outfits and boosts with it is kinda typical and expected though. I recommend these kind of games for early twenty year olds and teens.I find this better than JLH(Justice League Heroes). GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Marvel game, bad PS3 game

posted by Lyrithe (ALEXANDRIA, LA) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

As far as playing your favorite Hero characters, this game is great and this is the only reason I played it all the way through.

As a PS3 game, this was kind of a disappointment for me. It feels too much like playing a regular PS2 game. Another bad idea was the way the motion sensing feature is used in most areas of the game. Some of the motion sensing is good such as using it to fight a weapon from an enemy or to move something heavy, but whats with shaking the controller to make your powers stronger?

Anyway, in closing if you like playing a game with your favorite heros, this is a good game to play simply for the story etc. But if you are wanting to play a great PS3 game, pick another title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for all who love Marvel

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is worth a once through, Getting to play with four of your friends, each with your own favorite super hero is just incredible. Leveling up your heroes powers is very rewarding and doesn't really get old either. You can pick from just about every major Marvel Comic hero created, all have their own unique powers. The Graphics are the only part of this game that prevents it from getting much higher ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Childhood heros come to life but still feel 2D :(

posted by Vanquisher (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

As button mashing games go this one is probably best of the worst. I think when I was 12 years old I would have loved the game play. Now in my late twenties, the only thing to hold my interest was getting to play comic book characters I’ve known and loved for years. I probably should have played this game for longer than elevn hours but knowing I could just rent another game in a few days made the nagging feeling of boredom set in all the more quickly.

Don’t get me wrong the game looks great and the few places that have puzzles (all be it painfully easy to figure out) can hold one’s attention from time to time. I consider myself a reasonably hard core gamer but this one’s game play is isn’t up to the high-intensity, adrenaline-inducing game play you’d expect from future mega-hit PlayStation 3 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gauntlet meets the Marvel Universe.......

posted by isjtoro77 (PERTH AMBOY, NJ) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you are a HUGE fan of the Marvel Universe & the arcade classic Gauntlet, I guarantee that you will love this game. What makes this game very versatile is the large amount of Marvel characters you are able to play as. You can pick up to 4 heros or make up your favorite team. You can choose the Fantastic 4, Avengers (Capt. America, Iron Man, Thor & Ms. Marvel), 4 members of the X-Men & from what I here on the net you can make other teams...Gotta go & enjoy this game, because I do....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak game!

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was really hoping for more. The game is the same through the entire thing. I played it for a while, hoping that the game would change, but I was let down. Not a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another Super Hero Game With No Soul--Skip It!!

posted by Paul89 (LUTHERVILLE TIMONIUM, MD) Feb 3, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is really boring. You wander around through the maze that they created beating on bad guys. Every so often their is a boss character starting with Scorpion. You have to be desperate to play this game for long. What were they thinking???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love this game

posted by chaos_within89 (APPLETON, WI) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

i use to play this game all the time on ps2 i havnt played it for ever and still love to keep playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

And this game was from 2006???

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Being the huge superhero fan that I am, I had to rent this game ASAP. I had it when it first came out, but I was 12 so I don't remember it at all. Surprisingly the graphics are pretty good. The story is amazing, I really enjoy listening to dialogues and actually paying attention to what's going on. There are plenty of heroes to play as, all good choices.
The controls are nice and smooth as well. The only thing is this is a one-button masher. All you do is press X, except for your special moves you do every so often. Another problem is since this is 2006, trophies were not out yet, and I am a trophy hunter so it kind of feels like there's no point in beating the game. It's just the story that keeps me going. I totally recommend this game to any superhero fan. Can't wait for #2 to ship!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

meh...

posted by Dox (ELLINGTON, CT) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

as a new gameplayer i feel that this game has way to much going on at one time. your essentially playing as four characters and the storyline does not make it that appealing. The graphics are not that great and the online play really does suck. Im dissappointed in this for a marvel game as i have played just about every non-movie marvel game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Alright...

posted by AimiSandra (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is fun, however there has a tendency to be glitches in the game. There are many clipping issues that I had experienced. The game also froze a few times at boss fights for a couple levels, making me have to repeat parts of each level. I got sick of having to replay levels, so I gave up and am sending the game back. Good game, if it runs smoothly. This game does have camera controls, which is a good to have. Other controls are easy to use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by Gkopp86 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game was just a whole lot of terrible. The ONLY ONLY ONLY ONLY good thing about it was the videos. Gameplay and mechanics were beyond awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An ok game

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

I really wanted to like this game because I love Marvel characters,but it just isn't that good.The controls are sort of clunky.The graphics arent that good.The characters are too small,but I dealt with that. I got to the part where you have to use the six axis controller to fight a boss and kept losing over and over and quit in frustration.And i never quit on games.I like the story and the characters though.If they can get the guys who do Final Fantasy or Eternal Sonata to do a Marvel game,it would be great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ultimately nothing Marvelous about this Alliance

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) May 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

I played this game to the 5th level (the one where you are underwater) and at this point I honestly just had to say enough is enough. This game could have been good except for a couple of major flaws. First off, it is very easy to get lost when trying to fight off enemies. What I mean is that your character seems to blend in with your teammates and your enemies alike. It's like one big camouflaged mess. There were actually a few too many times where I was swinging at my teammates instead of the enemy all while the enemy was punching me in the back of the head or something.

Second, I found it very easy to get lost. There were times where I would wander around aimlessly trying to locate the next area. Oh, and also, this game is just downright boring. Maybe it got a little more exciting as the game went on but I wasn't going to stick around to find out. As far as I'm concerned, this is a game that you should avoid. This game was compared to Diablo, well maybe in style but certainly not in substance. I could list a few more faults like the garbage checkpoint system and the poor upgrade menu (oh, I guess I just mentioned them :)but why go into detail. I think you get my point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome yet still missing something.

posted by Antoine111 (MORROW, GA) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Great game, love the storyline and the characters moves. Easy to play, only wished they had more characters. Great story mode and great side stories.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its a pretty decent game but could be better

posted by daredevil9 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The game Marvel Ultimate Alliance is pretty good. The whole story and gameplay is good but the only thing that lacks in this game is the graphics and special moves for each character. I was expecting better detail on the characters and the environment that they were fighting in. The villians that you have to go against are'nt the best i have seen. The special moves for the characters are alright but could be better. They should of been more creative with it. Besides these things the game is great. The selction of heroes are nice including Captain America, Iron Man, Spidey, Thor, all members from fantastic four, my favorite Daredevil and many more. There are 20 characters in this game. This is a game that is worth renting if you like action games. Just ignore the graphics and it will be fun. To me this seemed like a PS2 game. Rent it, its pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Last gen game

posted by clintonk (SAN MARCOS, CA) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game seemed like a waste of PS3's high-end technology. Why bother getting a game like this when there's so many other ones that will put the PS3 to work for you like it should? NOT FUN AT ALL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I hope the sequels better!

posted by Adult38kid (TROY, MI) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Again, this was another game that I wanted to play before the sequel comes out in September. Unfortunately, I had already heard some news about the sequel and some of its features, and I was expecting a game just as good as the second one sounds. When I started playing I noticed that the game is very cartoony, and it looks like it came out of a comic book, (this can be good or bad depending on your view, but I didn't like it) and there are also many glitches. The game is just like a dungeon game where you walk around a giant map killing enemies and a boss or two at the end. Yes, it starts out very well, but after many levels you get sick of it. I had to convince myself to keep playing a couple times and got very close to the end. Unfortunately, I was fighting a boss with 3 people, and couldn't win, so I took a portal back to base. Returning to the level, the elevator was not there, making it so I couldn't get any farther in the game because I had already saved after teleporting back. So the only way to beat the game was TO START ALL OVER AGAIN! This was the last stupid glitch I could take, so I sent it back and was on to my next game. Yes it is cool, and fighting with all my favorite characters (unfortunately the Hulk doesn't make an appearence) but the glitches and repetative gameply made it to much work to beat it. I know Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 will be much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointing

posted by wkendgam3r (LOS ANGELES, CA) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

I played the PSP version of this game all the way through. Thinking it would be much better on PS3, I was so wrong. The graphics weren't all that great, it looked like they just converted the format from PSP to PS3. Although they do not offer some of the characters offered on the PSP version. I would stay away from his game unless you just want a game you can play with your buddies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Spidy Sense is Tingling

posted by Crazyfists (LITTLEROCK, CA) May 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

One of the first games I played with my PS3. It was amazing when I first played it because it was a new system and a new game. Now this is just above average but if you're looking for a super hero game to play around with for a few hours here and there then might as well give this a go around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse