Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance for PS2
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

1550 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game

posted by rocky14 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 30, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Marvel:Ultimate Alliance is basically x-men legends 3, but that's not a bad thing. The fact that you can play a variety of marvel heroes is great. I thought the artwork is much better here as the developers have done away with the cartoony look of the legends games (the big hands, etc).

I really didn't like the fact that they took away a lot of our customization options. We can't put points into body, focus, and strike like we did in XML and we also can only wear one piece of gear, as opposed to 3 in XML. They sort of make up for this by giving us alternate outfits for the heroes as the game progress. Each costume has different upgrades which you can purchase to make the player more powerful. Plus, it's a blast to web-swing as Spider-man in the Scarlet Spider costume.

The gameplay is good and tight, and there were very few drops in framerate when the action got really frantic. The action is the same that we've come to love in XML, with endless waves of enemies coming at us and us wiping them out.

The game takes about 20 hours to finish but you get a lot of extra playing time out of it because of a great addition to the series - multiple endings. There're choices you have to make throughout the game that effect the end and you get a lot of replay value by playing the game again to see the other endings.

Pick this game up if you're looking for a fun action-RPG or if you're looking for an opportunity to finally swing Thor's hammer, fling Captain America's shield, or whip Ghost Rider's chain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Marvel Ultimate Alliance

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

What can be better than getting to make your own team of superheroes to fight crime?Personnaly my deam team is the team of Spiderman, Wolverine, Ghost Rider, and Capain America.The graphics in this game are good and the gameplay is pretty much the same as X-Men Legends games.If your familiar with the Legends games then you won't have a hard time figuring out how to work your team.The biggest dissapointment is that when they said over 140 Marvel characters, I didn't know they ment there were only 20 playable ones.At least you'll be seeing the rest along the story mode,wich is good.Yes Marvel Ultimate Alliance is a fun game to pick up and play,try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game for comic book fans

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you are a huge Marvel fan you must pick up this game. I bought this game the day it came out and beat it before the week ended. Yes this game is short but it is extremely fun and addictive. Watching these characters in action is totaly awesome. the level design is great and so is the story. Pick this game up if you want to have fun this holiday!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Omega's Review of Marvel Ultimate Alliance

posted by OmegaTiger (MCKEESPORT, PA) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game had me hooked from the very first cut scene. And as a fan of Marvel's X-Men: Legends series, I had high expectations for this game. Needless to say they were met and exceeded. This game blows JLA Heroes out of the water. DC you guys need to take a step back and check out this prime example of a Comic Book - Video Game masterpiece.

With unlockable characters, hidden items, and an overwhelming storyline. Marvel Ultimate Alliance delivers action, adventure, and a great gaming experience.

My personal favorites are the great choice of recruitable charcaters and cameo appearances of some of Marvel's top heroes. And the fact that there are multiple costumes for each of your characters.

I rate this game a 10 in the comic book fan scale and a 9 in the gaming scale! Overall this is a five star must have, must rent, or simply must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Comic Fan's Dream

posted by Brohamm (EAGLE MOUNTAIN, UT) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Marvel Ultimate Alliance is truly the comic book fan's dream! With popular characters like Thing, Wolverine, Spiderman, Ironman, Thor and Captain America and less known characters like Ms. Marvel, Deadpool, Elektra and Luke Cage, Ultimate Alliance is the first Marvel game to expand the Marvel universe in such epic proportions.
The main drive to complete the game is to unlock every character possible, like Ghost Rider and Silver Surfer. As you play, you'll unlock classic costumes and new costumes for every hero that just keep adding to the Marvel fans excitement! You also find yourself battling against popular (and even the not so popular) villains from the Marvel comic universe, like Galactus and Dr. Doom.
The game is also driven by its fast-paced and exciting RPG-style brawler gameplay. What truly drives its fighting system is the fact that each hero comes equipped with his or her own special array of techniques and combos to add to the fray. This is clearly why the gameplay is so amazing. If it weren't for its fantastic group of playable characters, Ultimate Alliance wouldn't have much going for it and the gameplay would become monotonous and repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Superhero Game yet...

posted by JH0671 (SUNDOWN, TX) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Marvel:Ultimate Alliance has been a very engaging game. I am normally very skeptical of any superhero game and to date, XMen:Legends was one of the best. However, Alliance takes it to another level. The ability to choose from up to 20 Marvel characters, each with unique his/her own unique powers, adds a lot of variety to the game. I find that if one group of characters isn't succesful in defeating a boss, I use a different combination. I consider myself an average gamer and so far, after playing perhaps 2 hours a day, I am not even 1/2 of the way through. There is a nice rpg format to the title, but the best feature is the overall playability of the game. So far this has been one of the better games released on the PS2. On a side note, there is a weak plot that gets you through from one act to another but it is enough to make the game engaging. I would be suprised and disappointed if this game did not receive accolades from the gaming industry. The graphics were good on the PS2 so should be even better on a next gen system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game!

posted by MrScarface (GLEN OAKS, NY) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pretty good game! full of action.. i would say to rent this! if your a fan of super heroes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Marvel Ultimate Alliance

posted by teegod1 (WESTBURY, NY) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are a superhero fan like i am, it's no different than Justice League. its putting different types of heros with different types of abilities, and making them work together. only difference, is than most of the Marvel Superheroes are mutants. But its still a cool fantasy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

jesse's review of marvel...

posted by jssgrnds (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game looked way better on t.v. but the game play was pretty good but it bugged that it played like avatar for ps2. It kept me busy for a long time but the fact that u played as 4 people at a time was innoying.They so could had made the game way better.I still can't complain the game was still pretty good.still all in all the game was okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best MARVEL game but codes don't work! :(

posted by rockin56 (HOBE SOUND, FL) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was start to get really good until I enter the codes at the place were you pick your team which was were I thought the codes would work after I tried them at the start screen. They just wouldn't work. So I decided to go the hard way. Once again it started to get exciting. Until I got to Asgar. It is like IMPOSSIBLE!!! ........ SPIDER-MAN AND GHOST RIDER RULE!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I expected, but still fun

posted by SRXAgent (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a must for comic book fans. If you're going to play why not play with friends it gets more fun with more friends you have to play with you. It's almost exactly like all of the X-Men Legends games. The 20+ characters they promised you are a sham though.

They all pretty much have the same abilities, a projectile attack, a Sheild Attack, a Stat Boost Attack, and a Non-Unique Speciall Attack that ends with some sort of explosion of powers. The characters you really wanted to play as aren't there, there are only THREE X-Men. Ice Man, Storm and Wolveren. And a bunch of oldbie characters, for die hard marvel fans. I really was looking for more newer characters, like Jean Gray, NightCrawler etc.

Other than lack of real character defination the game is very fun and highly addicting. Grab you some friends and soda's and get together and play this game. You'll enjoy it. I reccomend Cheating to get all the characters though. It's not a game I'd play through twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by boog1e (BRONX, NY) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games i've ever played. the story line is good the characters are good, everything about this game is good. if you like X-men legends you will love this game.

boog1e

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

marvel: ultimate alliance

posted by wolfie1377 (LAYTON, UT) Nov 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very fun, finally legends 3, took 20 minutes with codes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So good its almost perfect

posted by Blackstar (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its about time we get a fun game that two people can play co-op.I'm a big marvel fan and im very pleased at how some of my favorite characters are brought to life.I enjoyed the Justice league game but this game is just better.The biggest surprise for me is how the game is balanced even though the characters are as natural as daredevil or as powerful as the silver surfer.I've had this game for over a week and i still have fun putting teams together(yes i used the code to get all the heroes lol).I gave it 8 stars because sometimes i got lost and it should have had the punisher and the freakin hulk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE

posted by kroger (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GOOD GRAPHICS GOOD STORY LINE THE POWER MOVERS ARE EXCELLENT AS WELL. BETTER THAN THOSE XMEN RPG GAMES. WORTH BUYING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Marvel beats DC again!

posted by DrPepper (BROOMFIELD, CO) Nov 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hah! when I rented both games at the same time, JLA Heroes was in for a day then a week later I finish MUA and send JLA packing before I even got into it. MUA is awesome for comic book fans and even for those who have never picked one up. it brings together the best parts of the x-men games and uses new heroes to tie it together. If you like games then this one is one for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game worth playing

posted by Cloakas (SANTA ROSA, CA) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well I was a skeptic at first. I couldn't see how you could have a superhero RPG but this is just that. It is surprisingly good and is now slotted for one of those rare games I buy. Only real bummer I had with it was it missed several of my favorite X-men. I would have loved to had played gambit, nightcrawler or colossus, though Wolverine fill that slot pretty well so I cant really complain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rip off of Gauntlet

posted by osito214 (DALLAS, TX) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you like the old game of Gauntlet where you have 4 characters who simply run through a set course and whale on random villans, then this is the game for you. I was disappointed, as I had played Gauntlet, a game with a very similar engine, back in the 90's! There is so much more that can be done with Marvel Heroes even on a PS2 platform.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a while, but then monotony sets in

posted by ynot4tony2 (MORRIS, IL) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

As a former comic collector, I picked this game on my past status as a fan.

This is one of those "jump right in and play" games, not requiring a lengthy study of the instruction manual. As is often the problem with such games, it lacks the complexity to be intriguing for very long.

This game reminded me of the Teenage Ninja Mutant Turtles video games (or The Simpsons, or the X-Men arcade game). While such scrolling "beat 'em ups" were great in the late 80's to early 90's, most video game players want a little more than jump/attack/super-attack and a joystick.

The ability to pick a team of various Marvel superheroes, and switch control of team members during missions, allows you to try your hand at playing a large variety of characters.

However, some the the characters' super powers don't don't translate well into such a game control interface.

It's possible the game complexity is geared towards younger or less experienced players, and I'm guessing this game would make an excellent choice for a younger player, particularly a comic book character fan.

But for my tastes, I knew I wouldn't have as much fun playing this scroller/fighter game as I would re-playing some of my own games I've already beat. Hence, I traded this title back to Gamefly after a few hours, and will look for a more challenging, exciting game for next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game

posted by fignewtons (CONCORD, NH) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the best game in the world whats better than ghost rider deafeting arcade and captain america slaying fin fang foo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its just fun

posted by nate3202 (ALTUS, OK) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing this game. I think it was just a fun game to play. I enjoyed the way the multiplayer works.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game but could have had more

posted by darksage (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really love this game but like it was already said its basically legends 3 with a few alternations. I enjoyed and it played really well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's not Marvel LEGENDS for a reason!

posted by Meekus (ROCKLIN, CA) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

UA just doesn't stand up to X-Men Legends I or even II (not a big fan of two). First of all, the game looks like cow dung, and that makes it really hard to get into a game, especially a button-masher like this where you have multiple pieces of dung flying at each other in a prismatic spray. I don't know, maybe it's better on the next-gen systems. The voice acting is atrocious, despite the presence of some good voice actors. But my main beef with UA is it's presentation. I love super-heroes. I love super-heroes when they are somehow grounded in reality (I know it's a stretch but it DOES happen). There was a time that you could count on Marvel to keep one foot in reality with it's stories. Not any more, and now their horrifying comic stories are leaking into their games. XML I and (to a far lesser extent) XML II made you feel like you were playing in the (somewhat) real world. But right off the bat MUA throws you into a cosmic war against...who? Dr. Doom and Loki? There's a team-up for ya! The character selection is also lacking. Yeah sure...there's a bunch of playable characters, but most are Avengers. There are only THREE X-Men! You can't even make an X-Men team! And who? Wolverine, Storm and Iceman! Whoopty-doo!!! And who cares about Dr. freakin' Strange!?! Black freakin' Panther!?! And where's The Hulk? Lame... I've had this game almost a month. I made it to the third act. Am a that bad a gamer? No, I just forgot about this game after Christmas and just found it in my player today. So GOOD-BYE, Marvel Ultimate Alliance! And don't come back!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game launches an EMP of AWESOME!!

posted by bossfyt1 (ROCKPORT, ME) Jan 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dr. Doom creates a brand new Masters of Evil. They unleash several armies at multiple locations, and all hope is lost. But what's this? A new hope on the horizon? YES! It's the Marvel Alliance!!

In this dungeon-crawler, you make your own dream team of superheroes, such as Ghost Rider, Spiderman, Spider-Woman, Iron Man, etc., and bring Dr. Doom's forces a whole new definition of PAIN!!

This game's awesome, but the puzzles during boss battles get a little TOO brain itching. I had to go to the internet and find a walkthrough several times.

Other than that, this game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun, But Lacking None The Less

posted by TheRob (YUMA, AZ) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Being a huge fan of both the X-Men Legends games, I had really high hopes for this game. And while I was pleased with it enough that I'll purchase it in the future, I still feel the game was lacking. They did a good job of changing the mechanics just enough so that it wasn't exactly like the X-Men Legends games, but the roster of heroes needs some help. Face it, there are some heroes in this game who should be replaced with more prominant, and better known heroes, and I feel there needed to be some special unlockable characters to use during a second play through. I really didn't like not having The Hulk or Colosus on the roster. And where is Cable at? What about Punisher? I'm hoping that a sequal to this game comes in the future, and that they increase the number of playable charactes, or at least change a few of them to ones who were not in the first game. Other than that though, this game was very fun, the graphics were cool, and the story was good. All around, a very solid play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse