Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.3

767 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but not wirth 50 $

posted by Ebj800 (CAMERON PARK, CA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game but it was a little too much like the first one the new characters and fusions were fun and were probably the best part of the game. it was too short also I beat it in 7 hrs. the ps3 version is longer and funner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So Spider-Man, Hulk and Iron Man walk into a bar..

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 22, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Many superhero games have plenty of potential that gets lost by the time it becomes a complete game. Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 is one of them.
The game starts off on a good premise, basing itself off the hugely popular Marvel Civil War. It even offers a branching storyline between Anti- and Pro-Registration forces. Additionally, you get 26 well-known (and some relatively unknown) superhumans from the Marvel universe to fight the war.
Then the game kicks in and you realize that they tried to reinvent the wheel and created... a more cumbersome wheel. Overall, the game plays basically the same as Ultimate Alliance or the X-Men-Legends games... or basically any hack-n-slash RPG. The bells and whistles Treyarch add are mostly unnecessary and generally aggravating.
For instance, take the fusion system... please. When you build up your fusion meter (yay, another meter!) you can have two of your heroes combine powers for a super move. Of course, pulling that off requires you to hold the Z button while shaking the Nunchuk and then pointing at the other hero you want to fuse with. And once you pull off said fusion move, you'll probably feel underwhelmed with the results.
Other things just fall short. Hero upgrade and bonus screens are tucked away where it's difficult to find, let alone use, them. The AI of both your enemies and heroes are inconsistent, occasionally pulling off good moves and other times sitting perfectly still waiting to die. And targeting is non-existent with no lock-on or toggling features to speak of.
The game has a decent length, plenty of unlockables and near endless leveling up. Then again, almost every title in the genre features such things.
Ultimate Alliance 2 tries a few new things, but feels very familiar. It just doesn't have anything special that jumps out and grabs you. And it's flaws drag it down in an otherwise saturated genre. It's a nice diversion, but not a memorable one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing here to Marvel at

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 25, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Set in the epic story “Civil War”, Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 has you teaming up with three other Marvel characters (controlled by AI and/or other humans) in your quest to go from point A to point B and beat up a lot of enemies along the way.
But you get a special ability along the way: Fusion. With the right amount of Fusion Energy, you can team up your character with another character on your team to make a fun and powerful attack.
Attacks like Billiard Ball, where one character is inside a huge sphere and rolls it about, demolishing any enemies in the way. There’s Beam Split where one character fires a beam weapon and the other splits it into several smaller beams, taking out several targets.
Some of the Fusion attacks repeat, but I didn’t expect the game makers to come up with hundreds and hundreds of different attacks.
Along the way, your characters will level up and you can either increase their stats yourself or have the AI do it for you. It brings a nice RPG touch to what is basically a button mashing game.
But that’s the biggest problem with this game: It’s just a button masher with good graphics and a few nice features. The story doesn’t interact with the game play very well; I could just toss out the cut scenes without having any effect on the experience.
It’s best that you play the game with three friends; the AI heroes can do stupid things like walk into an minefield or a Kamikaze robot or they wander about like they‘re lost.
As for the content: the game’s main mode lasts between four to five hours - very short for a $50 game. (I know, there are bonus missions, but they don’t add anything new to the mix).
Still, Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 gives out simple button mashing fun, and the Fusion attacks are a nice gimmick. But this is not enough for me to shell out $50. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ultimate allience 1+2

posted by juuhndk (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) May 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i will keep this short. ultimate allience 1+2 is a good rpg. ecspecially for people who think video games have no thinking involved. it is agood game and their are no changes to be made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ultimately Nothing Much 2 Marvel

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Sep 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Though still offering all the superhero fisty cuffs one's to expect from a comic book themed game, the Wii version of Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 took one on the chin in development. Its multi-console companions on the 360 and PS3 mop the floor with this game's graphics. Even UA 2's nearly three year old predecessor has more polish and content than anything this offers.

It's also riddled with glitches. If you don't get caught on one of the rogue corners that roam the game (they come out of nowhere, I tell ya), you'll likely find one of the genus AI's to snag it posthaste. AI players, too, are ridiculously stupid; be prepared to see them walk right past each-other and do nothing. Also be wary of getting knocked into the air not just because it probably hurts a lot, but because you might not fall back down. You'll occasionally find yourself "landing" on top of another character after getting hit into the air. The problem is you can't jump or walk down on your own accord. You'll have to wait to do anything (including throwing punches) until the person or computer below moves.

The hook Marvel put into this game is the new fusion powers. Each character can combine their powers with another to unleashed a devastating attack upon the bad guys. That's all well and good, except how often you'll find the same moves. Each can fuse with another ally, yes, but most the time you'll one find a few generic attacks.

Worst of all, however, is how toned down the skill sets are. Most don't have more than six actual attacks to train when in the first title each had a dozen or so. Most are recycled too; you'll see Spidey's web bullet move on several characters and Hulk's ground pound on most everyone.

This game is a "Stark" contrast of its former self. Moronic AI, overwhelming glitches, and severely withheld gameplay mechanics leave me wishing they would've put a little more time into this project. If you're looking for a good Marvel themed beat'em up, stick to the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wish I didn't rent this

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Framerate and presentation, average. Environments look like Playstation1. Mushy, mushy combat.. Does not even support classic controller. My nephew and I couldn't play together since we have only 1 nunchuk and 1 classic but not 2 nunchuks. Game has barely any use of motion controls. You enable board-clearing teamwork moves by flicking the nunchuk. Occasionally there are events (such as tipping a statue) where you have to move the Wiimote a certain way. That's it. I should have rented the first Marvel Ultimate Alliance since that apparently uses motion control gestures. I thought this would be the same...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need Help

posted by ReginaldCarter (Saint Louis, MO) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The dance three came but Ultimate Alliance 2 did not came yet after 4 days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lacking What Made The First Epic

posted by shiftergs (SAN JACINTO, CA) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game is a sequel to Ultimate Alliance, before that came both X-men Legends 1 and 2. The first Legends was pretty good, but with bad graphics. The second Legends fixed issues from the first, but the first had a better plot. Ultimate Alliance took everything from Legends, put in better graphics, and made it epic. It had a great plot, cool characters to choose from, it was very deep RPG and I loved how you could interact with other characters with voice acting.

Sadly, this sequel lacks all of the above. It felt more of a rushed arcade game. The combat wasn't as fun, sort of repetitive. The camera could barely be rotated and made it hard to see, especially when trees or pillars got in the way. It had a lot of breakable items, but hardly any of them gave money. Speaking of money, there was nothing to spend it on. In the first game, you could buy powerups, armor, skins, but in this one, nothing is offered other than spending the money on more skills which you get anyways by using points you gain when leveling up.

The game did not offer any alternate skins (costumes) for characters, the training missions did not allow you to play as a single character and experience their own adventure, instead players were given a recruit missions which often failed in recruiting the character.

Major disappointments for me was that no matter which side you picked, pro registration or anti, in the end it didn’t matter and the only real difference is a few missions and a few playable character options. My main issue is when speaking to the characters that stand around the base between missions, you couldn’t talk to them and have deep conversations with voice acting. Instead we had no voice acting, and they had nothing good or nothing at all to say.

Overall this game was a major disappointment and I can hope if they make an Ultimate Alliance 3, not only have Nightcrawler, She Hulk, and Gambit playable, but also make it fun again. Make it a RPG, not a arcade fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

marvle ultimate alliance 2

posted by bigmak009 (ZEPHYRHILLS, FL) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

BEST GAME!!! i loved this game and can not stop playing it! how do you change outfits?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME I EVER PLAYED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by paulony_gf (MANASSAS, VA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is the most prefect game for me.A large amount of super heros and villans ,powerful super powers, and hundreds of fousions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect!!!!!!!!

posted by calebgodwin (LILBURN, GA) May 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

This is an awesome game and is perfect for Ultimate Alliance lovers. My favirote game so far. You must rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A good videogame but hard.

posted by spiderman2 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

This a game that is hard but fun and the first level is very hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Avoid. Not worth anyone's time.

posted by ResetPhil (MILPITAS, CA) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

For a moment, forget that this is the 4th installment of the Marvel action-RPG series. This game sucks.

Now, remember that this is the 4th installment of the Marvel action-RPG series. This game REALLY sucks.

This series has taken a HUGE step backwards with MUA2. The story, graphics, presentation, sound, controls are issues throughout the game. The cluttered, chaotic graphics are such a mess, you'll completely lose track of who you're controling or what you're aiming at. The controls are sluggish and often unresponsive.

Even if you're a huge Marvel fan looking to satisfy your fix or curiosity, avoid this game. It isn't worth anyone's time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ultimate alliaance

posted by jacobf (HENDERSON, KY) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

this game is tons of fun. the controlssre easy to use allowing you to enjoy the game fully. Each character has at least four different moves that are special, and they can be performed by pressind a single button. You also can team characters up to do special moves. There are also hundreds of varations on thesemoves between characters,which are also very easy to per form. I would recommend this game for anyone who loves action. There are also extramissions at the end of the game which is a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I loved it! So i rated it ten!

posted by gamemania (MIDDLESEX, NJ) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I love the graphics the villians are medium hard but are still fun. The bosses such as Von Bardas, Electro, and Captain America or Iron Man [matters whos team your on] are hard they take a long time to defeat. There are a amazing amount of heros to chose from they are very easy to control. The best party is GREEN GOBLIN, THING, HULK , AND THOR. It never gets old to pick up a guy and throw him across the screen it is so fun. It is way faster to fly than to walk so chose people that can fly. Some people have telacaneises [most likely girls] at [B] instead of melee attacks. What it does is instead of walking up to a bad guy and pressing [A plus B] you can be far away from a bad guy and press [B] and pick the bad guy up and crash him into another bad guy and kill two! It is complicated the game is very exciting if you die you always want to try again which you would probably would win the next time. But here is a tip PLAY BY YOUR SELF! IT IS SO MUCH HARDER TO PLAY WITH SOME ONE THEY NEVER MOVE WHICH MAKES YOU NOT MOVE. So even know it is a four player game under my rules it is a one player game. It is soooooo! hard to unlock heros so i recomend cheats.

Happy Holidays Gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A big joke

posted by jonreview (TAMPA, FL) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

The camera sucks at all times. It is just plain horrible. There are not many instructions, it just tells you how to do attacks. I spent 30 minutes figuring out how to do 2 player.

Overall: if you think this game is good or awesome like I did, think again.
Don't make the mistake of getting this trashy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok iguess...

posted by shadownite (DALLAS, TX) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

well where to begin. the plot is confusing at times. the game play itself is pretty hard. it took me a while to actually get how to use my power and some of the solo missions are pretty hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Activision, Don't Hire N-Space Ever Again.

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Oct 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

I'm both a huge Marvel Comics fan and a big fan of the first MUA. So I'm outraged by the bad job N-Space did on the game.

Pros
-enjoyable and addictive
-good character variety
-powers for new characters are good
-story is pretty good
-graphics are generally good

Cons
-no alternate costumes
-no quick menu
-no team bonuses
-no character redesigns
-characters from last game hardly get new powers

Rent it, buy it cheap, or buy a different version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE WII IS AWESOME

posted by ASHROCK (MONTEBELLO, CA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

THIS GAME WAS PRETTY FUN, IT TOOK ME ONLY ONE AND A HALF DAYS TO BEET IT, BUT I PLAYED NON STOP.I WOULD RECCOMEND THIS GAME TO ANYONE, IT ALSO MAY HAVE TO DO WITH THE FACT THAT I WAS WAITING FOR THE GAME A LONG TIME. ANYWAY, IT'S GOT FUN CHARECTERS, EXELENT UPGRADES, AND AWESOME LEVELS. MY RATEING IS A 7, BUT IT'S MORE THAN JUST A RATING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not worth it

posted by rubyonyx (PUEBLO, CO) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Don't ever buy this game. I wasted 50$ dollars on it.
First of I would like say that the gameplay is pretty good.But secondly the official website says that every system has 22 different costumes.Hypocrites!!! Their are half as many characters as on xbox and ps3. there isn't even cutscenes as good. The cutscenes are good quality,but there aren't as many cutscenes as the other versions. This game is not worth it. Never buy it for wii unless you are a marvel maniac. The character are good and all but there aren't as many. I mean the attacks are just fine but again the story will likely end in about a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »