Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, PSP Games, PS2, DS
GF Rating
7.1

10204 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The first one was more fun, and here's why...

posted by KyonKreist (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

62 out of 76 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The new Ultimate Alliance sequel is good. The visuals are much improved. However, it is significantly less fun than the first. The reasons for this, in my view, are as follows:

- Generally, it is a much more linear game; the camera angles lead you to where you're supposed to go. The environments are laid out in a more A-to-B style. There are places where you simply cannot go back to where you just were. Throw in the fact that individual character customization has been totally stripped (4 moves each, no accessories; far less strategy) and it's just a beat-em-up game. I felt confined.

- Contrary to what I was led to believe before this game was released, there are no divergent plot lines other than the basic pro- or anti- stance on registration. You make dialogue decisions, but not ACTUAL decisions. Your roster is set as soon as you pick your side, so there's no need whatsoever to recruit or even get along with other characters.

- The roster is not quite as varied or exciting; we get the Fantastic Four, five X-Men, four Thunderbolts, a handful of top-tier Avengers and of course, Spider-Man. Throw in the Hulk and Daredevil because they're popular and there you have it. As an unabashed comic nerd, the combinations to be made here did not excite me nearly as much as in the first game.

- The basic enemies you face through the course of the game are all minor variations on A) a soldier or B) a robot. However, do you remember all the different types of enemies that you fought during the first game? Androids, Vikings, Atlantians, Shi'ar, Skrulls, FROST GIANTS and so on... This change is symptomatic of this game's focus on the STORY - not an original plot, but one taken from a dramatic superhero character study like Civil War - and so the devs didn't leave themselves much wiggle room here for, y'know, the cool junk that you play video games for. Even most the boss battles felt very similar.

Like I said, this is a good game, but it's a step down from MUA1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not So Ultimate After All

posted by Fantomex (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

26 out of 35 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Have been a comic book nerd since before I could actually read the word bubbles and grasp the story lines, I was very excited to see that Activision was releasing a sequel to "Marvel Ultimate Alliance". I enjoyed the first one for what it was: a hack-and-slash dungeon crawler with Super Hero character models.

"Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2" doesn't change much as far as game-play is concerned from it's predecessor. You have your basic light attack, heavy attack, grab and throw, and jump. Throw in four special abilities per character and you're on your way. The combat isn't flashy and fancy, but it works.

I think the two things that set this game above the original MUA is the graphics and the story. The original looked like something that should be on the X-Box or Playstation 2. Not next-gen material. The sequel, on the other hands, looks fantastic. The character models are smooth and polished, and the levels are detailed and varied. "Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2" LOOKS amazing. And thats about as far as the "amazing" goes.

The second point that sets this game apart from the original is the story. MUA2 is based on the 2006 Marvel cross-over story "Civil War" in which the super-human community of the Marvel universe are split down the center and forced to either register with the government or go underground. The story, in my opinion, was sub-par when it was a comic book, let alone in a video game version. They didn't even seem to want to hold true to the original source material at all. The story of MUA2 is an upgrade from MUA1 in the only aspect that it actually DID happen in the Marvel universe, where the story from MUA1 was just made-up and irrelevant.

If you like Marvel super-heroes and you like dungeon crawlers play the 5+ hours of game-play this game has to offer. Playing it with friends makes it better... but really, once you beat "Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2" that'll be pretty much it for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You a fan of Marvel?

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

30 out of 45 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you played and loved Marvel Ultmate Alliance then you will like this one as well.

Story is well done, voice acting is decent but could of used a little more enthusiasim in parts, its still not horrible but not great either.
Graphics are a little sharper and more colorful this go round, not going to win any awards though.

Its a button masher yes but played with some friends it is alot of fun, only thing i hate is the Civil War story mode basically takes half of the roster away from you and that is a shame....so if those 2 things dont really bother you than you should get some fun out of this game.

Give it a rent if your a fan of the first Marvel game, it should last you a little while if you like to collect and unlock things, there is alot of that in this aswell.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great co-op experience

posted by ipwn007 (MOUNTAIN HOME AFB, ID) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Grab a few friends and get ready to have a great time with Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2! This game boasts one of the best same console co-op experiences you can have on the Xbox. You'll have loads of fun throughout the campaign working together to take down hordes of enemies and bosses.

There is a huge assortment of Marvel characters in the game, both good and evil. Some of my personal favorites include Deadpool, Iron Man, Captain America, Spider-Man, the Fantastic Four, The Hulk, and many, many more. You'll have most at the start of the game while others are unlockable. Speaking of unlockables you can also unlock an assortment of costumes for the super heros which add spice to the game.

The gameplay is top down hack n' slash similar to RPG's such as Diablo and Baldur's Gate. You use a variety of melee and ranged attacks in addition to special attacks to take down foes. Combat is simple yet satisfying as you level up and unlock new abilities and increase their power. The only downside to the combat is that it can feel a bit 'button-mashy' at times, though most hack n' slash games tend to feel this way.

The story, which draws from Civil War and Secret War, is well done. Any fan of the Civil War series will enjoy playing the story and making decisions in the game.

In the end you're sure to be pleased, especially if you're playing with friends. Playing solo might still be enjoyable but I highly recommend playing alongside others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun While It Lasted

posted by kfdavila (SOMERVILLE, MA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A great looking dungeon crawling beat-em-up, with a cool storyline ripped from the Civil War comics. Unfortunately, it delivers a rather short, surprisingly linear adventure.

It is a disappointment compared only to the previous installment. If you are looking for a game that is vast, contains varied enemies, a large amount of heroes, with hours of customization, this is not it.

It is however, polished and fun while it lasts. You may go back and complete it again, switching sides on the political issue, but it makes less of a difference than you would think.

-K

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so Ultimate.

posted by Adder0 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Everything that we loved about the original Ultimate alliance has been stripped and torn away. Each character is only able to use four abilities. They give you the illusion of believing that you're in charge of how your experience is spent. When you only have four abilities that means there is no choosing, the points are automatically allocated. Yeah, you can go and manually press the button to upgrade the stupid power if you want, but i don't call that character customization. Yet again, MArvel has let us down. There was gold in them thare hills, but fools gold is all that we were given. With the potential of such a great storyline i was discouraged to see what liberties were taken with the story. This definitely has the weakest story and gameplay of the entire series (xmen legends/Ultimate alliance) It is a step backwards, not forwards. One last complaint and this is a big one. The cutscenes. YEAH, the cutscenes were not nearly as engaging or astounding as the first one. I know this may seem shallow ,but if you can improve the landscape graphics so much, why not the cutscenes? After completing the entire game you get nothing but a cheap in-game engine cutscene. Yeah, i'm complaining a lot, i do know that but it's just because MArvel does nothing but let us down and in the one area where we had reliability was with the games..,but not now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Rating for a simple Reason (Read)

posted by BlackYAYO (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Sep 24, 2009

Member since May 2007

14 out of 23 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This game is a 10 because you are a genius if you gameflyed this game and you didn't buy it from the stores. This game is the same as the last one but with a different campaign its only worth a game fly week so who ever gets this game will be satisfied with there game fly rental of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

MUA 2 does not stand up against MUA 1

posted by zenbaby (CHESTERTOWN, MD) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Most users will have fun with this product, however, the more into the Marvel Universe you are – your experience may diminish. Well worth a rental, but I cannot in good conscience recommend for purchasing. The good news is that they addressed a glaring issue with money from the previous title. If you didn’t know, whoever actually collected the money was awarded the money – it was not spread around. MUA 2 shares the money collected so that all team members will get their fair share. Also, the quick-time events are gone. To beat a boss, you actually have to beat the boss!

The fusion system felt like at some level it stripped the characters of their individuality. With only targeted, clearing, and guided types of fusions – the animations are less than stellar, getting old very quickly. The levels themselves lack the character and immersiveness to stand on their own. Enemy types only come in a few flavours. This helps to magnify the feeling of similarity between levels in the player’s mind.

Back is the bug (and yes, I consider it a bug) where Auto-spend is ALWAYS turned back on. Luckily the spending of points is not permanent (unless you are playing in the casual mode). I alluded to this earlier, but full customization of your characters is not allowed in the casual mode. So if you just wanted to blast through on easy, be warned.

Lastly, the effectiveness of the characters is largely uneven. As mentioned, Thor with immunities, plus self-buff, superior damage and team bonus make him #1. However, most of your other power melee folks have a nasty charge attack that is so easily interrupted, it becomes next to useless. Speaking of useless, Iceman – poor guy loses all the nifty stuff the Ice damage type brings to the table since ~50% of the mobs are IMMUNE.

For the fan, MUA 1 is superior due to the amount of characters and level quality. For the gamer, MUA 2 offers some improvements over MUA 1, but not enough to get recommended over its predecessor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you love Marvel and Button Mashing

posted by SpasmFists (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

31 out of 53 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Pick from a huge variety of Marvel characters, grab a friend and smash those buttons!

This game is third person, 4 player co-op and an Action RPG.

Graphics: Par. Characters are more detailed than the first. Setting is nicer to look at than the prequel.

Story: Classic, gotta save the world...

Gameplay: Roam around the city ,as a Super Being, destroying anything in your path.

Replay Value: If you have willing friends you'll go through the game with them a couple times to score the Achievements.

Bottom Line: It is a fun game, as long as you enjoy mindless destroying...P.S Thor is the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7 = good. Lets be honest here ok....

posted by headhunter (WHITE RIVER JUNCTION, VT) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I see a lot of nines and tens on the user reviews up here. And not to offend those that love this game, but this kind of shallow beat em up went out of style for me with the genesis. Pretty much an emulation of the old arcade x-men or tmnt games, the thing that marvel does best is its cast of characters. If you are a comic fan, you will find something to love here. If you are a fan of wandering around and wreaking a bunch of dudes, you will also find some fun. But if you're looking for a deeper more rewarding experience then the 1st game, this ain't it.

This game deserves to played with some friends around. 4 player coop online or 2 player offline, it just gets more fun, the more you have real people backing you up. It's not that the AI is awful, but they don't use their powers as much as they should. And they are not shy about running straight at bosses and losing some teeth. Earlier today I watched an AI teammate just stand in a laser grid until he died.

Other problems I've had are too numerous to name, but some grievances are the poorly placed check points, and the never ending dialog. If you skip all the cut scenes (and you will) the game is pretty short.

In short bursts this game can be entertaining. I will probably never grow tired of wasting endless waves of canon fodder foes, so willing to leap at my fists, but a break now and then is in order.

The biggest fault of this game is that it hardly dose anything to separate itself from the 1st one. There are fussion attacks now, where two characters can combine their powers to clear a bunch of guys or launch one uber power attack, but so many of them are just color pallet swapped and way too over powerful.

Like I have said though, punching people in the face with friends around can be entertaining. Just dont expect the game to deliver anything other than walking down carbon copy hallways, fighting endless clone wars.

7= good.

this game is good NOT great. A perfect rental to waste away a rainy saturday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD BUT NOt quit As well as the 1st

posted by DRReview (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

OK so the 1st game had a variety of characters. and villians So the differencce is that the 2nd game is that i hate the repeat feel of the game keep killing robots and humans over and over again. but even tho ugh it was somewhat short i still replayed the game and loveed the story line.

(im only going to rate the unlockable characters)

jean Grey-defnitly weaker than everyone would like her to be. but since it is a game and she cant be able to destroy everything. (like she could with phoenix) im ok with the way they made her without it. so she can pretty much take out hinchmen and replace her with someone like deapool or wolverine in a boss battle

Thor-definitly 1 of the most powerful players, he can pretty much be used 24/7 1 of my favorites and nothing i can realys say thats bad except for the costum alt......

Hulk definitly some change from Juggernaut and thing he is maybe waeker than juggs(who is realy strong but realy over rated) but can run over most hinch men and can even kill some mini bosses in 1 hit .

and if u are in a mood for a vs match go to legendary mode, and kill everyone off except for deadpool and fight black widow if u are not a coward and just fight it out it feels just like a versus mode so i know its possible gj Arvel but i hope 3 can improve some things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

High expectations.

posted by Canaan (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Horrible ending and the story makes me a very sad panda. The way it follows the Civil War storyline does little but discredit it. For those of you looking for decent co-op gameplay you might find a few hours here, but definately not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not an improvement.

posted by teejay13 (GREENVILLE, NC) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure how they felt this game would stand up to first one. The story is simply boring and there is little diversity in the not only the playable characters, but the non-playable cameos as well.

In the first game, the adventure took you through all sorts of different worlds and levels from the underworld to outer space. In this game, you barely change Earth time zones.

I suppose if they come out with downloadable character packs like they did in the first game then the roster may have some hope. There are some new characters, like Songbird, Gambit, and Juggernaut but they've also removed a lot of characters, like Ghost Rider, Silver Surfer, and Spider-Woman. Remember in the first game where you would have to fight several different villains in each level? Not any more. You mostly just fight non-playable heroes, which wouldn't be that bad if you didn't fight them more then once. I think you'll be massively disappointed when you rescue the heroes only to have them not join you, like Firestar and She-Hulk.

The story isn't much better. We were lead to believe in the last game that Galactus was seeking revenge, but he doesn't show up here. So who is the major villain this time? Apocalypse? Dr. Doom? Mr. Sinister? Magneto? Nope! You'll have to play to find out, but I know you'll be disappointed. And remember in the first game where you can alter the ending by completing certain side quests? Not anymore!

If you must play this game, rent it, don't buy it! If you have bought it already like me then sell it before the used price drops down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome sauce!

posted by Joshin69 (Wausau, WI) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Totally awsome. everything about this game is pratically gold. Easy controls, fun characters that everyone can recognize and even has a good story that actually happned in the comic world.

It goes through a registration act that happens where the government is forcing Super Heroes to register and become a soldier. Well you can choose to go with it or rebel against it. because of this as well as a few other reasons it also has good replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Addition to the Series

posted by RPSKing (TAMPA, FL) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've been a huge fan of the franchise ever since the first xmen legends game. This game is pretty much what you would expect from the next installment, with a couple awesome new features (specifically the fusion attacks, and the team boost medals). Only a couple hours in, but loving every second of it. Fans of the series, its a definite buy, people who haven't played before, its a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Alot of hype over nothing

posted by Savageruin (SARASOTA, FL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been hearing about the newest MUA since last year and after playing it I must say not impressed.
It's the same game with some window dressing and a few new characters thats it.
If this is what gaming is coming to the same games repackage and reshipped under new names, then I guess I have jumped the gap the age gap that is.
I remember when gaming was fun and inovative not the same old thing in a new package.
Let's get back to gaming the way it should be.
Focus on the game play not the window dressing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Seriously

posted by Reivax (GRAND RAPIDS, MN) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the story was bad even if you put aside the noncannonasity , the line up was pitiful and way to small, the dialogue(if you could call it that) was painful, and the graphics left much to be desired. would have been a 4 if not for deadpools amazing enterence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth playing through twice

posted by take9840 (POPLAR BLUFF, MO) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has an awesome line up of heroes ans villains. each character reacts differently to every other character in the game. I first sided with captain America so to be rebellious and it was quite fun. you will fight in super hero civil war at first because of a bill passed in congress to force super humans to register their secret identity and to forcefully be made into a government agent. you can go either way and as deadpool says "I can just go the other way on my next play-through" witch i was persuaded to do. both sides has similar missions yet they each are individual to themselves that it isn't like paying the same missions twice and the cut scenes will also be different depending on which side you take. all in all I really liked the game and I'm putting it on my suggested rental list. I just have one gripe they didn't bring back Ghost rider where the heck is Ghost Rider. enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deep Game!! Worth getting into

posted by iatrestman (ATHENS, GA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game i very deep and every character is fun to use in their own way. You can choose two different story lines that lead to a pretty different game experience (i haven't finished either yet but i probably will play through both). Worth a rent. Fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK

posted by Miasma12 (MOUNT WASHINGTON, KY) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good game, mash button gameplay, fun for late nights with siblings, and friends, too short for my taste, a good play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great while it lasts.

posted by ncaafreak (SPURLOCKVILLE, WV) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pretty much like the first game in many ways. The fusion attacks are a great addition. I would have liked a few more playable characters, but it was a good list of heros, and villains alike. The gameplay was pretty smooth, action packed, and easy to pick right back up on from the first game. My biggest complaint however is the length of the game. It seems as soon as it seemed like i was getting to the meat of the game, it was over. But overall, this game was very enjoyable, and im playing through for the second time to do the Pro-Reg side of things. A deffinate rent, but dont make the same mistake as me and buy this one for the fact that it is way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome gamepay and improved graphics are awesome

posted by KAISER13 (LAKESIDE, CA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well if you played the first one this is exactly like that
the storyline got extremely better tho in this game except the end should go on longer. theres less powers for the heroes in this one than the first one so that kinda sucked and they brought in gambit but he totally blows! still its so fun that you could play it atleast 2 or three times. you have to play it twice to get everything from it i gurantee you wont get bored tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome

posted by XFLWells2 (ESTERO, FL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

you guys will love this game if you played the first on you will like this one even more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by Infamous17 (WATERBURY, CT) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good game....if u liked the 1st then get the 2nd..not as much characters and camera really ruins it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2

posted by gamefly111 (AURORA, CO) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 was a good game alot better tthen the first one in Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 you get to play more charecters you make a big choice but it doesent change the outcome of the game it just lets you have more charecters that you can use. it has a good story line. has a couple of big things in it. if you did or did not like the first one try the second one you might just like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse