Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

4616 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I was Marveled

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I rented this game after not ever playing any other Marvel game before and I was pleasantly surprised. It pretty much is a hack and slash rpg but I didn't find myself getting bored. I think this is due to the fact you have soooo many different characters you can use and that different combination's of each character give you different attacks to use on the enemies. Mildly challenging as with any hack and slash game but FULL of Marvel content, I actually learned quite a bit about some of my fav marvel characters playing this game. Just a few hours into the game you have the option to split off into different story lines, this leaves a whole unplayed game to go back and play after you finish the first. All in all the graphics weren't amazing and the game-play was basic but I found myself coming back for more and more till the very end. Great game for a long weekend my friends!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Cons:
Gameplay gets monotonous as wave after wave of identical baddies charge your group
Camera controls are often removed entirely, such that you can be stuck behind a pillar, swarmed by 8 enemies and not be able to see anything
Combat becomes so chaotic it's difficult to distinguish characters
Basic (non-fusion) combat amounts to button-mashing

Pros:
Colorful character line-up, even among the unplayable heroes & bosses
Excellent graphics
Good level design
Fusion attacks are unique and inspired
Solid plot line along the Marvel Civil War series
Deadpool makes everything better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Glitchy

posted by Killerkook (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game play is fun, but there are some quirks that need to be worked out. I am stuck on one part of the game and it will not let me advance to the next part, it just has a loading screen up indefinitely. Sometimes the dialogue skips over and over.
Also, the inability to play the different sides on separate saved games is frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ultimate Alliance 2

posted by jayjay6301 (BUCHANAN, MI) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Let's cut to the chase on this one. This game was not that great. The cut scean graphics were good, but the in game graphics were the same a PS2 or Wii. The story line was ok though. The in game graphics made the charaters way to small. The fusions sucked as well, they were all the same thing basicly for the different characters. X-Men Legends for PS2 had more upgrades and more danger room things to do. X-Men Legends for PS2 was a better game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty decent

posted by tramposo (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

For a classic marvel game this is superb, gameplay is really simple characters act out their personalities as well. the only problem with this game is the repetative combat from your favorite superheros, lets be honest spiderman or invisible woman? The story is amazing with the ability to choose sides when the decision is neccessary. Overall a great game with alot of interactivity with the decor and of course there are more than a few laughs in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Huge letdown

posted by spowell44 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

18 out of 30 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

MUA2 for the most part is a fun party button mashing melee game. If you got a few bud's offline or on, you can get a few hours of mindless beatdown fun with this game. The problem is many people expected more. In fact I could argue that the first release was better. The upgrades are minor. some combat upgrades but nothing to sell the game on. The Story and maps are a bit limited in part 2 compared to part 1. There no levels like the water level, hardly any terrain changes and almost all the Boss levels are the same. Seems this game took the cheap way out by adding more on screen enemies and calling it a day. The civil war story didnt come into play as much as it should of. The story line in Pro reg or anti reg are minor. I didn't expect them to go line for line from the comic but they missed out in pivotal events. Activision please step your game up..Literally. Lately your games have made big promises but don't deliver. (except COD4 from what I hear) If you ask me Rent this game DON'T BUY. It should be a PSN game for 15 dollars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average Button Masher

posted by Ready4War (TARZANA, CA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Can be fun for a while but after that becomes extremely repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MUA2 Smashed!

posted by Simoun (CERRITOS, CA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The largest army of super heroes are finally back. This time, the story of the game focuses on the civil war. Or did they? The game is only separated into three acts, compared to five in the last game and the civil war storyline begins and ends in Act two. Overall, the civil war "feel" is missing from the game.

Gameplay is not very impressive. Each character has only four powers and a decent number of passives. The game also features a heal/revive a teammate. One of the new features is the fusion. This is in the game replacing the extreme supers in the first MUA. However, this might get old pretty quick since there are only a few variations of the fusions. Most of them are the same and are just done by two other different characters. Also, by having only four powers each, it is very hard to build a character the way you could do it in the first MUA.

Another thing gone from the first game is the high number of simulator missions/comic book missions. There are still a handful of sim missions in this game but they are so few and some of them are not really that fun to play more than once.

They tweaked a few things from the civil war storyline but that is understandable since they need to do that for video game purposes. The gameplay improved on some areas but some were still lacking and the extra features were so-so. But despite all of those, to a marvel fan, this is still an enjoyable game. Not as good if you compare it to the first one, but, if this was the first one of the series, this will be excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

solid but..

posted by thefallen1 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

its seems to be missing something..while compared to the first game.i have only played thru the first level;which was really long and fun but it doesnt seem to have the weight in shock value as the last game.

something i like was the "homing beckon" which lets u know which way to go on these huge maps its still worth it to go off on ur own path to find unlockables..

something i am disappointed in is the lack of NEW characters and how small the roster is hope the dlc makes up for that..because most are really not "new" since they were on the xbox version (venom,hulk,etc.)

while being able to choose exactly who u want to heal can be helpful sometimes in the heat of battle the way the old game had the AI allot it to who needed it seems to have worked better..

one big thing that bothered me is the lack of alt attires it brought a new way of trying to plan ur approach of attack and kept the game interesting.

i hope more UA games are made following storylines like the infinity war,onslaught,etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Man Please!

posted by indy18 (LITHONIA, GA) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This MUA 2 is just trash! It looks like a super nintendo game! You got to be kidding me man???????????????????? I would have been ticked me off if I would have spent 59.99 on that cramp! Thanks gamefly man! The best comic book game to this day is batman! If you want some tight ps3 games to play man play that batman, ninja gadien 2, wolverine, or that nba2k9 cause that mua 2 is toliet water!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waste your time

posted by bklynbadda (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 12, 2010

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i played the first level, and then this game sat in my desk for about 2 months...its so forgettable that i forgot to mail it back...at first glance your get memories of xmen legends...but then you remember that its simply part 2 of ultimate alliance..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I have ever played

posted by Enhasa (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was sent this game by gamefly despite it being all the way down my game queue, so I figured I'll give it a shot since it's already here.
Upon playing this game for 2 mere minutes, I decided its time I stop. This is easily by far the worst game I have ever played in my life.

Concept wise, its cool to see Marvel's classic superheroes back in action TOGETHER.

Gameplay wise, theres so much each guy can do and its really limited to the boundaries of the creator of the characters. Controls are quite a pain in the butt compared to the good games.

Graphics are pretty bland. Looks like a PS2 quality game. Seems to me they just used their old platform for the 1st game.

Overall: Do not rent this. Everyone is tempted to rent this because everyone obviously loves spiderman, wolverine etc, but this game makes you want to take a gun and shoot your kitten to death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Over hyped disappointment

posted by vanndogg (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I received my copy of UA2 I was excited because I had read many reviews about this game. When I began to play it I was dissapointed by the in-game graphics. I would compare this game to Gauntlet on NES. I want to inform all would be UA2 players that this game looks nothing like the cut-scence graphics that are shown on TV and in magazines. If you enjoy mindlessly repetitive button mashing and horrible graphics then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EHH

posted by WSPungelbc (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

now im not saying this game is bad i just had a bad experience, I was a good ways through the game only because it is as someone said a good party button smashing game, the story wasn't bad but it wasn't great and the game play seemed funner in MUA1 but i digress my problem was after a long night me and some buds went to finish it off before passing out and all of the sudden everything we had done was gone without any reason just gone after that it just wasn't worth the effort to go back and do it all over im just posting this to see if any other player's had the same problem occur and if so maybe Activision should know to spend a little more time testing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HULK SMASH!

posted by Rouse78 (ROSE HILL, NC) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you love marvel comics you gotta play this game. It's got a pretty cool story, not that i followed it to closely, because i just wanted to fight with the diffrent hero's and villans. It's a simple hack and slash/smash, so there isn't really a learning curve. There's an online feature where you can go through the story mode with people online. overall a fun game to play with some friends. I enjoyed this game but nowhere near as much as the first Ultimate Alliance. This one felt really easy and not as in depth as the first, just my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Button Mashing Nightmare

posted by TomAceEsq (ARVADA, CO) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In the interest of full disclosure I only played this game for about 5 minutes (probably less) due to the fact that it's just the same repetitive button mashing from the get go. For younger children getting into gaming this might be a good choice but for medium to hardcore gamers this is an EPIC letdown. Save yourself valuable gaming time and pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 2

posted by GEORGE8822 (CASCO, MI) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I HAD CALL OF DUTY MODERN WARFARE 2 ON TOP OF MY LIST AND THEY SENT ME ONE OF THE LAST GAMES ON MY LIST AND I HAVE OVER 40!BUT THE GAME WAS PRETTY GOOD 7.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as the first one.

posted by Paladin76 (MALAKOFF, TX) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I am a major fan of the first Ultimate Alliance game. My son and I have countless hours of gaming goodness with that title. This game however falls rather short of awesome.

First thing you will notice is the weak cut scenes and graphical style. Remember how great the cutscenes were in the first game? How they got you pumped up and ready to play? Remember how the character's personality really shined through with their actions and diaolg? Well say bye bye to that. The cutscenes are god aweful and there is very little personality.

Extremely long loading times.

Auto spending of talent points is broke. You can change it to have control but it will just change back. You have no control over where your points go, the game will decide for you. The is almost a game breaking bug. It's terrible.

The graphic style is worse in my opinion. Some characters look okay but most have a kind of style similar to anime or maybe the clone wars style. The character models and overall graphic style was far better in the first game.

The biggest disappointment so far is the choice in voice acting. Captain America, who happens to be my favorite sounds terrible. There is NO emotion or feeling in his voice work. Most of the other ones are the same. They didn't bring much character to these heroes at all.

Combat is not as good or as fluid. There is too much of a pause after your three standard melee attacks. It's very hard to tell just who or what you are attacking. With that said SOME not all of the fusion powers are pretty rocking. Storm is a beast..........but others are just down right terrible and just end up running all over the screen not harming the bad guys at all.

Another strike is the fact that Captain America is weak in this game. He owned in the first one, this one here is a disgrace to the Red White and Blue.

Overall the game is worth a rent, but I personally was MAJORLY disappointed in the title and plan on returning it for a refund.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

smash bash run

posted by realone (HOUSTON, TX) May 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

like the title says if ur interested in mashing buttons and dont really care for a thought out plan or a decent fighting system chose this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

fail

posted by Abaughm (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this could have been a plastation 2 game , not enough detail in the character models, the storyline is boring at best, the choices you are given throughout the game have little effect on the final outcome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre Second Time Around

posted by popimp92 (MILL CREEK, WA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since May 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Raven Studios did a WAY better job with the original Marvel Ultimate Alliance compared to this game. I'm not sure why they didn't do the sequel, but this game has suffered because they weren't involved. I especially liked the hidden codes and unlockables in the first game because it made it more enjoyable. This game disables the ability to save your progress if you even use just one code! What up with this man? I like to use codes & cheats and without the ability to save your progress what's the point of using them in the first place? Play wise the game is okay I guess. The voice acting is terrible and the cut scenes look no where near as good as the original, PS2 cutscenes have looked better. They simply didn't take advantage of either systems graphical prowess and put out a very mediocre game. In my opinion this is a sloppy attempt at a sequel that I was very much looking forward to playing. Let's hope MUA 3 will be handed back to the team at Raven again in the future in hopes they can resurrect this beloved franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

im mad as h&ll i paid for this game

posted by jermain (DREXEL HILL, PA) Sep 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

the first game was so good, how dare they take away all the things i loved about the fist game, you only get to use 4powers what the h&ll is that! hey developers its a dARN game based off a comic book if we wanted a more realistic game we wouldnt be playing a game thats based off a comic book you idiots, also this game is way short i beat it in 1 day people, im so dissapointed, this game has so much potential but in the end it will just leave you angry and dissapointed, out of all the games its the weakest in the series...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

truely sad

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this developer needs to get some help

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

any good?

posted by Jannder (SANFORD, FL) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. There are just a few bugs in it that make getting the platinum very frustrating. Just want everyone to be aware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

marvel u/a 2

posted by mrjohnson (ADRIAN, MI) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

game is ok. all it is is a glorified gauntlet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse