Rent Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 for PS2
view large frontback

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

386 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a great showing

posted by ZKError (LINCOLN, NE) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For a game that I was looking forward to, this was disappointing. Mainly because I'm a fan of UA1 ( the first Ultimate Alliance ), and this release really feels like a watered down,rushed,duct taped together version of the first.

From the horrible placement of when the game will Auto-Save, the boring and plain environments,having only one outfit to choose from and not being able to use less than 4 members in a team these are only a bunch of little things that together made the game not so great.

Plus the game was having problems with getting completion on two of the missions. It wouldn't register saving someone or when something was activated so I had to re-load the game and do it over which was frustrating.

The roster of hero's has changed a little with the addition of some new blood but they also removed some people so that it would fit into the storyline. Which doesn't bother me that much but it might some people. Psylocke was a great addition. They could have changed or added to some of the returning hero's powers but they are all the same which makes it feel almost lazy of the development team.

One of the good things about the game is the storyline. It's interesting and focused, doesn't have you lost and confused. Even though they tell you to choose a side it's very obvious they want you to pick a certain side more than the other.

All in all the game can be beat in 12-14 hours with almost no replay value. It simply feels like "deleted scenes" from UA1. It's worth renting if you want a break from playing X-men:Legends and Ultimate Alliance 1 but that's about all. As a fan I wanted more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG

posted by BlitzJarz (ROANOKE, VA) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

All I can say is that the developers took the orginal game and screwed it up. The graphics were worse and trhe controls did not get better with age....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why Even Release This?

posted by jukey23 (MARICOPA, AZ) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I truly would rather this game never even been released on the PS2, than to experience this crumpled up candy wrapper of a game.

The bottom line is that this game was poorly produced for the PS2, almost like they let some 10 year old port it. (sorry 10 year olds all over the world)

The graphics are horrid, and yes I am considering this as a PS2 game. There is no reason for the blurriness, muddiness, choppiness and blockiness of every sprite on the screen. I knew I was in trouble when I saw the title screen. It truly looked like one of those $20 plug'n'play games you buy from Walgreens or something.

Controlling the characters felt so...detached. This is difficult to explain. It just seems like there is no substance whatsoever to your characters...no connection between your controls and their movement. Again, like one of those Colecovision games from the bargain bin.

I didn't even get into leveling up and all that. After 3 minutes of gameplay, I ejected the game and sealed it back in it's envelope. Back to Gamefly.

I wouldn't even recommend this to die-hard fans. Its just not an enjoyable experience. Part of the greatness of these types of games is BEING your favorite hero...but that feeling of controlling the character is not here. No personality here. No essence of anything whatsoever.

This game is just empty.

Look at X-Men Legends 2. How long ago was that released? And look how awesome that game STILL is. Now years later you get this garbage, even after the PS2's technological abilities have been fully realized and exploited...there is no excuse for this low quality product.

I suppose that they figure no one cares. "Who owns a PS2 anymore, anyway?!" they say. "Meh, just port this good enough to let them want the next-gen version. Maybe then they'll get off their cheap butts and buy a Playboxii 183."

Its better to just not release a game for the PS2 if you're gonna give us this mess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by hello1 (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

mu2 this game sucked i almost broke my neck trying to play.the graphics sucked.same old controls.the cutscenes sucked.the characters sucked too.the first one was way better and the controls,graphics,characters.i traded it in too get street fighter alpha 3.if i said rent it,buy it,or,forget about it just forget it,if you saw across the street just ignore it,i'd rather play sonic unleashed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not too good

posted by 1justin111 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I don't think they put allot of thinking in this,you can't turn off auto save and you only have 2 spaces to put your saved data which is bad.I'm telling you that saving in this game is bad.But everything else was very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i didn't like lose to a bad girl

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

it was a fun and awesome game but it was hard to beat the bad guy that was a girl. but i did like the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yep

posted by dragtron13 (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

very bad graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game Ever

posted by zenomorph (MESA, AZ) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I couldn't even get past the gun turret challenge. The controls were both sticky and sluggish. and when I finally got the turret down, it came back up again before I could hit a single target.That, along with the poor frame rates and bad graphics and I didn't want to play it any more. X-Men Legends was a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get your cheat codes ready

posted by butterflyf (SARASOTA, FL) Apr 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

I played this game and gave it a fair chance. Its not the worst game. I have definitely played a lot worse. What makes this game fun is activating the cheat codes from the get go. Playing the game and trying to level your characters up gets very boring very quick. Once you activate the cheat codes and level your characters up to the max the game can then be classified as enjoyable. I hate to say it but you have your choice of just too many characters. Instead of 20 sem good developed characters. I would have been content with about 8 developed thought of characters. Since there are so many characters they are a bit watered down. But this game is worth a play, just make sure you have your cheat codes ready.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

im really dissapointed... !-(

posted by ohcomeon (STOCKHOLM, NJ) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

i thought that it was a fighting game like mortal combat, but instead its a ''adventure'' game that was hard to see the words, and the graphiccs are preatty bad too. i gave this game a 2 because at least there was some fighting in it. but it really isint that good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beautiful Fail

posted by GFskirt (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

As an avid Marvel Fan the game was a must, yet it seemed to completely mirror its predecessor. You can dress a button masher up however you'd like, yet a button masher is still a button masher. This button masher added a few new 'wows' to the mix, yet the Gameplay seemed to repeat itself with new characters and story as the game went on. Ultimately this game is a pass, yet a fun dabble if you're in the need of some Civil War nostalgia.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too much for the PS2

posted by hooverad (MORGANTOWN, WV) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

On the PS2, this game is ugly and clunky. Barely even playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ultimate aliance 2 :l

posted by spiderman5 (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

the game was good, the graphics were HORRIBLE, as were the sounds.But the plot line was good(i cant tell you, spoilers are not allowed).there were roughly 20 playable characters(one extra for a certain way).that includes spider-man(#1),hulk,iron man, captain America,and human torch.fusion attacks are mixing powers and unleashing devastating damage.To me, it was a solid 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

= (

posted by wonderman (HUTCHINSON, KS) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I really like the characters mostly because my favorite heroes are the X-men. There didn't seem to be very many of them in the first one. I just wish i could find a game that had better graphics AND Wolverine, Jeane Gray, Professor X, Beast, Colossus, etc. Then it would get a ten from me or maybe a twenty. = ) Anyway, bad graphics, good characters, oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MUA 2 sucks for PS2

posted by wadewilson (LITTLE FALLS, NY) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

I played this game on X Box 360 and it was a great game. The graphics were amazing, the story line was great and the game itself was just a lot of fun. The PS2 version is terrible. Some parts are so ridiculously hard it made me want to set the game on fire. The story line was not as good as 360 either.The only cool part was that Psylock and a few others were in this version. I was looking forward to this game for a long time and I am very disappointed in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lack of Fluidity, very sporadic, not very fun

posted by Thanatos69 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I have always been a fan of superhero-type games, but this one was confusing, no hints for areas you may have been stuck in, and got boring pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pass, Pass, Pass!!

posted by CaptianK (BERWYN, IL) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I first got this game thinking, sweet. I was huge fan of MA1. But, after soon playing I was more and more frustrated, to the point I never made it past the 2nd Act before returning it. 3 Times I had to reload a section of the game because it didn't registrar me completing the level. The AI, of your heros are non-existent, I pretty much had to kill every single "bad guy".

The reason I gave it a 2, and not a 1.. Deadpool's wisecracks was the only thing that kept me playing, but after a while.. those get to old to keep going.

Pass on this game, don't waste the waiting around for it to come to your house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2

posted by wjohnson (CLOVIS, NM) Nov 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

The game doesn't live up to the Marvel: Ultimate Alliance. The character graphics are blocky and poor and the scenery graphics are too detailed. The controls don't flow well in your hand and the level up bonuses and awards are overly complicated. The worst part of the game is the cannon type guns you are required to use. The sensitivity of these guns makes using them impossible even on the easy mode.

Overall its a bomb. The first Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is a fantastic game This sequel looks like it was made in about an hour in somebodys basement.

Pass this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 for PS2

posted by battle05 (TROY, MO) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game is fun game but just like Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 1. Just difrent characters and levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cheesey Game

posted by jcruze1739 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Just finished this boring and lame game. The first one was better in graphics ans story. This game should have been improved upon. The graphics looked horrible and actors sounded like amatures. Who wrote the corny dialouge on this anyway, mickey mouse? The best thing was the fusion play. But got bored with it too. Why do they tmake the game so complicated? And those stupid access the computer was sooo dumb. No challenge. So boring!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved the first game but it feels like dejavu

posted by creator (KILLEEN, TX) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I feel like its the same game with different characters and a new storyline.But other than that its a great game and for once you get to go to Wakanda,the country Black Panther rules.And new characters like Hulk,Green Goblin,Songbird,Penance,and Venom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

insult

posted by mik3661 (THOMASVILLE, GA) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

an insult to the first one, graphics are shotty, story line is all over the place, and not much to do unlike the first ultimate alliance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What happened?

posted by fabuloso (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Boring game, graphics are sub-par, and levels are too easy to beat. Nothing new other than just a few useless characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »