Rent Marvel Super Hero Squad for Wii
view large frontback

Marvel Super Hero Squad

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games, DS
GF Rating
5.7

355 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like fighting games, so I like this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hulk smash this game!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Oct 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Marvel has produced many quality offerings in the last few years (Spiderman 2, Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, X-Men Legends, etc.). They eventually compiled all their superheroes for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 1 & 2. But apparently that was too mature for the kids, so they graced us with Marvel Super Hero Squad, a poor treatment of these classic characters.
SHS gives us a Saturday morning cartoon version of these blockbuster behemoths with all the cheesy overacting and Acme-style pratfalls you could ask for (even though I didn't ask for it). The story is just a device to put everyone in the story and an excuse to start hacking away at tons of generic soldiers.
Similar to Ultimate Alliance, SHS is a hack-n-slasher. However, it strips away all the RPG elements, all the fusion/co-op abilities and most of the superpowers in favor of continually pressing A and B with varying results. There is a reticule on the screen to aim projectiles (if you have them) and you can shake your Wiimote for finishers. Of course, you can't aim long-range attacks while you're shaking the controller, but the developers didn't think about little details like that.
Levels never evolve beyond "destroy all the troops and vehicles" which is mindless, tedious and repetitive. Considering each level is essentially the same, this is a huge problem. You'll have some recognizable villains like Abomination and Sabretooth, who you'll have to battle over and over again. There's also plenty of backtracking and battle arenas that are used to artificially break up the gameplay. It doesn't work.
The uncontrollable camera, repetitive gameplay, awkward controls and limited replay value make this a game that's hard to like. It's colorful and temporarily enjoyable, but ultimately lackluster. My spider sense is tingling and it wants you to avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Quite Super, But Good Enough

posted by MHMason (RAPID CITY, SD) Dec 22, 2009

Member since May 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

In the end, Marvel Super Hero Squad is nothing more than your typical licensed cash-in; I forgive it's trespasses because I had so much fun playing it with my son. It's a low-impact brawler that's akin to playing with a big group of action figures; there's no continuity if you're a Marvel fan, it's just there so you can randomly team up heroes against an equally random group of villains (whoever put Modok in there is either insane or a mad genius).

From my point of view, the fact that the game touts it's co-op sensibilities but doesn't compensate for two people whatsoever was MSHS' biggest shortcoming. For my son, it's the fact that Captain America and Spider-Man are on the cover but tough to unlock.

Don't play this to expecting to have your mind blown; it's just a Saturday morning cartoon in video game form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!!

posted by OMIGOSH (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i did'nt expect something this good! this is one of the best games i've ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I was really hoping for a good kid game

posted by 5yroldrvw (SPRING, TX) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

My 5 year old didn't even play this game for a total of 1hr before asking me to go ahead and mail it back. Not really sure what he didn't like about it, but he did not like it at all. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good as can be

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game was very good beacause of playing as spider man he is my favorite marvel charter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

super hero squad destroy this game

posted by jakeanglo (DERBY, CT) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

stupid and hard. This game sucks
for graghics and controls i give a 1
game in general 2
overal i give it a 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS is going to be exciting checking out soon

posted by naimah316 (LEAVENWORTH, KS) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

looking forward for more challage awaiting those games on mortal kombat with an nightmare to unleash :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by reaymorgan (ALAMEDA, CA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

First complaint why would you reanimate a computer animated cartoon so the characters look different? Second, this is a button mashing game with difficult to master controls. Third, just plain boring. Don't even bother to rent this even if your children love the cartoon (or you do.) I sent this game back before I had played it for even an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!!

posted by Brian73 (SAFFORD, AZ) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

My 8 year old son loved this game!! Kinda hard to follow in some places but plenty of action and great animation. Perfect for kids and kinda fun for adults!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hero Up!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Sep 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

Super hero squad is a very fun but tricky game. The cutscenes are not too good, I think there made in comic book style. Each mission is different but one thing is the same in every level: you get to punch/blast the living daylight out of doom bots, aim agents ect. One very important tip for the Wii game, is while flying hold the wiimote straight up and you will fly forever, which is very helpfull in a sertain level. And lastly each character has one or two bonus costumes you can use in battle mode by useing the random box unttil it hits the one you want, the costumes are onlocked by beating levels or cheats that are very simple. Overall Very fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT EVEN REMOTELY FUN!

posted by TheFan12 (APEX, NC) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

First this game is for kids so don't go along thinking this game has a dull plot ,which it does in my opinion, but it is for kids. Since there are very few actualy good characters in this game and they somehow manged to screw them up. THE SILVER SURFER IS INTELLIGENT BUT NOT IN THIS GAME!!!!!! This is just a preview of what Disney is going to do to Marvel. The gameplay gets tidius after the first level.

WHATEVER YOU DO DON'T GET THIS
GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

even if you have alot of money and your
bored one day and decide to buy this for
your little brother because it is Christmas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »