Rent Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth for Wii U
view large frontback

Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.8

142 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Really disaapointed in this game.

posted by HotInEER (FREDERICK, MD) Dec 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The graphics are amazing, howver the game play is very limited. I thought it would be more like Street Fighter or Mortal Kombat with Marvel Characters, however the moves are very limited, some cases only 4 or 5 moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Severely rushed

posted by Smedrick (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Oct 2009

Either this is a game for babies, or Ubi spent less than a month in development. It's halfway between fighting game and beat-em-up and doesn't have any good qualities from either genre. Also, the story is lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hmmm...

posted by JPlayEy (HANOVER PARK, IL) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Movie adaption video games usually suck and this one kind of does LOL. Mainly the short story and lack of fighting moves but with the right friends & family members this game is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game if you have kids

posted by jsev73 (SCHUYLKILL HAVEN, PA) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

I think some of the reviews are harsh. No, it's not the best fighting game everr made, but it is a good game and with the decent graphics and characters it keeps kids in the 5-12 age range occupied for hours. I think it's at least worth renting if you have kids that like superheroes. I'll probably end up keeping it as it is something my kids like to play with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You knew it !!

posted by PowerWeaver (BOONVILLE, MO) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

This game is fun to pick up and play for about 10-15 mins at a time by no means will you find yourself seucked into the world of marvel. The controls are really basic thats a good thing and a bad thing Good if you have little kids they will love it easy to play and fun for a 6-10 year old Bad cause it almost like paper,rock,siccors with enogh dely that with a small amout of practice youll mast this game in about 10 mins. And they didnt add enough chars I felt some some of been added but oh well I gave it a 5 cause i still play from time to time and it a decent game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Marvel’s Heroes Deserve Better than This Game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

When the Skrull try to take over the world, it up to the Avengers, X-Men, Spider Man, and some other Marvel Superheroes to save the day by beating up clones of themselves with green skin (it’s not easy being green – skinned)
Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth is a fighting game like Tekken Tag Tournament – you play as teams of two heroes from a group of 20. Each team has one player on the field at a time and can tag in their partner at any time. The team with the first hero knocked out loses, and each match is best of three.
The attacks are simple to understand. There’s the basic attack, three power attacks, a power kick and an ultimate attack.
The basic attack is just a simple gesture of the Wiimote (or button push on the Game Pad). It’s easy to do, but doesn’t do much damage.
The power attacks are a bit more complex, and use either a Wiimote gesture or drawing a specified line on the Game Pad.
Some of the power attacks are great to look at, but it gets dull after a few times.
And sometimes the Game Pad controls for the power attacks don’t work, even if I put in the proper command.
The power kick and Ultimate attack is just punching with the Wiimore or tapping the Game Pad screen. This was okay for a bit, then just got boring after the fifth time.
What makes it worse is that being aggressive isn’t the way to go – the other player has plenty of time to dodge the attack and counter it. This can lead to some very boring fights.
And the story mode has a bunch of basic comic book cut scenes that fail to thrill – and there’s one ending for all the heroes instead of one for every hero as in other fighting games.
There’s material for people who sign up for an UPlay account, but even after I signed into my UPlay account, it wouldn’t give me the 11 tests that I should get for singing up for an UPlay account.
Marvel Avengers: Battle for Earth tries to be a great fighter, but the mechanics and dull presentation make the only for the hardcore Marvel fan. SKI

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It Sucks

posted by jamesearl001 (CHATSWORTH, GA) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This is a trend that I hope doesn't continue with Wii U. Most of the games suck. This one isn't worth the spot in a game q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A waste of a license on a really bad game...

posted by RINDLETRON (MIAMI, FL) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Once you're done enjoying the graphics, the paper thin story line, the limited game play and the repetitive battles have you reaching for that return envelope as fast as you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh

posted by RacShade (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This game is awful. I would give it less than a 1 if I could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »