Rent Mario vs. Donkey Kong 2: March of the Minis for DS
view large frontback

Mario vs. Donkey Kong 2: March of the Minis

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

960 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh

posted by Leemarie (LITCHFIELD, MN) May 21, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I'll start by saying, this game isn't terrible. By terrible, I mean, writhing on the ground in agony. It reminded me of the comp game "Widgets Workshop". I never liked that game either. It's for a certain kind of people I think. You have to like to try and figure out how to get your wind-up-Mario's into the hole with the most amount of points. It was very boring for me. I sent it back the next day. But, like I said, it isn't excruciating. I'm just glad I didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another original, and fun, Mario game on the DS.

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Usually when people think of Mario games they think of side scrolling or 3D platformers and saving the princess. But now, thanks to Mario v.s. Donkey Kong 2: March of the Minis (God that's a long title.) People will think of Mario in a whole new way.
The game is easy to understand, Some black haired lady gets kidnapped by DK and its up to Mario's tinker toys to save her. (I don't know who she is but what ever.)
Any way in the game you control Mario tinker toys and get them to go through small puzzles. The puzzles are not so hard it is impossible to finish but not so easy that you can't go through without thinking hard about what to do. The puzzles include springs, switches, shy guys, crabs, spike pits, elevators, etc. Later you play as Peach and DK toys but Mario is still what you will use most of the time.
Controlling the toys is easy just use the stylus. Swipe over the toy to the right and it will move right, slide it up and he will jump and so on. The controls work great and are alot of fun to use.
The game is not the longest game so what should you do when your done? Well there is an option where you can create your own puzzles which is great because you use all the items found in the game. And when you have made one you can share them over Wi-fi! But if you want to you can download other players custom puzzles and play them. This is alot of fun because i always love to see what other people have done because it is always so different every time.
So if you want a fun puzzler but still want a little Mario in it than this game is for you. But if your looking for a classic Mario game than this game isn't for you.
I give this game a 9 because of the great puzzles, smooth controls, the course creator, and the online downloading, but the single player is short and can be kind of boring if your not taking advantage of its online abilities. So its not a rent, it's a buy because of its originality and online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Return of Mini-Mayhem!

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

If you are expecting a direct-sequel to the original MARIO VS DONKEY KONG game, one in which you control mario and push around mini versions of him - be prepared to be disappointed. In truth, this is very UN-LIKE the original title. The level lay-outs are similar, the look is similar, however this game is very different. Essentially, Nintendo has successfully created a LEMMINGS knock-off. This is not a bad thing. Instead of controlling Mario, you are in charge of the minis, using your stylus to help them exit each individual level (as you did in the original). Where this changes paths from the first title is how you move around. The stylus is your only form of control - you slide up, down, left, and right to get the minis from point A to point B. After a bit of practice, this becomes quite fun and the game becomes insanely addictive. This is not so much a puzzle title (as the first was) as much as it is an action title. You will notice immediately you will not be using your brain near as much to solve puzzles. However, you will be having fun. The graphics are great, and the music is too. All in all this game feels like any other MARIO-inspired title. It is fun to play, fun to hear, and fun to experience. The wifi-enabled create-a-level adds a lot to the experience, and sharing near-impossible levels with people world wide never gets old. In my opinion this is a great title, another excellent Mario game, and a Must-Have addition to any Nintendo DS library. A +, although I do wish a little more REAL mario (not MINIS) had been included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario & DK return for round 2

posted by mtrusela (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

A couple years ago Nintendo released Mario vs DK on the Gameboy Advance. Now round 2 march of the minis has been unleashed on the DS.

This game is a very fun and addicting action puzzler. The graphics are great the gameplay is fine. There is really nothing to dislike about this game.
Many will find themselves a little bit dissapointed with this game because they are expecting an adventure game like New Super Mario Bros. If that is what your looking for you won't find it here.

If you are familiar with the orginal Mario vs DK and enjoyed that, you will be very satisified.

If your looking for an all out good time wether you wanna spend 5 minutes or 2 hours. You should find yourself happy with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mario vs. Donkey Kong march of the minis

posted by dabnem (DENNISON, OH) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was fun at first but quickly losy my attention. Also the way the game was controled was not easy, to stop the minis you had to rapidly tap every one before they touched each other. Also the game was very boring to put it literaly. It just doent keep your attention. This is what I thought of this game, But still try Mario Partys their fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute--but extremely short and quick

posted by seteger (WALNUT, CA) Oct 29, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Anything with "Mario" in the title of a video game is bound to be cute, clean, and polished. No worries here, then; you're getting a tight game that manages to be mostly puzzle with just enough arcade to keep your reflexes sharp.

But it's SHORT--without trying very hard, I had completed it in a day and a half. If you have any basic puzzle skills, there's no real challenge here. The unlockables were not so great that I needed gold stars on every level--in fact, I usually got silver stars without even trying (that doesn't speak to my skill but the game's ease, in my opinion).

Unlocking construction sets to build your own levels is nice--but only if you care to do that, of course, and I personally would rather PLAY it than make it.

So it's a good, but merely good game. Here's the good news for Gamefly players, though; its short fun is PERFECT for renting. This is why we subscribe, ladies and gentlemen, and so definitely check it out and save your hard-earned money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by thirteenth (PINE BUSH, NY) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is very boring and has no action. I would reccomend that you do not rent or buy this game. If you want a good Mario game, rent Super Mario 64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected

posted by ScroogeM (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Gotta love Gamefly. This game was nothing like what I expected but trial and error is what this service is all about. I've never played the the first one so I don't have anything to compare it to other than the Lemmings game from oh so long ago.

You basically have to manuever the little Marios through the levels with all sorts of hazards, bad guys, and powerups.

The graphics are great and the sound is good too. But from the commercial I saw, I thought this was going to be like a Paper Mario style of game. Not an action puzzler. Granted, it's my fault for not doing more research but hey, that's why I Gamefly!

All-in-all, I'm sure this is a great game for those of you who want a Mario puzzler but it just wasn't right for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games i have ever played

posted by tech4life (MOUNT PROSPECT, IL) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 14 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

i thought that the game was to short. i think they should have more power up's in the game. but still compare to the super mario bros ds it is the best mario game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Anyone a fan of Lemmings?

posted by DavidSKi (ROSEDALE, MD) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

If your in your late 20's++ you'll remember a computer game called Lemmings. This is a true reflection of that game, but for this Generations "touch" gamers.

If you enjoy puzzle map games, this game is for you!

Dont forget to try out the next game in this series as well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario march of the minis review

posted by pacmania (WILSONVILLE, OR) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

the game is a puzzle game where there is mini toy Marios to which control with the stylus when touched move and not stop until tapped again. with puzzle packed levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hghgfhgfhgfhghfghgfhghgfhgfhghgfhgfhfhghfhfghgfhgh

posted by anonymous0 (OAKLEY, CA) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

the game was fine but after you play it for a while it becomes monotonous

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ROCKS!!

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Mar 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2009

This game rocks!! The object of the game is to collect a lot of points and get as many mini marios through the door. The graphics are really good, it never ever gets boring and some levels can be challenging. This game is by far ONE OF THE BEST mario games ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boooo, Mario

posted by jayforsyth (LIBBY, MT) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

It's a like a bad version of Lode Runner or Lemmings. . . not fun, even a little bit. I made it about 5 minutes before I returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mario vs donkey kong 2 review by frank12341

posted by frank12341 (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

I don't know how the average on this game is a 6.6. It is one of the better mario games I have played. It combines puzzles with mario, but the mario seems kind of distant in this game. Another thing it could improve on is the story. The boss battles are annoying. but on the bright side, it has a map creator and a large number of enimies and environments. You liking/disliking this game all depends on whether you like puzzles. So this is my review, it is also my first one, expect more from me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by storm143ra (LANCASTER, CA) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

it is a little confusing at first but it gets to be really fun over all it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SO MUCH FUN

posted by JFLIZZIE (TALLMADGE, OH) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

MY 7 YEAR OLD WHO I GOT THIS MEMBERSHIP FOR SAID MARCH OF THE MINIS WAS COMPLETLEY AWESOME! THOSE WERE HIS WORDS, HE ALSO SAID HE HOPES OTHER KIDS GETS TO PLAY THIS FUN GAME TOO. I THINK HIS WORDS SPEAK ENOUGH FOR THIS VERY FAMILY ORIENTED GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario and DK make Puzzle Magic

posted by Imperious (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

Donkey Kong and Mario are at odds once again and this time their discord has created a fantastic pick-up and play puzzle title.

A game that plays more like lemmings than a Mario title, your goal is to save as many of your Mini-Marios (tiny Mario robot toys) as possible in each level. The total number you save in a particular "world" will be your ammo in the boss battles with Donkey Kong.

This is a great pick-up-and-play title, with short levels and intuitive stylus-directed play. While the basic objective (saving your Minis) is easy enough, the challenge lies in racking up chains (getting all your Minis out of the level at once) and obtaining difficult items.

A great rental for any strategy fan with a DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

short story short evrything

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Aug 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this game really wasn't good sure they tryed to make it from mario's very first game donky kong on the NES but its exremly short there is no action barly anything they really need to think of a less boring game try better next time nintendo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good sequal

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Well i wasn't expecting much from this game, But i was pleasently surprised to discover how fun this game is. This game is much less focussed on puzzles than its predicesor. Your main objective is to get to the door, witch is hidden somewhere in each level. You use the stylus to guide the minis, There are various hazzards and obstacles. The game is fun, but way to easy. And there is no other difficulty settings, So be prepared for a game that takes about 1 1/2 days. So fun yet so short. If your hankering for a mario game and you've played every other one. Rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good puzzle solving fun

posted by Delehov (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game is really fun and chanllenging but after a while it just becomes the same thing over and over so the game can seem relly short. all in all its a great puzzle game but it could have used some newer materiel for later in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Should have called it something else

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

It's not quite Mario vs DK like we're used to. Mario vs DK 2 was fun and challenging but this puts a whole different spin on it making it far from the same game. You control the level and have a limited control of the minis which you have to get through a door. It's basically a copy of Lemmings but with Mario. I miss the real Mario vs DK. The one on GBA was great but if you had played the one on Gameboy, you'd know what it should really be like. The one on Gameboy was just called Donkey Kong but it was just like Mario vs DK only the levels were much better.

This can be challenging but a very short game. You can design your own levels too, but I didn't find that quite that much fun. You can share your designed levels over WiFi and even download some from Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game

posted by JuVerano (BURBANK, CA) Mar 16, 2007

Member since May 2006

This game is short and fun. If you like puzzle games, this a good one for you since you have to strategize and determine where you'll be sending your mini marios and how to get them there. The game even gives you options to create your own style that you can then share via local wireless or Wi-Fi with your friends. Over all this game a cute fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best Mario games for DS!!!

posted by TheCrill (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jan 26, 2007

Member since May 2005

Mario makes an amusment park. Hmm... Although the game's Story Mode is short, the mode behind the game's sucess is the Construction Zone (level editor). First, you jump and dodge the obstacles YOU created. Then you go in a warp pipe YOU positioned to go thru. Finnaly, in a room with many Shy Guys YOU placed. Grab some duel-wielded hammers and show em' who's boss. The game is alot of fun. You'll LOVE this game. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Lowto30 (SPRINGFIELD, GA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

This game is the worste game I have ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse