Rent Mario Tennis: Power Tour for GBA
view large frontback

Mario Tennis: Power Tour

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

213 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Good

posted by Batmanfan (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a good game, (I didn't expect it to be honestly.) The controls were good the career mode was fun. I liked how you get experience points to make your character better. The only thing i didn't like is you can't pause during a point it gets pretty annoying. Overall, a surprisingly good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ummmm....ok

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jun 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I give this game an 8 because its actully pretty fun to play,its got a good career mode and never really gets boring.But even though its called mario tennis the only time in the whole game you actully see him is at the end of career mode or in vs. mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Smash Ace

posted by darthchris (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In the new Mario Tennis, you are a newcomer to the Academy, a tennis school. You must work your way up the ranks from the junior class, to the senior class, and finally varsity.

The game play is pretty standard tennis, with the exception of a new feature that was introduced in the Gamecube version of Mario Tennis, the Powershot. These shots are crazy animations that send super powered shots that will often lead to a point. They also look good animations like lighting the ball on fire.

There are also light RPG elements like leveling up and upgrading skills. This lets you create a character that matches your play style, be it a power hitter or a speedy player.

There are also a bunch of mini games, some of which are fun, like the Treadmill, and then there are those who are just frustrating, like the Tacklebot. These games raise your powershot stats, which will then unlock newer, stronger powershots.

Overall, Mario Tennis is a game worth picking up or at least worth a rental. ;]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Cool

posted by BlkAngel (FREMONT, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game isn't half bad. i gave it an 8 because it should be a little more 3Dish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but...

posted by ninatoyz (MIAMISBURG, OH) Jul 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

Power shots are really cheap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mario Tennis: Power Tour

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

My niece and nephew own this one, so I got the chance to try it out.... Not the best tennis game ever. I mean, it's fun, but it's not as good as the one on the Gamecube. Anyway, if you're a huge Mario fan, you'l like it. (Note I didn't say love it.) It's an OK game. It's just not my fav.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »