Rent Mario Tennis Open for 3DS
view large frontback

Mario Tennis Open

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

567 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Nintendo Mario Game!

posted by ChaseTheRace11 (GRANTVILLE, PA) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted this game as soon as it came out, so I rented it here. Wow! I'm surprised with how many characters they put in ths game, three categories total. Starting, unlockable, and QR code downloadable. On a scale of one to ten, I give this game a ten. It's definetly one of the games on GameFly that's totally worth renting! :) Hit that rent button if you have a 3DS XL or normal 3DS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by Sonicfan78907 (FERRIS, TX) Aug 12, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

just like the origninal go on the official site to learn how to get qr codes hope this helps is u want metal mario and the other yoshi's and the costume to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best Mario Tennis games yet!

posted by Triracer19 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For as long as I can remember I've been a fan of Mario Tennis games, ever since the Nintendo 64 version. I wasn't expecting much out of this game, however I was surprised this is actually a pretty good game with some pretty clean and decent graphics. This is also one of the most challenging and realistic Mario Tennis games that I've ever played. I also found the clubhouse in game store and customization as well as the option to user your own personal Mii pretty cool. That being said this game could have benefited from more courts and characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!

posted by yzvball (NAZARETH, PA) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first game on Gamefly and i thought it was great. It came in 2 days and the game itself was really fun. It was perfect for me because the campain was on the short side. Great if you want to get a game right away. Overall you should totaly get this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth the rent

posted by biggielc (FAIRFIELD, CA) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a good tennis game but the reward system for items require u to play all the characters to get them all.to get coins to buy the items require to play mini Practice games.multiplayer is more fun at times then single player. I think most people will get bored after a few weeks of play.this will be the only Mario game tennis game I think for the nxt few yrs.rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

memories of the past

posted by jacksonfranklin (PERRY, MO) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i first poped this game in i thought "this is just like mario power tennis". Once i started playing it was a lot better. insted of wating for your rack to charge up you just step on the panel and BOOM your power shot. on sale of 1 to 10 i would give it a 8. the graphics are beautiful. i'm used to playing whith the ds up. i would get mad when the game woud swich camra view. if you like a over head view keep the 3ds down as far as you can

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun but repetitive

posted by loto128 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

super fun game, just gets kind of repeitive after a few hours. def worth renting, though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun multiplayer

posted by dragonmagicl (APOPKA, FL) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My kids (7 and 9) had a lot of fun with this one. Playing tennis with the Mario characters is a big highlight for them. My son enjoyed the tournament play the most and my daughter loved the rings mode. It's great because they can play against each other on a single cartridge. Overall, I think for a reasonable price, this game would make a great buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nintendo could have of done better

posted by superluigibro (CHULA VISTA, CA) May 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a fun game and all but i wish there were special moves. but besides that its a good game. its also addicting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by jtking345 (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it is AWESOME even though i haven't played it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not the best

posted by chadd8 (WINDSOR, VA) May 28, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

ok, i thought that this would be a fun game, not really.
good: graphics 8/10
story 6/10
a lot of characters
lots of customization

bad: to get clothes and stuff u have to get coins(no big deal) BUT u have to play special games to get them(u get nothing for winning a game) it tacks a long time to get stuff. witch i hate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good rental

posted by treywar25 (FREMONT, OH) Dec 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

Very fun gameplay,easy controls, good customization,great graphics, and a good selection of characters...only problem is rarely anybody is online and the gameplay can get competietive at times also there are not character specific special moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Cartoon Tennis Ever

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I love Tennis, and I'm a Mario fan, so this was good for me. Is it good for you? I don't know, that's your call. I can tell you what is good about it. Easy gameplay mechanics, the ability to play as your Mii, able to dress your Mii, etc. Just try it, I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Tennis Open is very fun.

posted by Ninjaian1425 (MINOOKA, IL) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Mario Tennis Open is a very fun and addictive game. I have had it for a good month and it has not gotten boring. I recommend the game to people that want a game that keeps you from being bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love this game, but

posted by sluggers1774 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I can't beat this tournament.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what expected...

posted by illumiinatii (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Before I start to blabber about this game, set aside the fact its in the Mario franchise. As a tennis game it lives up to the most general expectation that we have for that sport. Although, it gets repetitive and dull after a few hits. Now when you add Mario to the title we aspire gameplay that will keep us attached to our handheld for hours. This game fails to do that. No variety in minigames, customization, or storyline. It has all the characters we love. Why trick us into loving something that's not worth our time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

stop sending it

posted by lisalinda39 (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

you keep sending me this stupid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mario tennis open!

posted by ramonasanchez (COACHELLA, CA) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

honestly i think it was an awesome game,but the shipping is too slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mario Tennis 3ds

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I Really Didnt Care for It,I Find The Gamecube one more impressive..or wii,but this i like for its Online And Customizations To Your Character..u earn Clothes,Stuff..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun game

posted by MrMarioMan (SOLON SPRINGS, WI) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this game was fun but it needed more characters like i was hoping there would be shy guy in the game but my hopes were too high but i still rated it 9 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect for on the Go fun!

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

This game has a decent amount of content. it could have been a LOT more, so i think that Camelot won't be making the next Mario Tennis game. StreetPass content was lacking. but the mini games were soooo fun. Maybe more fun than the actual game. Doubles had a nice balance of getting the PERFECT TEAM. Singles was a good test of skill. Of course difficulty doesn't go up until you beat the initial 4 tournaments. Customization was the BEST ADDITION. Much like with Mario Kart 7, the gear you put on changes different attributes of your Mii character. BUT you have to first unlock those items, then buy them with coins. ALSO SEARCH THE INTERNET FOR AR CODES. these codes unlock characters and costumes for the game. there are quite a few out there and will be continuously released. This game is worth a RENT. but if you get super addicted to this game, the it could easily be a MUST BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More tennis than Mario

posted by thatsabigtiger (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game has less bells and whistles than most Mario titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by Izzy4gamefly (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

My 8 year old cousin and I LOVED to play this game together and head-to-head! It's REALLY fun and the grafics are great!
If you're playing doubles, your team has to be Donkey Kong and Daisy or Bowser and Peach. They work GREAT together!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing too special

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

It's a solid, well-designed tennis game, but, unfortunately, that's all it really is. There's nothing very exciting or uniquely Mario-centric about it; you just hit the ball back and forth. And the Special Games, like Ink Showdown and Galaxy Rally, don't stay fun for very long. It's worth a rent, but even this hardcore Mario fanboy wouldn't plop down forty bucks for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game.

posted by herbabygirl3110 (LUBBOCK, TX) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I do not recommend this game unless your one of those people who like boring games. i thought itd be awesome... turns out i hate it. i dont like it at all. but of course theres gonna be soe of you that love it so im not tryin to hate on you or nothing, im just saying my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse