Rent Mario Super Sluggers for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Super Sluggers

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

6724 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Super Sluggers

posted by nintendo9 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your looking for some fun while playing baseball and playing as your favorite Mario characters than Mario Super Sluggers is the game for you. Play as Mario,Boo, and some of the old time Mario characters such as Wiggler,Tiny Kong, Funkey Kong and much more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spectacular

posted by mmartin831 (LA VERGNE, TN) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My little boy and I had so much fun playing this game. For a nintendo the grahics are pretty good. I love the fact that my 5 year old is not sitting down pressing a bunch of buttons. He even got the timing down for batting and ended up hitting 10 home runs in one game. I recommend this game for anyone who has a little one or who is little at heart!!! Who can beat Mario!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by mommyjen (ATWATER, CA) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game rocks its a lot of fun not to easy just perfect esspecially if you have someone to play with it with you try it and trust me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great family game

posted by vlemus (WATERFORD, CA) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

We rented this game for my husband and my kids who are 3, 7, and 10 can all play this game. My 3 year old can pitch and hit the ball and my 7 and 10 year old beat my husband 13 to 2 on the first try. This is a fun and easy game for everyone except for me because I cant hit the ball but I still have fun trying...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by josh1123 (CARIBOU, ME) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

when i got the game it had a lot of scratches and it didn't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Super Sluggers

posted by cindy120 (MARIETTA, OH) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I can't rate this game b/c we never got to play it. My son lost privileges to all games with a screen until futrher notice.

Please cancel or suspend my account until further notice. Maybe we'll come back next summer. We'll see...

Sincerely,

Cindy Smith

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game was fun.

posted by GrahamtheCrackr (WEST HAVEN, CT) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I expected it to be a bit more like Wii Sports Baseball with Mario characters but the power of your swings/throws is meaningless it's all about timing in this game. The swinging of the Wii remote may as well have been button presses as opposed to Wii Sports that tracked your movement and speed. This isn't a bad thing, it's just not what I was expecting. The gameplay was a lot of fun the mini-games were fun, the variety and gimmicks in the different stadiums were very cool. Instead of everything just looking different they all had different challenges, for example: Princess Peach's stadium was covered in ice adding difficulty to your fielding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Baseball the Mario way

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Up to 4 players can play and this time you can do a 2 vs 2 baseball game unlike the previous game. The new attacking and error item feature makes it fun to play together.

There are also new mini games and the old mini games are included but slightly changed. The baseball fields from the old version are also on here but updated and I think there are 2 new fields available.

Other new features, attacking and error items, new characters available for play, (Baby DK, Blooper) more chemistry added between players (e.g Birdo & Daisy) and more chemistry feature added. (e.g Players with chemistry can catch home run balls)

Best thing added was the challenge mode and the recruiting new characters. The gamecube version had you play "story mode" 5x just to unlock all characters, this version you can play it once thru and everyone should be unlocked by the end.

Only downside is there are so many controls it's hard to remember them all but there is a little pop up when you play that reminds you of the buttons to press.

It's a good game for Mario fans but after story mode it gets dull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HOME RUN TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Whoever likes mario and baseball, this is the prefect game for you. Prefect for playing with friends, family, and rivals. This game deserves a perfect!

10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Super Sluggers Hits a Home Run!

posted by luigikid (CARLSBAD, CA) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In Mario Super Sluggers, you can customize your own unique team of heroes, villains, weirdos, and other random people. The biggest heroes and the biggest bad guys get their own stadiums! Classic baseball mixed with Mario plus great special effects equals Mario Super Sluggers! There are special power-ups that add complete awseomeness to the game! Not only that, but the most recognizeable characters have unique swings and pitches that match their personality wonderfully. Plus minigames! Lots of fun minigames. I love this game. I think you would too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Above Expectations

posted by muchia (PEORIA, IL) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I rented this game I was expecting to get a great Mario sports game with game after tame after game. But when I played it I was surprised to find an ADVENTURE MODE AND an exhibition mode. I loved how I could unlock characters by playing both ways. I also loved all the new characters and how the creators branched out into each individual character's games. It was above expectations. WAY TO GO NINTENDO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

worth the money

posted by thehuman (ELKLAND, MO) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing with so many characters stadiums mini games and amazing challenge mode mixed with simple controls and great multiplayer modes this game is a must have. it is one of my favorite games you should try it.

...now!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

after second bowser time he and jr join your team

posted by pokeking (GROVETOWN, GA) Sep 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i leared and gamefly can put this on ther cheats but i nkow as a fact bowser and crew join your team and you want to have speed not power for bowser the second time and a very very good pitcher with good glove

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it a preety good game yes it is a good game

posted by trentl (NORTH PORT, FL) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well i think that it is a very good and fun game and any one would like it but i think that it is kinda hard and gets frustrating and that is what i think of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Mario Super Sluggers Review.

posted by wallyimus (ALBION, NE) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is extremely fun in my opinion.
One fault is that the story mode is was to short..... I COMPLETED THE GAME IN 6 HOURS.

Great Game though to play over and over against friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very nice sports game for the Wii

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ive played many Wii games that were just depressingly horrible and put together like junk. You could expect since this game has mario on it that it wouldnt be that bad and is prouble a good game. Well that is completely true. Dont be scared to play this game because youve played many horrible sports games. I played this game and first of all i noticed it is much easier to play then many other sports games. Most sports games are so confusing that you almost throw your Wii across the room in frustration and break something. This game is not as "Simple" as Wii Sports baseball is, but its not that hard after you play it for a few minutes. First it tells you how to play it and it gives you easy to follow steps and then lets you practice. And it makes a bit more sense. Like when you catch the ball after somebody hits it you actually have to throw it, not the computer. And just a bunch of other small stuff that really show off the game and make it very fun. One thing i didnt see in the menu is WiFi, which i think would be very fun and make it even more fun. But overall i think this game is very good and is prouble one of the last good Wii games to come out for a while. You must rent this game and you should consider buying it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Super Sluggers

posted by Clankrocks (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. I like some of the characters in the game like Donkey Kong and Luigi. Also i like the different fields especially Wario's field.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super Slugers, Super Fun!

posted by mrobin (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a great pick up and play type. It has easy, simple controls that just about any age group can use. A wide selection of characters and that genuine Mario game-type feel you get from games such as, but not limited to: Mario Kart Wii, Mario Strikers Charged, and Mario Party 8.
The only few complaints I have(the main reasons I gave this game an 8 instead of a 10) are the sensitive controls and the lack of game play.
The controls on this game are very sensitive-and by this I mean that you can make a slight twitch of your hand and it will sometimes pitch the ball or swing the bat. As for the lack of game play, I was disappointed, because after playing Mario Kart Wii for a while, I thought this would be a game that you could play for a long time and still not get bored of. Not the entire case for this one. The lack of online play, short, and easy, story mode, and the repetitiveness of the game of Baseball in itself can get boring at times. So with that being said, I would advise you to not make the same mistake I did and purchase this game before renting, because if you are like me and get bored of repetitive games quickly, you WILL get bored of this game eventually. So, and I repeat, I strongly advise you rent this game, and keep it for a week or maybe two and if you still like it after that, then consider purchasing it.

Overall, this game, in my opinion, will be a Wii classic, and a GREAT rental!

~Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ouch

posted by beltboy (LINDEN, MI) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

wthis game is awsome i give it a 9.5 the only reason it did not get a ten is becuase it hurt my arm from playing to much lol (just kidding 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this game was good but......

posted by spong201 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was good but it may have been a little short. It had all the fun and right things about it but it's not as long as the others. bottom line-the game maybe needs to be a little longer and have more of a story.thanx for making this game nintendo and thank you for making mario.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not good enough for purchase

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Sep 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is fun to play if your a fan of mario, but i like a little more baseball and alot less antics in my sports games. But overall its a good rent. The controls are a little hard to master as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Baseball and Mario = Ok

posted by SirDidimus (CORALVILLE, IA) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This would be a great two-player game, but as a one-player game it's kind of disappointing. The "challenge" part of the game makes you go through a bunch of mini tasks which would help you during a game, but eventually they get kind of boring. In addition, there are mini games at each stadium, but you have no real point to beat them other than to beat them. The baseball part of the game is pretty cool and easy to control and interact with. Still, there isn't a season mode with things to unlock which would have scored the game higher as a single player game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game!

posted by NickyJoG1 (SAN JACINTO, CA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

its great for the whole family and really fun too i think its the best baseball game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Probly The Best Game out there

posted by circle (VESTAL, NY) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Listen whene i got this game i was excited well the challeng mode was ok but the mini chalanges so dumb nintendo could do beter now the controls were a little dope but ok mutiplay is awsome i gave this game a 10 because it has potiental rent YOU WILL LOVE IT moms god for your kids RENT IT NOW NOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Touchy controls limit game's potential

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I was very excited when I received this game in the mail, thinking it'd be the next awesome Nintendo game. Well, let me tell you, Nintendo's done better and they've done worse. The first thing I noticed were the controls. I spent a painful ten or so minutes in the Tutorial, by the end of which I was fuming mad times ten. The controls... are terrible. You can't charge a swing if you hold the remote like you do in real life or Wii Sports. Sometimes you'll be holding the remote back when the batter comes up and it pitches by itself. You'll throw a charge pitch and it won't respond. Then I realized: This game is not by Nintendo. Namco-Bandai made it. Obviously. That also explains the somewhat downgraded graphics. I'd expect Nintendo to drain as much graphic capability out of a game as possible, but these graphics are average-for the Wii. But enough negatives, let's get to the positives, of which there are several. First of all, the game's cartoony graphics (hello, it's a Mario game) are good in their own right, and the stages are huge and well-detailed with vibrant colors and, if you unlock Night Stages, bright lights. The game itself is great. There is a large selection of characters, and I haven't even unlocked all of them. There is, however, a shockingly low amount of stages to choose from-5 to start with and 3 or 4 to unlock. That is not good. (Keep in mind I haven't played the GameCube edition.) The Challenge mode, which has a name that makes no sense, is an okay point-and-click-puzzle- solving- baseball- playing adventure game that is interrupted all too much by "SCOUT missions" or "BATTLE missions", the introductions of which you cannot skip past, which is very irritating. But all in all, this game, at least at the discounted Gamefly price, is a great addition to your Wii library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse