Rent Mario Strikers Charged for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Strikers Charged

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

5194 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Exceeded Expectations

posted by wonderboy (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

I almost didn't give this game a second thought. Another Mario. Well, I'm glad I did. I've had nothing but fun, and high 5's with my two daughters playing this game. They also agree that this is a great Mario type game. Sports theme with some hitting, and scoring...loads of fun. This is a must have as a multi-player game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Crazy Soccer

posted by ashewmaker (LOS ALAMOS, NM) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Strikers is a pretty wacky game of soccer, with all sorts of enjoyable mayhem. Like others have said, multiplayer mode is more fun than single player mode, and the online experience is generally quite smooth.

Those who have issues playing games in which every button does something will have difficulty mastering Strikers, but I'm challenged in that way and I still was able to enjoy it. I'll never be a top player, but I can certainly enjoy taking part in the cartoon violence.

I can't decide whether the animations are annoying interruptions or welcome breaks. It might have been better for the fluidity of the game if the megashots only showed the animation the first time in the match. On the other hand, it helps the defender switch mental gears and gives both players a chance to shake out their hands.

Though I enjoyed renting it, I probably won't buy it. I tend to prefer adventure games and minigame collections.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Multiplayer, Weak Single Player

posted by knickfan92 (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Super Mario Strikers is the latest sports game from Nintendo, and boy does it have that Nintendo shine. It looks just like a gamecube game, so almost identical to the original. The Single Player mode is very weak, because the first few cups go by very quickly with very little challenge, then out of nowhere they get instantly harder, to the point where you want to curl up into a little ball and cry. The multiplayer, however, is where the game really shines. Online is pretty much lag-free for the most part, and the ranking system works pretty well, even though it is very annoying that they don't have an all-time leader, but that's a different story. The offline multiplayer is also a lot of fun, the most fun with only one other person. The challenge mode is ridiculous, because the tests range anywhere from "Score two goals within 2 Minutes," to "Score 8 Goals in one game." This seems possible, except that the computer is as hard as the game could get, making it very hard to score even one. A choice in the difficulty would have been nice, but it does give you a way to tone up your skills, and get your anger out. The Sidekicks are more of a team member this time around, not just there to fill up space. The very fun thing to do, besides playing online, is the superstar kicks, which brings you to this mini-game where you get to move the wii-mote to try and block the balls. You feel Awesome when you do it, and really bad when you miss some, as this can turn the game around in an instant. All-in-all, this is a nice little package for people that love Mario, the sport of soccer, online play, and for fans of the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing buy buy buy

posted by wiipaintba (Kingston, RI) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

After renting this game on gamefly I decided to buy it. The reason was how great it is. This game is amazing the wifi works great except when you are playing someone and you are winning they drop out sometimes. This problem and the fact that there is no online communication whatsoever. All those things aside it is an amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games 4 the wii

posted by bigboy3 (MURRIETA, CA) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

If u were lucky enough 2 get a wii this should be a definet buy.the graphics on this game r 2 good 2 be true.this is one of the easier games 2 pick up and play on the wii.if u play with friend u r getting the full exsperience.The online is the best thing about this game u can get even better when u play online. most of the people i played were 2 good 2 be messed with but i loved this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is the best soccer game ever made!

posted by ilovewii (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Soccer games suck. This game isn't like other soccer games. In other soccer games you cant hit your opponent into a electric wall or blow them up with a bomb. I have never played a good soccer game before. The other ones where ok but this game ROCKS!

You can pick from all your favorite mario players. you have a lot of captain's to choose from and about 10 sidekicks you can pick too. All the fields are really fun and interesting. Not one of the fields looks the same.

Over all this is a great game. I loved it so much i bought it. If you don't like soccer you will still like this game. If u like soccer then you will love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but too easy to score

posted by MikeorLib (BRADENTON, FL) Aug 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Fun game but come on this is soccer, scoring is not suppose to be easy. Once you figure out the special kicks its easy to score. It is a great multi player game though and I would recommend it for anyone who likes any sports games with specials and such.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS GAME IS SWEET!!!!!!

posted by pbandjam (WESTFIELD, PA) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

i personally loved this game, and for people who love the older verson of this game, or who have heard of the older game's features,you'll expect changes.I did, however, to find the sounds and music weren't really that great during game play( but I loved the movie and main menu music).I found the new charaters awsome, finally, you play as that fire breathing powerhouse Bowser.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game

posted by ferrarif1 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Aug 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is very fun and very easy. but i suggest to the beginners I wouldn't use online play. Altough it's still fun doing story or domination mode.

The gameplay is good and so are the graphics. And practice before you do the online play. This game is a pretty fun game and I suggest it to all mario fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So close to perfection...

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This is easily my favorite Wii game to date. If you've come looking for a Fifa, turn around now. This is an arcade-style soccer game, which is accessible to everyone but not as easily mastered. Playing through the single player provides fast-paced entertaining action, but a difficult to complete. The different captains are tailored for different play styles, as are the sidekicks. Each has his/her own individual skills and shots, which all have pros and cons.

Any captain can win, if you put the right sidekicks on his/her team. Any sidekick can be a part of a winning team, given the other characters are chosen and used right. That's what keeps this game entertaining, as well.

Multiplayer is the shining point of the game. People have been reluctant to trust Nintendo's first Wifi experiences, but this one has gone off incredibly well--the only lag I've ever seen is due to user error.

There are only 2 flaws that I've found with this game. One is that characters stats are not unique. Characters have "types" which determine a standard set of statistics for them. "Balanced" is the same as all other "balanced" characters, "playmaker" is the same as all other "playmaker" characters, etc. However, the individual skill sets and shots keep this a minimal annoyance (minus Mario and Luigi, who are clones yet again...)

The only other flaw I've found is the lack of communication in online games. Nintendo should address this by utilizing the Wii's capabilities for communication as well as playing. In order for the Wii to really be about "We", (the players, and community) the Nintendo community needs ways of uniting. One such way will need to be better communication in online gaming. There currently is none, and this is the sole reason I gave the game a 9 instead of a 10.

For a fast, fun, short (games last at most 5 minutes long, which is refreshing compared to games you need to sit down and devote hours to) game featuring great multiplayer fun, Strikers is it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

4 Player Fun

posted by Ninjabetic (LA HABRA, CA) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

I was not sure how a soccer game would translate onto the Wii.

Would we strap the Wiimote to our feet?

It turns out that although the controls are not as interactive as Wii Sports this is still a very fun game. There is a great "training" section which is a ton of fun on its own and it really gets you ready to play.

The online games are really cool too. We got a kick (no pun intended) out of playing with others online.

We ended up adding this to your home collection of game. You should definately check this title out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An amazingly fun game!

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

I have so much to say about this game but to make this review short i'll make a quick pros. and cons. list.

Pros:
-Addictive, fun, and action packed gameplay
-Very cool super moves and a fun goaly minigame using the Wii-mote pointer function
-A great selection of Nintendo characters From mario to Diddy Kong and even the Pihranna plant!
-Wi-fi is very cool and easy to connect too. Plus being able to have a guest play with you on the same Wii online is great
-Very good graphics and attention to detail
-Arenas are detailed and fun with cows and thunderbolts flying around
-Easy to pick up and play
-Tackling by flicking the Wii-mote is very satisfying
-Gets very hard very fast offering a great challenge
-Controlls are easy and fun
-Cheats and exta characters are fun to unlock
-Passing and shooting is easy

Cons:
-No communication online
-Forced to play with random people online
-Sometimes can be too hard
-Hard to tell who is who
-Wi-fi can be laggy sometimes

Overall:
-An amazing game with decent online and lots of action. Lots of characters but please step up with online and make it easier to see everything that is going on at that time. Otherwise the game is fun and a must buy even if you hate sports games or soccer because it it better than any sports game I have played in a long time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

super action packed gaming

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Aug 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

you will love this game. it has all your favorite captins like Mario,luigi,peach,yoshi, and more. theres been new sidekicks like birdo,hammer bros,boo,dry bones and more but the coolest thing of all is the MEGASTRIKES. it lets you shoot up to 6 balls at once. each captin has a special move for the megastrikes. the tournament is a matchup aganst lots of opponents. when you made it through everything you go agenst someone called dark horse. but it gets hard when you get to the third trophy: the strikers cup. the power-ups are amazing,such as super mario,egg roll, freeze frame,gas mask and more. so you have to try this game get it. have fun playing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is awesome!!!

posted by LCDog1979 (MARINA, CA) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game is off the hook. New character moves and interaction with the goalie to stop incoming balls, the use of the remote plus the on line feature gives any game better replay value. This game rocks. Can't wait for more Wii on line games. ROCK ON NINTENDO!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wii's Best!

posted by CJWhite (ANDOVER, KS) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

This game is top-notch, it is the most fun of any game on the Wii. I bought it after only a few minutes of playing it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Mansponge (PARKLAND, FL) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This is an amazing game with a great career and online mode. You can be any of the mario characters you want and the controls are very easy to master. The only reasons why I gave it a 9 was because the music is very annoying, and the game is also very aggravating. I recommend this game to anybody who wants a extremely fun gaming experience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game! Gooooaaaaaaal

posted by Wolfman173 (WEST COVINA, CA) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Having never played the GameCube original I rented this solely on hype. The game is very good and plays nicely. If you are a Strikers fan I am sure you will not be disappointed! The controls are fairly easy to learn and the game play will keep you into it. The scoring is another story. It took me a little bit to get use to how to pass and get a ball through for a Gooooooaaaaaaaaal!!!!! But I finally did and it is a fun game for sure! However, this is a very different type of soccer. If you are looking for realism, this is not it. My 7-year old son likes to play Strikers and seems to have caught on to the controls as well. While not taking full advantage of the power ups he is scoring and enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Definitely worth playing.

posted by Johannes (WILKESBARRE, PA) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

I was a big fan of the previous Strikers, so I bought this right away. I don't regret the decision at all. I'll get started reviewing.

Graphics: Nothing overly wrong here. Yes, the graphics aren't impressive, but graphics don't make the game, do they? I have no complaints. -0

Gameplay: The game is fast paced, and enjoyable. Only flaw is that the aggressive nature of the game can make it sometimes stressful (or maybe it's just me getting easily annoyed), but that's nothing too bad. Wi-fi simply enhances the enjoyable experience of the game. The games online mode is lagless, granted you have a good connection. Luckily, the game shows you how good a connection you have before the match, and if it's too low, you can choose against the match up. The game is responsive, and the controls are near perfect. Really, the game has no major faults in its controls or its formula. -1/2 for the stress thing, but again, it's not that bad.

Sound: The music, while there's no awful music, isn't the most enjoyable sound out there. What bugs me in this part, is the character themes. Each character has a theme, but it's normally annoying, and gets easily repetitive. Other than that, though, the games sound effects are well done. -1 for the character themes (but some seem to like the themes. I just don't).

Length: The game has longevity with its multiplayer, but, while I haven't fully played through, it doesn't seem to have much to do in single player mode. Even if there is a lack of single player length, multiplayer is what the games about, and that's just fine. In single player, the computer sometimes uses annoying tactics, but it's nothing a skilled striker can't overcome. -0 nothing wrong here.

Overall:
Graphics: -0
Gameplay: -1/2
Sound: -1
Length: -0
Total: -1.5 (rounds to -2)
10-2=8

Rent, buy, or ignore: Well, I don't know if everyone will like the game, so if you're unsure of the formula, rent the game, but if you know you like it, then buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Purchase?

posted by GameDudeAR (LAKE MARY, FL) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

I am currently renting this game from GameFly, but why isn't there a Keep It button, it says not for sale. I really wanna buy this game, anyone know why it won't let me?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse