Rent Mario Strikers Charged for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Strikers Charged

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

5190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MARIO CHARGE!

posted by MagooMan (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game is exactly what the title promises. A fast paced charged up sequel to the original, with ONLINE gameplay. Nothing sluggish about the smooth graphics and mechanics, albeit challenging at times. Very fun, interactive, and the matches are short so you can save or take a break at almost any time. 3 minutes of pure Mario Mayhem at its best, a must have/rent/buy title!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario plays soccer, awesomely

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

Mario has been put into a number of sports, from golf, basketball, tennis, racing, and now for the second time, he hits the soccer field.
The second online game for the Wii, and as many have heard, the first great online Wii game. The game is just plain fun. Even if you aren't a big soccer fan, just remember than this isn't quite soccer. Explosions, giant plumbers, flying cows, and chomp-chomps sets this apart from any FIFA you ever play.
The game's controls can take a little practice, and then you're ready to play. Sadly, there isn't as much to do besides bigger challenges and the long road to the striker cup. But, then there is online. Online play makes this game live on, and it can be fun to find an equal player and try to increase your rank or just have some fun. Matches run well as they match you up based on skill level and connection quality.
One last issue is that the characters sometimes feel so small, that you sometimes can't tell who is who, and green players can blend into green fields.

A fun game, that doesn't even require one to know or even enjoy the game of soccer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good game

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Mario Strikers Charged is a very solid game. The online play is mostly good and the single player will take up much time as well. I would reccomend this game to anyone. Get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but not enough behind it.

posted by Turtlemonk (VALHALLA, NY) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Mario Strikers was fun for a few days. The online play was novel, but not anything I haven't already experienced with MarioKart DS. This game is impossible to get good at in a week, but not gripping enough to make you want to spend the time to get really good at it. After the beginning levels, it's really really difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than The First

posted by armyman09 (CORONA, CA) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

The first Mario Strikers that was on the gamecube was really fun when you had friends over to the house. And the wii version is even better. It has better controls and added modes and characters. And this game is a great party game. the single player is very fun and the multiplayer is even better. Online is pretty good there is a few things that could have been fixed but other than that this game was pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best multiplayer for the Wii so far

posted by Tyzore (ABERDEEN, WA) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

Of all the Wii games out as of September, Mario Strikers Charged is my favorite. Like the previous game on the Gamecube, it has all of the main Mario characters as well as some of the minor ones being sidekicks. Let me first say this: Do not play this game just for one player mode. You will be entertained for awhile, but you will soon get bored. If you have internet, then you will love playing Mario Strikers online. Playing with friends is great too. the first time I played this with a friend, we played for five straight hours! It was great. Overall, I give it a 7 for single player mode, and a 10 for multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HIGHLY ADDICTING! hours of fun and mayhem!

posted by killakam (ROCKLIN, CA) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

i love this game. it has taken countless nights away from me....not sleeping..not eating.

this is more then a game, its an obsession!

the graphics are really nice to look at. its cleaner then most nintendo based games. the super moves are awesome!

the music in the game is unlike any other nintendo game ive seen. its hard rock in some modes. the music is awesome!

great use of the wii mote. not too much movement but enough to make it feel like you are playing the next-gen console!

gotta rent this game! amazing and addicting!
-kk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Makes an awesome impression on the Wii

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

All I have to say is..wow! I'd like to give this game a perfect 10. But the only thing that holds it back is:

-The cup challenge is too short.

Other than that, online play is very good and so is exibition. The characters are all unique with their abilities and personalities. Soccer is a lot more fun and wackier with the Mario gang. I'd buy this game right off. No need to consider renting it. It's worth the buy. The family will enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10 Overall

posted by Smited (BRONX, NY) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Super Mario Strikers : Charged is a great game for both Mario and soccer fans. The different modes are awesome, Domination is great for playing with friends and is full of cheats to make the game more challenging. Challenge mode is for getting cheats, also, if you feel like you need a task to complete, you can try this mode. Road to Strikers Cup, the "campaign" part of the game. You face oppeonents for the different cups and before the eliminations/finals, you can get awarded the Brick Wall and/or Golden Foot. This game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eh...

posted by Mossax (LUBBOCK, TX) Oct 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

When I started Strikers I was excited because it seemed like it was going to be a blast. My roommate and I turned on our Wiimote's and when through the tutorials and about 30 minutes later were ready to start the game. When we got into the main part of the game however, it seemed as if the tutorials meant nothing. The game constantly did moves that it had not taught us and every time we seemed to have gotten the upper hand the AI did some other super move that we had no idea existed. It was not until we started button mashing and arm flailing that we realized all of the "hidden" moves in this game. After we figured out how to settle the score the game seemed like it was going to be great from there on out, but yet again the AI changed the rules and did things to just make it self win. The rules constantly change in this game and if your hoping to go for all of the cups you better like the team you pick because you cannot change it unless you start all the way back from the beginning. Oh and if you happen to lose at the very end of the cup tournaments I hope you have a lot of patience because you will once again have to start from the beginning of the cup and work you way back up again. Don't get me wrong this game is intense and a lot of fun if you can ever find a way to even the playing field with the ever changing AI and rules but until then this game is just as frustrating as it is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Uses Nintendo's Winning Combination

posted by Holystrife (Molalla, OR) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

I was weary of this game, after all I'm the Mario Kart type, and figured a sports game would not be that much fun - just because its not my genre of choice.

Mario Strikers Charged pulls from Nintendo's winning combination and makes all of those its strengths:

4 People Co-Op Factor: Just like the other successes in the franchise, you can play with four people sitting in the same room. Something thats difficult to find in an entertaining game, In many other games it seems to be an afterthought, not here.

Throw Stuff Factor: Theres nothing better then releasing the turtle when someones trying to score a goal, whether your going Co-Op or VS mode theres just something satisfying about throwing stuff.

Controlled Chaos: The first time you pick up the controls, the eight players and two goalies on the screen may seem overwhelming, but after the short learning curve (Issues? Take the tutorials to cut that learning curve into nothing) it all makes sense, I still tend to confuse Toadstool for the ball when goalie pounds him, but thats neither here or there.

Rewards for winning a cup: Ahhh yes, what good is playing vs the computer and winning cups if your not going to get rewarded for it. When you beat a cup you unlock a character to use in VS mode.

All your favorite (and not so favorite characters): Yup they are all there, from Wario's gaseous powers, to Peach's girly go-aheads - Find the one you love.

So If I've become such a fan of this game, why not a 10?

Well there are some issues with the AI and the way the progressive difficulty builds. The first cup you should be able to beat once your familiar with the basics (and Mega Strike), The second cup seemed kind of like luck was the only thing that would let me win. And The third cup? Well, Lets just say that it seems that your team no longer moves as quickly as it once did, and the AI teams have suddenly gained some pretty speedy feet.

The issues are few, and definitely not game breakers. Fun for ALL ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Game as of 9/22 for Wii

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Sep 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

As of 9/22 this is the best game I have played for the Nintendo Wii. The online play is good and the people you play online are very good. I think this is a good game to get to satisfy your Mario needs until Mario Kart in 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!

posted by kevso1 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I think that this game rocks so if anybodies skeptical i highly reccomend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its very bad

posted by ericzzz123 (BOCA RATON, FL) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

the game is very bad and hard to beat people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun time playing multi-player.

posted by Remarks (O FALLON, MO) Sep 19, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game was really exciting and fun up front. It really helped to run through the tutorial which was great to have as two players. Once I got the hang of the controls (especially blocking super shots) it was really fun. After a while the animations became kind of repetitive and the creativity wore off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Frustrating

posted by Dakrin (DAYTON, TN) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This game frustrated me to insanity. while the game is fun and online is probably great, the game just does not live up to the previous title. in the previous title i was able to score goals with regular shots on medium or hard difficulty, but in this version i found it almost impossible to do even
on easy.

none of this compares to the ineptitude of your team mates AI. this makes it almost impossible to play the game in the tourney mode. also you will get lots of those last second game winning goal scored on you by the opponents.

my last problem is you can't create a new team with out starting the tournament mode completely over.

overall i would say poor AI runes and most the changes from the GC version make this a poor game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Gameplay - Impossible Cups

posted by Magnolia (TAMPA, FL) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

The gameplay is really fun just like it's Gamecube counterpart. Controls are decent, using the Wiimote is fairly intuitive.

The Cup progression is very hard and doesn't make much sense. An opponent with all losses is harder than an opponent with all wins in some cases. You lose one or two times during the cup and you're kicked out to start over from the beginning. And in most cases you lose against a team that has ALL losses previously! It is ridiculously difficult, much more so than the Gamecube version.

(And there is no shortcut by restarting the system to avoid a loss either).

I'm glad I didn't buy this game. It is fun, but the impossibility of the cup progression is not. It makes spending 30-45 minutes of your time working towards a goal with friends useless when you get kicked out of the cup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Frustrating Frustrating Frustrating

posted by Noelix (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I have never cussed at a game so much in my life. It is OK to play against other people, but the computer-controlled characters on your team are just awful. The AI is completely one-sided and it makes things completely frustrating. The fact that you have to use the same button for passing and switching characters makes for some easy frustrations when you try to pass twice in a row and the first passee doesn't receive the ball properly so you end up controlling the third person without the ball, and your second person gets hit because the computer-controlled characters on your side are brain dead. I've seen my characters go BEHIND the goalie of my own team! Don't rent this if you value your hair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow What an awesome game!!!

posted by DadnSonWii (WARWICK, NY) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game by far beats any we've rented.We are addicted to it. My game partner is 7 and i try as hard as i can to beat him and have to suck it up when he kicks my butt in this game...i am 35 and we have Mario Strikers WARS!!! We have fun for hours. At first it may seem a little difficult using the nunchuk and the wirless control together and the menu may be confusing cause you dont know which to select, however when you try them all and take you time, youll be as addicted as we are..Happy gaming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's OK fun but not very challenging.

posted by Dietrich (CINCINNATI, OH) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

Once you realize that all you have to do to win every match is get the ball to your captain, get clear of defenders and perform a super-power-ultra-mega shot for a bazillion goals, you can win every game against every computer opponent.

The DS version of this game was a little different because performing a super shot required you to tap a various pattern on the screen, different for each team captain. There was precision and skill involved. In the Wii version you just hold down the z button. It's entirely too performable on demand.

If you have a human player to play against, it's not as overpowered, but against the computer you won't ever lose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good game

posted by D3aths (RAINIER, WA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since May 2005

this is awesome with freinds and but the single player is kinda crapp the Ai for single player is unbalanced but the Wifi is where its at me and my freind couldnt stop playing it online. if u want a wii game thats actually good pick this one up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gamer's Game

posted by Raving (VALENCIA, CA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

This game has a lot of fun action, but it's probably for someone who is good at button mashing and traditional gaming. There were too many combinations to remember to be any good at it and to have fun. I definitely wasn't coordinated enough to play this game very well. Too bad, too, because it seemed fun behind all the buttons and controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'll stick to Fifa

posted by Atlantiz (FALL RIVER, MA) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

It's an alright game, especially if its kids who will be playing it.
But if you like soccer, REAL soccer, than stick to FIFA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One game that online play..

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Mario strikers charged is a game that put together well. One of the first games that you can play on-line. It a fun little game that dose allot of things its a sports game its a arcade game. It will take someone that never played about 15 min to get a hold of the game. And 30 mins to have it down pat. But when you do it a fun game to play..

Pros:fun game, all the Nintendo characters, and touch of Arcade in the game to make it fun, on-line play so you and your friends can play at home.

Cons: On-line Play is very rough on playing people you don't know. No communication of any kind in the on-line. No chat no voice. No per made messages.

All in All: its a good game for kid that are in to soccer or any sports and maybe nudge then in to sports. I like it. Wish the on-line was better.

1 out of 10: 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much like the original

posted by GamingJC (GOLDEN, CO) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game was pretty much the same as the first one found on the game cube. The only noticeable difference was a few more captains, new trick shots allowed for team mates, and a new scoring technique that lets you score up to six goals at once. Of course this game did lack more originality and could have used a few more improvements from the first one. To me it seems they just wanted to get the game out rather then take a few moments to think of some new a cooler ways to improve the game. Overall if you enjoyed the first you will enjoy this one, and is a must rent/buy if you become addicted playing it with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse