Rent Mario Strikers Charged for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Strikers Charged

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

5190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Simple and Fun

posted by zgamer92 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Overall, its only a decently well made game. Nothing too special. But sometimes you can look past a game's simplicity for the simple fun behind it. Obviously, its no FIFA, but you probably aren't expecting that. Its fast-paced and challenging. It doesn't use the Wii controls to their full ability but I'm not blaming them because this game really is fine without it. It's just a simple game and I do recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games for the Wii

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I loved this game. My kids love this game. I love to watch my kids play this game. This is a classic with a great dynamic, it just is all around wonderful! I have nothing bad to say about it. It is the best thing that ever happened to my Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for a Rent, Not a Buy

posted by Hacklan (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Dec 8, 2007

Member since May 2005

Fun game in multi-player and in solo mode. medium difficulty to just pickup and play. It is really fun for the first few days then gets kind of old. The game play is slightly too repetitive, needs more variety... but being a soccer game I'm not sure what else they can do with it but have you play soccer. The single player is very frustrating at times because after 10 games to get into a Cup, one loss and you have to spend another 30-45 minutes replaying the 10 games to get back into the cup. I would have rated it higher but is simply too easy to exploit Toad's "jump over the goalie to score" move. The game seems a bit rushed and obviously not tested enough (game exploits) before it was put on store shelves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Soccer Game!

posted by JawJackinF (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game was fun. My 5yr old loved it too. Controls were fairly simple and easy for my son to pick up on. We had a great time playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for the First 10 Minutes

posted by SpawnCampr (FULTON, NY) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This is an OK game. It has some fun aspects of it however the games always turn into a slugfest and a low score, if any at all. The online play is functionally great, never had a problem with latency and the games ran smoothly. Unfortunately the game gets repetitive and old really fast. I had a bunch of friends over and played online with other friends. After about 3 3-game matches everyone was bored and moved on to something else. The game has no rules and allows you to take out any player you want at any time, and even gives power-ups to do it faster. This leads to you getting hit within 3 seconds of getting the ball, especially while playing online. When the game boils down to someone trying to run away from people long enough to get a shot off the fun stops.
Granted players that are really good at the game can find ways to stave off the attacks long enough to score, but that happens rarely.

Its a good rent however you will more than likely get sick of the game after a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Take out the megastrikes

posted by j3hu7y (FAIRFAX, VA) Dec 2, 2007

Member since May 2005

I am generally not a sports title person, so take that into account, but I do occasionally like the Mario sports titles... occasionally. Desperately wanting something with online play for the Wii, this seemed like a great purchase, especially because my friends were really into the original Gamecube version. With the addition of the megastrikes, I feel like the gameplay can get quite annoying, especially online when it seemed that all people did was run to the goal and hold down the button to perform that action. It's not that it's that hard to steal the ball or prevent the megastrike from happening, but that pretty much became the entire game. Rather than having fun and playing Mario soccer online.. it was just a game of "prevent the megastrikes" or "block the multiple ball attack from the megastrikes". I'm sure plenty of other people out there had the same experience online, because it was almost every single match I played. I'm the type of person who doesn't repeatedly use moves like that because, 1. the whole thing was annoying... watching the animation over and over again, 2. it just felt cheap. almost as if there should be some sort of "super meter" that you had to fill up before you could do one, but no. You could do them all day for free. I'm not saying the game is broken. But not being able to chat online with Nintendo Wifi, you aren't able to let the other player know how annoying they are playing. There are plenty of other moves to use in the game, it's just that the megastrike allows you to score multiple goals at once, so it's the quickest want to a cheap win. If you are interested in bumping your online ranking up higher, I guess that's the way to go. I hope enough people felt the same way about it and Nintendo tries to better balance thier games for online play in the future.
It's still an ok game if you want to play with a friend on the same TV. At least then you can tell him he's an annoying jerk for just constantly megastriking the whole time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good or not to be good

posted by desmoines (VILLAGE OF NAGOG WOODS, MA) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

the graphics for this game are ok but nonthing special. the sound is allright. and the gameplay is pretty good but it gets boring after a while and the super kicks or more annoinying then fun. but the sidekicks super kicks are a nice iddetion to the game. but trieng to kick normal goals will barely go in so its just pretty much who can get the most superkicks. this is a good game to rent before rushing to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not your typical Mario

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

Mario Strikers Charged is quite a hoot to play. You have great control over your character and like Mario Kart there are numerous special abilities and items you can get to unleash on your victims on the battlefield. It is well thought out and the sidekicks have their own special moves. It is good to have a wide variety of sidekicks on your team as they can each do something spectacular for you.

I played a few games on-line. I think that some of these guys who play on-line must sit there and do nothing else all day long. Let’s just say I took a couple of immense beatings. I started to feel like the game was too intense. It didn’t really feel like a soccer game at all. It was more like a big punch fest with a ball rolling around inbetween. You could only hold on to the ball for a second or two and you had to constantly be hitting and smashing to get the ball back for a second before someone hit you one second later to get it back again. It got really annoying after a while.

I decided that this was not a game that I wanted to spend a lot of time with. I got super bored of watching the superstriker goal kick. You had to watch the whole sequence everytime it came on and lasted a good 15 to 20 seconds. I felt more frustration than anything after my time with the game was up.

The characters were cool but they started to bother me a little bit. One of the reasons that you get a Mario game is so that you can feel safe in letting your small kids play it and watch it. The Mario characters were full of electricity and their eyes looked very evil or that they were possessed. It was cool but not what I want from my Mario games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superb!

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Nov 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

This game will satisfy you need to end lives. Chucking the wii-mote foward to annihilate you enemy is probably the funnest thing to do. Especially when you're playing online with a five year old and he's beating you. You can just knock him into the wall! Online play is the funnest part of this game...even when your not playing online it's still fun. Donkey Kong is my favorite guy to pick, he has the best team. This game is a Must-Buy for all wii-owners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but chaotic

posted by indieguy (LAFAYETTE, IN) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

This is a fun game but a little uneven.

Fun:

Playing against other people. It's fun to shake the remote to knock people over.

Not fun:

Single-player mode requires you to master all of the technical pieces right off the bat. It's also a little chaotic - it's impossible to follow exactly what's going on where and to effectively manage your playing without just hitting a lot of buttons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but challenging

posted by coolguy7 (SURPRISE, AZ) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I loved the game play, a little hard to get the hang the controls but can get easy. Its also hard to up your game but it just takes practice. overall its fun. i might buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by ILikeGames (SISTERSVILLE, WV) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

This game is so awful that it made me want to break my wii. Seriously, I couldn't get the guys to move anywhere I wanted them too, its like they just go wherever they want. I'm usually not a big fan of Mario games, Super Paper Mario was a huge let down, so I don't know why I thought this game would be any different. Thats pretty much my review. I played this for about 5 minutes and it went back into the rental case. Such a waste of 5 minutes that I could have used playing God or War 2 or just about any game for Playstation 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario strikers charged

posted by immacplaya (STONY POINT, NY) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

this game is so awesome. i love playing it on wifi but i always loose. the graphic are good and it is a perfect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mediocre, boring game

posted by moose3 (PRINCETON, NJ) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I didn't like this game. Granted, I only played it for an hour, but when you get bored halfway through a 3-minute match, something's wrong. I don't really like sports games, and this is too close to FIFA or something for me to really like it. I returned it within a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Single Play is good & challenging. But not online

posted by Chrispy (MIAMI, FL) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I have to admit, when I first picked up the wii control and started playing this game, it took me hours to finally stop due to having work the next day. The graphics are nice, game play is very smooth. Very fun and addicting game imo, until I saw how bad the online was.

It's basically unbeatable for me. I usually use Mario as my captain, and my 2 other side kicks while every other player I've encountered uses Yoshi, Waluigi, Bowser (or other captains all at once as well) all in their team while I'm stuck with just 1 captain.

At first I thought it was something you had to earn in single player until I realized it was basically cheaters, and unfortunately either I have a real bad time getting matched up with actual legit players, or everyone pretty much cheats at this game.

There is always a trick that gives them a huge edge. Constant Mega strikes (btw, you can't even see the balls coming at you, so hitting them is impossible ) and losing every round no matter how good you are in single player isn't my cup of tea.

Great game for single player, but for someone like me who is really into online gaming, I advise avoiding it this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Multiplayer

posted by SAMGUY (SPRING, TX) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

SOOO!!! Much fun!!! When you score it sends A feeling trough you!! Very energetic GREAT BUY!! Online Is fun to!!! GREAT GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun Mario Game. Playing online not so fun.

posted by smallwii (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Game is not bad itself. Was excited to get online and play, but that turned out to be not exciting. There are a few characters that have the ability to walk right by the goalie and score. So online play consists of this going back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. It could have been some real fun moving around and trying to score with a shot, but other gamers insist on starting a never ending cycle of just walking the ball into the net.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than before!

posted by gamer5 (LAVEEN, AZ) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I wish i could give this a 8.5 that is what is deserves. The graphics are WAY better than before. the mega strikes super abilities and skill shots are cool. along with offensive decks new sidekicks new captains interactive fields new cheats and wifi. the wii motion controls work out well. i might have enjoyed it better if i had wifi. the only lacking part is AI and the story mode. i mean the stupid computers have all the perfect opportunities and waist them. the story mode is dumb because the computers get stronger and you have to earn certain trophies to unlock new stadiums. this is a must for mario sports fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Online Play!

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- Online play! Finally!
- Decent changes and additions to the GC version
- Wii controls are a good addition
- Finally a way to actually block goals

Cons
- Graphics not much better than GC
- Online can be laggy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Even Better Than the Original

posted by Bozo33 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Oct 27, 2007

Member since May 2006

I'll start off by saying that I absolutely loved the first version of this game on the GameCube. I was thrilled when I found out a new version was coming to the Wii. Normally, such high expectations leave a person disappointed, but this game delivers 100%.

Basic gameplay is still the same. Four-on-four action with Kritter as both teams' goalie. The new captains are Diddy Kong, Bowser, Bowser Jr., and Petey Piranha. The new sidekicks are Boo, Dry Bones, Monty Mole, and Shy Guy. The four person teams consist of one captain and three sidekicks. Whereas in the original game all three of your sidekicks were the same, in this game you can choose three different characters.

Once again, the captain is able to perform super/mega strikes, think multi-ball in pinball. This time, however, you get to control your goalie by using the Wii Remote to block the shots. Also, sidekicks now have their own unique skill shots, each with its own advantages and disadvantages. Another new feature is a weapon which unleashes the captains super power, which varies for each captain.

Perhaps the best feature of this game is Wifi play. While playing against friends is awesome, your friends aren't always around and you can only play the computer so many times before you get bored. Online play allows you to match up against players from around the country. Glitches and lag seem to be at a minimum, so games are most often very fair. The one problem with the online play is the ranking system. You get 10 points for a win, 1 point for a loss, and one point for each goal (up to 10 in a game). This means that someone who goes 40 wins and 40 losses will have more points than someone who goes 40 wins and 0 losses, assuming they score the same number of goals. It really does reward the most active players, rather than the best players. The fun of the online play, however, outweighs the poor ranking system.

Overall, this is a great game. If you liked the original, you'll love this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good game, not for me

posted by 3teDrummer (TOWSON, MD) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

All in all, Mario Strikers Charged is a good game. The online play feature is something all us Wii owners out their were dying for. The lag at times sucked, but what else can you expect from the first wi-fi game that I knew about. The upgraded game play and intense fields were fun for a while, but eventually I just got tired of (the map where your players can get knocked off is quite annoying). I was looking for a fun soccer game, and to be honest it's more like rugby with a soccer ball. It's a good game if you're into to it, but a little to crazy to for my liking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adicting fun

posted by swrdrunner (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Addicting game. Great games for all ages but esp for pre-teen kids. Game is more fun then it was on the gamecube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jordon (KATY, TX) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This is one of the best wifi games I ever played.Everybody should get this game. It has so many characters you can make all sorts of team combos.Plus this the second online game for the wii. That means you can play anywhere anytime of the day.If you liked the first you should like this game.The difficulty level is 6 out of 10 for me. A good team is bowser jr. 2 boos and one hammer bor.This team is good because every character can pass good. Then you take the two boos and charge the ball up.After you do that pass it to a good hitter,and make a goal!YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY- YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY- YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY- YYYYYOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO- OOOOOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUUUUUU- UUUUUUUUU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGO- OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTT- TTTTTTTT to get!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Wii game so far...

posted by mghtmike (LA HABRA, CA) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Nintendo did a great with the controls in Chargers which made it an easy play and fun for hours. Each character has his or her own strengths and weaknesses that allows you to create your own team dynamics. The Charged up goal shots got redundant after some time although it became the only way to make scores even if one player is dominant. This game is worth renting if your into sporting games that allow non stop action like Hockey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ONLINE!! But not much else.....

posted by lukas2088 (TOPSFIELD, MA) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

While this is the first online Wii game, it's defiantly not going to be remembered. While the graphics are nice and the frame rate is smooth, the game-play falls short. The game is incredible fast paced. Now I consider myself a hard-core gamer (with only a Wii, oh my!) but sometimes, the game's computers start passing the ball so quickly i find it hard to keep up with it, even in the early levels. The tutorial isn't very good either, so learning the ropes usually takes a lot of trial and error. The controls in general really don't take advantage of the Wii remote and I think it would have been better suited to the classic controller. If you like soccer, this barely represents it. If your looking for an online game for your Wii (like myself) wait for battalion wars 2 and medal of honor heroes 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse