Rent Mario Strikers Charged for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Strikers Charged

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

5194 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty sweet

posted by laveri (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

It's like an EA Sports soccer game, only with more of a Super Mario setting and background. It's definitely a must-have for anyone who owns a Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad.. not great

posted by yakbeard (RANSON, WV) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This is actually a pretty fun game to play. The controls are pretty easy to use. The game makes interesting use of the wiimote and motion sensing capabilities. The special moves are cool as well.

However, there is one problem i had with this game. When playing, you select a team captain and 2 other players. The problem is that your secondary players (and your opponents) appear so small on the screen (even on a large tv) that it can make them difficult to tell apart - especially if you opponent picks the same secondary players as you.

All in all, a solid game, but I'd recommend renting it before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kewl game for the kiddos

posted by GameXRay (ROWLETT, TX) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Nothing better than knocking out a player right before they get the ball! Good game...only complaint is that on some game scenes, it's hard to see the ball and/or the defense. Visuals could stand some clarity. Overall, a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game and WiFi adds a nice touch.

posted by Mario3000 (LAKESIDE, AZ) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

When i first saw this game i didnt think it would be that good. So I rented it from Gamefly just to see what it was like. The second i played it i wanted to keep it. Its got EVERYTHING a Wii game needs like massive items, super abilities, and it combines war and sports games alike. Its 10,0000 times better than the original with better graphics, modes, and the overall way you play is much better. You actaully get a chance to stop mega strikes and each character has a special power. If you dont AT LEAST rent this game than your the most pafetic and weirdest person ive ever seen. And if you dont have a wii then get one just to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Couldn't really play it!!

posted by RayzLobo (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I was so stoked to get the game from game fly. It was my first rental. But being a person that doesn't like sports games, but does like Mario and pals, I found the game a little aggravating, but I was still willing to give it a try. What really altered my ability to try it, was the fact was the game DIDNT work!! I was able to play it twice after repeatedly taking the game out and popping it back in. Kind of gave me a nostalgic moment of the first gen nintendo and the games you had to blow in so you could get them to play...ahhh the good ole days!!! :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but gets old fast

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

It was fun and entertaining but it gets old fast and the difficulty level goes up dramatically in each match and the wi fi isn't that fun and a little skippy. Good characters but is a little on the dark side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another good mario game.

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

Mario Strikers for gamecube was pretty good. This new mario strikers charged is an even better version of that. It doesnt really use the wiimote that much which kind of dissapointed me but its a good game. Also it has WiFi connection and thats pretty fun if your good but im really bad and i only beat someone once. But if your bad you can play alone or with one of your friends. Its a really good game and a good rent and buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

O.K. not great

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

After playing Smash, Mario-kart, and Mario Galaxy, Mario strikers just seems like a cheap imitation. I played it with my fiancée once and we were bored and went back to Mario-kart and were much happier. I think if I had played this game before any of the other games I would of enjoyed it a lot but now it can't get any playing time in my video game rotation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easy or HARD

posted by Maxman911 (JUNCTION CITY, OR) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

What I've experienced in this game is that it will make you go bonkers and it only has medium or hard...AND NO EASY!I'm just saying it is a bit hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game...but is this really soccer?

posted by Jets24 (KYLE, TX) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

Picture Super Smash Brothers meets Fifa Street. I'll get straight to the point: This is another great Mario game. It resembles Fifa street but with the Mario-esque features. Don't rent this for the soccer, rent it for the adventure-sports-mario fun.

Pros: Aren't all Mario games fun? Hours of fun

Cons: Not anywhere near the sim quality of soccer, but what would you expect?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My God! Its so crazy... Its not even... soccer.

posted by JeanLouis (MIAMI, FL) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

O yes. Is it crazy? Definitley. Is it soccer? Not really. Does it have millions of powers? Sure but you usually end up using only 1 endllessly. This game isnt that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A step in the wrong direction

posted by Setzer (DRACUT, MA) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Mario Strikers was fun. Very fun. But this game they just made far FAR too simple.

While I appreciate simplicity in Wii games and party games, I expect a bit more from my sports games. Even Mario Sports. The charged super strike breaks this game for me.

The fact that timing depends on scoring is great! As it should be. But the fact that you can charge and shoot multiple to get tons of goals makes the game far too simple to have high scoring games. You can simply spam the multi-shot.

Take a page from Megaman Soccer, Nintendo. Limit the amount of super shots per match. Preferably two.

And to those who may think that if you don't like it, don't use it, I disagree. The super shot was a focal point of this game. Don't make it spammable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK game, just could not get into it

posted by xcarlson (FRISCO, TX) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Not much more to say....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's no Mario Kart.

posted by DiceKnight (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I think that's pretty much the consensus on all Mario sports games, though. They set the bar pretty high, and all the tennis, golf, and soccer games in the world won't jump it.

Strikers starts out pretty good. It's got sleek graphics that involved a reddesign of most of the characters. Their "soccer armor," for lack of a better word, gives the characters a new look. Vicious looking metal claws for Bowser, surprisingly revealing outfits for Daisy and Peach.

The controls are fairly simple once you get the hang of it, and they respond well. Fast captains have a clear advantage over others, as I've never played a single game yet where one of the slow ones wasn't completely routed and defeated. Balancing a team is important, and you really have to think of what all you're including.

The downside? The AI gets ridiculously hard by the end of the tournament mode, and if you lose the last match against the hidden character you have to start the ENTIRE cup over again. For the middle cup, for example, this means doing 10 regular matches, 2 qualifying matches, and a best of 3 battle against the hidden character. Tedious, to say the least.

Fun with a group, but you'll find like most other Mario sports/party games, there's little to no solo value after the first hour or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hard

posted by FATRAY (LINTHICUM HEIGHTS, MD) Feb 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

To hard for my 5 year old to play. He was really excited with this game, but he couldn't get past the 3rd trainer.
Graphics are really good, and sound is fantastic. I'd keep it if my son could play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

strikers b-

posted by gamerater6 (NEWBERG, OR) Jan 28, 2008

Member since May 2006

ok, mario strikers charged is a good game, but I expected sooooo much better from nintendo! overall, i say if you like difficult/challenging games, get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME MARIO GAME

posted by ramos100 (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

THIS GAME IS REALLY AWSOME AND HAS BETTER GRAPHICS THAN THE GAMECUBE VERSION.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!

posted by MakayJR10 (URBANA, OH) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

GAOL!Man this game rocks so much. I dont think I have seen Petey nor Diddey Kong. The best part is the stages.My favorite is the Galactic Stadium. My favorite character is Petey.I love the game.

Graphics:10
Gameplay:10
Characters:10
Stages:10
Game:90,000

I love it.Man I wish I had Petey.

See you guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting game

posted by Mster24 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is so cool. At first, I thought it would be unoriginal. But once I played it, my mind was changed. This is about as original as a soccer game can get. The controls are surprisingly easy, and the gameplay is awesome. However, sometimes the sidekicks get whooped as they're charging a shot, which is annoying, and it's incredibly unclear what you need to do in order to get a captain's special attack. But overall... totally super-awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun with friends

posted by MadSkillz (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

By yourself can get old fast. And playing online can get frustrating. Although the game was nicely done, I felt like it was missing key aspects. Mario strikers is also too much of an arcade game. If the formula was kept more closely to a real soccer game with some arcade aspects then it would be better. I do recommend this game if you are a mario and a soccer fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wowee nintendo has done it again

posted by 7h3w1nn3r (ITHACA, NY) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Nintendos created another mario masterpiece. This game is basically a rugby game on mario based power. Although growing to gargantuan size may be fun the single best powerup in my oppinion is warios GAS MASK(LOL). Tip:When using this powerup make a wall around you and then go for a power shot. Make sure you dont virtually kill anyone(LOL).Allthough the game play offline is nice playing soccer/rugby with another player in somewhere in the world is thrilling.I give it a 9.11111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 1111111111111111111111111- 11111111111111111191.oh yes and Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game For Soccer Fans and Mario fans alike

posted by ericyo (RIO RANCHO, NM) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game has no story line, even so still a good game to play... with friends and the wifi connection it makes it really fun to play. good selection of characters and stages to play in. once you master the game its even more fun to show off your skills online. the wifi connection has a point system to see who is the best so its always to try to beat those people. game is really easy at 1st but as it goes further in the game COM gets really really difficult overall good solid mario sports game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

one of the best online games for the wii

posted by ssbfan (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this game is ok with single player but it's best feature is online battles. it gets old after a few hours though. in single player you can go to the strikers tournament to unlock bonus characters.or you can play a single match with a computer player . online you can play a series with a wii friend or someone with your ranking.you are ranked by the number of points you win online. overall I give it a 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok...

posted by gameboy34 (LONE TREE, CO) Dec 25, 2007

Member since May 2006

hey game reaper here you may know my other review such as Metroid prime for wii, Drakan ancient gates, ultimate duck hunting, okami and Mario galaxy. Now as I said in Mario galaxy I'm not a big time Mario player and this is a pretty good reason why I don't play the Mario games that much. well one you have those same old characters and you play soccer I must admit that it will keep you busy for a few hours but then you get bored of it easily. this game wasn't nearly as bad as ultimate duck hunting but in my case its not really worth it.
Game reaper-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Much Work?

posted by coconutty (SAINT PAUL, MN) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

I did not give this game a fair chance. However, I felt too overwhelmed with all of the training required to just understand and get into the game. If it was genuine soccer with cool moves given by stock Mario World characters, that would be one thing. Perhaps online play would have brought a whole new level of play to the game. I just wasn't into it. It seems like it might be a cool game if I put the time and energy into it, but I didn't have either so forget about it. Even though it tries to not be a "sports game" there is still too much breaking up the actual gameplay: scoring, kicking, etc. Also, the actual gameplay kind of sucked and it's difficult to switch between different characters to kick the ball, etc. Meh, overall. Maybe I'll give it another chance and play the multiplayer online version and it will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse