Rent Mario Strikers Charged for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Strikers Charged

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

5181 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

First game is better.

posted by SoraSonic1 (IRVINGTON, NJ) May 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

While MSC can keep you entertained, this only lasts for a short time. The computer AI is very unfair at times. Some improvments such as changing side kicks, sidekick skillshots, and stadiums are very good. The Megastrike isn't a favorite of mine because the computer AI can block it most of the time even when at max speed and max balls shot.

Good stages
Good Sidekicks/skills
Unfair AI
Gets boring very quickly

Worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by braebrae228 (JONESBORO, GA) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is so lame. i dont this game . it so hard i dont want this anymore they sould not have made it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

a complete screwover (for 1-player)

posted by arod48 (VALLEY CENTER, KS) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It starts off as easy as can be, your goalie is a brick wall, you are free to pass and have plenty of room to charge a shot.
Then it gets a little harder.
Then... Boom, its freakin near impossible. you are constantly being tackled from distances not normally possible, the computer can do things you can't, your tackles nearly always miss, your passes are nearly always intercepted, and best of all, your goalie has the stopping power of a piece of paper.

NOTE: this is all on one player, the only reason i didn't give it a one is its multiplayer. one of the few downsides is that the Megastrike animations get pretty annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too hard!

posted by ninatoyz (MIAMISBURG, OH) Jul 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

I can barely score a point! The enemies specials are annoying! I am also a sore loser! It is also maddening when a chain chomp or when Mario or Luigi stun your entire team with there special!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great group game

posted by timp6464 (CHITTENANGO, NY) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

A lot of fun at times until I play'd solo against the computer to unlock characters in the cups.

at the higher difficulties the computer doesn't just play well, it turns all random chances to their favor, which crosses from challenging to just pure frustration.

when you get items it will be banana peels and maybe some shells. When the computer get's items is the captain ability, star power, or chain chomp.

When you get a mega strike shot off you're lucky to get 1 goal in (I'm writing this after have a 6 shot one that I got in the orange and the computer saved ALL of the shots).

your power shooters will be lucky so score one timers. The computer will score from half field with toad.

What I'm trying to say is if you play with friends then this will be a lot of fun. If you play against the computer for a challenge look elsewhere as I personally get annoyed being beaten by things I simply can't control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strikers charged

posted by PS3BossMan11 (LAKE ORION, MI) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I thought this game was really fun, and alot of people hate it because it is not like real soccer, but its Mario, what do you expect. I thought it was awesome. I am a big mario fan and I hope I get a chance to play the new Sports Mix game. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great party game, but...

posted by Firekirby (REXBURG, ID) Nov 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

Remember the original Mario Strikers on the GameCube, where each character had a special move that could help you win the match? Well, this game adds AND subtracts from that. The addition is that every teammate has a move that if done correctly GUARANTEES you a point. This is a great mechanic, and is perfect since it isn't cheep, since your opponent can still block it, and each teammate has a different special move, keeping the content fresh. What IS a little disappointing, however, is that if you use the team captains special move, all you get is a flashy image of them jumping in the air and hitting the ball in an epic showcase. While that alone might have been cool, they had to go and turn a awesome idea into the cheapest move ever. Depending on how well you execute a timing segment in the field, you can hurtle a number of 3-6 balls at the opponents goal. It then turns into a mini-game of the opponent trying to block all the balls hurtling at the goal at extreme speeds! While I can go on and on about how CHEEP and POINTLESS this is, lets move on. The multi-player capabilities in this game are insane! Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING is multi-player compatible, from tutorial missions to campaign mode. I won't get into the details, but if you're a perfectionist (which I am, I admit) you will find that having a positive co-op experience in this game is nearly imposable. However, looking at the good side, this game is great for parties! I have played most of the time against my cousin, which was probably the most fun I had in the entire game, sadly. Overall, I wouldn't be seen dead playing this game alone ever again, but if I had a bunch of people who actually would rather play this game than, oh say, SSBB, then sure, since it does have a good verses mainframe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by spyrolover (SPRINGVILLE, UT) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This is a great game. I was playing it yesterday and my sister was laughing because my opponites kepted getting shocked by the electric fence. It does get boring after a while but it leaves me wanting to play more the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another good Mario Sports Game

posted by marshalld (WOODHAVEN, MI) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Like most mario sports games, Mario Strikers Charged is great gameplay with allowing you to play a tounament or just play for fun with friends. I think the highest point of this game is that it allows you to do a super move, stop it, and block at your own free will unlike other mario sports games. Though the game could let you have more people on your team like have mario, luigi, peach, daisy, and toad on a team rather than mario, dry bones, toad, and monty mole.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Strikers Charged

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I love Mario sports titles, so this one was tons of fun for me. The Mega Strike addition was so cool, and the arenas were fun to play in.
One catch:It was REALLY hard to master the controls at first. But as soon I mastered it, it was great. I'm buying it soon, but in the meantime, I'll rent it as much as possible until I'm able to afford it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The New generation of Soccer!

posted by crazysonic (SPRING VALLEY, NY) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Mario games always seem light hearted, but Charged is the new generation of mario games. You never really get bored playing this game. The gameplay is pretty awesome to, having soccer look like football, genius! Its not every day you get to see mario bashing heads into dirt. With the usual rule of soccer, stealing the ball and getting it in the goal, Mario Charged has more to offer,such as having each character with their own awesome skills. If their was a top 5 sport video games list Mario Strikers Charged would definitely be in the top 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun but tires quick

posted by atic4games (WEST PARK, FL) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is fun but it gets boring quick.I could only play about one round a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring,, seems more like a gamecube game.

posted by dr7744 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

i have a fundamental problem with the wii and most of its games. i still have my gamecube and see no real improvement in the wii besides the motion sensing. to be honest most games that arent golf, baseball and the like really are a drag to play. this game is no different. gamecube graphics, tiny little mario characters playing the usual bloated mario style soccer. people don't kid your selves no wii game should ever scorer more than a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

shipping

posted by edidi18 (ELIZABETHPORT, NJ) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

The gameflix website said that the game was send on a monday afternoon, and that it will take two to four days well it has been a week and i havent recieve the game......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Soccer Game On The Wii.

posted by DerekJeter (GILBERT, AZ) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This game is great with more Pros than Cons. Here is the list.

Pros:
Totally awesome graphics and cut-scenes, even though there is pretty much only a intro movie and a movie before each game.
Skill shots that are character specific and more often than not results in a goal, but requires a short charge up time.
Awesome variety of stages.

Cons:
Not very many Captains and sidekicks to chose from.
Dodge moves which you can pretty much go all the way down to the goal with out being hit.

Bottom-line, if you want a decent sports game that doesn't over use the Wii motion controls, this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mario strikers

posted by Jmmm72 (DALTON, MA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

My son could not play, the game was scratched so it would not run

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wifi...Funny Scenes...YEAH WOO HOO!!!

posted by Kirsent (CHATHAM, NJ) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I love it, can't lie. But all you need to worry about is that...
1.the gameplay
2.not a techniqle sequel to the GNC game, so don't get ya hopes up.
But the good things about it...
1.wifi gameplay has no lag with a good connection. AND THE WIFI IS AWESOME!!!
2.the scenes... the losing ones!!! O.o

THIS GAME IS REALLY GOOD... RENT IT FIRST THOUGH!!!

hOpE iT's HeLpFuL!
bye...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mario HORRIBLE Charged

posted by probowlers (UNION CITY, NJ) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game stinks! I only kept it less than a day. i dont understand why i even got it. Dont rent it dont buy it dont do anything with it . BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAA!

THATS MY REVIEW!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME!!!!!!! But at times is FRUSTRATING

posted by Marioman96 (FOREST GROVE, OR) May 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I like this game, it's a good buy but... at times (Crystal Cup) can be really frustrating.
Great Wifi, Good Gameplay, But Frustrating Tournaments

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by qdakid (ORANGE, TX) May 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is very underrated. I think it is better than any other wii game involving mario. The only reason I gave it a nine is the lack of story behind the single player mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

frustrating controls!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I found it very hard to control and to get the ball away from the computer. I tried to do the special function c with some of the characters and couldn't get it to work. I soon grew frustrated with it, wasn't any fun for me and gave up on it. It might be more fun if you were competing against another person vs the computer. I kept losing on the skills game then lost big time in the real game as I grew tired of the skills game. I couldn't master some of the skills either and after repeating them gave up on it too. It takes a while to master this game and I'm not one to have patience for this type of game. I like a game that's easy to figure out, simple to play and fun too. Sadly this game wasn't it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Annoying

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This game felt like a burden to play. The controls are weird and you hardly ever score a point. Wasted Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game has RUNNING ACTION AND Charging VFX!!!!!

posted by DashyRoo (BURBANK, CA) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

So I rented this game and I came in the house charging to play this game and POW!!!! I just went blabbering out of excited screams.Thats how fun this game is. So I did a little of and when I got to the SUPER CHARGE lesson it just was a great VFX explosion!!So I completed that lesson. Now the Mega Saves lesson Was Funny and Cool!!!If you want to know the alligators name it's Kritter.RENT THIS GAME TO DEATH!!! By:Dashyroo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Striker Charged

posted by collinsfam (MURRIETA, CA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

It's awsome! You'll love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty sweet

posted by laveri (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

It's like an EA Sports soccer game, only with more of a Super Mario setting and background. It's definitely a must-have for anyone who owns a Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse