Rent Mario Strikers Charged for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Strikers Charged

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

5181 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game!

posted by Spikedup06 (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

MSC is what you would call a great sequel game with better choices. You get to choose different characters on your team, and even play on numerous fields. The only thing that I didn't like was the length of the game time. The controls were a bit tricky, but that takes some getting used to since its an entirely different controller. Great game, tho!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good wifi start, but feels a little like a add on

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Jul 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

36 out of 44 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

True, Mario Strikers Charged isn't the first true Wii game with Wifi, but it's the one we've all been waiting for. Controls are solid, and the gameplay is almost identical to the GCN game, almost too identical. While there is plenty of new stuff to do, I can't help but to feel this isn't really a full sequel.

Right out of the gate, Nintendo's new online service is a pretty good start. Assuming you have a good connection, most of my encounters online have been lag free, and with no trouble finding someone to play. There is also a ranking system in place that resets every week or every "season". You can work your way up the leaderboard by scoring points in a number of ways. 10 points for winning + how many goals you scored OR 1 point for losing + the goals you scored. The wifi element adds a ton of extra replay value, and it's a promising start for Nintendo.

The single player mode is pretty bulky in MSC. With many more cups, and and new side kicks, there is a great deal of new stuff. One of the biggest downsides to this game is the lack of use of motion controls. The only motion controls you have are to strike other players, or to defened against a Mega strike. The overall look to the game was slightly updated, with more detail on the field and in the crowd, but everything else looks about the same.

Mario Strikers is a solid entry into the Wii's line up with a good online service, something that was desperately wanted on the Wii. It's probably worth 50 dollars to just run and pick it up, but definitely worth a rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Wifi game that we have all been hoping for.

posted by Eric930 (BOCA RATON, FL) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Okay, so Pokemon Battle Revolution was really the "first" wifi game. But for people like me who didn't play that, this was our first chance to see what the Wii has to offer for wifi game play. It could not be better. There is no lag whatsoever and you can't even tell you are playing people across the country! It feels as if you're playing against a friend in the same room. Similarly to the DS, you can make a friends list and play against your friends, or you can play against anyone. You can even play 2 on 2 wifi, if you have a friend playing along with you. My only gripe is that you need to use ANOTHER friend code for Mario Strikers, you cannot use your consoles code.

Now regarding one player mode. You play against other characters and you make a team. I don't want to get into too much detail, because I don't want to ruin it from anyone, but heres the basics. You select one captain for your team, that has a special power that allows shooting up to 6 balls at once. You also select 3 other characters on your team who have their own very special powers. It ranges from throwing hammers to teleporting into the goal post! You can unlock new characters by beating certain characters in one player mode, and you can use these characters online.

If this doesn't seem like the best game you could think of for a early on wifi game, I don't know what is.

Oh, and don't worry about how easy it is to play, there is a tutorial mode which shows you everything from running around and shooting to using special powers. They really made it fluid to play with the Wii Remote and Nunchuk, you don't even feel like your using a controller. It feels like you are IN the game.

I give it a 10/10. I bought it the day it came out, didn't even need to rent it. I knew it would be good. This is a game that you should buy, it is worth it. It has great replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game. Online is better than expected.

posted by McGrawgamr (GREENSBORO, NC) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Got this game for my son and ended up playing it as much as him. Graphics are not too shabby either on my samsung hd. Good mulitplayer game. Compelling enough to keep hardcore gamers satisfied. Controls simple enough to give the most casual of gamers a decent gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must have Wii Game

posted by Recharge (TUSTIN, CA) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best Wii games out right now. The online play is awsome and only lags a little when the other person has slow wifi, but this hardly ever happens. It is also very easy to start playing an online match. There controls feel great on the Wii and use the pointer and motion sensor just enough for a game like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

High Replay Value, Great Game!

posted by m311ton (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is fun. That is what Wii is all about. The game moves fast, is easy to learn, and has a high replay value. I've been searching for a really fun Wii game for a while and I finally found it in Strikers Charged. This is one game you won't want to stop playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very good!!!!!!!

posted by colinkurt (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very very good. It is better than the game cube version. You get to pick your captain then your sidekicks. You use a metal ball. And you can do megastrikers! This game is so well thought through there are powers! Also your captain has a special power! It is so good rent it then buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Gameplay = Amazing, Game = Incredibly frustrating

posted by Redliner (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First let me say, when the game is good, it's really good, but when it's bad it's REALLY bad.

Let me get the pros out of the way...
PROS:
This is definitely a game to play with your friends. It's chaotic, fast, and ridiculous. The star players and their team members all have their own moves, special shots and "jekes" that none of the others have.

CONS:
Buuuuut... if you ever hated computer assistance (a la Mario Kart making losing computers magically driver faster to make it harder), this game might cause you to stroke out.

After defeating the Fire Cup (not too challenging, but tough the first time through), it's on to the Crystal Cup. Now it gets bad, the computer charges shots faster, gets up from hits faster, it jekes and tackles faster, and it uses some very cheap tricks (like teleporting with certain characters past your goalie). So that's a huge let down, the computer over-compensates with cheating, which wouldn't be so bad, if the curve wasn't so fast. One game you're winning 12-1, the next it's quite the opposite. The computer assistance negates any skill you might have.

The next one is bad AI. Your defensive position will constantly be on on the offensive side of the court. Your team mates will run at about 75% of full speed if you aren't controlling them, and act timidly to retake the ball. The goalies are usually brick walls, blocking any normal shot. But occasionally they let by easy shots, one was actually blown into the net by wind for me.

And last, Mega Strike ruins the game! So you worked your butt off for those 3 goals, mega strike can score for up to 6. You have to use it to win, which is boring.

My advice: It's good multi player, bad single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

How many hours have gone bye???

posted by McSquire56 (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 5, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome. once we learned how to play the game time flew bye. controling is really easy to get ahold of and after that learning how to do your own style of attacking is fun. overall it is a really good game and if you and your friends like sports at all you can all get into this game very quickly. adn time will fly bye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Controls For A Soccer Game {EA LISTEN!!}

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Aug 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Strong Rent to a Buy (depends on Fifa 08)

This is more fun then the Gamecube version.

However; I would like to see more cups and the option to save during the tournament instead of having to play dozens of games straight through.

The music is great along with the animations, graphics, and controls. It is a bit to arcade for me so I will wait for Fifa 08.

EA Don't Dissapoint this time;
I want to sell my Fifa 02.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

im not bashing soccer

posted by McWise1 (LORAIN, OH) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

dont get me wrong i'm not bashing soccer but in my opinion, soccer sucks. its way to slow and boring. But this game is nothing like soccer. THANKFULLY, its fun, fast, use power ups, knock people down, and shoot power shots. I rented this game because of the fact of hating soccer and thinking this game would be a more soccer type of game. But i am now buying this game becasue its addicting fun, and its so funny when you own your friends at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I think this game if off the hook!

posted by wiimusic11 (NORCROSS, GA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and though it would be ok but when I played it, it was the most fun game I have ever played. I like this game because the animation is good and because when you don't get a score your charecter will get mad and when you get a score your charecter will get happy and star gloting, But other than that i love this game. But what I don't like about this game is that It doesn't have a story mode witch are the kinda games I like and the time limit isn't good. But I like nintendo's games they are pretty fun I like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

watch out for AI

posted by naturet (RENTON, WA) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The AI in this game is very spastic. Either you are going to win hands down or get beaten 10-0. Stay away unless you want to have lots of frustrated moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

You get out what you put in...

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really, really looking forward to Strikers for a couple of reasons: 1)It is the first "real" online Wii game, and 2) It looked like it would be another fun Mario sports title.

First off, this is no soccer game, really. It is more a combination soccer-ice hockey-battle that makes it more appealing that a straight up soccer game. I started off going through the tutorials, and that helped out tremendously. I played through the single player for a while (I played through the first "cup") and found the game to be pretty easy. But after passing into the second "cup" (tournament), it seemed like the computer AI got too difficult too quickly for me, and I started to lose interest.

I turned to the online mode, and that brought up a whole other set of issues. When you request a "ranked match", it seems that Strikers tries to pair you up with someone with a comparable Win-Loss record in the current "season". It also shows you the connection status (up to 4 stars) to indicate how good the network connection should be for you in your match. It also allows you to reject opponents with sub-par connections, which is cool. Too bad there is no way to communicate with your opponent whom you may never see again.

First off, there were far too many times when I entered a match with someone that had a "perfect" 4-star connection, only to find the game very laggy. The connection "dropped" multiples times during the middle of a game, which also really stinks. This took away some of the fun from online.

What took away the rest of the online fun was that there are way too many people who are apparently much better players than I am out there. I think I played in 4 matches before I even won a single game. I'm sure this is my issue for not "practicing" enough, but all the same, it stunk to keep losing. This game has been out around the world for months, so maybe I was being owned by kids in Europe who were off for the summer. That is what I keep telling myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Nintendo Gem

posted by Cheeen (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's this sort of game that has always separated Nintendo from the rest. The game is a blast and the online play is close to flawless with pretty much no lag time at all. I wasn't a big fan of the first Strikers for Gamecube but this version has made vast improvements that makes this game a must-own. The only complaint I would make is the lack of headset for online play and the game's value is lower if you play alone and don't have wi-fi.

-->With more arenas to choose from, more characters, better control, online play, and the ability to choose your own sidekicks and block power shots... I highly recommend this game (especially if you have friends that love mayhem and chaos from a console game).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Multiplayer Game PERIOD

posted by Fungi13 (COSTA MESA, CA) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the BEST ONLINE MULTIPLAYER GAME PERIOD. The game is very competitive, and online mode is wonderful. The controls are very similar to the gamecube version, so if you liked the GC version, chances are you're gonna want to buy this one. A MUST BUY GAME IF YOU HAVE ONLINE PLAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lacks in movement

posted by Shadow12 (FOUNTAIN, CO) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game fun to play ecspecially with wifi but the thing i hated was the movement.everywhere i try to go they keep on getting up to me I CANT STAND IT!anyway charging you shot is also hard to do everytime i tried doing that i always got knocked over.its just so slow and this game is worth a rent not a buy.6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not enough to buy...

posted by popkorn (SANTEE, CA) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Good renter, if that. I played for while learning all the tricks, but after 20 minutes, man, I had a headache and had no clue what was going anymore. Its a good game, dont get me wrong, but a little chaotic. Mario seems to be everywhere and I like that, afterall he is my favorite character. But this one title might just be over the top for me. There was just way too much going on and not much soccer at all. If you expect to find some soccer in this title you might be left wanting more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OVER-RATED!! (crowd chants) OVER-RATED!!

posted by Tedder (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i'll go along with most of the reviews about this game, it is fun to play when you first pick it up.

But, it's exactly like the gamecube version, from what i remember, and this game has ZERO depth. Nothing will change in this game from the time that you first play your first game, to the time you become a master. Which, doesn't take more than a few hours.

The AI is awful, just like the Gamecube version: when you play in harder levels, your items are always the weakest ones, and you can actually watch your off-the-ball teammates run away from your passes, or into traps... they don't do that in the beginner levels...

And, what's up with constantly having to wait for screens to load all the time??? Hello? That is so PS1.

If you have never played Strikers before, this will probably be entertaining, but otherwise, I felt it was a perversion of the usually impeccable Mario brand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

more wii fun oh boy

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game is fun, but been there done that type feel, i just wish we could get somthing fresh from nintendo, did this so much on the gamecube, like i said fun game for the family, i just hope we see new games with new ideas, all this port over and remake and the kidland feel. get me the beef nintendo, this is 2007

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GOOD ONLINE, BAD GAMEPLAY

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I am typing this on my Wii, I like the fact you can go online with this game. That said, I think the multi-shot feature activated by the c button is more than a little annoying. In fact, it's why I gave this game a horrible score. As to anyone who gave it a ten,, they never really played it. I can safely say that. The camera is that far back so the Wii doesn't skip frames. I'm also sure that any lag comes from dsl users. Cable connections like mine are 10 Mbps. and min. 1 Mbps. upload. so everyone drop at&t and get Roadrunner From Time Warner and no one would lag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by Andrew000 (GIBSONIA, PA) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game I have ever played. The only good thing is the online play. There should be a rating of 0 for PUKE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a great game

posted by kiwi76 (MONTGOMERY, AL) May 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

this game was great . i recommend it to everybody

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game didnt work

posted by The08linkin (WESTBROOK, CT) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

game wouldn't even load up the edges of the disc were destroyed 4 days of waiting for a broken game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay game.

posted by nahtan1244 (ACTON, MA) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is fine but not awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse