Rent Mario Strikers Charged for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Strikers Charged

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

5190 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by braebrae228 (JONESBORO, GA) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is so lame. i dont this game . it so hard i dont want this anymore they sould not have made it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mario strikers

posted by Jmmm72 (DALTON, MA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

My son could not play, the game was scratched so it would not run

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mario HORRIBLE Charged

posted by probowlers (UNION CITY, NJ) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game stinks! I only kept it less than a day. i dont understand why i even got it. Dont rent it dont buy it dont do anything with it . BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAA!

THATS MY REVIEW!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by ILikeGames (SISTERSVILLE, WV) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

This game is so awful that it made me want to break my wii. Seriously, I couldn't get the guys to move anywhere I wanted them too, its like they just go wherever they want. I'm usually not a big fan of Mario games, Super Paper Mario was a huge let down, so I don't know why I thought this game would be any different. Thats pretty much my review. I played this for about 5 minutes and it went back into the rental case. Such a waste of 5 minutes that I could have used playing God or War 2 or just about any game for Playstation 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its very bad

posted by ericzzz123 (BOCA RATON, FL) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

the game is very bad and hard to beat people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GOOD ONLINE, BAD GAMEPLAY

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I am typing this on my Wii, I like the fact you can go online with this game. That said, I think the multi-shot feature activated by the c button is more than a little annoying. In fact, it's why I gave this game a horrible score. As to anyone who gave it a ten,, they never really played it. I can safely say that. The camera is that far back so the Wii doesn't skip frames. I'm also sure that any lag comes from dsl users. Cable connections like mine are 10 Mbps. and min. 1 Mbps. upload. so everyone drop at&t and get Roadrunner From Time Warner and no one would lag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by Andrew000 (GIBSONIA, PA) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game I have ever played. The only good thing is the online play. There should be a rating of 0 for PUKE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mediocre, boring game

posted by moose3 (PRINCETON, NJ) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I didn't like this game. Granted, I only played it for an hour, but when you get bored halfway through a 3-minute match, something's wrong. I don't really like sports games, and this is too close to FIFA or something for me to really like it. I returned it within a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

a complete screwover (for 1-player)

posted by arod48 (VALLEY CENTER, KS) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It starts off as easy as can be, your goalie is a brick wall, you are free to pass and have plenty of room to charge a shot.
Then it gets a little harder.
Then... Boom, its freakin near impossible. you are constantly being tackled from distances not normally possible, the computer can do things you can't, your tackles nearly always miss, your passes are nearly always intercepted, and best of all, your goalie has the stopping power of a piece of paper.

NOTE: this is all on one player, the only reason i didn't give it a one is its multiplayer. one of the few downsides is that the Megastrike animations get pretty annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

frustrating controls!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I found it very hard to control and to get the ball away from the computer. I tried to do the special function c with some of the characters and couldn't get it to work. I soon grew frustrated with it, wasn't any fun for me and gave up on it. It might be more fun if you were competing against another person vs the computer. I kept losing on the skills game then lost big time in the real game as I grew tired of the skills game. I couldn't master some of the skills either and after repeating them gave up on it too. It takes a while to master this game and I'm not one to have patience for this type of game. I like a game that's easy to figure out, simple to play and fun too. Sadly this game wasn't it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Gameplay = Amazing, Game = Incredibly frustrating

posted by Redliner (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First let me say, when the game is good, it's really good, but when it's bad it's REALLY bad.

Let me get the pros out of the way...
PROS:
This is definitely a game to play with your friends. It's chaotic, fast, and ridiculous. The star players and their team members all have their own moves, special shots and "jekes" that none of the others have.

CONS:
Buuuuut... if you ever hated computer assistance (a la Mario Kart making losing computers magically driver faster to make it harder), this game might cause you to stroke out.

After defeating the Fire Cup (not too challenging, but tough the first time through), it's on to the Crystal Cup. Now it gets bad, the computer charges shots faster, gets up from hits faster, it jekes and tackles faster, and it uses some very cheap tricks (like teleporting with certain characters past your goalie). So that's a huge let down, the computer over-compensates with cheating, which wouldn't be so bad, if the curve wasn't so fast. One game you're winning 12-1, the next it's quite the opposite. The computer assistance negates any skill you might have.

The next one is bad AI. Your defensive position will constantly be on on the offensive side of the court. Your team mates will run at about 75% of full speed if you aren't controlling them, and act timidly to retake the ball. The goalies are usually brick walls, blocking any normal shot. But occasionally they let by easy shots, one was actually blown into the net by wind for me.

And last, Mega Strike ruins the game! So you worked your butt off for those 3 goals, mega strike can score for up to 6. You have to use it to win, which is boring.

My advice: It's good multi player, bad single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A step in the wrong direction

posted by Setzer (DRACUT, MA) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Mario Strikers was fun. Very fun. But this game they just made far FAR too simple.

While I appreciate simplicity in Wii games and party games, I expect a bit more from my sports games. Even Mario Sports. The charged super strike breaks this game for me.

The fact that timing depends on scoring is great! As it should be. But the fact that you can charge and shoot multiple to get tons of goals makes the game far too simple to have high scoring games. You can simply spam the multi-shot.

Take a page from Megaman Soccer, Nintendo. Limit the amount of super shots per match. Preferably two.

And to those who may think that if you don't like it, don't use it, I disagree. The super shot was a focal point of this game. Don't make it spammable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OVER-RATED!! (crowd chants) OVER-RATED!!

posted by Tedder (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i'll go along with most of the reviews about this game, it is fun to play when you first pick it up.

But, it's exactly like the gamecube version, from what i remember, and this game has ZERO depth. Nothing will change in this game from the time that you first play your first game, to the time you become a master. Which, doesn't take more than a few hours.

The AI is awful, just like the Gamecube version: when you play in harder levels, your items are always the weakest ones, and you can actually watch your off-the-ball teammates run away from your passes, or into traps... they don't do that in the beginner levels...

And, what's up with constantly having to wait for screens to load all the time??? Hello? That is so PS1.

If you have never played Strikers before, this will probably be entertaining, but otherwise, I felt it was a perversion of the usually impeccable Mario brand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok...

posted by gameboy34 (LONE TREE, CO) Dec 25, 2007

Member since May 2006

hey game reaper here you may know my other review such as Metroid prime for wii, Drakan ancient gates, ultimate duck hunting, okami and Mario galaxy. Now as I said in Mario galaxy I'm not a big time Mario player and this is a pretty good reason why I don't play the Mario games that much. well one you have those same old characters and you play soccer I must admit that it will keep you busy for a few hours but then you get bored of it easily. this game wasn't nearly as bad as ultimate duck hunting but in my case its not really worth it.
Game reaper-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Frustrating Frustrating Frustrating

posted by Noelix (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

I have never cussed at a game so much in my life. It is OK to play against other people, but the computer-controlled characters on your team are just awful. The AI is completely one-sided and it makes things completely frustrating. The fact that you have to use the same button for passing and switching characters makes for some easy frustrations when you try to pass twice in a row and the first passee doesn't receive the ball properly so you end up controlling the third person without the ball, and your second person gets hit because the computer-controlled characters on your side are brain dead. I've seen my characters go BEHIND the goalie of my own team! Don't rent this if you value your hair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay game.

posted by nahtan1244 (ACTON, MA) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is fine but not awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

First game is better.

posted by SoraSonic1 (IRVINGTON, NJ) May 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

While MSC can keep you entertained, this only lasts for a short time. The computer AI is very unfair at times. Some improvments such as changing side kicks, sidekick skillshots, and stadiums are very good. The Megastrike isn't a favorite of mine because the computer AI can block it most of the time even when at max speed and max balls shot.

Good stages
Good Sidekicks/skills
Unfair AI
Gets boring very quickly

Worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too hard!

posted by ninatoyz (MIAMISBURG, OH) Jul 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

I can barely score a point! The enemies specials are annoying! I am also a sore loser! It is also maddening when a chain chomp or when Mario or Luigi stun your entire team with there special!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring,, seems more like a gamecube game.

posted by dr7744 (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

i have a fundamental problem with the wii and most of its games. i still have my gamecube and see no real improvement in the wii besides the motion sensing. to be honest most games that arent golf, baseball and the like really are a drag to play. this game is no different. gamecube graphics, tiny little mario characters playing the usual bloated mario style soccer. people don't kid your selves no wii game should ever scorer more than a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Annoying

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

This game felt like a burden to play. The controls are weird and you hardly ever score a point. Wasted Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

O.K. not great

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

After playing Smash, Mario-kart, and Mario Galaxy, Mario strikers just seems like a cheap imitation. I played it with my fiancée once and we were bored and went back to Mario-kart and were much happier. I think if I had played this game before any of the other games I would of enjoyed it a lot but now it can't get any playing time in my video game rotation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My God! Its so crazy... Its not even... soccer.

posted by JeanLouis (MIAMI, FL) Apr 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

O yes. Is it crazy? Definitley. Is it soccer? Not really. Does it have millions of powers? Sure but you usually end up using only 1 endllessly. This game isnt that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Much Work?

posted by coconutty (SAINT PAUL, MN) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

I did not give this game a fair chance. However, I felt too overwhelmed with all of the training required to just understand and get into the game. If it was genuine soccer with cool moves given by stock Mario World characters, that would be one thing. Perhaps online play would have brought a whole new level of play to the game. I just wasn't into it. It seems like it might be a cool game if I put the time and energy into it, but I didn't have either so forget about it. Even though it tries to not be a "sports game" there is still too much breaking up the actual gameplay: scoring, kicking, etc. Also, the actual gameplay kind of sucked and it's difficult to switch between different characters to kick the ball, etc. Meh, overall. Maybe I'll give it another chance and play the multiplayer online version and it will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for the First 10 Minutes

posted by SpawnCampr (FULTON, NY) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This is an OK game. It has some fun aspects of it however the games always turn into a slugfest and a low score, if any at all. The online play is functionally great, never had a problem with latency and the games ran smoothly. Unfortunately the game gets repetitive and old really fast. I had a bunch of friends over and played online with other friends. After about 3 3-game matches everyone was bored and moved on to something else. The game has no rules and allows you to take out any player you want at any time, and even gives power-ups to do it faster. This leads to you getting hit within 3 seconds of getting the ball, especially while playing online. When the game boils down to someone trying to run away from people long enough to get a shot off the fun stops.
Granted players that are really good at the game can find ways to stave off the attacks long enough to score, but that happens rarely.

Its a good rent however you will more than likely get sick of the game after a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Take out the megastrikes

posted by j3hu7y (FAIRFAX, VA) Dec 2, 2007

Member since May 2005

I am generally not a sports title person, so take that into account, but I do occasionally like the Mario sports titles... occasionally. Desperately wanting something with online play for the Wii, this seemed like a great purchase, especially because my friends were really into the original Gamecube version. With the addition of the megastrikes, I feel like the gameplay can get quite annoying, especially online when it seemed that all people did was run to the goal and hold down the button to perform that action. It's not that it's that hard to steal the ball or prevent the megastrike from happening, but that pretty much became the entire game. Rather than having fun and playing Mario soccer online.. it was just a game of "prevent the megastrikes" or "block the multiple ball attack from the megastrikes". I'm sure plenty of other people out there had the same experience online, because it was almost every single match I played. I'm the type of person who doesn't repeatedly use moves like that because, 1. the whole thing was annoying... watching the animation over and over again, 2. it just felt cheap. almost as if there should be some sort of "super meter" that you had to fill up before you could do one, but no. You could do them all day for free. I'm not saying the game is broken. But not being able to chat online with Nintendo Wifi, you aren't able to let the other player know how annoying they are playing. There are plenty of other moves to use in the game, it's just that the megastrike allows you to score multiple goals at once, so it's the quickest want to a cheap win. If you are interested in bumping your online ranking up higher, I guess that's the way to go. I hope enough people felt the same way about it and Nintendo tries to better balance thier games for online play in the future.
It's still an ok game if you want to play with a friend on the same TV. At least then you can tell him he's an annoying jerk for just constantly megastriking the whole time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse