Rent Mario Sports Mix for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Sports Mix

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

3761 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Mix Hits The Spot

posted by psuperman100 (AURORA, CO) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With all these mario spinoff games, it is hard to tell what is good, and what you should rip into pieces. Mario has recently dissapointed me. Can anyone say, "Mario Party 8?" After playing that, my faith in Mario was wavering. Then, along came Mario Sports Mix. Wow. Just wow. It has 4 great sports. The dodgeball was awesome, I loved smacking around Peach and Wario with dodgeballs. The volleyball was fun, and later in the game requires a bit of strategy. Hockey was repetitive, and the goalies were horrible. Basketball was cool, I loved being able to throw homing shells at the hoop. After you've beaten the game, you can go back and take secret paths, which give you more characters and difficulty levels. I would give it a 10, but the hockey lowers it to a 9. So, if you are a Mario fan, or a sports fan, try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Mix Rocks

posted by DashKing28 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the game. It is awesome and cool. I like the different kind of games to play. I love the basketball, hockey and soccer. I love Party Mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cant wait to play

posted by markythunder (VISALIA, CA) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

looks like a good game for the trailer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mildly entertaining

posted by mactodd19 (TOLEDO, OH) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a big fan of the Wii. I rented this game for my kids, which are 10 and 5 years old. However, after playing it for a few days I was hooked! If you can get past the normal Mario is part of every nintendo game scenario, this is a pretty fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario sport mix

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Oct 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a really fun game more than i expected!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mario sports mix

posted by jewelee30 (MCLAIN, MS) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game has one bad spot the volyball it is to long everything else is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good for famliys who are bored

posted by uberzeldanoob1 (COVINGTON, WA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

im having alot of fun playing this game. if you want a famliy invovled square enix/nintendo game then this is your sport. i mean game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by gamefly2030 (SYKESVILLE, MD) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a fun game to play and a great family game too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Good

posted by GamerNinja (FOUNTAIN INN, SC) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was very fun once I played it there was lots of things to unlock and the a.i. was very helpful once i was paying a Expert tournament I would recamand this game to children 6-8 years old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Sports Mix

posted by Gameflygirly (ROMEOVILLE, IL) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is super fun if you love the Mario sports games. There are some new characters to play with and you can even play as your Mii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome and Funny!

posted by aiai34 (BOTHELL, WA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Here is a list of comments i had:
it was really fun
some of the party games are okay.. but my favorite one is Harmony Hustle.
you should play with others because it can get really funny
i wish there were other sports or a Mario Sports Mix 2
the sports were hard at first especially basketball
the easiest and funniest were hockey and dodgeball
you can use your mii
you get to defeat a purple monster
you can unlock different worlds and colors (of toad and yoshi)
play with family or friends
super funny
and did i say it was fun?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a Game for ever one.

posted by RJA (COVINA, CA) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Mario game is not to be play by yourself best to be played with friend and family. The games seem to get old really early with no one to play with but with other people a round it can be a good game. over all this game gets a C- not bad or good just in between.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario sports mix

posted by Athena123 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i anthony moody think that mario sports mix for wii is a pretty good game i give it a 10.''why you ask'' well there are very fun sports to play. the mario characters styles and power moves are awesome and you just keep playing and playing and the fun never stops ''hockey'' fun, ''dogeball'' fun, ''volleyball'' fun and the most fun of all basketball you just get so much adrenaline rush playing this game,but there are some characters missing, where's boo,blooper,rosalina,birdo,koopa, toadette and who is that cat-like character i've never seen her before but she's cool. and gamefly if you ever make a mario sports mix 2 can you get more sports on there more trophy's to compete for and if you can more mario characters please but long story ''short'' i like mario sports mix and you gamefly keep doin what you do best. PS. if you can't come up with any sport ideas let me give some ideas ''football, swimming contest, soccer, baseball, running marthon, finding your way through a maze, and even escapeing a falling haunted house with chain chomps,bandits,mouse and phirahnna plants stoping you from leaveing the haunted house. mario sports mix 10 love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Review of Mario Sports Mix

posted by scottybrawl (LAGRANGE, GA) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this is a really good game, but it gets boring when you play each sport. I rated this game a six because of that and sometimes it glitched or lagged on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun In All Games

posted by Kiba3D (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) May 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i know this game was going to be fun but wow it was beyond fun, it even made me like hocky (witch i hate) if you complet the star road 5 times you should have all the charasters witch i dident do cause i was on Wi-Fi the whole time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice game

posted by jovany04 (TRENTON, NJ) May 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS VERRY ICE AND THE FAMILY CAN PLAY ALL TOGETHER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Alright

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) May 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Sports Mix isn't exactly a bad game per say, but you know, it's a typical Mario sports title, you should know what to expect by now. Personally I don't mind Mario sports games too much, I just can't stand when Nintendo has those periods where that's all they put out. This is alright, but I want some real Mario games too. But really this is the first Mario sports game they've given us in three years, and we got two great titles since then, so there's really no reason to complain. However it is on the bland side and most of the sports follow a similar pattern. And it is pretty simple, but I wouldn't say it's Wii Sports type simple. And it's important to keep in mind that these types of games aren't meant to keep you up all night playing for hours on end. They're supposed to simple, fun little games to pass the time with some friends. If anybody at Nintendo is reading this, these types of games are nice once in a while, but leave room for mainstream games like New Super Mario Bros. or Super Mario Galaxy. Nintendo is greatly improving over recent years, keep up the good work!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mario sportsmix

posted by hoopsforboo (WAUKEGAN, IL) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game wass ok but it wold be beter if had other sports like soccer,football,tennis and even pingpong.Mario sports mix even had doggeball that sport was interstin, I never played doge ball liked that but someday I will.But i liked the game and the new charecters like moogle and ninja.I think they already had ninja in some other games of mario.I like the stone keeper at the end of the game.Its cool when you battle him.I also liked the party mode.So I pretty much liked it, it was a cool game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario Sports Mix

posted by sns011 (SALEM, OR) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great change of pace in the Mario franchise. Keeps my kids happy, active, and interested them in the sports played. Great game for Family night too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Got A Friend?

posted by WolfpackSD (EL PASO, TX) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mairo Sports Mix is a well designed game, but you may get a little bored with it if you don't have anyone to play with.

The game allows you to choose from four sports to play. You can either play basketball, volleyball, hockey, or dodgeball. Once you choose a sport, you can then choose to do an exhibition, or try the tournament mode. The tournaments are the same as they have always been in a sports game, so there is nothing new there. Although the tournaments will keep you busy for a little while, you will be wanting to play with other people afterwards.

The game is pretty much asking you to play with multiple people with all the multiplayer options it gives you. You do have online capabilities, but it is better to have multiple people with you to compete against.

There are unlockables for you to collect, like a new stage to play on, or a new character to play with. If you understand the game well enough, you will get those without much trouble.

The game is good, but if you play by yourself too much, then you are going to get bored with it. I give it an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can games get this cool? seriously!

posted by Kutner (NIPOMO, CA) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Think of your favorite game. now combine that with three of your other favorite game and you'll pretty much end up with this game. if you play it right like me and my friends you'll have a blast! This is the best frikken game i've played so far. seriously..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a rental and or "decision maker".

posted by Zero8 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is fun and the concept of Mario and the gang playing all the sports is pretty cool.
I find it to be a fun game to try out for a few days. After that, you probably wont go back to it (unless you and ur friend wanna make a decision and settle it in the game) but only because the rest of the Mario games have a higher replay value than Sports Mix.
Its like firecrackers, even tho u know the burst wont last so long, u still use it because youve always liked firecrackers (mario).
Hope thats not too confusing.
The game is good, but the urge to play again takes longer to recharge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

well duh

posted by charlotte9 (BAYTOWN, TX) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its in the family/party area its not gonna be for single playrs . he controls are easy cause most people who are gamers are children not grown adults i think itwas a great gme im a one haded young adult who cant use her left hand so game like this are not just fun and asy for me but it helps kids with motor skills

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Buy or Bust?

posted by Goof_Master (ANAHEIM, CA) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

We've all seen Mario before in sports games, and when Nintendo made word of releasing yet ANOTHER Sports game, it wasn't exactly the biggest surprise. However, if you enjoyed the past sports games, then you should totally pick up a copy of this. With the wackiness of Mario and his friends attending different locations from the Mushroom Kingdom, along with the epic-ness of insane shots, goals, and spikes, it's a game that can be hard to put down.

Pros:
Super Mario and friends compete in different games with intense combo moves around the Mushroom Kingdom. Along with the basic package of Mario Characters, you can also play as your Mii's.

Cons:
It's incredibly repetitive. You can only accomplish and do so much with what you have. Also considering they've already done a whole game already on the DS for basketball (Hoops 3-on-3), it feels like your getting some Mario Party Mini-Games in a package of 4.

It's one worth trying for the Mario fan girl deep inside you. But I wouldn't recommend buying this game for a price that high. Possibly when it gets down to the 30's, but nothing higher. It's recommended for younger kids, and families more than any one else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Sports Mix...

posted by oaklandfamily (MONTROSE, MN) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

My son really really wanted this game so we went and bought it for him brand new.. after we got home we decided to not let him open the game for fear of him not liking the game and being stuck with a fifty dollar game that he does not like...so we rented him the game from gamefly, he ended up loving the game.. it has 4 different games to play and the skill level varies as you get better playing..
this game is great lots of fun. my family and 7 year old son agrees...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse