Rent Mario Power Tennis for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Power Tennis

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

Also on:GC
GF Rating
5.9

1664 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like the Wii Sports Tennis you will love it

posted by ZionXX (COLUMBIA FALLS, MT) May 18, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the tennis portion of Wii Sports. This is realy good and it has all of Nintendo's favorite characers in it! I really enjoyed this game. I like the games where you can stand up and actually feel like you are part of the game! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by pguy316 (ENGLEWOOD, NJ) May 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rather play Wii Sports than play this tennis game, Idon't know if I just out grown this type of game, but it seems to me too much cartoonish behavior and too much going on in the game itself. I just wanted to play tennis but with the power boost power play and obsticles the game got ridiculous quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun

posted by gamejumper (SAN MARCOS, CA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

once you get used to the controls, the control over the court is awesome and provides a great time for people of all levels of experience; no flaws other than that there is no online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why so limited?

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Like all Mario sport games, it's not all about the sport, but the unique experience that Nintendo can bring to it with its overworked and multi-talented characters. Given the Wii's drastic change in actual game play, its puzzling they decided to remake games that would fit directly into their new system. Argue all you want, it's a step back from just a the button press you had in this same gamecube title released last generation. It does still offer the greatness that said title did, and the 16:9 and minor adjustments are a plus, but why nothing new?

So basically their title says it all, Mario Power Tennis "New Control". And thats what you get. And pretty bad ones at that. I think it was a slight attempt to move toward WiiSports tennis in that aiming is based on timing (which is good when you get used to it) but spins and power is extremely difficult to get used to. Particularly as the opponents get harder and your timing needs to be tighter. Since there is no button pressing, charging can be a little harder. It automatically does it, again, as the timing is critical and he motion controls make that worse. Spins are tricky, but easy to pick up, and that didn't really effect the gameplay for me too much, although it's all to easy to for the game to mistake your gesture and prolong the match after ruining your desired shot.

There are good things, and that the core game is there. Which is great. As I mentioned about, some graphical upgrades for those with widescreen TVs. If you master the controls, the game is slightly more fun, and the different options for pick up and play for new people can do it easy (WiiSport-ish).

Ultimately, it's a discounted game, & could have lost another 10 dollars, that seemed to missed the point and sadly made by Nintendo no-less. It's questionable purchase, and controls are really no draw to this game as advertise. It's fun with effort, and not the effort it takes like a RPG, but the effort of "I didn't swing that way!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Revamp falls on cue

posted by Derek6 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

It's unfortunate that IGN gave the game such a bad review. The gamecube version was the pioneer and of course was going to be hard to transfer everything 100%. When I first played the game I was unaware that it was going to be a remake of the gamecube version and was under the impression that it would be like Mariocart. For those of you who are not familiar with what's happening here's the short version; Nintendo is lazy. I will not go on about how the company is too lazy to make new titles and are just shelling out games that worked with gamecube and just adding new controls, it will only bore you.

What you need to know is that the new version for wii will quickly become a hot seller and a must for all wii owners. I can not begin to tell you how many hours people have spent playing tennis on the wii sports pack and I believe the mario game mimics that quite well (there is even an option to play that way plus the power ups). The graphics are good, the play is good, and with more than just yourself it's a great game to gather around. The only downfalls are the automatic power shots and some slight awkwardness with getting used to moving around your player with the remote or numchuck. Frankly, I never used the numchuck after one try, it was far too odd and even hazardous to the equipment if you get into it.

This game is worth at least a try if you enjoyed wii tennis and definitely worth a try if you enjoyed the gamecube version, just don't set your bar too high. I hope that this game will catch on and push nintendo to stop sitting on their hands and make games instead of just regurgitating them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Exciting prospect, fun game, but not great

posted by Whtrdr (GLOUCESTER, MA) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm very cautious with buying games, preferring to rent them first and play for a while to see if its good and worth for keeps. But Mario Tennis was a game I enjoyed on GC and also loved the WiiSports Tennis game, so I figured it was a pretty safe bet. And for the most part it was. Perhaps my hopes had been tamed by the flop that was TopSpin...

The game was a vast improvement over the WiiSports. The ability to control your character is fantastic, and an improvement on TopSpin because moving backwards never makes your character actually turn away from the net. The swinging was smooth, but getting a hang on the different swings is a pain. I wish there was a way to turn it off for non-serious tennis players like myself. I just want to swing the remote!

My real complaints are more superficial but, being a Nintendo Mario game, we can all agree the sports mechanic are not the real point of the game anyway.

1. You can't import your Mii. That is disappointing, plain and simple.
2. To serve, you need to press a button. This interrupts the otherwise smooth and engaging swinging controls, which I think is (or should be) the entire purpose of the game coming out anyway, given that it's a "Wii-make". Plus, I'm pretty sure such a detail would not be particularly difficult to program. So I don't know why this was overlooked...

I'd say I got the game I wanted, and can't wait to bring my friends over and play it with them. If this is a game for you, you probably already knew just from the title. If you're looking for a fun game, or you like sports with a Mario flavor, this is a game for you. If you're looking for an in-depth tennis game, pass this one up. But, again, you already knew that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WAY MUCH BETTER THAN THE GAMECUBE!!!

posted by gamer2009 (GARNETT, KS) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This Game is way more fun its a game that beat Sega Superstars Tennis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good Game

posted by McFlurry (DOVER, DE) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off, you can't go wrong with a mario sports game. But this one isn't the best choice. Mario Super Sluggers is much better. Also, super sluggers has a much better story line, where you actually search for new players, and power tennis is just a boring tournament. I would recommend renting this from somewhere like Blockbuster, and not from gamefly just because it's a bit of waste of rental time. It's definitely fun playing for a little bit, but it gets old soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its OK, But Dont Put It High On Your Game Q!

posted by TerryWVU (DUNBAR, WV) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game is fun but gets boring after a half hour!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mario Underpowered Tennis

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Mario and his friends and enemies hit the hard court - or the grass in Mario Power Tennis.
This is the remake of the GameCube version, and unfortunately, they didn't add much to it.
There's the standard Tournament and Exhibition Modes, but I found them to be lacking in single player.
Even the Special Events mini games felt bland. Painting a picture of five different characters wasn't exciting; it was more frustrating than anything. Hitting balls into that ball and chain creature wasn't any better. So I went back to the simpler modes of this game.
I've played a few matches against the AI only to be bored by the action. This isn't Top Spin 3 where you can place the ball where you choose; you just have to put your character in the right place and blindly swing the Wiimote at the right time.
Most often, it will result in a won point, and soon I was winning matches with ease.
I could bump up the difficulty settings, but that still won't give me any thrills; the presentation here is far too basic and the action is too slow.
Multiplayer is available, but only offline multiplayer. Grab a friend (or three) and you might have a good time utilizing the different courts or the before mentioned mini games the game has to offer. Then again, you might not.
I found Mario Power Tennis not to be an engaging, thrilling tennis simulation to play. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Old game, new controls

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If youve ever played Mario Tennis, then you know this is a good game and is a good game to transfer over to the Wii. This is one of the first Tennis games for the Wii and its published by Nintendo so you know they didnt cut very many corners. That said, they also didnt make a completely new game which they didnt really need to do, but it wouldve been nice. This game is basically cut and paste from the Gamecube version other than the controls. The controls are really good though and its not like they did this in a few hours. It seems like they actually spent a little bit of time in doing that. It has no online which wouldve been really good on this. Nothing besides the controls have been added or improved. But that doesnt make this game bad and is still one of the only good tennis games out there. Also you can use the gamecube controler for this game aswell so its like both versions combined.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Truly Lacking

posted by MikenDeb (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Mario Power tennis takes everything that's good about Wii Sports Tennis and completely screws it up. Way too many things happening on the screen and awkward close-ups of "Power Shots" during game play disorient the player, providing ample opportunities to ask the question, "what just happened there?"

Highly recommend avoiding this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario tennis

posted by oo00000 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mini games better than tennis

posted by togsmom (KENNESAW, GA) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I had read somewhere that another person critiqued this game and said that the mini games were better than the tennis part. My six year old loved the mini games - my husband said it didn't flow like real tennis because the game would pause when someone would do a special move. Oh well - that's what we get for a cutesy tennis game. Maybe we'll find another realistic tennis game and stick to Mario Kart when we want Mario.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Colorful

posted by workingears (ATHENS, GA) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The kids said that the graphics were too colorful (what in the world??), and they preferred the original Wii Tennis much better. They hurried up and returned this game. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool, I guess

posted by pichihime (CANTON, GA) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

A lot of times, spin-off titles are either really fun or super boring. I guess this one depends on your taste in gaming. I think it's really cool, but it's always the same, and it's one of those games that you have to buy to really enjoy it. I suggest either buying it, or if you don't like spin-offs, stay away. But the intro with Wario and Waluigi is BY FAR the funniest thing I've ever seen. Plus, the cutscenes when a character gets their trophy are really cool too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The worst Mario sports game for Wii yet...

posted by Coinjar876 (WASHINGTON, DC) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I played this once or twice, and won the tournament after maybe a game of practicing. It doesn't distinguish between forehands and backhands, so it is really easy. Plus, gimmicks are just ugly and don't change game play much anyway. At least there is enough to do so you don't get bored immediately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too easy to play

posted by k12stabler (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I like games that are not too hard, But this game was way too easy. when swinging it seemed as if I didnt really have too swing , it wat pretty much auto. would not recommend unless you like real easy games to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than wii sports tennis but not great

posted by motox25 (TULSA, OK) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

The wii sports series really didn't feel like "nintendo" to me missing the characters that make nintendo who they are. This game brings that back, but unfortunately it's a game that is only entertaining for a few hours. The game has plenty of characters but not enough levels. The added effects in the levels help spice the game up from boring repetition but it's far from enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

how good this was in my wii

posted by bobbby (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this game must have been really scratched up or just weird because when i put it in it worked and then went to a black screen and it says an error has occured press the eject button remove the game disc and turn the power off then it says please read the wii operations manual for more information.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A useless re-release

posted by Gurney (WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

Mario Power Tennis was a solid GameCube title released in 2004. Therefore it would make sense after the success of Wii Sports’ tennis that an updated version of Mario Power Tennis, with motion controls would work. Sadly it’s quite clear from the jump that the “new play controls” are severely worse than the GameCube controls, making it frustrating, and a complete waste of a re-release. Making things worse is the fact there is no other control option, so if you wish to play “classic” Mario Power Tennis you’ll have to pick up a copy of the Gamecube version, which of course you are still able to play on your Nintendo Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ITS GOOD SORT OF.

posted by probowlers (UNION CITY, NJ) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Mario Power Tennis is okay. You know you play tennis. Its really fun :) Rent it.

That was a review by probowlers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay

posted by powder (DEER PARK, NY) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this game is just like the gamecube verision which is really bad, and the macthes take too long but the controls are very easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhhhhh.

posted by olorin (CRANSTON, RI) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

Not very responsive controls.
Graphics are pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by QUEENPEACH (EVERETT, WA) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is even more boring than actual tennis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse