Rent Mario Power Tennis for GC
view large frontback

Mario Power Tennis

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii
GF Rating
7.7

1129 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like tennis or Mario you'll love this.

posted by theJman (ATHENS, GA) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great! It has great controls, great graphics and great game play. It starts off easy, but gets pretty challenging. 2 and 4 player games are alot of fun too.You don't have to like tennis to love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ridiculous

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Mar 30, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is the game is smooth but having to do these "I GOT THE MOVES suck a" is a bit dumb but fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mario Power Tennis

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Apr 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty cool. When I first got it, I played it for hours.

Good
-a lot of characters
-cool tennis courts
-awesome gameplay
-music
-tennis-themed mini games
-the mini movie at the beginning is funny

Bad
-Got boring after awhile
-shy guy makes annoying noises
-who ever heard of a gimmick court?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST TENNIS GAME EVER

posted by nadar1 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS IS THE BEST TENNIS GAME U WOULD LOVE TO PLAY IF UR INTO SPORTS.I LOVE ALL MARIO GAMES.EVERY MARIO GAME I PLAY IS AWESOME.SO PICK THIS GAME UP OR RENT IT IF U LOVE TENNIS GAMES.THIS IS THE RIGHT ONE FOR YOU.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Multiplay, boring Single play

posted by TheKidRio (PASADENA, CA) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having a strange fascination with tennis/volleyball/hackeys- ack games (some have even said its an unhealthy addiction) since the Turbo Graphics 16 volleyball fest Sonic Strike and 8 bit nintendo California Games.

(ok ok ok get on with the review)

So I have certainly spent my fair share of time with these types of games.
Obviously, I am beyond reproach in my qualifications to review this game, so before I start to ramble, I will proceed to espouse my review.

(GET ON WITH IT!)

The single player experience gets very boring pretty quickly. Once the tactics at each difficultly level are understood its fairly easy to dominate regardless of the level.
The mini games again get fairly boring single player.

(finally he talks about the game not himself!)

Its mutliplay that this game really takes off, 3 good friends and a game of doubles later and you can see how this has been hard for me to return! Once everyone is brought up to a minimal skill level its fairly easy to compete in a doubles match. Plus you can always blame your team mate.

(hehe)

So overall if you are looking for a compelling single play mode then really you have to find one of the more realistic tennis games, as these usually have a career mode. However, if you want a fun game to pull out when you have a gaggle of friends over and everyone is Mario Karted out... then this is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very bad game, in my opinion.

posted by Sutchy (RINGOES, NJ) May 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I really like the mario franchise, and I liked the Mario Tennis game on the Nintendo 64, but I thought this game was downright bad. The gameplay is slow and repetative, the courses are frustrating, and the computer players are stupid when they're set to Pro mode. If you want a good mario sports game, rent Mario Superstar Baseball instead. This game definately gets a thumbs down from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome and challenging game but repetitive

posted by gameboy116 (ALPHARETTA, GA) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I bought this game from a Gamestop for 20 bucks because I have fond memrioes of this game from when I was younger. Great chacter selection, 15 in all, the courts are well done, and it has a challenging tourment mode in which you can unlock extra content such as more courts, chacters, and variations on the Special Games, as they call them. I however, disliked pretty much all of them once I played them once or twice, the one expection being the Mecha-Bowser minigame. This is, in my eyes the best Mario sports game ever made. The controls are really tight, and its easy to pick up and play, hence great to play w/ friends and family. It's best played in small doses, as it does get repeitive quickly, but is still HUGELY replayable. I reccomend you rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Power Tennis

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I love tennis, (watching it, NOT playing it) so I love this game. The execution of some serves were so cool, I love how they put in the power shots for each character, and the courts were excellently designed. Plus, I got a chance to see the bloopers, which made me laugh so flippin' hard. I love Mario Power Tennis, and I highly recommend it to both tennis fans and Mario fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRILE

posted by zebra1212 (CUMMING, GA) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

NEVER EVER RENT THIS DONT WORK NEVER EVER RENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Typical

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

The typical fun mario sports game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was good, By Loozur. LOOZUR ROCKS!!!

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

this game is quite good and i would reccomend this game to people who have little bros and lil sisters that want to play a fun easy game with you. even though i have mastered this game it gets pretty old and is way too easy. my copy bareley works so i don't get to play the special games anymore, but while i did i very much enjoyed this game. this game doesn't have a beatable storyline which is annoying and makes this game virtually pointless. i would reccomend this game to people that want to play with their little brothers/sisters. there's not much to say about this game except for it's extremeley addicting and gets old after awhile.
Sincereley
Loozur
(IF YOU WANT ME TO REVIEW A GAME, WRITE A REVIEW ON "FROGGER ANCIENT SHADOW" AND RECCOMEND A GAME. THAN PUT THE WORD "Loozur" AT THE BOTTOM LEFT CORNER OF YOUR REVIEW.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tennis mixed with Mario?

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

Is this just tennis mixed with Mario? And why does Mario have sport games? I can't say much it is just filled with tennis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST TENNIS GAME EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR- RRRR

posted by viggy34 (SHORELINE, WA) May 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

mario power tennis is fun and easy to play I give it a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Mania

posted by Gamer007 (ROSWELL, GA) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Mario Tennis was a well balance gaming experience leaving the same exciting Mario charms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

All Fun and Games

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

All of the modes on this game were entertaining. I played with some friends and it got even better. It gets harder which helps you improve your skills and that is what I enjoyed the most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

STUPID CHEATING COMPUTERS!!!

posted by canadaguy (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

If you have ever played this game on one player you have figured that teh computers do not always play fair. Same way in Super Star Baseball. I do not know if it is just me but the computer always gets the star hit. and when i am playing against mario it is not necessarily (excuse incorrect spelling) a good thing. this game is ok and good if you wanna play with a friend. Thanks for reading my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST MARIO GAME EVER!!

posted by Febby424 (WHITTIER, CA) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

I think this game is better than the other mario games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ace!

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

Lots of cool additions from the N64 version, but you've still got to be a tenis game fan to enjoy it.

Pros:
Gimick courts with traps and tricks typical of mario games.
Lots of mario characters, each with their own abilities.
Cool minigames.

Cons:
Your fingers will ache after about an hour of play.
Games can get frustrating quickly.
Can be repeatitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »