Rent Mario Party DS for DS
view large frontback

Mario Party DS

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $29.99

GF Rating
7.6

2168 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid

posted by Bushido51K (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty solid game for the DS. Though this game isn't the best game for the DS, it's definitely one of them. I could play this game for hours on end and not put it down until the battery needed to be charged. It's also fun for all ages whether your an adult that's looking for a game that's not too hard yet fun, or a teen that's looking for yet another decent game for the DS. And the graphics are great. They really utilize the DS' power. It also makes great use of the touch screen. The only thing I don't like about it is that the maps are a little to small for my liking, with a few exceptions. Maybe it's just me. All in all, great game, and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Infuriating Fun!!

posted by RoosterBoy (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having never played a Mario Party game before, I had no idea what to expect.
But this game surprised me with it's addictive gameplay, amusing boards, and vengeful hex power-ups.
This is easily one of the must-own games for the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by Cooyan (NEW IBERIA, LA) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We loved this game. All ages can play together (4-90)
I would recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Party meets DS!

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Finally, Mario Party lands on the DS. Mario Party DS is different from any other of the Mario Party's. Mario Party DS has story mode!! Story mode is fun and creative. The minigames use three different controls, control pad and buttons, stylus, and the mic! Mario Party DS is a must buy.

Pros:
Easy controls
Fun
Story mode
The three different controls
Multiplayer

Cons:
No online :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Portable Party!

posted by Antari (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've long been a Mario party fan, but I will always remain a critic. However, though I expected this to be a failure, it was actually just as fun as any of it's predecessors.

Sound: Just what you would expect from a Mario game. The sound has not diminished at all from what you expect of a Mario party installment.

Graphics: Amazing graphics for the ds. This game shows the true potential of the DS' graphics abilities. I was never disappointed by this area of the game.

Gameplay: Very well executed. There were plenty of mini-games, some of which use the stylus, others using the normal controls, and some using the mic, while others had combinations of all of those. Oh, and not to mention that there is a mode in which you can play puzzle games from past Mario party games as much as you like. This is just as good as any Mario party game ever was. Oh, and don't worry about any games being awkward because of the stylus. The game does not center around that, and the mini-games that do use the stylus use it in a very natural way. Not to mention you can choose whether or not to include stylus games, mic games, etc., in the random selection when setting up a game.

Story: Come on, does anyone play Mario Party for the story? You're out to collect 5 pieces of stuff and be the super star. Same as always, and you know that the lack of a story doesn't hurt it one bit.

Concept: Take the already wonderful Mario party series, throw in some new and innovative games, add every bit of fun that was ever in the series, and put it in a pocket-sized piece. There you go, nothing short of a masterpiece. Nothing was lost in the travel from console to handheld.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Fun!

posted by DnJ420 (TORRINGTON, CT) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A Very Very Fun Game!!! My boyfriend and I both enjoy this game very much. It has great multiplayer with each player getting to enjoy the capability of their DS, with great minigames and a classic Nintendo feel. So high rated on my list, im buying it the first chance I get!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

past time untill last boss

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) May 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was ok it past time with codes. withought cheats the computer cheats and becomes overly dificultcult( and the last boss is stupid difficult and plays not like any other part of the game
in short eh.... not a great game with to much frustration

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mario party DS

posted by gamedude11 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Party DS is okay, but it will get boring after a while so rent don't buy.
My favorite thing about this game is the mini games. The graphics are pretty good being that it is a DS game. Story mode is okay. They also should have had more characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game

posted by Anastasia (MOUNT ORAB, OH) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like this game. It has so many mini games that it doesn't get boring. Also, I love that my kids and I can all play together on just the one cartridge. It's great. I like it so much I didn't want to send it back, so I bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game made me love mario party when I really did not beforehand. Great fun, must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mario party forever!

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is great i like its storyline... its minigames and all that. this game is very worth it to buy! graphics are nice and so many 4-player minigames! and i love doing story mode! this game is the most worth to buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mario party ds

posted by codperson (LITTLETON, CO) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a game for familys to play together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rigged.

posted by teejay13 (GREENVILLE, NC) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Like Mario Party 8, this game is rigged. I played the second course on story mode four times and I was still getting beat by 3-4 stars. So, do I just suck or is the game rigged? Find out if you want but I recommend not wasting your money on this game unless you have friends to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love All The Mario Games

posted by 1swtryd (GARDNERVILLE, NV) Aug 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2008

I love All The Mario Games And Even The Mario Parties

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i like it

posted by miharman (ATWATER, CA) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing avoid bad comments

posted by ManalandMe (WOODSIDE, NY) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Excellent game it is a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Yet Not

posted by ShayYosh (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is fun, but at the same time it can be rather aggravating. Makes it harder to continue playing when you can barely move past the first scene.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PARTY ROCKIN

posted by kdragon (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

To keep it simple this game rocks
it fun to play and it keeps younger siblings ocupied while you dominate the T.V.
THANK YOU MARIO and FRIENDS
dont stop the party

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but short

posted by Smynfreak (OCALA, FL) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

It is very fun but it is too short but I still love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by mariolover101 (WEST PEORIA, IL) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

REASON FOR RATING:
This game is sort of like a board game, so as you could imagine, it is more fun to play with family and/or friends, rather than computers. I know this because I played alone, with 3 computers, this is what effected my rating.

GAME PLOT:
This game starts when the Mario Game gets an invitation form Bowser to his castle for a meal, so of course, they all go. When they arrive, Bowser shrinks them until they are very, very small and steals their crystal. They then set out on an adventure to stop Bowser and get their crystal. Little do they know what they would encounter on the way! They are put through multiple mini games, and they are are turned against each other!

OBJECT OF THE GAME:
Beat our opponents by getting the most coins and stars. The person with the most at the end of the game, wins!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

an ok game

posted by kiwi76 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i liked the story mode but i liked mini-games better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amusing and time consuming!

posted by KitKat701 (SPOKANE, WA) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game ROCKS! I loved it. Great graphics, amusing power ups, rockin' boards, I just loved it! Having never played a Mario Party game I had no idea what to expect. But it exceeded my expectaitons! I would recommend this game to anyone! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loads of fun

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

I don't know what it is but every party game seems to be a flop except for Mario. I played this game for months without getting tired of it. It took me a year to get bored, now that is an accomplishment for a party game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by juha1999 (EDGAR, WI) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

total addict!

posted by catcatboomboom (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

okay, my sister bought this game in 2007, she loved it and i did as well. and still now, in 2011, we both love it. my sister got a lil bit bored but i still love the replayable minigames and bosses. also u can play multiplayer and up to 4 can play. DONT rent this game cuz you will just be sad when it goes, buy it now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse