Rent Mario Party DS for DS
view large frontback

Mario Party DS

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

2174 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rigged.

posted by teejay13 (GREENVILLE, NC) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Like Mario Party 8, this game is rigged. I played the second course on story mode four times and I was still getting beat by 3-4 stars. So, do I just suck or is the game rigged? Find out if you want but I recommend not wasting your money on this game unless you have friends to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mario Party DS

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Ugh. This game is NOT one of the best games I've played. The games were too complicated, there wasn't enough characters, and the plot (I'm sorry Nintendo, forgive me!!!!) was STUPID. Just not a fun game. DS owners, steer clear. This is one Mario title even Die-hard fans would not like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

past time untill last boss

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) May 28, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was ok it past time with codes. withought cheats the computer cheats and becomes overly dificultcult( and the last boss is stupid difficult and plays not like any other part of the game
in short eh.... not a great game with to much frustration

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

:)

posted by SwtBunny (LUMBERTON, TX) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I've always been found of the Mario Party games since I was a pre-teen. I just got this game in the mail this morning, and I have to say.. I love it! It's really fun, the animation is good and it doesn't get boring, because there is so much you can do with the game!! I recommend this to all of my friends and family, and anyone that is bored and likes Mario games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

best game ever!

posted by mariob (DEER PARK, WA) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This is the best game I ever played! See I have aloet of mario games I yust to have just had about haved 20 mario games.Anden I founed a website that was called vizzedbored I GOT 13 NEW SUISTUMES FOR FERY AND 13'983 GAMES FOR FREY TO.With GameFly I have even more games then ever.NOW I HAVE 1400 GAMES!link ://vizzed./vizzedboard/vizzedindex.php?ref=53931

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mario party ds

posted by codperson (LITTLETON, CO) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a game for familys to play together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A game that could be better but could be worse.

posted by nintenwii (POCATELLO, ID) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Mario party DS is a good idea for portable party play but has a few flaws that make it frustrating and slow.

1.in the game can be very difficult to
obtain stars in story mode.

2.There's a shortage of characters.

3. you have to sit and watch the computer roll and move.

4.the game doesn't have very many things to do.

the game also has a strong side.

1.The mini games are fun.

2.Fun multilayer.

Rent the game but don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but the concept is kind of bad.

posted by CrazeFan (BROOKLINE, MA) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Mario Party DS is just like the other Mario Party games, except it is the first to use a touch screen. Personally, I am not a fan of portable party games. They cost way more because they require more than 1 copy of the game to play with a friend (or 4 for the real deal) AND you need 4 consoles, but I am a fan of Mario. The plumber has been working A LOT for Nintendo ever since their new consoles came out.

I was surprised that the game was actually better than I expected. The game's charm really got me, and the story, while being very unoriginal for portable consoles, was actually interesting. The Boss battles did keep things alive, mini games are fun, extra puzzles are classic fun, rewards keep you playing and the AI was smarter than the average bear.

Now for the bad part. Mario Party has 5 boards that are fun for 2 or 3 times, but that's it. There are too many features. It's a nice board game but Nintendo should really let player fast forward through the AI's turns if not skip them. I mean, they are smart AI, but after 5 games or so you can see their techniques. At the end of story mode you win a puzzle game, but it is very hard to play with the stylus, and is too slow to play with the buttons.

All and all, the game gets boring after 1 week. 2 weeks tops, but when you first play, it is a very nice game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i like it

posted by miharman (ATWATER, CA) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Yet Not

posted by ShayYosh (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is fun, but at the same time it can be rather aggravating. Makes it harder to continue playing when you can barely move past the first scene.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

an ok game

posted by kiwi76 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i liked the story mode but i liked mini-games better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good choice for Mario Party fans

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

If you didn't think Mario Party could be done well on a handheld, "Mario Party DS" will likely change your mind. The boards are a bit on the small side (though they still have a lot of cool features and surprises), but most of the mini-games are inventive and fun. It's great to play with other people, of course, and you need only one copy of the game, at that! Luckily, however, Nintendo realized that a Mario Party game for a handheld system should boast strong appeal for solo players. If you can't get some friends together, "Mario Party DS" offers you a lot to do by yourself; you can play puzzle games, fight bosses, and explore every aspect of the game to collect a whole bunch of achievement trophies. Additionally, computer-controlled opponents are a lot craftier and a lot more ruthless than those in the console games, making single-player competition in "Mario Party DS" that much more rewarding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IT'S AN O.K GAME!

posted by YOSHIEGG42 (BELLMORE, NY) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

mario party DS is a great game... good mini-games great characters [yoshi is my favorite] BUT bad ITEMS! they should add a mushroom or something well so anyway overall I give this game a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mario party DS

posted by gamedude11 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Party DS is okay, but it will get boring after a while so rent don't buy.
My favorite thing about this game is the mini games. The graphics are pretty good being that it is a DS game. Story mode is okay. They also should have had more characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kid loved it

posted by scooterge (BALLWIN, MO) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

Well this game was for my kid, as it should have been with it being a Mario title. He liked it pretty well, that's the reason for the 7 rating. Personally, I didn't care for the game much, got bored with it real quick. Didn't seem like it was a good game, very repetitive. My 7 year old kid loved the game and wanted to keep it longer, but even he could not get the game to do much more than just a couple of things.

From me, this game would have received about a 3, but for him, he loved it, so I have to give it a 7, for those that it's geared for. It's obviously a kid's title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but short

posted by Smynfreak (OCALA, FL) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

It is very fun but it is too short but I still love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by mariolover101 (WEST PEORIA, IL) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

REASON FOR RATING:
This game is sort of like a board game, so as you could imagine, it is more fun to play with family and/or friends, rather than computers. I know this because I played alone, with 3 computers, this is what effected my rating.

GAME PLOT:
This game starts when the Mario Game gets an invitation form Bowser to his castle for a meal, so of course, they all go. When they arrive, Bowser shrinks them until they are very, very small and steals their crystal. They then set out on an adventure to stop Bowser and get their crystal. Little do they know what they would encounter on the way! They are put through multiple mini games, and they are are turned against each other!

OBJECT OF THE GAME:
Beat our opponents by getting the most coins and stars. The person with the most at the end of the game, wins!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I liked it, she thought it was ok...

posted by Frodo423 (NEWBURGH, NY) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I, as a 26 year old man, am always on a never ending quest to find video games that my fiance likes to play. I rented this with hopes that my fiance would play it because she's gonna be home for a couple of weeks. In reality, I played it more than she did. It's entertaining enough in story mode, and I always like games that allow for multiple players on one cartridge. It was entertaining enough, and i'd keep it a couple more days (and maybe even purchase it, pending on who would play it with me). This game is good for all ages, and I'd definitely recommend renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario party ds

posted by jedimario (DIAMOND POINT, NY) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Well mario party ds is everything that it is supposed to be. just in a smaller package. it has a load of new minigames. Most work really well but some may be tricky to win in and some of the minigames are just not that fun. The game has a story mode. But i won't spoil it. The sylus works good in the minigames for the most part. The game has a puzzle mode that has classic puzzle games from past mario party games. Also a new puzzle game as well. Each of the game boards are cool. You get stars in different ways. Which gives it a different feal then others in the series.Mario party ds is mario party at it's best. For anybody who has a ds this is one to add to your game libary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD GAME

posted by LuvFL350 (NORTH PORT, FL) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This is a good game. The only thing that would make it better is more boards and being able to use the pieces you collect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Mario party in years!

posted by Longshot (STATE CENTER, IA) May 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

If you’ve played any of the Mario Party games in the last few years, you’ve know doubt noticed a decline in the quality of the series. And if you’re anything like me, that made you a little worried about the DS’s first installment in the series. Well I’m happy to report that Mario Party DS is one of the best games in the series , at least in this gamers opinion. No the game doesn’t revolutionize the series. In fact, the game doesn’t change the old formula all that much. So why is the game so much fun? It does what many of the other games in the series have failed to do in the last few years, have great mini games. I would rate almost all of the mini games a grade B, or higher. There’s a pretty good variety in the different game modes too.
If you’ve got a friend, or three, I would highly recommend renting this game. It’s easy to pick up and a blast to play with people. Another plus is that you only need one copy of the game to play with up to four others. Most of the fun of a game like this is in the multi-player. However, the games story mode isn’t half bad either. I don’t have any serious gripes with the game, just a few small ones. I would have liked more game boards, mini games, and playable characters. Other then that, I think the games great.

Be safe all and happy gaming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awsome!

posted by Kandie (CALICO ROCK, AR) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

My husband and I played this game for a while. It is really cute. About the same as all the others. I just love most anything to do with Mario. Especially if I get to play as Luigi! If you like Mini-games and having a blast, this would be a game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Once you get past the first board it's fun...

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

The Mario party series is known for being a fun party game and for the DS it really lives up to it's name!!! The DS version is one of the best to the who set!!! The minigames are best and they really use all the DS's functions and the gameplay is enjoyable after you get past the first world which took me forever...(at least 10 trys...) Basically your really small and all the mini games have to do with stuff that is bigger than you like climbing up a book shelf or getting soccer balls kicked at you by a goomba or getting crushed by plush toys in a claw machine!!! There are, I think, five different boards and over 50 mini games!!! There is hours of fun all in this one small game!!! (I really think you should rent it if you haven't already)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Mario Party for your DS

posted by darklt83 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

I've always been a fan of the Mario Party games since the first one came out for N64 11 years ago, and as Mario Party's first handheld title, this game doesn't disappoint. I myself only played through the single player mode, but all of the Mario Party staples are present, wacky game boards and the usual canon of Mario Party characters join the party. The thing that makes this title stand out among past parties are the DS inspired mini games. The stylus in some clever ways including but not limited to spinning tires on a go-kart, winding up cars, and clearing leaves. That's what I like about Mario Party games every new installment thinks of creative ways to utilize the current hardware for the games, and including microphone based many games (though some seem gimmicky) is a nice touch. Although I did not experience the multiplayer mode, I'm sure it's great especially with the DS WiFi capability, after all who wants to party alone? In short Mario Party DS is title that stays faithful to the Mario Party formula and introduces some sweet new mini games into the myriad of mini games found in previous titles. However, as with any Mario Party game, I only highly recommend it if you have other friends that have DSs as well, because it's no fun to party alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All in all: fun

posted by z3p3l1n (NORWALK, CA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The game has a wide variety of minigames which makes it easy NOT to get bored of. One flaw is the frustrating story mode, that mostly relies on LUCK. Sometimes you have bad luck in rolling a die, while other times youre lucky. And other times, the Computer Players are the ones that get lucky! This game is very fun with other friends that have ds. There are more minigames when you play with those that do have the cartridge, so THAT adds some fun to that.

If you're into the whole story of a game, this game lacks some content to make it suitable for a "story" game. The game is more like a board game. Of course, each level has a little change here and there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse