Rent Mario Party 8 for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Party 8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

11719 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tycoon, enough said.

posted by boyatti (MURRELLS INLET, SC) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Tycoon map was by far the best map of the MP series since MP2. Me and my roomates probably played this as much as we were home. Its very competitive and I wish they made the whole game this way, or at least MP9 which was rediculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Multiplayer Game Ever.

posted by scabies311 (SOUTH WEYMOUTH, MA) May 31, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

36 out of 44 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Awesome multiplayer game. The mini-games are very intuitive with the wii-mote, and there are so many different mini-games. Great graphics and a surprisingly good soundtrack. Tons of fun, simple mini-games.

As usual, the single player is fun for learning the mini-games, but this game is truly intended to battle with your friends. I'm going to fail out of college next fall because of this game, but I couldn't care less. Get some friends together and play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by gamespy (TAMPA, FL) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

i played all most every mario party game that they have brought out and this one take the cake. because the way it uses the wii remote, for some of the mini games you have to point and click but others you have to turn your remote and it is additve but they also alow more than one person to play or if you want to play on your own you can.

i recomend buying it!
it is a great game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A party of parties!

posted by MushuPorqu (ROSSFORD, OH) May 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

27 out of 37 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

So Mario Party, how have you been? I heard you failed with the Mic installment but now you have Wii-mote mini-games!? Holy cow! But seriously...the Wii version of this great series has nothing to put down besides two of the levels. Mini-games are great fun, the game's replay value is amazingly high and the graphics are ever so slightly improved from Gamecube. We still haven't seen the full graphical potential of the Wii, but keep your fingers crossed. With new Characters and new levels with many mini-games to purchase and play, the fun is hard to end! The candythat turns your 3D charcter to their old-school 2D version is GREAT! Some voices changed but that's ok, people get old. This game is great fun and a well-made installemnt in the Mario Party series! try it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Party 8

posted by hpd325 (PENSACOLA, FL) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Mario Party 8 is great for young kids. My 6 ear old and 3 year old were both addicted to it. Awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the Series

posted by Junbug8 (HOLLAND, MI) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was a pain to get to rent I had to go to many different rental places like blockbuster and family video. But I eventually found it and boy was worth the wait this game is blast to play with the wii controls. Also I played this game with my family and friends they all had great time. The minigames are very fun I spent a lot of my time trying to get all of them. And also played the story mode and beat it. So buy but first rent to see if it is something that you will play of course if you are a fan of Mario party. This game is a must buy. Oh and one more thing they replaced the capsules from the last 2 games with candy strange if you ask me but it is okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Mini Games

posted by WiiBrat (TAMPA, FL) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I think the use of the Wii mote was great! Loved the mini games. But some of the boards were boring. All you did was walk a straight road on some of them. The best board was the banking one! Other than some being boring, just like the other Mario Parties from the past!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mario Party

posted by 09GF74 (GREENFIELD, MO) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The game, like most Wii games, is fun only when you play against your friends or family. Some minigames can seem too simple and felt as though many of them were just thrown out of the hat in desperation. only six boards and very little variations became boring. This might be your game if you intend to play with friends on the weekends. playing solo and/or consistantly...not really worth the buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun in a group

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game could be rated 10 if you had 4 players each time you played it but by yourself it can get boring real fast. Its kind of like playing monopoly by yourself but with npc's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mario party...again

posted by Guardian42 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Oct 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Mario party is Mario party.
Simply put. If you missed the other seven, then this may actually feel fresh to you. for others that played even one before, it's simply the same game element with new, wii specific minigames.
The new games are moderate. Nothing feels fresh nor sets the game apart. The single player element is here again, as well as several different party elements. Games go slow as you wait for each player to hit the die and move. Also, the game does not run in widescreen, and if you try, the game cheats by putting a border on the sides to fill in the gaps.
A decent party game, but too slow and nothing special. Also, to play with four, you'll need wii motes for all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun for the whole family!

posted by coleenhubb (WICHITA, KS) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Come on, people! It's a board game on your tv screen. What could be more fun than that? My family had a blast with this game. The only drawback is that we were smacking each other with the remotes because we were so into the mini-games and things got a little out of control. It is more fun to play with 4 people. The computer cheats (or at least that is what we like to think).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good time!

posted by Longshot (STATE CENTER, IA) Jun 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Greetings all!

You can have quite a bit of fun in MP8 if you have a few friends to play with. You will do everything from shaking pop cans to sawing wood in the MP8 mini games and the Wii remote makes doing this very fun and easy. Non gamers should have no trouble picking up MP8 and playing which makes it a great choice for parents looking for a game to play with their kids. The mini games maybe great but the same can't be said for the party boards. If you have played any of the previous Mario party games you probably will feel a bit let down by the party boards in MP8 they feel like they have been done before and been done better. Luckly you can go right for the fun and set up a game without the party board and just the mini games. Don't count on being blown away by the graphics in MP8 it looks about the same as the GC Mario party games which is fine a party game doesn't need to be on the cutting edge of graphics. There are some frame rate slow downs as well but nothing that really effects the game play. In closing if you're looking for a game to play with family and or friends MP8 is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

At first this game is good

posted by sanjay (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game for about a week, but then I didn't like it anymore. I liked the other Mario Party games especially 4. Seven of the same thing isn't very fun. The only difference is the places and minigames. I wouldn't really recommend buying this game. Renting it for about a week is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do Yourself a Favor and...

posted by Rid117 (ROBERTSVILLE, MO) Jun 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Many people will buy this game just because it says “Mario” in the title, but I would advise against this.

This is by no means a bad game; it’s actually the perfect type of game for the Wii. The biggest problems are the lame story mode and repetitive mini-games. This games strong point is it’s multiplayer. Mario Party 8 makes for one great party game as the title suggests. Although you may not want to admit you play this game to your friends, but it’s a great family game.

If you loved the other Mario Party titles than you’ll love this one, but if you don’t like the series than this one won’t change your mind.

So do yourself a favor and buy the game if you’re a fan or you want a game to play with your family. Otherwise avoid the game.

Additional Info.
· 1-4 player (depending on the mini-game)
· Other reviews
o Gamespot 6.5
o 1UP 5.5
o Nintendo Power 7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth anything, really

posted by nos0und (AMHERST, MA) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Yea, I got it cause I thought it would be a good party game for me and my friends to play. needless to say, I got the game, played it for an hour and proceeded to be completely bored of it. The carnival theme isn’t fun at all, the announcer is annoying, half the minigames are broken in places… just no. Not worth a dime. kthksbai, review OVER.

Atmosphere: 3/10 (Carnival theme is boring and sketchy)

Gameplay: 5/10 (it’s the same game we’ve been getting since mario party 1 for the N64)

Sound: 3/10 (annoying)

Graphics: 9/10 (only part thats decent about this game. The wii has some pretty good graphics in places.)

Character Design: 5/10 (it’s Mario for gods sake, he’s been in over 60 games in his career.)

Story: 3/10 (LOL IF YOU WIN THE SINGLE PLAYER YOU GET A YEARS SUPPLY OF CANDY! WEAK STORY, WEAK MOTIVATION TO COMPLETE THE GAME!)

Final Verdict: 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another day, another Mario Party sequel...

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

This game has its quality points, but it really isn't all that it could be.

The game is, as the franchise has always been, a board game that involves playing minigames against the other players in the game. (up to 4 total players) The game still has a decent feel to it, but overall it just doesn't hold interest as it should. If you have time to play with 3 friends together, it might make for an enjoyable experience. Playing by yourself will likely get old after not too long.

The one major flaw that really keeps this at only a decent game, in my opinion, is that the minigames don't have the impact they should on the gameplay. Now, that doesn't mean they're not fun. But it makes the game feel like it's mostly luck. Certain spaces allow you to interact with other players in different ways, and give positive or negative results. Most of the game is decided by these spaces you land on. While winning minigames might help you a little bit, luck is what wins the game.

This game has the potential to be great, because it uses the Wii Remote's technology (mostly) only where it seems reasonable. On the other hand, the lack of proper balancing between the minigames and the luck aspect of the board game causes the sometimes hour-long game to feel quite irritating, when you win all the skill games but still lose overall. Rent it, but it's probably only a recommended purchase for serious fans of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easy for everyone to play

posted by howardfan (HENDERSON, NV) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fun for everyone. Excellent for introducing games to non-gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

don't waste time

posted by wiiandaps3 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Game has the right idea. Mini games are great fun. But it's about 10 to 15 minutets between mini games in a "board game" format. You have to play this way to unlock them. Game is written for kids, very friendly, but halfway through the game, it always "even's out" the score. Games take little skill, most are built on luck. If you want a good party game, go with Wario Ware! I can't get sick of that game. But if you have little kids and you want to keep them occupied, then you found the right game! Be prepared to hit "A" many times in frustration, trying to get the game to move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVV- EEEEE THIS GAME

posted by shadow616 (Orlando, FL) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am going to tell the truth and say that this game rocks and completes the series or maybe so far(hopefully).I love this game and if you like 4,5,6,and 7 then you will definitely love this one i think that this game is way to good TO BE RATED A 1!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW; And Thats Not Biased!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) May 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

12 out of 37 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

I am selling 5 and 7.

This game puts the best of those titles (5 is like 1); together and perfects it!

There is no need to rent it (ignore ign); and just BUY IT!!!

Mario Party 4- Terrible
Mario Party 5- Is Like 1; Buy it
Mario Party 6- Good Rental but revamping concept
Mario Party 7- Revamped 6 version and it is good but there is no need to buy if you own a Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One Player is awful

posted by OnlyWii (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Rented this game because a friend said he enjoyed playing with people, but one player mode is simply awful. Far too much is purely random and the bits where skill may count do little to nothing to help win. I played several times, did everything "right" and never won once. No fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by steedasvt (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

very goood party game ....really fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

mario party bitter sweet.

posted by ravensnake (WEST HARTFORD, CT) May 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

hey wanna party? no u want a mario party nintendo blessed us with mario party 8 the good mini games are intuitive something new and fun maps. the bad is that it didnt give me the same feel as mp 5-7, the graphics are too bright makes me feel sick inside some mini games feel recycled and story mode to ridiculouse. bottom line if u loved all mario party's u'll love this otherwise rent it to see if u like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The worst party yet

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) May 31, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

NOT WIDESCREEN! I've played every Mario Party. I've enjoyed them up until about 5. That's when they started making big mistakes. This is the worst Mario Party yet. I'll explain why.

First, and most obvious, is the HDTV problem. This game is not in 16:9 widescreen at all. It fools you at first. The first screen and the menu is in full wide screen but the actual game and the mini-games are all in 4:3 format with horrible patterned borders on each side. A very cheap and annoying ploy by Nintendo. The graphics look great, but then when you start playing, it looks worse than Gamecube.

Next is the controls. They are very far from imaginative. It's basically simplified WarioWare. You do very simple tasks to complete a mini-game and most of them are boring and dumb. Some games require movements with the remote that just don't work most of the time. You'll find yourself failing right away most of the time just because of the controls.

Now we have the game boards. They are completely different this time. It's basically a race to see who can roll the biggest numbers. They give coins away like crazy so winning mini-games is almost worthless. I finished one game against the computer on easy and we all had 5 stars. Dumb. I won all the mini-games, yet the computer always had over 50 coins. Most of the boards are stupid and cheap and will just make you mad.

Then we have single player mode. This is way different from party mode but you have to play it to unlock some stuff. The only problem, it's unfair. You play against the computer and they constantly get perfect rolls, tons of money, and tons of candy. I have yet to win the first match after 3 attempts.

The game is unfair, barely fun, annoying, and has tons wrong with it. I was really close to just getting it from gamefly but I love Mario Party so I bought it. If you really want to play it, put it on your list. My girlfriend loves Mario Party and even she didn't really like this one. It's a bit boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mario Party 8 - Too Much Foreplay

posted by wiiadult (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'm all about some unique set-up but jeeeze! IMO .... it just takes WAY TOO LONG to muscle through the tons of pre-play setup menus. And when I finally got to actually "play a game", I was too frustrated from the 20 minutes of pre-setup to enjoy myself.

Less is more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse