Rent Mario Kart Wii for Wii
view large frontback

Mario Kart Wii

Rent

Keep for: $37.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

14750 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3...2...1...Mario Kart!!!!!!

posted by Andrew12 (JACKSON, NJ) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2003

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart Wii is the ultimate racing game. The graphics are some of the best I've seen along with Super Mario Galaxy. The tracks are highly impressive, the music is very catchy, and the cars are very unique. Mini-boosts are a new addition and help out a ton. I like to do tricks after every jump. Rainbow road is the most difficult, but fun coarse in the game. Some new items like the Mega-Mushroom and the lightning cloud, definitely add suspense to the race. Also, the fact that the Wii Wheel comes into play, makes you feel like your actually driving. This is a must have for any Mario fan and avid racing fan. On your marks.... get set....gooooooooo!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for those with a temper

posted by Gideon825 (Oakdale, CA) May 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart Wii (or Bagel Racing as my wife and I refer to it as you can use a bagel instead of the steering peripheral and get the same effect) is over all a really fun game over all. Most of the stages are very imaginative and just difficult enough to keep you on your toes. My only gripe with the game comes in the form of the other racers, or more the power ups that they wield. I can be in first place with a 10 second lead and then out of nowhere I'm hit with a lightning bolt, then a pow block, then a blue shell, and all of the sudden I'm in last place with virtually no hope of regaining my lead. And the fact that there is no hope of avoiding some of these is just ridiculous. I lost track of the number of time I started swearing at the TV because the computer hit me with a lightning bolt in mid air, dropping me into a pit. As I said, for the most part the game is a lot of fun, I'm just hoping they make the weaponry less frustrating in the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best racing game ever!

posted by msariha (BALLWIN, MO) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart Wii is the best racing game ever! The online play is awesome! There are a lot of characters and stages the best part about it is that you control a steering wheel to make it like your really driving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!

posted by KLizDaSk8er May 9, 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you have a Wii and you want some excitement around your home, you would LOVE Mario Kart. Mario Kart allows you to start with 4 different Grand Prix selections. Then there are four races inside of those. When you beat 2 Prix, you get a new Grand Prix option. You also get to unlock new characters and you can even get your Mii! This game is fun for anyone who can control things. Even if you do not like racing games, you will LOVE this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Game!

posted by Yoshi12 (FORT BELVOIR, VA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game!I love driving the motorcycles and the Booster Seats!Over all, 10 out of 10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST VIDEO GAME EVER!!!

posted by probowlers (UNION CITY, NJ) May 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game. It's so cool! You know what's so cool, you get to use charcters you never use like Baby Mario,Baby Luigi, Dry Bones, King Boo,Bowser Jr., Koopa Troopa, Dry Bowser, and more. There is also cool courses like Toad's Factory, Wario's Gold Mine, and more. Best game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) May 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is great, there was no mistake turning Mario Kart DS into a Wii game. It is so good. I like unlocking new characters and new places. Its also a lot of fun playing on WIFI. On WIFI you can either play randomly or with friends. The graphics are great, the sound is great, and it really improves from the DS game. Whether your playing on a cart or a bike it is still fun. I really recommend buying this game or renting for first time players. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Kart is off the CHAIN

posted by HBOMB23 (JEWETT CITY, CT) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is exactly what I wanted and predicted...............Mario Kart is a must BUY for Wii even if you rent it your not gonna want to return it for a long,long time..........This is the best in the series so far.........play with the wheel or Remote/nunchuk combination. The controls are easy to pick up and any newcomer will love this game

KEY POINTS:

-graphics are great

-new and old classic tracks from old Mario Karts(N64,GBA,SNES,etc.)

-Challenging AI

A MUST RENT/BUY................................peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MARIO CART WII ROCKS

posted by harrison9 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 1 brother and 2 sisters love it i'm 11 and i thought that racing games were ok but now they rock mario cart is a challenging game that everyone loves! there is tons more people to chose from i think that it was a smart move to add dirt bikes and other types of cars! And we can do tons on it you can be your mii people on it. So many cool graphics that it looks real. THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9.5 is the actual score

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) May 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

42 out of 49 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game has the greatest online system of any wii game. Me and my wife just play for hours against other people online. It is super easy to connect and the action is always exciting. You can race solo or with friend online or go into battle mode and duke it out. Then they have tournaments were you can battle against everyone else for the best time and the races actually change and have different obstacles. Then if you want to play just localy it supports up to 4 players which is always fun. For the first time on a wii game the online is better though than the regular play. I give the games online a 10 and the offline a 9 making my final score a 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Exceptional

posted by Sag_man13 (PLANO, TX) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart is an awesome game. The variety of it's different modes, characters, and items makes it an awesome game. Also the kind of "Wii-ish" game mode makes it a fun game for the whole family and for yourself with the new online option. My rating is A-.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by carolyn (RADCLIFF, KY) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 3 year old absolutely loves this game. We are going to buy it for him for his birthday in a few months. We put it in and he did not want to stop playing it for days, so we had to limit his time, but he is very good at it and beat his mother (me) many times and figured out how to do everything himself. It is a very fun game when you aren't trying to be competitive while playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Kart is awesome!

posted by giovannidadon (NASHVILLE, TN) May 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart is one of Nintendo's titles that will never lose its appeal. Simple gameplay, ver crisp graphics, and great multiplayer fun. Me and my family have lost hours laughing at each other and enjoying ourselves while playing. Few titles out provide this much excitement from my kids and Im glad Nintendo still thinks about family and not just how much gore they can put in a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall good game

posted by Rob262004 (MECHANICSVILLE, VA) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Despite the constant disconnects on the WFC overall a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a must purchase game

posted by twa318 (CHARLESTON, SC) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WOW this game is a lot of fun!

My girlfriend had never played mario kart before on any system. I plugged in the old N64 and we played a few rounds. She liked it but wasnt very good, coming in last every time.

Well when we booted up the Wii everything changed. The wiimote control scheme is just perfect for a mario kart game. Not to mention its implemented perfectly, feeling quite natural. She had the hang of it after a single race, coming in first in the mushroom cup circuit first try

The game became 10x better when I learned how to power slide (manual mode). After just a few hours of play I was convinced, I had to own this game.

If you like the mario kart series you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game for your Children

posted by k12stabler (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game was fun, left and Right turn takes a little getting used to, But not too hard. Characters are cool. would definetly recommend if you are buying this game for your kids. worth the retail price of $49.99. adults might like it too. overall I give it a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still the best racing game ever!

posted by jofuscis (Chicago, IL) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Title says it all, been my favorite since SNES.... always a winner, Online play is awesome, there are lags in the online population and so sometimes it takes a while, but its all good, use that time to get a drink and hit the head.... Best Racing game ever!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good game

posted by imaskier (Boyne Falls, MI) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

mario kart for the wii is a very fun game. this game is challenging yet beatable, and you dont need any extra controlers. i enjoyed this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Simply.... A WHOLE LOT OF FUN

posted by JamesE (HILTON, NY) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

A definite outstanding fun game for kids,adults and senior citizens, like me. Do not hesitate to rent/buy this one. It's a WINNER!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by masters (FORESTVILLE, CA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best mario game i have ever played in my entire life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it

posted by SDean98 (SPRING HILL, TN) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We own this game but for those considering renting I highly recommend it. It has several different tracks and is challenging for all ages. Of all the games we have this is one that gets the most play from my kids as well as kids who come over. Check it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Kart Gets Better By The Game!

posted by Scribblete (HENRICO, VA) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though this game has been remade many times it still gets better. The fact that makes this game so unique is that you steer with the wiimote AND online play. Single-player hasn't changed very much. In-fact they brought back some of everyone's favorite maps from Mario-Kart 64 And Mario-Kart from GameCube.Also They, added cool new motor bikes to campaign. You can also tilt your wiimote around and you'll do a cool trick.Online-play I have to say has to be the funnest online wii game, though you can't talk to other players, it is very fun to play with your friends then start playing online mode.Anyway, It's just one of the funnest wii games on the market, other then Zelda: Twilight Princess.
I suggest you rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Winner!

posted by jwilczak (BROAD BROOK, CT) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nintendo gave us another great installment to the MarioKart series. The playability is extremely tight and controlled. The music, as always, is quirky and fun, coupled with the sound effects and random character one liners. The levels are large and intuitive and stand alone from the game's previous titles. Another great feature is the compilation cups from previous MarioKart titles that have been revamped to support the Wii's hardware. Overall, an excellent game that my fiancee and I are probably going to purchase. The only downside is that you want more, but in the end it's a very satisfying title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Kart

posted by cc1126 (LIVONIA, MI) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun to play for all ages,Don't think its worth its price tag to buy though.Only because its online enabled is why its so much money still.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario's Answer To Excite Truck

posted by Marioman96 (FOREST GROVE, OR) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I Got This And Wii Music I Was More Excited To Get This Game.
I've Played It With The Gamecube Controller, The Wii Wheel And The Wii And Nunchuck And It Worked For All 3. The Controlls Were Easy To Remember.The Wi-Fi Connection Made It Even Better. I'd Say This Is The Best Mario Kart Game!!!! I Love It And I Love Mario!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse