Rent Mario Kart: Double Dash for GC
view large frontback

Mario Kart: Double Dash

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.5

2776 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by TwoNoobs609 (DUNCOMBE, IA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the game should stay up forever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Om gods!

posted by mecrjcr (COOPERSBURG, PA) Aug 31, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 3rd favorite Mario kart game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun game

posted by jwil07 (NEVADA, MO) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is a very fun game lots of fun and neat people and karts also really neat tracks but if they made a new game cube with WiFi it would be a lot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Kart Double Dash!!

posted by playman (METAIRIE, LA) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Kart DD!! is a very fun racing game.Play as Mario,Luigi,Peach,Daisy, and other characters.Ride Red Fire,Bloom,Bloom Coach,and other karts.Ride in stages or battle with your friend.Unlock characters,karts,mirror mode,and special cup.One of the best racing game EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mario Kart:Double Dash!!

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not a huge racing fan, but I'm DEFINITELY a Mario fan, so I really like this game. Like I said, though, I'm not a racing fan, so it's not my fav. I recommend it mostly to Mario fans, but racing fans, rent, don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Gamecube game

posted by dabluesman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

My kids and I love this game. With the multiplayer co-op found in the Grand Prix mode, we can race for hours and jointly unlock the additional cars and tracks. It is a smooth racing game, has great replay value, and is a smash hit with my kids and I. When we get tired of racing, we can then hit the bob-omb battles and duke it out for a while in the multiplayer battle, then go back to racing again. We have put hours on this game than any other game that we own, and to this day we still can pop this game open, sit back, and smile. If you like racing games, then this one is for you. Rent it today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Vroom VROOM!

posted by MadSkillz (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Mario is back in the racing world with Double Dash. DD has smooth game play and better weapon use. Your actually riding with one other person, so the possibility with having two players on one cart is possible. This game has some great racing tracks, and also some new battle modes. So what's bad??? It gets repetitive, and also a lil boring by yourself. Overall, mario cart dd has some great features and along with the same game play as other mario cart titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fast, Fun, Funny

posted by Rockey (FOLSOM, CA) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. It has cool tracks to race on, it has grand items, and breathtaking graphics (compared to the older Mario Karts). The controls are much more realistic than the N64 version. This game also has some funny things, like when you fall into this whirlpool of sand, a big monster (pihrana plant for those of you falmilar to Mario games) comes out and eats you. This truly is a great game, along with the DS edition, that is , until they come out with a Wii sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Destined to be a Mario classic

posted by nintendo (BUTTE VALLEY, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Mario has never been so awesome in this great graphics game. It's one the best Mario titles that I've ever played in my life. It's a must for any Mario fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

review of double dash

posted by game26test (TACOMA, WA) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love that is teamwork oriented. best mario kart game on any console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than the one on wii

posted by blomac7 (CHERRY VALLEY, IL) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game. i played it long before mario cart wii came out. and on wii i missed special items two people in a cart and the controls. i dont know if you can play the wii version but i played the wii version with a wii controler and i was riding the wall. over all if you have a game cube this is a must get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but needs more tracks

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun all the way through but the is only 16 different tracks. The tracks are colorful and detailed but the get old after you complete mirror mode and unlock all the characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome, truley great!

posted by LOFARO1312 (ELKINS, WV) May 18, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

My Wife and I spent hours of fun playing Mario Kart 64 for Nintendo 64 and Now we are having just as much fun with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Vrooom.

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Not much new to speak of in this game, but I think it follows the principal "Don't fix what ain't broke." If you liked the previous mario cart you'll like this one.

Pros:
Different racing speeds for different skilled players.
New cars, tracks, items and characters.
Classic Mario kart.

Cons:
Racing system almost identical to original game.
Tracks, items and cars all similar to original game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boooorrring!!

posted by drummachic (ORLANDO, FL) May 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

I sent it back the first day. Maybe a 5 year old would enjoy it. Mario games are my all time Faves so it really means a lot for me to say i didn't enjoy it, at all. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mariokart double dash review

posted by patrick888 (APEX, NC) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

awesome, compatible with Nintendo Wii. buy it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good.

posted by attitude (COVINGTON, LA) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

Its fun game but a little harder then the wii mario kart since the controllers are touchy. i loved playing battle. that was what me and my cuzin played the most. :3 i say get it since its very fun. :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst Mario Kart game ever

posted by samworld (OLATHE, KS) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The tracks were not good with two racers it made it so bad single kart is better. I want to race as my favorite charactor just single not with some one else so this is the worst of all 6 I give it 3 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Racing Game Ever!

posted by Ken10Ethan (BEREA, OH) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

If your going to get a mario kart game, get this if you have a wii or gamecube.

Pros:
Awesome cars
awesome Characters
Cool Tracks

Cons:
Not many Characters
Not many Tracks
No Singleplayer Vs. Matches!

Overall, 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by Mario8 (NEWCASTLE, ME) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

I got the game just a few days ago and I love it. I've played other Mario Kart games but this one is special because being able to use 2 people in one kart is fun. The courses are very unique. This game is definitely a buy; not a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The more the better

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

In my opinion this game would be better than mario kart wii if it had a online system. But this is gamecube so your getting THE best racing game on the gamecube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF MY FAVORITE MARIO KARTS!

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) Jun 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

i remember me and my best friend garret were gonna hang out. so he came over with this game and we played it for hours! it was so fun the two player is so good! He would drive and i would be in the back dropping koopa shells and bannnas and stuff. it is a awesome game! when you get this invite your best friend over and you guys will have a blast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mario kart by Loozur (i am a total LOOZUR!!!!)

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 4, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

this game was the first game that i ever played for GC. and i have to say i was pretty impressed i would highly reccomend this game to anyone who is not 16 years of age. since this game is so good i'm going to compare it to several games.

compare to NFS hot pursuit 2 it's totally lame.
compare to mario kart 64 it was awesome
compare to NFS most wanted DS it was awesome.
compare to sonic heroes it was slightly worse
compare to anything for the gamegear this game reins supreme
compare to the shrek racing game this is far better.
compare to nicktoons volcano game a little better
compare to original super mario bros. not as stressful.
compare to vectorman WAY BETTER THAN THAT ANNOYING THING!
compare to sonic rush ALL AROUND WAY BETTER.
compare to sonic chronicles about equal but faster & not worth replaying
compare to donkey kong 64 shorter more stressful & better graphics
compare to yoshi's island DS way better & less boring
compare to paper mario completeley equal
compare to sonic the hedgehog i would prefer mario kart (Even though i am an EXTREMELEY hardcore sonic fan)
compare to sonic the hedgehog 2 & 3 i would much rather play those than this.
compare to sonic CD kart here is better.
Sincereley
Loozur
Check out my review on "Frogger Ancient Shadow"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Border line boring

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Basically all you do is win races. You get a prize after you beat a grand prix. These prizes can be new karts, caracters, or new tracks. Over all, this game is not the best I've played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Kart Double Dash is awesome!

posted by teehee1221 (CENTERVILLE, MA) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Mario Kart D.D is just a really awesome game! If you want to play alone it's fun, racing other characters such as Toadette, Bowser, Bowser jr. and of course Mario and Luigi! There are 3 things that make this racing game not just a regular racing game.
1. If you are playing with friends, one of you can drive, and one of you throw out items! If you want to switch places you both press Z at the same time! If the driver gets an item when you travel through a double item box... pass it to the item person by pressing Z!
2.Each team of players (e.g. Bowser, Bowser jr., toad, toadette) has their own special item! Like Bowser and Bowser jr. theirs is a gigantic bowser shell, causing havoc in a small place such as Baby Park! Or Marios and Luigi's, green or red fire that you can throw backwards or forwards!
3. Each team of players has TONS of karts to choose from.

So please rent this game, if you have a party, everyone's going to want to play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse