Rent Mario Kart 8 for Wii U
view large frontback

Mario Kart 8

Rent

Keep for: $49.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
9.1

541 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Kart 8

posted by MonsterHigh99 (LONG POINT, IL) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just want to start out saying how great this game is. The graphics are amazing for a WiiU game and the game play is just fantastic. There are some things I didn't really like about this game though. One of those things is the characters..... The characters weren't a surprise because they gave them all away in the Mario Kart 8 Direct and you seen them on the track before you unlocked them. Some of the new characters were the 7 Koopalings. I don't know why they had to add all 7 of them instead of bringing back some of the older characters like Peety Piranha or someone else maybe like Pauline. Another thing I really didn't like was how easy it was to unlock everything. I unlocked everything in the game in like 2 days. Now I'll talk about some of things I really liked in the game. I like some of the new characters like Pink Gold Peach and Baby Rosalina. The tracks were gorgeous and alot of fun. Another thing I like is that they added ATV's into the game. They brought back the kart customization, gliding, and underwater racing from Mario Kart 7 which was pretty cool. I recommend this game to anyone who loves Mario Kart games or Mario games. It is a lot of fun to play. Oh one more thing I wanted to talk about was the online play. I don't really like how they made it. You only got to pick out of like 4 options on a track to race on. Other than that the online play was pretty fun. This game is so much fun to play with your friends and family and it has great replay value. Like I said before I recommend this game to anyone who likes Mario games. I give this game a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by Clash (BOISE, ID) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game takes many of the best elements of previous Mario Kart games and improves upon them. My favorite being Mario Kart on SNES and N64. Being only to only hold one item at a time makes a better balance for those in first and last places. The courses are also very well designed and the anti gravity ability that allows you to drive on walls works very well.

My only complaint is the Battle Mode, which takes place on the actual race tracks, so you spend more time just trying to find your opponent (and there is no map) than trying to pop their balloons. If Nintendo would have just stuck to the walled off arena style levels the game would have been the best in the series hands down and worthy of a 10.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Classic Mario kart and not...

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I like Mario kart but this is just more of the same. Nothing too new, nothing too different, more polish and fan service which is nice. Problem is some of the tracks are so all over the place with the anti gravity I get motion sickness. If that's groundbreaking to you then I'm jealous, for me it'd new and not really for the better.

All said, it's great but it's not ground breaking or revolutionary. It's a really good wii u title but that's not saying a ton.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS SO AMAZING, IT BEAT 7 HARD!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by grock1529 (CARY, NC) Sep 7, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This is THE BEST Mario Kart game in the series. There are TONS of cool new maps, characters, modes, and a great online play function! You can now play with your friends on miiverse, and your friends in real life. One of the best parts is driving upside-down as well. Not even to mention, if you buy the game, you can get new maps and characters for a dlc, and eventually you can play using amiibo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun as

posted by MNSICFUX (ROSEMOUNT, MN) Sep 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Kart 8

posted by AtomicToasterYo (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game is incredible. They've fixed some of the problems that plagued the last few Mario Karts. It's a step above Mario Kart 7 by introducing anti gravity courses along with customizable Karts and bikes! There's tons of courses and the graphics are phenomenal. Get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario kart of the future

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

nintendo has done it again i'm a big fan of mario kart but this time i will not own it due the upside down tracks might make my head feel funny in real life i can't go on upside down rides b/c of my seizure disorder it's a fun game but not for me to own the upside is that it's fun and cool the downside is that the wiiu game pad controls i give mario kart 8 5 1st place out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Needs DLC

posted by Kwcjr91 (GRIFFITH, IN) Jul 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I'd give this game a 10 as soon as we get new tracks, characters, and game modes in DLC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MK8 Even In My Dreams

posted by Chird (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

MK8 is tons of fun...Game visuals are great and has high play value...unlockables are simple (collect coins/ finish cups/ and time)..play w/o tv right onto the gamepad

The drawbacks are:
1. Battle mode stinks - instead of a battle arena its on a race track without a map - so most ppl hide
2. Online is shady - when its running smooth - TONS AND TONS of fun... but has its laggy races and drops the race altogether.
3. Cant chat with online buddies during a race, cant even join a room together unless you open the friends list and jump into their game or simultaneously hit race at the same time
4. Cannot split player screen so that one person can play on the gamepad and others can have more of the tv screen

But its Def tons of fun - even play it in my dreams

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good but not great

posted by Jrob93 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Now let me start off by saying I am somewhat of an old school mario player (Double Dash is my favorite and most experienced mario kart), I was a kid around the time the n64 version came out and for me that one was too outdated, that being said I do not know if it is age or just being used to a different style of mario kart gameplay but this mario kart feels like they tried to put to much into the game and it took away from what makes mario kart what it is.
In this mario kart the visuals are stunning they get the style down great, But the gameplay and choices you have in choosing a cart, motrorcycle, and then choosing the wheels and parachute as well just seemed like a lot of overkill, what happened to the days where we were actually driving just karts in mario kart? Very fun game nonetheless and definitely worth a rent to try it out first. If you enjoy lots of choices/change and are not too loyal to earlier versions of mario kart I am sure you will love this game. I enjoyed it very much myself I am just an avid mario kart player and these were my opinions of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same game over and over

posted by parthornax (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 10, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

nothing new besides 2 new power ups and the graphical update

if it werent for the nintendo license this game would be classified as a mediocre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tha bomb

posted by popos (MUSKOGEE, OK) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I enjoy this game everyday I get off work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME game! Just needs better online in areas.

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 5, 2014

Member since May 2010

Overall this game is as great as you would expect for a Nintendo first party game. Awesome frame rate, graphics, the whole 9. The only thing I think that could be improved upon and thus knocked this from a 10 to a 9 for me is the online mode needs more options.

You can't change cars or tweak your racer in between races. You need to be able to have lobby's that you can browse and shop and choose from. For instance, when you sign up to play online you blindly get thrown into a room at 100cc (you won't know this unless you set up a custom race at 150cc and realize you were on a slower pace) and everyone just plays individual races until you decide to leave and that's it. If you were to set up a custom room with say, 150cc, Mushrooms only, Bikes only, etc, no one will ever join you unless they happen to have set up the same customized options. If there were lobbies you could choose from this would be different and you could join/leave at will.

Also, battle mode seemed kind of thrown together and there are no longer battle "arenas" specifically for battle you just battle on the track. It's "meh" but the rest of it is awesome. Just would like to see Nintendo do first party games with online functionality correctly for once is all. When my friends hop on and offline I should get a pop up like on XBL or something.

One last thing, in Nintendo's ongoing effort to protect kids from the scary internet and keep up the stereotype that they are a kids system you can only choose pre written PG texts to talk with in the lobby. It's pretty lame. I mean, no one should be raging at Mario Kart but still, I'd like to have the freedom to say what I want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendo has done it again!

posted by f22chris (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 3, 2014

Member since May 2014

I can't remember Mario Kart being this much fun! They have locked characters that you have to win to unlock, and when you've unlocked the characters there are new karts to unlock, along with the kart upgrades like wheels and air gliders. Online is cool too, really tough players around the world. The graphics are great on tv and the wii pad. In fact the only thing I don't like about this game is that there aren't enough tracks. There are about 24 tracks if I'm not mistaken.
If you were a fan of the previous Mario Kart games this game will not disappoint!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario Kart 8

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

This game is awesome the best mk ever. better than the wii version as well

graphics 9/10

Audio 10/10

Gameplay 10/10

Fun 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best mario racing gamev ever

posted by thebbatman10 (COLUMBUS, OH) May 31, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

i most fun mario game I've played in a very long time the new cars are awesome and new stuff u can do witch is very awesome get it if u don t have it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »