Rent Mario Hoops 3 on 3 for DS
view large frontback

Mario Hoops 3 on 3

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

GF Rating
7.0

1016 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game you could play!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gdollar (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was one of the bes games i have ever played!! It had good graphics and so many characters and basketballs.
Also the game last forever,it took me a while to beat tournament mode.But theres still tons of things to unlock.
Personally i think this was a new sep for mario on nintendo ds. I hope they make more mario spor games on ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Hoops 3 on 3

posted by JP54723 (BAY CITY, WI) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game for Nintendo DS. They have out done themselves with this new game. Amazing graphics for the DS and they made quite a few characters to chose from. I really enjoyed this game. I would definetly recomend it for someone who enjoys sports or mario. Although the controls are some what hard to use you will get the hang of the in approxamently a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Looney Tunes B-Ball, that's for sure

posted by madrain (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So I picked up this game looking for something like the old Looney Tunes B-Ball game on the SNES. I'm not a fan of sports titles, generally, so I don't pick up NBA 2kwhatever-year-it-happens- to- be every time a new one is released. I like a fun sports game, something with little management and alot of fun play.

Mario is okay, but definitely not as good as I expected.

The game is less about basketball and more about collecting coins. Also, like a supermodel, it's more about looking good than having substance. The AI is bad, either being incredibly stupid or at times extremely difficult because of power ups. Even on original gameboy basketball games your teammates didn't stand around like idiots watching the ball roll past them.

It's disappointing that there are no options to turn off or down the powerups, and turn off the coin collecting. I'd love this game if it used regular basketball scoring. The fact is it resembles nothing like basketball and more like keep-away, a game I stopped wanting to play in 5th grade. Winning depends on stealing the ball, then dribbling it over coin blocks until you have 100 coins, then doing a rather simple slam dunk or a slightly more complex unblockable power move which nets you some extra coins. Woo.

It is pretty, though, and marginally fun unlocking characters. The special moves are a treat to see, and some of the courts are just beautiful.

Anyways, I'd recommend giving it a rent at least. It's great fun for a week or so. I'd definitely recommend against buying it before you play it though, even if you're really excited for it, like I was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mario is Lacking Fun

posted by ki4bnv (MADISON, AL) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Hoops 3 on 3 is a very well put together game. As with all games they are some problems, when you do the DS Download play the mini games dosen't have to do with basketball at all. The other game play was really lacking human interface controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor control choice ruins an otherwise fun game.

posted by jmarshall (HARRISBURG, PA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the epitome of adding touch controls for the sake of adding touch controls. Every motion is controlled by the d-pad and stylus. If they had just made you control it with the buttons, it would have been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good game with a few flaws

posted by 1gamer (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ight, game great,grphiac are something i would bever expect from ds,lots of characters the only thing i didin't like about it is there was no wi-fi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREAT GRAPHS

posted by smartone (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MARIO HOOPS 3 ON 3 WAS AN AWSOME GAME, IT WAS ALL WORTH GETTING. IT'S ONE OF THOSES GAMES WERE IF YOU SEE IT YOU JUST KNOW THAT YOU'RE GOING TO PLAY IT WELL IF YOU KNOW WHAT IM TALKING ABOUT, WELL THIS IS THE GAME FOR YOU AND EVEN IF YOU DONT THIS GAME IS GOOD FOR YOU. THE GRAPHS WERE EXCELLENT YOU CONNECTING WITH OTHER PLAYERS WITH MINI GAMES IT WAS ABSOLUTLY GREAT. THIS GAME HAS EVERYTHING EACH PLAYER IS HAVING THEIR OWN SIGNATURE MOVE WHICH IS A GOOD THING. THE GAME GOES UP AS YOU BEAT A TEAM IN A TOURNMENT ITS HAS HARDER MODES WHICH THATS GOOD. THERE ISN'T REALLY ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT ALL MARIO GAMES ARE GOOD SO ALL I HAVE IS 2 THINGS TO SAY: GET IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun

posted by Reindog (BEAR, DE) Jun 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is fun. oncecwhan you beat it you unlock players and can play again to unlock baqlls and stuff. i like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good at first, tedious at the end

posted by Insanity (Perry, FL) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well I will start this off by saying

"Wow a Mario basketball game!!!"

Now after saying that, why does nintendo keep on making mario sport video games? Anyway this is a game I highly recommend for renting not buying. Now why would I say that? This game I thought would be fun because most mario sports games are, and this one was at first. It is a game with a decent style of gameplay at first. Collect coins, use items, shoot, score points or if your on defence steal the ball by using items. Now this is pretty much all you do through the game. Now what did they do to make this more intresting? They added lots of unlockables. This is mind-numbingly challenging to do which makes the game worth playing for a week, but playing this for a week is all you will end up doing. See those steps I listed above get boring, as the A.I. gets seemingly easier to fool. As for multiplayer you can play regular matches against someone who has it or you can play in two other 15-minute-game modes. By 15-minute-game modes I mean games you will only play for 15 minutes. My biggest problem with the game is that there is absolutely no way to delete your data, so if you do rent it you are stuck with the file the person who had it before you had. So if they already got everything there is no point in playing the game and you wasted a rental. Overall this game is a rent not a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but disappointing?

posted by TENCHI133 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Hoops is a good game. I think it's worth renting but I'm not to sure about buying it. Here are some reasons:

Pros:
-Great graphics for a DS game.
-Buttons are easy to use.
-Mini-map on the bottom screen is a great help.
-Super moves are just as good as "Super Mario Strikers".
-Some new characters.

Cons:
-There aren't a lot of options.
-Once you get the hang of the game, it gets pretty easy.
-You can score up to 200 points in one shot.
-Replay value is low unless you have multiplayer
-There is only a couple of mini-games

Those are my reasons for this game, which I say it's great but it won't last long and when the replay value dies down you will be disappointed.
Square-Enix I think could of done better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario Hoops 3 on 3 is a fun and addicting game.

posted by ethan230 (CENTENNIAL, CO) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario Hoops 3 on 3 is a simple Mario basketball game that lets you use the touch screen to perform every basketball move and trick you could think of. Unfortunately, Mario Hoops lacks a variety of game play modes, and the addition of Nintendo WI-FI Connection compatibility would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mario Hoops

posted by Socrates (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 25, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario hoops is a thoroughly enjoyable game, but one which unfortunately gets old a bit too quickly. The controls are fantastic. Intuitive enough that anyone can jump in after a quick tutorial. Some of the more complex moves feel a little harder to execute and generally clunkier at first, but is entirely satisfying to pull off upon opponents.
The graphics are truly amazing for a DS title, and feel on par with Mario Tennis for the Gamecube. Colorful courts with varying attributes make for a more varied game experience.
Alas, the main flaw in this game is its lack of inclusion in the wi-fi connection compatability. Unfortunately the AI ranges from too easy to ridiculously difficult. The hardest difficulty is drastically more difficult than the next hardest, and the multiplayer offers so much promise.
The characters, though beautifully rendered and exceptionally varied, are all challenging to get the nuances of them. You'll probably wind up finding three you enjoy and then playing them all the time, after you learn their special shots.
On the whole, an entertaining game that would be soo much better if the multiplayer were just a bit more...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good but not the best

posted by mattnbafan (COVINGTON, LA) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is great.but it takes you 2 or 3
days to beat the tourniments,and coins i mean come
on!but other then that it's great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a MUST RENT

posted by rjuice (RICHMOND, CA) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok so this is the type of game gamefly is for. this is a great game but give it a week or two and you'd probably be done playing it. once you get all the characters, there's really not much you can do.

the only way this game would have any real replay value is if you had a few friends who also bought the game as well. it's a single card game yes, but only for mini games. to go heads up with somebody in this game both people hafve to have the game card, which really sucks.

this game would have been a must buy for me if it had wi-fi connectivity. mario hoops would be right up there with mario kart but alas, it is not.

the controls are a pretty innovative use of the ds. the bad thing is controls are not that responsive and there is excessive use of the touch pad, so you better have a screen protector for this game. you can use the buttons, yes, but there are some moves in the game where you can only use the touch pad, such as the special shots. the special shots are pretty awesome and the way they use the touch pad to execute the shots is a pretty neat idea.

the best thing about this game is the reunion of square and nintendo, which means secret final fantasy characters to unlock! if you're expecting cloud or sephiroth it ain't happening. what you get is your, old school, made-exclusively-for- this- game final fantasy characters. you got your white mage, your black mage, ninja, a moogle, and my personal favorite, cactuar.

once you unlock all these characters, it's pretty much time to move on because this game offers not much else. oh and i forgot to mention, the a.i. is insanely difficult in hard mode. that's if you are trying to get gold rank and unlock the final character. the final team in rainbow cup hard mode made this one of the hardest games for me to beat. took me close to 3 hours and so many retries to beat that one team.

bottom line, replay value is poor without wifi and there's not much to do after you unlock everything. great rent, bad buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better than expected, but you must have patience

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this is an excellent DS game. Simply put, if you are a fan of mario - final fantasy - and like basketball, then this will be an appealing game for you. Where I feel most of the negativity in other peoples opinions may come is in the control scheme of things. This is not the typical "use the controller, press a button to dunk, another to steal" NBA JAM or NBA LIVE game you may expect. The touch screen is essential in play, and you must practice a bit to get the hang of the flow of the game. Once you do, however, you will see the benifit of having a touch screen on a basketball game. Nintendo is really big on "feeling" the game, and sliding the stylus to pass, or tapping to dribble, really does aid in those regards. As for the graphics, you will not find any better on this system than you will in this game. This game is absolutely beautiful, and I believe that end of quality comes on Square-Enix's end. All in all, this is a great basketball game. This is nothing like MARIO TENNIS, or MARIO GOLF for the gba. It is more of a straight forward sports title, with the fun add ins you expect from any mario game, such as shells, bombs, etc. The character selections are excellent, and I really like that Square threw in a few of their own to play with (such as the moogle, best - ever.) I advise if you have any doubts, use your gamefly account to rent this title. If you don't, and I hope this is you, then I suggest you buy it. This is an excellent addition to a very sports-less DS library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by catlover (MARIETTA, GA) Feb 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is a 10 because it has great graphics it's very fun if your a sports kind of person.There's a lot of characters you can play/verse in matches it's good tricks you can use to shoot/score baskets!!!!

p.s. IT ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Hoops Review, one of the best games ever!

posted by Roulace (KAYSVILLE, UT) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Mario Hoops 3 on 3 is not only fun, but has very good graphics. It's not like normal mario games, but it has the same items you can find on any Mario Cart! They brought in all of your favorite characters, Mario, Luigi, Peach, and many more! It's a game that you can keep playing even after defeating the tournaments! Playing against your friends is also fun, if they have the game too. Experience some sweat dunks, and moves from all of the mario players, and some secret ones...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario Hoops 3 on 3

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!

Good
-characters
-that mario song that plays in the background when you are choosing teams
-different types of basketballs
-different types of courts
-power shots
-graphics

Bad
-Final fantasy characters (not big on final fantasy). I don't know why it bothered me though, cause Kingdom Hearts has final fantasy characters.
-Annoying noises

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome game

posted by Rolando (GLENDORA, CA) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a good game, but sometimes you can get a little mad. But overall it is a good game to start your adventures with your Nintendo DS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Freakin' Awesome!

posted by jacktumipr (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome, its been some time that i've been waiting for nintendo to put out a mario baskeball game after playing the mini-game from mario party. The wireless multiplayer is the best part, but in order to play the actual game of basketball in multiplayer you both need the game, one card multiplayer only supports a few minigames. The controls are a little crazy and hard to learn, but once you get the hang of it you'll love it. SO don;t give up, give it time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Must Buy!!!

posted by Whitesox11 (CAROL STREAM, IL) Sep 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This is the best ds game I have ever owned,why? Ill tell you.....

Pros:
AMAZING Graphics
A Handful Of Charectars
Cool Power Ups And Signature Moves
Multicard Play AND Single Card Play

Cons:
No Wifi :(
.........................- .........................- .......
So overall I will give this a 9/10 because there is no wifi.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLAYPLAYPLAY!

posted by woweee1 (WARWICK, NY) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

fun i don't have it but my son does that is cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It has it`s ups and downs

posted by RPGfreak (CAPE CHARLES, VA) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The title says it all theyre are some bad and good things about this game the bad it doesnt last too long the good the graphics are good for a ds and gameplay is pretty fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mario hoops review

posted by nintendo43 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 30, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

at first mario hoops seemed like a pretty good game, when i got it in the mail i was happy, then when i played it was okay for the first few times after a while it got frustrating and aggravating because i realized that the other team mates ever they don't steal the ball grab a loose ball and when they get an item the don't do anything with it. also i realized that you can't switch player unless you have the ball so when your team mates get a good item you have to steal the ball pass to that player and even if you do that you loose the item because you can't have a shell and the ball at the same time. the only good things the game offers is the good graphics and the touch screen controls. another thing that i forgot to mention is the scoring system, to score points you go to square w/a ? mark on it tap the touch screen and get coins then score a basket and you get whatever amount of coins you collected +20. you can even score a basket and automatically get 20 points, also if you happen to do a special shot the i think you get extra points making the game way to easy, for on basket you can get up to 120 points and if you do a special then 140 points, also enemy doesn't put up much of a challenge. basically the game easy, due to the scoring and terrible AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Basketball Game

posted by Nintendo11 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This Game is so FUN!!!!! You can do dunks, alley-oops, and ever other thing in b-ball. The rules are very different but it is better that way. So try this game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse