Rent Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games for DS
view large frontback

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
7.1

372 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but slightly flawed

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Coming off of playing the summer version of this game, I was left with a bit of a sour taste. Don't get me wrong, this is fun and has some really cool events. The snowboarding, luge and bobsled are probably the best of the bunch. Ice skating was fun, but I found my hand getting in the way of my vision because of the touch screen controls. (which is more my fault then the games')

The main issue with this is I felt like it used less of the touch screen controls that made the first one lots of fun and when it used them, they seemed slightly flawed. The events that did not use the touch screen ended up being more fun, which is a shame since the touch screen controls are what make playing the DS unique.

Back to the events. The snowboarding and skiing were fun. To snowboard you used the dpad to control your character down the slope which reminded me a bit of other games like SSX. There are even occasions where you can jump to get a nice speed boost. It gets even more technical at times, when you can ride behind a rival, and use them to slingshot off of for yet another speed boost. Only complaint about that event is the track was fairly short. It at times reminded me of SSX ( but without the insane tricks ). Bobsled and luge were great since they had you rocketing down a track at high speeds and gave you a great sense of speed. You have you stay in the line of arrows to keep your speed up, and there is the potential to hit the walls and slow down which reduces your speed greatly.

I'd recommend it for a rental, but if you plan on purchasing one look to the summer olympics version, its more fun and intuitive to players that are not used to dpad controls. But if you are looking for a good mario and sonic snowboarding or bobsled event, this is the place to look. It's more fun and has more of the motion controls that make the DS unique.

Pro: Great snowboarding and bobsled events
Con: Less use of the DS' unique touch screen controls :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The mini games ROCK!

posted by shadow81 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome and fun! I really enjoyed the mini games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So Addictive

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game just to try it. I was not absolutely sure I would like it, and I was right, cause I love it. It is so great. I love challenging myself to do better and better in each advent. I have gotten gold in several advents. The adventure mode is a little hard to understand at first but is is great too once you have the basics down. I definitely recommend it to everyone. I bought it and am even considering getting it for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario and Sonic at the oylimpic winter games

posted by schufly (ANNAPOLIS, MD) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think it is a great game!It is very fun to play for DS.I have not yet tried the version for the Wii but i hope to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

game is ok

posted by tulip1973 (OCEANSIDE, CA) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2012

it is like a pokemon game & you have to be able read words like ( walk over there) or ( open the door) my son likes the game but he cant read a lot of the words so i think its good for 2nd thu 12 grade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So fun and addicting!!!

posted by teddyb12 (CREWE, VA) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I played this game all the time. It was so much fun. I was so addicted to it that i never put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Graphics and Modes

posted by cuteface (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

The only thing this game is missing is an analog stick for the camera angle. Some of the games require you to use the stylus. Not to smart when pushing diretionals or letter buttons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pthb!

posted by ab123456 (EAGLE, CO) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

It's an okay game.....Adventure mode is okay........the graphics SUCK....the 3D animation is something I could do on my laptop(It has windows XP!)......there really is no storyline in the real game or the adventure mode......the actual events are okay but get boring after the first five min......I reccomend you do not to buy or "keep" it just rent it.....even though you'll send it back the day you get it.

Pthb!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »