Rent Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games for Wii
view large frontback

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.7

2751 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!!!

posted by goodeone28 (HEMPSTEAD, NY) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I get games for my son's game systems and he really, REALLY loved the Mario and Sonic Olympic Winter Games. So did my little brother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

It was a good game. I like the game where you push a sled. It loads quick. I also like you can buy outfits for your Miis using stars you earn during the game. The outfits should appear in the Mii Plaza. I also like the red sled you can buy with your stars in the Sports shop that goes really fast.( This review was not written by me but someone else who I got the game for.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario and sonic at the olympic winter games

posted by waterman307 (HYDE PARK, MA) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

hi gamefly! i have sended mario and sonic game but for some reason it says i still have it out and i sended it out on monday. good day! bye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT!!

posted by veelang (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

the kids looove this game...to be honest, this game is better than the 2012 olympics we rented from redbox, which is also fun! my husband and I also play for hours! great stress reliever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wish there were more characters..

posted by jmobile (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

There should have been more PLAYABLE sonic characters such as rouge, omega, jet, wave, storm, tikal etc.
Also I wish there had been a storyline to this game.
If you're looking for a sonic game with high speed, don't get this game. However, it is a good family party game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOMEST MARIO+SONIC AT THE OLIMPICS YET!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Yoshi12345 (HAVERTOWN, PA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is why this is one of the best games EVER!!! 1.You get to use the balance board for LOADS of games. 2. This game can help you'r balance, concentration, stress, and best of all, THIS GAME CAN HELP YOU WITH YOU'RE FREAKEN ANGER ISSUES!!!!!!!3. Now I'm 11 years old, so I have a pretty good tatse of games but this is one of my favs.4.Also this game has sooooooo many awsome cheats that when I got this game, I did'nt know which cheat to use first. 5. I'm the second youngest person in a house family of 9 so.........Yea. I get stressed out alot. So this is a game that really relieves all the stupid stress that I receave. I would really reccomed for stressed people. Hope you enjoy the game as much as I did and.........Please comment. Pleeeeeeeease.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pj, stupid game

posted by pjr (NAPLES, FL) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

it was pretty good for the five out of the ten minutes i played it. ya there is a lot of sports but most of them are the sme but with a team. thres only one or two that only has one but like i said the rest are the same. so bacicly it was weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better played as a mii

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 27, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

the london mario and sonic olympics is coming out jan 2012 so as for this game i enjoyed the ski jump my favorite winter olympic sport i think it's very well played mario and sonic winter olympics get 4 goals out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME

posted by wwffan11 (SNELLVILLE, GA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

At first i was pretty scepptical about renting it and when i did a had a blast the controls were complex and the game play in some events were great im personally both a nintendo and sega fanboy and i admit i was kind of surprised about the crossover and kind of not ever since sega stopped making systems games were all they had to stay alive and with the RROD and PS3 (EPIC FAIL) it was the wiis time to shine EPIC RENTAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this Game!

posted by Shotc (ERIE, PA) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This is the perfect game to play because it is challenging and easier as you play. The festival is very fun but WATCH OUT! because the rival is hard to beat! It is fun to play and you should try figure skating. it's sooooo fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty disappointing

posted by mrgroovy69 (SHALLOTTE, NC) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I was really excited about this game because I wanted to use my balance board with it. I really like the snowboard, ski, and ski jump games in Wii Fit. I thought this would be as good or better and have more snowboard and ski games. Unfortunately, this is not the case. It does have more snow games, I'll give it that. But the control with the balance board isn't nearly as good as on the Wii Fit. I didn't play the game using only the remote, so perhaps you'd get better control with that.

I would love to see them update this game to have better control with the balance board. If you want a good game to use the board with, get Wii Fit; the control is much snappier and therefore not nearly as frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

"olympic winter games" doesn't quite get a medal

posted by elyse7 (FRESH MEADOWS, NY) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I joined Gamefly mostly to try out Wii games compatible with the balance board, so as not to waste money actually purchasing them. In this case, I am very thankful I do not own the game. The most fun I had playing this game would have to be curling, although it loaded very slowly (as did all the other events) - which is inexplicable as the graphics were reminiscent of those used in n64 games (no surprise there from Nintendo, but still - I expected it to load quicker). The balance board games were fun, kind of like Mario Kart but with the board and on snow (i.e. skiing , snowboarding) however I wish there were more balance board activities available. I'd sooner purchase a game featuring only curling than this. Oh, and the figure skating game is an absolute joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD

posted by GAMESLIFE (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This game is awesome,it is great for the family i would say must have...GAMESLIFE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun and entertaining

posted by sonicfan64 (SARASOTA, FL) Jul 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is so entertaining so physical and dont even get me started on the extended tourtament

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

way better than original

posted by OMIGOSH (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's way better because it has a career it has rivales it has mail theres shopping theres party games my favroite is theres a career.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It is an average game with big characters

posted by johnnycjr (HAWTHORNE, NV) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The game is fun to an extent. It requires you use the Wii Balance Board for most of the games and this is very difficult. The instructions are not very clear either. On the games where you use a Wii controller it is not easy at all. Overall if you have time to spend deciphering the difficult instructions and vague tips then you can play with fun, however if you just want to pop in this game and go snowboarding that's not going to happen. I give it a five because it was fun somewhat just very difficult and hard to understand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

an ok game

posted by himynam (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

if you like the winter olyimpics then this a game for u. the problem is that festival mode is to much repeat, same bosses same everything. also the games get boring after 3 days and you will lose interst. another major problem is that the opponents are to easy and not the hard to beat. in all its a good game to rent but not buym

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same ol', same ol'.

posted by bathtime (ENNIS, MT) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter games. Despite the new events, characters, and the entirely new shopping center, the game lacked... Something. It didn't matter what event I played, it all felt the same.

Wait... SWING!

Wait... PRESS A!

Skeleton, Halfpipe, Slalom... All the same, it felt. I was quite disappointed in it, as I loved the first.

Pros: Shopping Center, Festival mode, Rivals, new events and charecters

Cons: Repetitive controls, not much interaction

Replay Value: Very Low. I doubt I'll rent this again.

Overall rating: 5. If you want a fun game for the Olympics, go for the first one. THis is deffinately not a buy. I barely had this game for a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad

posted by jonreview (TAMPA, FL) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

Another fail by nintendo. Completely un realistic movements and garbage stuff overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mario and sonic at the olympic games

posted by deyon101 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This not going tobe a good review because I sent my other two games back and one of them were mario and sonic at the olympic games and it still say that the game I am writing a review on right now is still at home even though I sent it back last Thursday and you guys only sent me one game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for everyone

posted by codylove (NEW CASTLE, DE) May 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of fun for the whole family. Easy enough to play(7 yr old could do this w/very little help) Would rent again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mario and sonic at winter olympics

posted by fcoacastro (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Hated the text words in Japanese throughout the entire game. You can't understand the writing or what you are seeing(unless you read and write Japanese). Too bad the US version didn't have its wording in plain English.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls are the main problem

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Maybe I'm just too old-school for all this newfangled motion control stuff, but I think this game would have been a lot more fun if it didn't rely so heavily on dodgy motion controls and overly complicated maneuvers. The graphics and sound are nice (classic environments and theme songs from both the Mario and Sonic series abound), and there are some cool unlockables, but any enjoyment I might have derived from the actual events was severely compromised by the controls. Bear in mind, however, that I'm the kind of guy who always plays "Mario Kart Wii" with an ordinary GameCube controller; a small assortment of buttons has always been preferable to me. If you're a super star at something like "Wii Sports", your experience with this game will probably be entirely different. So don't take my word as the gospel truth. Try it out for yourself. That's what Gamefly is for, after all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the OG

posted by Hippie945 (LA MESA, CA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I previously owned Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games. I hated it. However, I loved this game. Seeing my Mii figure skating was cool. The short track looked like I was actually skating like Apollo Ohno, since I always seemed to come from behind for the win, and unlocking the extras was very fun. I will definately buy this game some day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I'll be honest here. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was excellent. Since it was easier than the first one, it was pretty cool to feel that I had mastery over many of the games. I was amazed how easy it was to control the figure-skating portion of the game. The snowball fight portion was a lot of fun as well. I liked the fact that the game was very realistic. And it's characters were very entertaining.
All in all, I was very satisfied with it. There's a big chance it'll soon be in my home library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse