Rent Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games for Wii
view large frontback

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.7

2751 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The New Mario and Sonic at the Winter Olympic Game

posted by DashyRoo (BURBANK, CA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game is really good. Also saying it is better than the first Mario and Sonic at the Olympic games. You get the full version of what the winter olympics is really about. They have more dream events, more characters, new shops and Customizing your snowboard skis and bobsleds. They have more olympic games and very easier controls. This game is a million times better than the first.RENT THIS GAME. That is all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun and entertaining

posted by sonicfan64 (SARASOTA, FL) Jul 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is so entertaining so physical and dont even get me started on the extended tourtament

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games

posted by MissyGee (SMYRNA, DE) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, I'll be honest here. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was excellent. Since it was easier than the first one, it was pretty cool to feel that I had mastery over many of the games. I was amazed how easy it was to control the figure-skating portion of the game. The snowball fight portion was a lot of fun as well. I liked the fact that the game was very realistic. And it's characters were very entertaining.
All in all, I was very satisfied with it. There's a big chance it'll soon be in my home library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Family Fun

posted by Lscallahan (PLAINVIEW, TX) Mar 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was great. My whole family (ages range from 7 to 60) got into it, and we had fun for hours. Because of the dream games, there was plenty of variety. The only drawback to this game is that once you have played everything a couple of times it gets repetitive. However when compared to the other games of this type, it is definitely one of the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Vancouver comes home!

posted by waluigi (CENTERPORT, NY) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This really made me think I was in Vancouver, Canada. With over 10 Dream Events that take place in the Mario and Sonic Worlds, and 4 new characters to play as, ( Metal Sonic, Silver, Bowser Jr, and Donkey Kong if you were wondering,)You can take the 2010 Winter Olympics to your home where ever may it be. A new mode called Festival mode allows you to play the Olympics as how an athlete sees it. Play games with your friends in Party Mode, or show off your shopping style in Shopping. You get mail regularly in the mailbox in the game. I have the original game which is much worse than this. I give it 10 out of 10 because this game rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is better than the Summer Games version

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Mario, Sonic and their gang are back from their trip in the Summer Olympics in Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games.
The modes are simple; up to four players can undertake single event mode, or they can go to the Festival and play through the sixteen days of the Winter Olympics, and several of the events.
One player can train in any unlocked event, as well as use the Wii Balance Board for certain events.
What sort of events are there? Well, there are sixteen events for the players to undertake, and most events have a "Dream" version.
The "Dream" version takes the regular version and spices it up with weapons and/or stars. In the Dream skiing race, you can use weapons much like the ones in Mario Kart Wii. The Dream Ski Jump has you flying through space to pick up points by hitting numbered stars.
However, these Dream events are locked when the player(s) first play the game, and I'm not exactly sure how they are unlocked (playing the Festival Mode is the best way to go.)
Okay, how do the games play out? For the most part, very well; I had little trouble skiing, bobsledding and snowboarding my way down the hill and Figure Skating and Curling were fun.
But there were problems. Hockey's nothing more than the defending team knocking down the player with the puck. Scoring was very difficult to do.
Another problem was Speed Skating. The game has real trouble reconizing the motions, event when I use them properly. Sometimes, the skater would slow down and get passed by the opponent, and I would lose the race.
But the biggest headaches this game has is that there's no fun in playing this game single player mode, and a lack of online multiplayer mode. This is an offline party game, and you need to get three other players to play with you offline.
But if you do, then you'll have a real blast with this game. I say you rent Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games and decide for youself if you want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for everyone

posted by codylove (NEW CASTLE, DE) May 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lots of fun for the whole family. Easy enough to play(7 yr old could do this w/very little help) Would rent again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game feels thrown together

posted by Cilantro (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For the Wii, I would almost expect more from this game, especially as it allows the use of the balance board. The Wii Fit Plus has some of the same games with better use of the board and remote than this one does.

I'd say its really designed for a younger, kid audience only interested in having some quick fun. Definitely not an in-depth game nor does it really seem to impart much of the real Spirit of the Olympics one might expect from an game based on the Olympics.

Okay to rent for a night or weekend of some mindless fun, but don't waste the $50 on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario And Sonic At The Olympic Winter Games

posted by shadowmal (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

No doubt this game was the best! The new addition of Silver,DK,Metal Sonic, and Bowser Jr. was great too! I thought every part of the game was perfect, definitely a buy! GO TEAM SONIC!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than the OG

posted by Hippie945 (LA MESA, CA) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I previously owned Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games. I hated it. However, I loved this game. Seeing my Mii figure skating was cool. The short track looked like I was actually skating like Apollo Ohno, since I always seemed to come from behind for the win, and unlocking the extras was very fun. I will definately buy this game some day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games

posted by Rickardo1 (POWAY, CA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!! What I mostly like about this game is the Dream Events! I can't believe that Nintendo and SEGA decided to put RADICAL HIGHWAY as a stage in Ski racing place!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It follows the same path as its predessessor

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Mario & Sonic go at it again. this time at the winter games. In my opinion, it doesnt succeed. While it has good areas like the new games, and even more characters. it fails in other areas like its campaign mode. It is only a thing you will do 1 or 2 times. I suggest renting it first to try it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

way better than original

posted by OMIGOSH (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's way better because it has a career it has rivales it has mail theres shopping theres party games my favroite is theres a career.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not fun

posted by sithbush (Creston, OH) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game wasn't fun to play, it was fun to make fun of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE WITH A CAPITAL H!

posted by gamemania (MIDDLESEX, NJ) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

A embarresment to SEGA. The worst game i ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!!!

posted by goodeone28 (HEMPSTEAD, NY) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I get games for my son's game systems and he really, REALLY loved the Mario and Sonic Olympic Winter Games. So did my little brother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

It was a good game. I like the game where you push a sled. It loads quick. I also like you can buy outfits for your Miis using stars you earn during the game. The outfits should appear in the Mii Plaza. I also like the red sled you can buy with your stars in the Sports shop that goes really fast.( This review was not written by me but someone else who I got the game for.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario and sonic at the olympic winter games

posted by waterman307 (HYDE PARK, MA) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

hi gamefly! i have sended mario and sonic game but for some reason it says i still have it out and i sended it out on monday. good day! bye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT!!

posted by veelang (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

the kids looove this game...to be honest, this game is better than the 2012 olympics we rented from redbox, which is also fun! my husband and I also play for hours! great stress reliever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wish there were more characters..

posted by jmobile (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

There should have been more PLAYABLE sonic characters such as rouge, omega, jet, wave, storm, tikal etc.
Also I wish there had been a storyline to this game.
If you're looking for a sonic game with high speed, don't get this game. However, it is a good family party game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOMEST MARIO+SONIC AT THE OLIMPICS YET!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Yoshi12345 (HAVERTOWN, PA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is why this is one of the best games EVER!!! 1.You get to use the balance board for LOADS of games. 2. This game can help you'r balance, concentration, stress, and best of all, THIS GAME CAN HELP YOU WITH YOU'RE FREAKEN ANGER ISSUES!!!!!!!3. Now I'm 11 years old, so I have a pretty good tatse of games but this is one of my favs.4.Also this game has sooooooo many awsome cheats that when I got this game, I did'nt know which cheat to use first. 5. I'm the second youngest person in a house family of 9 so.........Yea. I get stressed out alot. So this is a game that really relieves all the stupid stress that I receave. I would really reccomed for stressed people. Hope you enjoy the game as much as I did and.........Please comment. Pleeeeeeeease.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pj, stupid game

posted by pjr (NAPLES, FL) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

it was pretty good for the five out of the ten minutes i played it. ya there is a lot of sports but most of them are the sme but with a team. thres only one or two that only has one but like i said the rest are the same. so bacicly it was weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better played as a mii

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 27, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

the london mario and sonic olympics is coming out jan 2012 so as for this game i enjoyed the ski jump my favorite winter olympic sport i think it's very well played mario and sonic winter olympics get 4 goals out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME

posted by wwffan11 (SNELLVILLE, GA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

At first i was pretty scepptical about renting it and when i did a had a blast the controls were complex and the game play in some events were great im personally both a nintendo and sega fanboy and i admit i was kind of surprised about the crossover and kind of not ever since sega stopped making systems games were all they had to stay alive and with the RROD and PS3 (EPIC FAIL) it was the wiis time to shine EPIC RENTAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this Game!

posted by Shotc (ERIE, PA) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This is the perfect game to play because it is challenging and easier as you play. The festival is very fun but WATCH OUT! because the rival is hard to beat! It is fun to play and you should try figure skating. it's sooooo fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse