Rent Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games for DS
view large frontback

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
7.1

968 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty disappointed

posted by DFrehley (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Apr 25, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I did not play the game in it's entirety, but I already sent the game back after only having it in my possession for 1 day. At first the gameplay was fun.... and linking up DS's with my brother and playing in the "game download" mode (he didn't need his own copy of the game for us to play some of the events) was fun at first.... but it got old very quickly. Some of the control schemes seemed rather strange to me. There's only so many times where frantically scribbling your stylus across the touch screen at about a hundred passes per second can remain interesting and engaging.

I rated this game a 5 rather than a 1 because it was fun at first. It doesn't seem to me to be the kind of game that you'd buy and play a lot. It seems to me to be more of the type of game where you rent it and play it a little on your own and maybe link up DS's with some friends and then when the novelty of the game has worn off you send it back to get something else. I'm sure there are better games out there that take better advantage of the control setup of the DS, but it wouldn't hurt to give this one a rent just to give it a shot. I wouldn't spend money to buy this game, though. That's just my opinion.

Thank you for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario and Sonic at The Olympic Games

posted by Lehighdan (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario and Sonic at The Olympic Games is definately a game worth playing if you are a sports fan.This game makes fantastic use of the different capabilities of the Nintendo DS such as clapping into the microphone to hype yourself up for the long jump. Most events make great use out of the touch screen and all are very challenging,including track and field, gymnastics,boxing,archery- ,swimming and many more.There are also a great selection of Dream Events such as basketball,dream race,dream long jump,and dream table tennis.Lots of unlockables and records to break make this title a very enjoyable game with a high replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So Fun

posted by waynetango (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I so enjoyed this game. It does get some getting used to when it deals both with the buttons and the stylus but it rocks nonetheless. It has all the games from the Olympics and each one is fun in their own right. Before each game you do have the instructions so you don't have to fuddle around with how to do something. I played this game for hours. My favorite game is archery. This is one game that i would purchase. Though one thing i did realize and agree with the critics. The stylus is used so much that i do foresee that eventually the bottom screen will become worn out.

So have fun, go for Gold. Make your momma proud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic games

posted by isaak06 (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I reallly enjoyed this game. It was challenging and sometimes hard physical work for me. This was a fun game to play alone. I liked to try and beat my own score. Fun game on both Wii and DS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What?

posted by Tamtap (SCHENECTADY, NY) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was just bad. Sega was bored so they made this game and it turned out horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game sucks

posted by gameup (AKRON, OH) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game ant that great. The controls are kind of stupid. This game is great for the wii , but is not that great for the Ds. Trust me don't wast your time renting this lame game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repetitive

posted by jayforsyth (LIBBY, MT) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This isn't a bad game, nor a bad premise, but it's a good way to scratch a hole right through your DS. The motions are repetitive and based on the speed you perform them, which unfortunately does not do good things to your DS. Too bad. . .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game for the DS

posted by bill777 (MANASSAS, VA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I almost liked the controls on the DS platform more than the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mario N Sonic olympic games

posted by K2World (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Sup! Yale my brother played this game he's 4 and very much liked it especially all the new games u can earn when u win in missions or gallery games and so to all u little kids i would recommend this game for u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Like it..... not anymore

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Mario and Sonic... the rivals of the character world has finally made a game with characters from each gaming series. With so many options, I like the game.... at first. When I got farther into the game I got bored. This game is only for a short time and not for a long period.

5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mario and Sonic

posted by Cashwush (MOUNT JULIET, TN) May 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is OK.The game doesn't take that long to beat.The character selection is interesting.The game also gets
repetitive some times when you can't beat a certain part.You are doing the same events but in a different order.Overall,it is a pretty good game.I would totally recommend it to young gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gaming Experience

posted by mrpengwino (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

Here's what I think about this game. I think it's pretty good but but to me it's a little challenging. It's a fun game but as i said before it's a little challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

horrible

posted by hawaiiboy1 (PLEASANTON, CA) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

this horrible for ds it scratches up ur ds and it has more glitches than a game from 86 its messed up i would not recommend it its childish and boring i would get this for wii if u have one its way funner and more reliable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not a good game

posted by crihfield (KENT, OH) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

um this game is nothing like the wii one even thoue there is 4 more events it all sucks.some of the controls are confusing.if you want to play sonic and mario and the olimpic games pick the wii one its better its less confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The controls..

posted by lazy1uno (COVINGTON, WA) May 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

The controls are the games weakness. It takes quick movements with the stylus which can hurt the screen. I wouldn't recommend this game if you do not want to over use the stylus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

How fun is it really?

posted by hifiman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

We all love Mario and Sonic as some of our favorite video game characters. There games rock. But together they don't rock that much. Most of the controls and missions are very difficult. I somewhat enjoyed this game, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »