Rent Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games for Wii
view large frontback

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
6.4

6394 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun game.Controls:They work very well. The w

posted by yegman (ROCKLIN, CA) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Very fun game.

Controls:
They work very well. The way you run or swim is a pretty good workout on your arms. One thing I noticed is that being left handed, it is hard to do the trampoline.

Graphics
Very well done. I love how they brought in the Miis to the game. Only thing I noticed about that is you can only select a few and they don't have the names you gave them.

Overall
The game is a ton of fun and I went ahead and purchased it. I had a blast playing it with the kids and as a single player. I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by seca82 (BLOOMINGDALE, NY) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THis is a great game I dont like how you have to unlock most of the events from circuits and some of the circuits are hard. its very fun to play for hours at a time I'm not a big fan of the summer olympics but this is still fun. I still like the Winter Games version better.
This is a game i would rent first unlike the winter games one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STOP, do not rent this game.

posted by jnmeddy (BELLINGHAM, WA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you rent this game you will regret it. The control of the players is difficult at best. The games are boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but........ TOOOOOOOOOOOOO HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Andrew12 (JACKSON, NJ) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Mario and Sonic at the Olympic games is a great game for Wii. The graphics are pretty good(not as good as Super Mario Galaxy's graphics though.) The controls are excellent. The clash between Mario and Sonic's characters look cool. And if you think thats cool, you can play as your Mii! My favorite events are the athletic events. But theres just one problem though.....some of the events are way to hard!!!!!!!!! For example, some of the events in mission mode take you about 100 tries to get right. In the Masters class in circuit mode in order to win the entire circuit you must be absolutley perfect. Sometimes, I feel like breaking the disk and throw it on the street. The hardest mission probaly is Mario vs. Sonic in the 100m dash. You will be there so long trying to figure out a trick to beat it. Luckily I found an easier way to beat Sonic without moving your arms so much that they might fall off. This game is extremley tiring in your arm, they can ache for days. But, I still think this game is very fun overall. The good thing about this game is that you get plenty of really good excercise. This game has a lot of your favorite characters and you can play as all of them. This game is good for almost anyone! There are many diffrent events from track to field to aquatics and even dream mode. Dream mode games are based on real Olypmic events, just Mario and Sonic style. This has something everyone in the whole family will like. Overall no fan of Mario or Sonic would not be glad to have this game in their collection. This game ROCKS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addictive game, practice required for best results

posted by wuvuvu (AVA, MO) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Sonic and Mario at the Olympics is a great game with and without people. To be honest I thought it wasn't great before trying it out and next thing I know I'm playing a few hours at a time each time I start up.

All game controls will take a little of getting use to and great timing is required for the better and perfect scores. If you are looking for something different, interactive, and with a few friends/family then I'd strongly recommending getting Sonic and Mario at the Olympics.

Down qualities would be as follows:
-- Haven't see anything on changing AI difficulty as/where wanted.

-- Haven't noticed any friend play with WiFi

-- WiFi records are often duplicated and some seem you have to cheat the system to make the record or beat it

Ignoring the bad qualities I've stated its a very good game in my personal opinion and very addictive. There are 6 others in this house hold that seem to put hours playing as well and find it fun (even one who said it looked boring got sucked into it for an easy 30 minutes).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!!

posted by AuronCloud (GOODYEAR, AZ) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I found this game very fun and exciting with few downfalls.
Pros
Easy to learn gameplay
Variety of events
Great for head to head play
Cons
Too hard for younger children
No way to level up your Mii
Too many steps to unlock all events

I would recommend this game for anyone over 10 that enjoys Olympic style gaming and great head to head action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but can get old quick

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Nov 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Overall a fun game, and it is better in multi player mode than in solo mode. the controls are pretty easy to pick up for the most part, and in general the games can be fun, but it is not like a wow kinda game. After a while all the motions begin to feel the same and if not playing against others can get boring quickly.

One point I do like about the game though, is that it really is a workout. If you play some of the track events for even just 30 mins. you will be a little out of breathe by the end. A fun rental but not sure about a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game Ever!!!

posted by shadowmal (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Don't listen to any one else who thinks negative
about this awesome game! Personally, I am a huge
sonic fan, and I recommend this game 100%. The
characters are cool, and the graphics are way better than any other Wii game I've played! The
coolest part is 2-P mode where you can use up to
4 characters. Ranking your high scores on wifi is pretty encouraging too. The only reason I ranked it a 9, was because there is not as much as events as I expected. The replays are cool ( especially running events ) but it doesn't show the whole
replay. Otherwise, it's a great game and you should definitely try it out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rated E for Everyone is a joke

posted by stephens23 (NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There are great graphics and a lot of options on this game but it's quite overwhelming. The instructions are too much to bother with and my 5 year old and my husband both just ended up frustrated. You really have to have a lot of time and patience to sit down and enjoy this game. I guess I come from the old school where Super Mario anything used to be a little more "basic".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game kicks butt

posted by deandog (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

well i got it earlier today and i started playing it and right away i loved it. the controls really use the wii just right.the graphics are pretty good.the voices kinda suck though but what did you expect from a mario game.i love the charecters you get to be.but there is 1 problem i played for 1 hour straight and i arms and body were killing me.i suggest this game for everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii Sports - Expert Mode

posted by fadanz (PEARL CITY, HI) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was about what I expected it to be and nothing more. Nothing less, mind you, but it's not really all that entertaining once you've played Wii Sports and Wii Play. Just more mini-games with various controller movements, button pressing, and aim-n-shoot style controls without any real rewards. Plus, the difficulty of some of the games really makes them no fun to play after the first few tries. Sure you can unlock a couple events, sure you can play as your own Mii, but those features just don't make up for the added difficulty of the Olympic Events. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the game, but I don't think that the replay value is all that high unless you're using it to play a drinking game with a bunch of buddies at a kegger. But if you're using your Wii for drinking games, why not get Mario Party 8 instead for the added variety of mini-games, multiple types of maps, and a bigger sense of accomplishment when you destroy the three other players because they're too smashed to hold up the flags in the right order! Again, this game was fun to learn and play, but gets old really fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario And Sonic:At The Olympic Games,Great Review

posted by JBLACKOUT0 (RINGLING, OK) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Almost everything about this game was great.I did have problems getting some of the world records,but I did get them because I used the right characters with the right events.The Events are awesome and so were the circuits.To tell you the truth,this game was better than I thought it would be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too Complicatedly HARD

posted by Onyiman (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game really sucks you have to have the skill and grace of a gazelle just to get past level 1 don't rent it!!!!!!!!!!!! I thoroughly dislike it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My First Wii game

posted by Smartboy (NEWTON, MA) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was my first game I ever bought for the Wii, and in my opinion it was a not only a fun party game but not to bad as a single player game also. Out of the many games, only a few did I not like. I felt like the fencing and ping pong were not very thrilling. There is a small learning curve but I like the way, that the game shows you the controls every time you play. I feel like this game really teaches you well how to utilize the wii remotes capability, and also atelast most games can be played wit hthe romote itself, they are more fun with both. I would recomend this to anybody who likes the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Speed Lock Dumb. The Rest Good.

posted by Coaster (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Students of the old-school will find many of the controls reminiscent of the "Track & Field" stand-up arcade console (who remembers the old comb & finger routine?) where timing and speed were most important. Most of the events are a real workout. My only complaint is that there is a "speed lock" for running which means you can only run so fast and technique has less to do with your own physical limitations and more to do with who's paying attention to their toon's stanima statistic. No doubt a decision made to make the game more "family oriented" (bleh!). Even so I think it is still a very fun game that I don't hesitate to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Olympic Disaster

posted by WiKK3D6iX (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Where to begin. Man oh man was this a flop. I can't testify to the horribleness through-out the entire game, only because it was so bad I played it for about 15 minutes. I couldn't get over the over-the-top ridiculous controls for the events that you participate in. You would think that for a group friendly party game, so to speak, the controls would be pick up and play style. Unfortunately, this game falls under the pick up and put down for good category. Like I said, the controls scheme for all the events you participate in are horribly conceived. Awkward doesn't even come close to describing how I felt after playing this game. To further complicate matters, you pretty much HAVE to master these controls to progress in the game. The game developers felt that it was necessary to have individual events unlockable. This isn't uncommon in games, however, never felt like I was accomplishing anything in the game. Save yourself the week's wait and keep this off your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Total Disappointer

posted by Batman37 (WEST PARK, FL) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Its to hard and boring it doesnt have enough fun to it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by laddy33 (NOVATO, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome and thats all i can say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tiring

posted by GerberC (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Mario and Sonic is decent fun for a group of friends to play for a short time. I say a short time because most of the games require a lot of energy.

In all of the track and swimming games you have to move the controls in quick repetitive motions in order to move. Some of the other games are a bit entertaining but get repetitive real quick.

The graphics were decent and controls worked fine. Leave this one off your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mario and Sonic Together for the first time...

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

...and didn't really do anything for me.

If you are looking for another sports based collection of mini-games on the Wii, check this one out. The controls are pretty intuitive and tight. I never really felt that I had no clue what was going on.

I gave this one a 6 because I guess I really wasn't looking for another collection of mini-games. Wii sports was more fun that M&S at the olympics to me. I was compelled to play this game longer than I had intended once I started checking on the world-wide leader boards for each event. I found myself compelled to try events multiple times just to see if I could attain a higher rank in the world.

M&S in Beijing has great graphics for the Wii, and it is worth checking out. I'm glad that I rented it though. More games should incorporate an online leader board like this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

awesome

posted by msvillela (HARLINGEN, TX) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game is great for my boys who are ages 8 years and 5 years old. It keeps them active while playing. I recommend this for young kids and if your looking for a game that keeps them active, this is a real good one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Play as your Mii. Contains Comic Mischief. For all ages. Continueus play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as M&S Olympic Games London

posted by Kyms (LANSDALE, PA) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

If you have played Mario and Sonic Olympic Games London you will probably be disappointed. I was.

This game is much more manual. You really have to use your nunchuk to be able to win many of the events.

Pros:
Characters are the same and good quality.
There are some different events like Skeet Shoot

Cons:
You have to use the nunchuk and a lot of physical energy to win an event even on games which are fairly easy on London

It seems to be a clunkier game than London

It's nice to see they make such improvements in a game (ie.. Olympic Games London) but playing this afterwards is a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by hunter1998 (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

It was sooooooo fun and entertaining!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WOW what a workout!!!

posted by JCBear (ANDERSON, SC) Jul 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

I got this game cause I wanted to see where this whole thing started.
WELL, let me tell ya, this game gives me a smacker of an arm workout!! [especially the 4x100m RELAY, the running version that is].
Gotta say, some of these events are, for lack of a better word, DIFFICULT!! But with enough practice, I will conquer this game, just like I conquered the WINTER OLYMPICS version, and will also conquer the 2012 Summer Version too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse