Rent Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga for GBA
view large frontback

Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

918 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best GBA Game Ever?!?! Maybe!

posted by jollymike (CONROE, TX) May 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yeah, you heard me right! This may be the best GBA game ever! Why??? Let me tell you. First of all, the idea of controlling two characters at the same time is awesome! Second, there are so many different moves, attacks, etc. This game also has a terrific story line! I won't tell you it here because i don't want to spoil it for you, but I will tell you that it's hilarious! It's also surprisingly deep (the story line) for a mario game. The game map is huge, too. There's all kinds of places to go and people to meet. There are many classic friends and enemies of the mario brothers, as well as some new faces. There is plenty (trust me, PLENTY!) of game play time. I hope this review was helpful to you! So what are you waiting for?!?!?! Rent this game! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good Game

posted by dracula (YUCAIPA, CA) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually don't like RPG's, but this games simplicity and pure awesomeness make this one of my favorite games of all time. I wanted to smash my GBA with a hammer at the Barrel Game part with the Dry DK, but I beat it after 2 years. The final boss was a breeze for me, because my Mario & Luigi are on level 56. All in all, this game is GREAT and don't destroy your GBA/DS/GBA SP/GameCube at the Barrel Game. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sadly, the only turn-based RPG I have ever liked

posted by Strongbad1 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of my favorite GBA games! It was so good, I nearly beat it twice (Which is a BIG deal for me!). I never really wanted it to end, it was just so good! It takes some getting used to, but once you're used to it, it rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario is back! And Mr. Green-Hat too!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved Mario RPG and the Paper Mario series, and this game is just as good as those. It's another Mario RPG-type game that I love to play.

Graphics
I love these graphics. They're like a fun, wacky look and are very good for a gameboy advance game.

Sound
I like the music in this game a lot. It's good, just like most of the other Mario games. And the sound effects are nice as well.

Gameplay
I love playing this game. I love leveling up and fighting enemies, I love the mini-games they have in this game, and I love exploring, talking to people, buying items/equipment, etc. This game is really fun and I wasn't one bit disappointed. The game was better than I thought it would be when I got it.

Replay Value
Once you beat this game, you probably want to wait a while before you start over. It's a fairly lenghty game, and its fun. But once you beat it, you don't really want to start the whole thing over. Sometimes, that is.

Controls
The only little complaint I have is when you learn lots of moves, you have to press a button a few times to get to it. There really isn't any solution to fix that, but it's just a little bit annoying. Other than that, the controls are good. Controlling Mario with one button, and Luigi with the other is a really fun idea.

Difficulty
This isn't a difficult a game at all really. At most, you might get stuck a few times in the game. It can be hard, however, if you're the type to skip enemies and only fight them when you have to or they get to you as you run away, because you won't be at a high level when fighting the bosses, and therefore, might lose.

This game is defenitely worth your money. Renting it, ehhh, its not really as good. If you liked Mario RPG, and Paper Mario, you'll defenitely like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Memories

posted by Emisary (LAFAYETTE, IN) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game a long time ago, but it still is one of the best RPG adventure games that feature Mario & Luigi.
I gave it a 10 because this game takes you beyond the mario universe; as a lot of people know it already. An unforgetable game no matter what people say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Itsa Mario, oh and Luigi

posted by DanManAZ (TEMPE, AZ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

After playing both Mario and Luigi for the GBA and DS, one can recommend both as a fun rental more focused on going through story, than worrying about leveling up to any particular level. The game intersperses humor and story in controlled doses that never become tiresome. The game can easily take from 18-25 hours to complete, depending on how through you explore or search for collectible items. Definitely a fun play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BOWSER GETS BRAINWASHED!!!

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Apr 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

No, seriously! Bowser gets brainwashed! Isn't that cool? Now to the review. This game is very fun! I spent hours playing it the first day I got it! Right now I am on the last place, but I knew it was an awesome game so far, so I thought I would go ahead and review it. Anyway, you HAVE to play this game! The college is called Woohoo University!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ITS GREAT! or....isn't it

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jun 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I think the game was possibly the best gba game i've ever played.Theres tons of characters from other games, its got surprises and incredible replay value so if you asked me whether to buy or rent I'd say buy. But I found that lots of times in the game i got frustrated cause i didn't know what to do next or got stuck on a boss or something so prepare to read a walkthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga!

posted by BunnyManJ (BUNNLEVEL, NC) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This has got to be the best GBA Game ever made! I love how it has that old feel of Mario RPG in it. This game does a great job as a RPG game. The controls are great and you can get the hang of them really fast! One problem that the game has though is it doesn't really tell you where to go next. I was stuck on a few parts, but I got back into the game really fast. I had a great time playing this and I'm positive that you will enjoy this great game has well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mario needs more RPGs!

posted by gamer5 (LAVEEN, AZ) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Besides the obvious this game is cool. i like you you go from quest from quest from just one quest. i also like the twist when bowser loses his memory. mario's only other RPGs are partners in time and paper mario, he needs more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not as good as Mario RPG, but still excllent

posted by GarBaer04 (WINSLOW, ME) Aug 16, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first time I met Mario was Super Mario Bros. from then on the plumber was in my heart. Then i found anouther luv, Finaly Fantsy 7. After playing ff7 i said 2 my self "they should make a mario rpg other than paper mario". But 2 my suprise they did, mario rpg. I rember watching it on my friend's snes w/totall aww. Then i heard that they was making a mario rpg 4 the gba. I couldnt wait. And the game delivered on all the points but 1. I was mad 2 find out that i was restricted 2 only playing as mario and luigi. It would have gotin a 10 if it wasn't 4 this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tedious beyond all words.

posted by TMike22 (LITTLETON, CO) Jul 24, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Press start to switch to Luigi, do spin jump, press start to switch back to Mario, do high jump, press start... etc etc for the rest of the game.

This game is too tedious to finish. Every action in this game requires two or three button presses before you can even do it. You have to press L or R to switch to either hammer or a special jump, then once you complete it you have to press L or R again to switch back to normal jump to continue on.

The battle system isn't any better. Everything requires perfect timing. Miss the timing by just a little bit and you take damage or you don't do as much damage against the enemy. This wouldn't be so bad except there is no way to heal outside of battle apart from using items.

Then you have the mini-games. I'll use the mine cart game as an example. You have to guide the light so you can see what's ahead of you, jump each bro individually to grab the diamonds, and shine the light on the bats so they don't hit you and make you lose diamonds, all at the same time. You need a set number of diamonds by the end or you have to do it all over again. Even worse: you have to do this every time you want passed that part of the game. There's no way around it.

I give this game a 5. I had a little fun at the beginning of the game, and the humor and story are great. I just can't get passed the horrible level design and the way you have to navigate through it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nostalgia

posted by jdittes (PORTLAND, TN) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I played this game long ago, and playing it again makes me feel extremely nostalgic. It's awesome, though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best rpg's ever

posted by gateway (SPLENDORA, TX) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2005

I have hade this game for years and i recently started the game back up. I just beat the game and i have to say this is a very nice mario rpg. Unlike most mario games this one has a very deep storyline always keeping you wondering what is going to happen next. Having both bros join the adventure is a very nice addition in which you can perform bro attacks and fight with both simultaneously. This game can very funny at times and also has very nice music thrown in.
In my opinion i think that this is the best out of the 3 mario and luigi games, Im gessing because it might have a better storyline.
So if you enjoy mario or rpg's then this game is a must rent or buy if you can. So stop reading this review and rent this game, it will be a nice experience. (Lets e GO!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RPG love it!!!

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Only rpg i ever played but love it

9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best GBA game I have ever played

posted by sulli707 (PETALUMA, CA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I have had this game since I was in 10, so 5 years ago. Ive beat this game at least 5 times and it never gets old. I could beat this game at least 5 more times. I don't understand why some people would hate this game. It is wayyyy to much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mario & Luigi: Super Letdown

posted by AutumnWind (MADISON, AL) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I was extremely excited about this game upon receiving it, but I was not happy with it in the long run. I liked the idea of a Mario Action-Adventure RPG, but I feel like Nintendo could have done much more with this game.

I breezed through the majority of the game, but it felt like a chore. Roughly halfway through the game, I was just ready for it to be over.

The puzzles and mini-games were not challenging or fun, in my opinion; they were simply tedious, much like the rest of the game. The entire game felt like I was just going from place to place, doing the same thing over and over.

And then there comes the final stage. More tedious puzzles, far more mini-bosses than was necessary, and then the final battle, which was nothing but repetition for 30 minutes, immediately followed by a timed escape from the castle. And all of this for a mediocre ending.

The only thing that excited me, in fact, was the fact that the game was over. Well, at least I can say I beat it.

If you're looking for a cute game but not expecting much from it (as I was), this game could be good for you. But if you're a serious gamer looking for something that will hold your attention and provide some quality entertainment, I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »