Rent Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time for DS
view large frontback

Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $27.99

GF Rating
7.7

1998 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Together til the End

posted by Light827 (HOLLY SPRINGS, NC) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I haven't ever played a game like this before. I enjoyed the game. It was perfect for me. It gave me a good pace at which to beat different enemies at. Each enemy was difficult. I kept looking for new ways to beat some of them. I liked some of the enemies because I knew they were easy to beat and I could get easy coins to build up my collection of items.

For me, the most difficult enemy was the last one. I really enjoyed how it had a story that you had to follow and beat which is something new for me. I give this game a 10 because I never gave up, and it held my interest throughout the entire game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best RPG for the DS

posted by A7XGamer (SPRING, TX) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Playing the second game was just as good as playing the first. And I usually never say that. First off the games graphics are extra sharp what I mean is that they are very clear and crisp. Unlike some other DS games out there. Also the game play is even better than the first. What I'm trying to say is that there is more depth to the fighting. Now because Mario and Luigi have their younger selves on their back. So the fighting has more strategies to it. Also the Bros Items was a great idea to the game instead of learning them now you just go to the store and buy as many as you want. The length of the game is just right. Average game time is usually about 15-20 hours but some people will finish before that. This is probably the best game next to Metroid Prime Hunters on the DS right now. So is you want a decent RPG game for a decent price add this game to your collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is one of my favorite games!

posted by JCGir (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played this game a couple times before I even rented it on GameFly. But my brother had to lose the game about a year ago. So I decided to rent it and play through it again. I think I had even more fun playing this game now than I did when I played it for the first time. I love just about everything about this game. I love the turn-based battles, the humor, and the music as well. This game is absolutely worth renting or buying if you are bored and want a very fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Adorable!

posted by charanajo (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Does a game get any cuter? I don't think so! I had lots of fun playing this game and invested many hours. Baby mario and luigi are adorable and boy are they tough! Thanks Mario Brothers for another fun game! Can't wait till the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

funny

posted by Wookie345 (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Oct 29, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

this is one of the few but great mario RPGs that we RPG fans love (i want a remake of Super Mario RPG Legend of the Seven Stars already and a new hidden character to go with it!!!!!!!!!)anyway back on topic. this has alot of funny scenes along with a great battle system but i still feel empty inside without the original mario rpg on a handheld or gamecube or Wii.
Well heres another review by me, Wookie345 :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great hands down

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) Oct 22, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Fun gameplay, fun story, fun game DONE.

Pros: Great game play and story. You will travel to different time periods of the Mario world in history. See Yoshi Isalnd Bowser Castle before they met.

Cons: No use of the touch screen.

All in All: Get it great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but not as good as the original

posted by darthchris (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Mario and Luigi are back to save the Mushroom Kingdom, this time from the evil aliens known as the Shroob. The story starts out with the princess using Prof. E. Gadd's new time machine to travel to the Mushroom Kingdom of the past. However, when the machine returns, the princess is gone and a strange creature comes out. The brothers defeat it, and then strange time portals start to appear everywhere, and soon meet up with their baby selves, and the four must save the princess and the kingdom.

The game has light RPG elements and is turn based, but has a lot of timed button presses to keep your attention. By pulling off the timings, you can do extra damage with your attacks and dodge enemies' attempts to bring you down. The problem with the game is that it is too linear, offering no side quests at all or places to walk off the main path. This is definitely a let down to those who have played the first, which let you explore to your hearts content. The game also clocks in earlier than the original, around 20 hours, but that still isn't bad for a handheld.

Bottom line: This is a fun game, but the short length and the linear path stopped it from being as great as the first. However, it is worth checking out. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best.Game.Ever.

posted by 6787834 (MURRIETA, CA) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I LOVED THIS GAME!It took me forever to beat though very fun game it'll last you a while so you should buy it. it took me about 3-4 weeks to beat it.hope this helps :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Action Adventure Rpg

posted by Kimoon (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Game Time: 18 Hours
Difficulty: Easy

Mario and Luigi Partners in time is an entertaining quasi-RPG. Everything you would expect from a regular RPG with stats increase and level up is here but at the same time your platforming skills will be put the test in this little adventure.

The story line works very well and has Mario and Luigi traveling to the past to meet there younger selves and helping them destroy an invasion by the Shroobs as well as the occasional butt-ins from Bowser. There is a lot of humor infused into the story which makes for plenty of good times.

The game mechanics relies on both RPG elements and Platforming elements and are integrated well. You see every enemy you fight and you can jump on top of them to do some extra damage before the battle starts or you might be hit by them and they will have a head start on you. A lot of the puzzles also require you to jump, spin and hammer your way to a solution (this part does get a bit repetitive).

What is fun is the battle system. Unlike a traditional RPG you will be taking an active part in the battles. You need to press keys at the right time to do damage while a wrong key press will make you do less damage. There are different kinds of attacks along with items that require different presses. It is a very active battle process and is fun.

The games graphics are well done and everything you’d expect from a Mario style game. The music and sounds are well done too. Music sets the atmosphere and you will ever hear classic retro-Mario game background music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Some hate it.WHAT THE HECK IS WRONG WITH SOME!?!?!

posted by PizzaFreak (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, first off I know that THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The graphics, BEST I'VE EVER SEEN FOR DS(Devlopers's System)!!!!!!! Fight sequences, OMG!!! SCARY GOOD!!!!!!! Everything else, AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I HIGHLY recemend it to EVERY GAMER IN THE UNIVERSE(even the Mars version for the puny little aliens)!!!!!!!! PIZZAFREAK OUT!!!!!! WHY AM I STILL WRITING IN ALL CAPS!?!?!?!?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BROS ARE BACK!!!!

posted by acra123 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this time mario travels... but this time he travels in time! in mario and luigi partners in time. you battle evil aliens in different time periods in some of your favorite pleases like yoshis island and bowser castle. it also has some good clean graphics. and baby mario and luigi can come along in the game. battle is better with bro items like hammer and fire flowers. it is a vary awesome game! 10 no question's!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really fun game! Better than the original!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The first Mario & Luigi for GBA was a blast to play. This one is even funner!

Graphics
Really good for a DS game. I liked them. Just like the first, it had a wacky look to it that made it what it is.

Sound
The music in this game is great. It goes perfectly with it. I don't know what more to say...

Gameplay
The gameplay in this game is a lot of fun! Just like the first, you move from dungeon to dungeon only this time, you have Baby Mario and Baby Luigi to aid you. With this game, you control Mario, Luigi, Baby Mario, and Baby Luigi with A, B, X, and Y. Many times in the game, you need to split the babies with the older Mario & Luigi. That's what makes this game funner than the original. It's more of a "teamwork" game. The puzzles aren't really hard at all. The game is easy, as long as you don't skip all the enemies. However, the game is sort of a "dungeon-crawler" as there are barely any towns in the game and you pretty much go from dungeon to dungeon. That's really only in the second half though. And the time traveling wasn't all it hyped up to be. I mean, it was great seeing Peach's Castle infested by Shroobs in the different time era, and same for the villages and such, but there wasn't enough of it. But what there was, was good.

Replay Value
The game is about 15 hours. After you beat it, you probably won't want to start a new file. But you will come back to it after a few months most likely.

Controls
The controls work very well and it's a fun idea to have each character have their own button :)

Difficulty
As mentioned above, the game isn't too hard. If you skip enemies, it might be a bit harder fighting the bosses, or tougher enemies at the later point in the game, but you probably won't get stuck in the game too much. You shouldn't need a FAQ or guide, because if you do, then you know you really suck at video games.

So overall, this game is worth your money whether bought or rent. Although it's up to you if you just want to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool game!

posted by cooldude10 (POLAND, OH) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You can finnaly dodge attacks now in this game.When you use a weapon you cant make it a big or small attack.Plus there is a lot of funny parts in this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

entertaining for a little while

posted by NDSMom (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My 10 year old son played this game intently for about two days. Then he didn't touch it until he asked me to return it about 3 days later. Being able to rent games first is great! Next!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mario does it again

posted by THATguy (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When i first started playing this title i wasn't too thrilled, i felt it was a little slow and the controls just didn't seem right to me. turns out i was the slow one who wasn't right, because when i finally got the hang of it i really enjoyed myself, it was a fun and funny little game. I say "little" because my only real gripe about this one is it was kind of short and pretty easy (once i got the control scheme down)

the mini games on this title are a treat also, there are quite a few of them and they are just some fun little games to play when you need a break from your quest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by dwmacfar2 (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game does battling well and it has a great storyline and it's just so fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Difficult at best.

posted by Mashiara (GLENDALE, AZ) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I thought this game had a lot of promise. I was wrong. While the storyline is very interesting and the dialog humorous, the actual game play is difficult. With having four people in your party at once, and each one having a specific button (ABXY), the battles are hard and frustrating. I wish they'd go back to menu based RPGs, like Super Mario RPG, rather than the action command RPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mostly just...nothing new.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Nothing new in this game. Oh! And the storyline is useless! It's just Mario and and.....? [What's his brothers name?].......? Uh...Mario and his brother going back in time to when they were all like babies. And why do they do that? [I never got too far in the game.] So...the controls are the most easy controls I've almost ever seen! And the touch screen might as well not have anything to do with the game! I never played Super Star Saga. So I'm not sure if this game is just a part two of it. Look it is kinda fun! If you like games with Mario...and and...? Uh... his brother. You can rent but don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its supposed to be a GAME not a movie!

posted by legotech (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I love Mario Bros games, but I can't stand Nintendo's recent foray into moviemaking...its the only explaination I can come up with for the way this game works.

There will be 5 minutes of "movie" 1 minute of game play and then another 6 minutes of movie and then one battle where you can't actually fight, you just pick what happens and then wait and then another 4 minutes of movie.

I've gotten to level three and have yet to play more than one or two moves before more unskippable movie kicks in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice

posted by gamknowitall (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

I like it. The turn by turn was creative and fun to do. The main point in battle is the timing especially with the copy flower

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mario and Luigi partners in time

posted by cacascarm1976 (ADELANTO, CA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Soo I no longer have a Nintendo Ds I broke it !! If I send it back can you send me only Wii games please !! I have already selected 2 different games if you could send me 1 at a time !! Thank you for understanding !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST RPG

posted by mackado (HARTSELLE, AL) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

If i had to pick a favorite gernre of video game it would be RPG.But this rpg rules them all.The puzzels remind me of zelda puzzels.Confuseing and fun.Now at first i though Bowsers Inside Story was better,but this has more challenge. It will take forever to beat so dont rent it buy it.I highly recomend this perfect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you're into RPG's

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Feb 20, 2012

Member since May 2008

Put simply, the reason I didnt like this game too much is because I don't really like RPG's. Other then that it's a pretty good game. There is a great story and it doesnt matter if you havn't played saga. Playing as mario and luigi on one screen and baby mario and baby luigi on the other is great. And the controls are great. I played this on my 3DS, and it was as if it was built for the circle pad. And the D-pad works great too. But it was a bit short, so rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

??????????????????????????????????????????????????

posted by GAMELOVER12 (EMERYVILLE, CA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????wtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwtfwt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST BEST BEST

posted by Ayoola (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is great! First, the graphics are AMAZING! This is better than Bowsers Inside Story (the next game in the series0. The babies are adorable and their moves are so CUTE. I would reccomend this game to people 8+. But sometimes remebering how the moves work is confusing and hard to get into your head. But otherwise it's a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse