Rent Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story for DS
view large frontback

Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $27.99

GF Rating
7.6

3516 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Doo Doo D-Do D-Do D-Do-Do-Doo Do-Doo (mario song)

posted by AquaFunk16 (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

26 out of 26 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nintendo is genius. Have you ever noticed that most Nintendo games are so nicely created? They have this certain flow...in combination with good quality music, sometimes overly simple graphics and always excellent controls, Nintendo finds just the right amount of fun within this small masterpiece. Nintendo has one aspect that Sony & Microsoft will never have: Charm. Sometimes cuddly, sometimes heroic, sometimes just right. The Mario RPG series, starting with Mario RPG, then Paper Mario, then Mario & Luigi, adds another great title to the already fantastic franchise. Thanks to the DS, this series goes from GREAT to GREAT w/ LOTS OF STYLUS FUN!

Graphics: 8/10 Very simple, yet very clean and nice. I like how Nintendo did not want to over attempt the boundaries of the DS's graphical capabilities, but instead perfect an already great and competent graphical scheme.

Sound: 9/10 Classic Mario music. When has Mario ever had bad music? Never that I have experience. The only game that can cement a classic 8-bit score in the hearts of Gamers for the rest of their lives. Nintendo rarely slacks when it comes to musical scores.

Controls: 10/10 Wow these controls are awesome. Pretty simple outside of battle, A makes Mario jumps and B makes Luigi jump, then some more techniques added in there. Within battle, it seriously amazes me what the creators came up with. The skills, attacking, counter-attacking, and mini-games are just plain awesome. They aren't too difficult, and aren't too simple. The controls, in my opinion, help makes this game as fun as it is.

Gameplay: 10/10 This game is really fun. The story isn't all that serious and emotional, but more silly and fun. Which is casual Mario. It reminds me of Paper Mario except with more interaction. It's very fun switching back and forth between Bowser and the Bros. I can quote Gamespot when I say this game brings "Undeniable Charm." What better way to say it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best in the series by far!

posted by muhitatsu (HAYWARD, CA) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played all three M + L titles I can say without reservation that this is the best one. While the story isn't amazing, why would you play a Mario game for it's story? Still, simply having Fawful do his best to take over the Mushroom Kingdom is a good enough incentive for me.

The gameplay is basically the same as the first two titles as far as Mario and Luigi go. That isn't a bad thing, but for the next title I think that both bros should be given a third attack option. Still, being able to avoid and counterattack enemies is light years ahead of any other JRPG. The reason you'll want to keep playing is for Bowser; while over the years the Koopa King has been 'wimpified', BIS was able to convince me that if it weren't for the sake of narrative, Bowser could indeed defeat the Mario Bros. Yes, he's that strong, and you'll feel that strong while playing as him.

Music is good, and the voice samples are enjoyable. Controls are great and being in Bowser's body is a very interesting gameplay mechanic. Also, while many journalists have commented that the game has a lot of humor I have to respectfully disagree with some of their comments. The game has a few moments that will make you laugh out loud sure, and give more than it's fair share of smiles, but it isn't quite gut busting, especially in the later parts of the game when the absurdity seems common place.

Overall a great title that should be in any DS owner's library, if for no other reason than having a giant godzilla Bowser to fight battle robots with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As great as the first game!

posted by shazann (EL MONTE, CA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mario, Luigi, and Bowser have been going at it since the beginning of time, but this time we get to know how Bowser sees it. The basic plot is that the Peach's castle becomes infected with the "Blorbs" and causes Mario and Luigi to end up inside Bowser's stomach. Now you must work together to find out who and why. But it's a Mario game so it's not too complicated.
While this game is a turn-based RPG, unlike other turn-based games you take an active role in battle and must manually avoid enemy attacks while timing your own to get an Excellent score. If you've played any Paper Mario games or even Mario RPG, this should be familiar to you. If not, it's easy to learn since you'll be doing it all game.

Pros: It's funny! The Mario & Luigi series is one that doesn't take itself seriously. Since Mario and Luigi can't really talk, Bowser's the one with all the wisecracks. More Luigi cheap shots, brother babble, and even a Godzilla reference.
It's long. It took me around 20 hours to beat and get most everything. Of course you'll be having too much fun to notice.
Graphics are clean, colorful, and vivid. Bowser's stomach looks more colorful than I would've thought.
Controls are simple.
The music is fitting and some of it is catchy. The brothers' gibberish is cute and Bowser growls like he usually does.

Cons: It's easy if you've played the earlier games. Enemies hit hard but they're easy to beat if you remember their attacks. Even if you're weak as long as you dodge enemy attacks you'll live as long as the battle.
Linear. There's not much reason to replay it unless you want to get the highest ranks, beat all the minigames, and find all the beans. If you replay you can't really customize the brothers or Bowser to be super powerful unless you constantly get Excellent attacks.
Although it's funny up to the middle you get used to it near the end.

I recommend a rental to see if you'd like to play the game over and over. Overall, a must play for DS owners!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best in the series, just a little short

posted by brandon926 (EAST NORTHPORT, NY) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

So many things to say...hmm, im gonna bullet it!
PROS-
- Story is as witty and funny as you would expect from a M&L game
- playing as bowser in this game is a very entertaining exp.
- Can be played casually or hardcore.
- If you take the time to explore and do and find everything there is to do it buffs up the playtime from 18 hrs to about 28 hrs
- HUGE REPLAY VALUE
- very polished with tight controls

CONS (super nitpicking)
- just a tad too much (txt) dialouge
- although the game is long "on paper" (20 + hrs) it "breezes by so fast, cause of that old saying about having fun
- WAY TOO EASY, people new to the series might find it difficult at first but vets such as myself might find it 2 easy
- screw the cons BUY / RENT THIS GAME

!EVERYONE WITH A DS NEEDS TO PLAY THIS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I HAVE CHORTLES!

posted by captainfalcon52 (SEBASTIAN, FL) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS GAME!This game is my favorite game on the d.s. and 2nd favorite game ever! it's hard as heck! if you aren't ready this game will beat you DOWN!It' s hilliarious .Also, FAWFUL'S BACK!This game is great.If you like RPG's GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ok normally I don't write review but....

posted by redeem34 (MAULDIN, SC) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was great, the only Mario and Luigi game Ive play was the 1st one and that was for 5 minute.

Anyhow my younger sister wanted to rent this. well she play it, said it was too hard, and ask me to give it a shot. and I was shock on how good this game was. Anyhow I said it a must rent for any DS owner well let give the low down now

story:5/10 for a Mario game Ive never seen them pull off a story I didn't see coming but then I've play a Lotta RPG's

Sound:7/10 this is one factor that shock me there a good bit of music in the game my only grip was that there like 3 or 4 battle songs for the whole game

Game play:8/10 pretty good for an action RPG reason I don't give it an 10 is dude to fact some items/skill were more useful as others

Replay:4/10 there a lot you can do/find in this game but I don't foresee my self going back to grab every little Item and many of the Items are useless.

Controls:6/10 there parts in this game that your going to wanna rip your hair out. sometimes I would Jump and it wouldn't make both of them JUMP (and in many part you need both of the bro's to jump)

Overall:8/10 with all the Con this is still a good game for younger kids and grown up alike. the thing to me that really saved the game from being a bad game was the Game play and sounds they had.

anyhow this is my Review on the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So cool!!!

posted by boobuddy64 (CLOVERDALE, IN) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so cool! A little long though. I liked playing as bowser too. But superstar saga was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DS game I've played!!

posted by VaulterXL (Stroudsburg, PA) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I accually only have a ds to play puzzle games and never thought I could really get into an RPG on a handheld. Well 20-something hours later I am happy to say I was wrong. I found myself totally hooked on this game. Great controls, surprisingly good story, and laugh out loud funny. A must play for any DS owner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by mrcrazyman (WARREN, ME) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What I like about this game is it has alot of puzzles to it but at the same time when you get done your like well that wasn't to hard! Also its impossible to put down if you want to rent this which you should put this below all the other games that game took me almost one whole day in hours but it was worth it. When you can't get beat a part I leveled up in the same area I was in that way when I got to the last boss, No Problem! just like the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!!

posted by billysbaby (KALISPELL, MT) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My husband and I haven't finished playing the game yet but so far we love it!! I grew up playing the Mario games an I have to say they are still my favorites!! I love how two people can save files on one ds!! Right now all we have is one ds and with most of those games it only lets one game be saved but with this one we both can play an save our games!! I like the fact that the game isn't hard but it isnt easy either!! This is a fun game that even our five year old sons enjoys playing so we can take one game an turn it into fun for the whole family!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It keeps Delivering

posted by Turret (MIDWAY, UT) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cons of the game:
<If you just pass every enemy this game is pretty short>

<Sometimes it gets really really confusing and it takes a long while to find out how to get to were you need to go.>

Pros:
<Even if you beat this game you will still want to play it more to gain levels>

<The way you fight your enemy's is just like Paper Mario, which is a god thing.>

<I thought that playing as Bowser would me the worst part of the game but it was actually really fun, playing as Mario and Lugi is also a lot of fun.<

<This game is for all ages and anybody can pick it right from the beginning and not have any trouble figuring it out.>

GaMeFlY GaMeR's overall score and why

This came has more and more cons to list but I will let you see for yourself what they are and there are hardly any flaws with this game. I give it a 9 because it is really good and is a rent for sure if not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Mario & Luigi Game Yet!

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I was always a huge fan of the Mario & Luigi games, I've beat the first two so many times I can't count and now I can't wait to do that on this one!

This game starts out with Mario and Luigi meeting at a council for the disease that's spread Toadtown, the Blorbs. Bowser ends up coming, so you defeat Bowser, again, and he eats a magic mushroom that sucks everything in sight. Now you have to play as bowser to get farther in the game and play as Mario and Luigi to fix up Bowser's body so he can do more things.

Without spoiling the rest, this game is long, so far I'm at 20 hours and still haven't beat it. But from what I've played, this game has awesome control, really smooth animations, so far I haven't ran into ANY glitches, and the storyline is amazingly good for a Super Mario game. The combat is fun for how interactive it is, and is really smooth too (well, as smooth as a turn-based RPG can get.)

If you have a DS, you should at least rent this game. I consider it the best DS game made, and the best Super Mario game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fun, But Challenging!

posted by mukluk (AMESBURY, MA) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game. Lots of challenges, but very fun! Switching between the two story lines of Mario and Luigi and Bowser makes the game even more exciting. I love it how some things you do as the Mario Bros can effect Bowser and what you do as Bowser can effect the Mario bros. This game can be somewhat confusing at first because you have to press two separate buttons to do things for the two Bros. For example, to jump you have to press A for Mario and B for Luigi. Overall I give this game a 9. I recommend trying it first and if you really like it, just press the keep button to have it forever. Hope this helped you decide to get this game or not. Thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best DS game since Zelda

posted by gamecat78 (DENTON, TX) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is the best DS game I have played since Zelda (which was why I bought a DS in the first place). It is simple enough to pick up and play, but challenging enough that I keep playing to see what happens next. The controls are simple, but original. The story line is funny. I would definitely suggest that you rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pleasantly Surprised

posted by zorba1994 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When I booted this game, I found myself pleasantly surprised. It takes a new look at mario gameplay, utilizing a mixture of horizontal and vertical plane gameplay, as well as a graphics system reminiscent of Yoshi’s Island games. In it, through as series of events, Bowser ends up sucking up all of Mushroom Kingdom, Mario and Luigi included. The gameplay proceeds both with Mario and Luigi solving puzzles and adventuring on the inside of Bowser, and Bowser adventuring on the outside world trying to find out who’s responsible for this. It sports a new combat system that is a pleasing combination of turn based and minigame/reflex based systems, and should appeal to RPG players as well as traditional Mario diehards. Overall, it plays like a puzzle centric RPG; you level up, fight baddies, but the real thrill is figuring out how to pass obstacles to get to the next level, not killing everything in your path. Another thing that is done well are the seamless transitions between Bowser and Mario/Luigi, and you have to do this several times to get past some “levels”. This ranges from Bowser having to drink water to flood otherwise unreachable areas of a level, to Mario having to punch Bowser’s nervous cortex to give him an energy boost, to fighting cooperatively in battles; Bowser sucking up enemies in to be decimated by Mario and Luigi. Finally, the game has some hilarious dialogue, and I feel it channels the Bowser’s one-track-mind
full of furious aggression very nicely, as well as in an original manner. While it gets off to a slow start, and forces you to save at “save blocks” instead of whenever you want, this is a solid Mario title that should appeal to fans and newcomers alike.

Overall: Rent

---controllertower

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rent don't own

posted by Euphall (CATASAUQUA, PA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game follows the same Mario RPG format thats been a staple in the Mario and Luigi games. The story is very well executed and the controls are nice. The game isn't terribly difficult but if you find yourself running away from alot of battles you may end up needing to restart alot. Leveling up is incredibly important just like most RPG's. The game has no replayability whatsoever though, once you beat it your done and theres extra boss battles you can do but the time needed to level up in order to do them is rediculous and you get nothing out of the boss battles except for some items that you wouldn't need at those levels anyways to beat the game. Definately rent it, I wouldn't buy it. Game takes around 20 hours or so to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ridiculously Fun

posted by Marilyn (WINCHESTER, CA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its knows exactly when something you've been doing is too much. When you go, ok im kind of bored, you change to bowser's view and do something new. Fawful is the new villain, as you work together with bowser now! So, yeah its fun, rent it >-<

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by loto128 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Best. DS. Game. Ever. Colorful and smooth graphics and animations, hilarious storyline and dialogue, lots of variety, fun combat system, quirky upbeat soundtrack, and a decent length for a portable rpg. It's a little on the easy side, since if you're good you can get through the entire game without getting hit, but other than that its top notch. Even better than the previous Mario and Luigi rpgs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MAJOR idea of the game CHANGED. WARNING SPOILERS

posted by tomoya96 (HAYES, VA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok well let me start by saying that i thaught the game came out of nowhere so i also thaught it would be a horrible game that was put together to quickly. so the begining starts off as any mario RPG u walk to the castle bowser attacks he fails comes back...and eats you...well actualy a "lucky" shroom sold by a disguised FAWFUL makes him suck up everything in sight for a while (yes fawful from the GBA superstar saga game returns as the...half main villian and isnt it such a cuinsidence that as soon as mario and luigi get sucked up bowsers little "diseas wears off...)ans for all you bean bean kingdom fans sorry but thers no cackleta. well u walk around bowsers intestins for a while till u find luigi and they talk ther insane language that sounds italian at first u think its a cheap voice that they just put in for you to hear but after a while i started to laugh...then u can play as bowser...a VERY nice change in gameplay i had alot of fun playing with bowser since M and L's attacks do like 5 and bowsers does like 40 on the start of the game! now that got me fired up to play.oh yea speaking of fire bowser LOSES his and it takes a while to get it back.along with some hidden moves lke the ground pound and spikeball roller. but as i was saying the gameplay made me laugh wich just kapt coming.now my first special attack i earned from collecting 10 JIGSAW peices (yea i know puzzle peices...)anyway i got it and i was so exited but then i found out my first special attack was...the green shell...W T F!?! thats suppost to be an item not a move! but not until two special attacks later i earned a non item SA. so the after a whole bunch of other stuff u get to play as M/L again and what a world it is! CONGRADULATIONS! u get to know all the names of bowsers body parts they even have a part called the "rump command" that maks bowser huge in "critical conditon". but i wish i could say more but im running out of leters so ill have to end it here saying hope it helps and i gve it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

simplistic and boring

posted by plume0314 (CANONSBURG, PA) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Despite my age i've always enjoyed the mario brothers games. Unfortunately this one is so childish and simplistic that i feel it is best suited for someone under the age of 10. The endless dialogue made me rather sleepy, to say the least, and the gameplay itself utterly boring and not the least bit challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story

posted by Schnazy72 (FARGO, ND) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Where to start, this game had some good moments. I wanted to play an RPG that would hopefully be something similar to that of Super Mario RPG for SNES. I was severely wrong on that judgment. The story was pretty ridiculous and humor was sour. Mario and Luigi had some really lame super moves that weren't all that cool or fun to do. One involved making Luigi eating so much sweets he became fat, Mario would then throw him into the air to belly flop the ground. Which only attacked units on the ground, and wasted a load of your SP.

The story was way too long, and the enemies were poorly designed. Some had some interesting mechanics, I will admit enjoying beating Fawful, the end boss, for his mechanics were pretty well designed. However, the dialogue was poor, and targeted for younger audiences. By the time I beat the game I was quite relieved to be done with it. I did like the cut scene after the final fight, there was some mild entertainment, but there was no “rewarding” feeling to finishing this game, just the feeling of a big waste of time was spent.

I guess I wasn't too surprised that there is no replay value of a New Game + feature, something to restart the game with your items or gear or something! Nope, you can reload your previous save right before the final showdown, to go back and get what you missed.

Not very exciting, and I will not be buying this game.

Game Play 5/10 Pretty basic RPG with average things to expect. The overall design wasn't impressive.
Story 1/10 All in all, the story design was ridiculous and unappealing to my generation.
Sound 6/10 Some cool “Mario” sounds were used, your green mushroom items made the 1-Up sound, etc.
Graphics 6/10 Nothing that surprised me here.
Controls 10/10 Easy to understand, nothing overly challenging.
Overall 4/10 I can't bring myself to give it even a 50% grade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mario&Luigi Bower's Inside Story

posted by Siddiego (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is good if u like adventure and fighting. I got it because i like Mario Brothers and if u do to u will like it to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don;t waste your time...

posted by pstara (WAYNE, MI) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

dumbest mario game ever, sent it back after playing it for an hour...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Greatest game Eva (For Da Ds)

posted by B111B0B (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 53 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

Yo it's awesome man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great!

posted by shanesbaby (MARRERO, LA) Sep 17, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I loved it. Although I think that the way they had the bros. Moves was a bit wack and the got rid of the switch option. I missed it. But it was still good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse