Rent Marines: Modern Urban Combat for Wii
view large frontback

Marines: Modern Urban Combat

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.0

489 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Bargain Basement First Person Shooter

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 3, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

50 out of 57 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

When the first FPS shooter came out several years (or is it decades?) ago, the bar wasn’t set very high; the technology was very limited, so games like Doom and Wolfenstein became smash hits.
Unfortunately, the bar has risen significantly since those early days.
In Marines: Modern Urban Combat, you are given the basics of a First Person Shooter; you get a small assortment of firearms (a rifle, grenades, and a grenade launcher) You are asked to go through each level and kill off all the enemies (consisting of one type of soldier and some armored vehicles) in that level. Along the way, you can pick up a machine gun or use a gun emplacement.
A second player can join in - like in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare: Reflex - but that person is stuck in rail shooter mode.
Still, this game might have worked when the Wii first came out, but not now - not after Call of Duty: Modern Warfare: Reflex or The Conduit. There are too few weapons and too few types of enemies for me to get any real joy out of this game.
And every level plays out the same; go to an area, kill all bad guys, go to the next area, kill all bad guys and so on. The story (a four hour journey for most players) just doesn’t grab my attention. It doesn’t have any online features like The Conduit or Modern Warfare: Reflex.
Even with a price tag of $20, Marines: Modern Urban Combat is a dull gaming experience with repetitive action and limited weapons and enemies. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terribly terrible

posted by hhdrhfdhfd (MINE HILL, NJ) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was terrible, bad graphics, unrealistic gameplay, in all it was just the worst game, dont buy, no dont play, no dont even think about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by wjbates143 (SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

what a sad pathetic attempt at a game I have seen 20 year old pc game that are better than this can ever hope to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by SkateXFire (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I recieved this game in the mail today not really expecting much. after having to watch the disgusting quality cinematic i was brought to the game that looks very simular to the call of duty:modern warfare for the ds graphics wise i started to walk and look around and has given a headache with how quickly the cross hairs move with just a little movement wihich isnt adjustable in the options menu i tried to play but just couldnt see any more of the horrid controls and graphics i put the game back into my mailbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game REALLY SUCKS

posted by captaincoz (SHARON, CT) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I couldn't believe it! Maybe 10 yrs ago, but even wolfenstien and Doom were much better than this game. I couldn't even stand playing especially if you've played Call of Duty or any other first person shooter games for that matter. Weapons were extremely limited and the action was incredibly slow to say the least. I thought that being this game was issued in 2010 that it would be fantastic especially being in competition with other war games that really ARE good. The whole spiel given for this game is total BS. This would be a good game for a kid just starting out playing games and had no experience at all. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be better....

posted by zackg88 (LAND O LAKES, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The controls for this game were difficult for me to use and aiming was to difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Decent game for the mid 90's

posted by mxmech2000 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am not a big gamer, but in my opinion, Marines: Modern Urban Combat is a decent game if it was made in the mid 90's. Few weapons to choose from, viewing and aiming was extremely difficult to use even changing the settings to the lowest sensitivity it was hard to control, even worse while zooming in with the scope. The second player is stuck where ever you are, and cannot pick up any additional weapons, or ammo. So once they run out of ammo they're done. Not really a 2 player game... I wouldn't be surprised to see this game collecting dust in the 5 dollar bin at wal-mart... Personally Doom 95 is a much better game…

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad bad bad game dont rent

posted by brpcwb (BUTLER, PA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

hard to control, bad graf and sound, bad bad bad game never rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lamest Game I Have Ever Played!!!!

posted by Sarah53 (EUSTIS, FL) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You will be dissipointd if you rent or buy this game when you shoot somebody they look like they are thinking " Oh wait hold on i am supposed to be dead"!!!! Horrible graphics Waist of Time!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

marines

posted by guitarbandit (VALDOSTA, GA) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

once the graphics are no good dont rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

marines game for wii

posted by grand_sniper1 (LINN CREEK, MO) Feb 15, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is kinda like the ghost recon games you are in the military and you sort of lead a platoon of marines. you can control what they do by giving them commands such as hold/hold fire and free fire. personally i don't like games like this therefore i didn't give it a very good rating. however if you like and are good at games with the same basic concept as ghost recon then i would say give it a try. me personally i like games like call of duty and medal of honor so if you are like me then i would advise against renting this game. also the aiming on this game if highly sensitive and may make the game difficult for you. other than that is the fact that it generally only takes 2 or 3 shots to kill most targets no matter where you hit them which for me doesn't make a very interesting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Marines: Modern Urban Combat

posted by mustang568 (GREENVILLE, OH) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

poor graphics and poor storys line played five minutes worth and shut it off and returned it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

totally unacceptable offering

posted by metaspiral (ASHEVILLE, NC) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

played it for 10 minutes and then put it back in the envelope. everything about it turned me off and already i was seeing the problems already described by other reviewers. possibly the worst shooter i have ever seen on the wii (though competition for that title is fierce), and certainly among the worst shooters of all time.

it's a shame. i was hoping for a real tactical experience, but all i got was reheated mush.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of my Valuable Time

posted by gamecriti5 (GONZALES, LA) Jun 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have nothing to say good about this game. I read the reviews that peaple wrote and thought it still might be good. WRONG!!!! This game has the worst graphics I've ever seen. I've seen Play Station (1) games with better graphics. The storyline is the worst, the controls look like a three year old designed them, and there are maybe only three guns to choose from.
I'm a very big Marine fan, don't get me wrong about that, but this is a discrace to Marines and Marine fans everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't DO IT!!!

posted by BUck2626 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the worst game of the decade! Don't rent it!!! It's nothing like COD if that is the type game you are looking for!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by warman27 (EUBANK, KY) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Thay tell you that thier is a split screen and that is not true the biggest lie ever. dont rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game sucks

posted by damevo (GLEN ELLEN, CA) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

poor controls very blurry and sinsitivity sucks major disapointment never buy or rent this game you will wish you didnt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful Controls, Awful Experience

posted by Ricken (COLUMBUS, OH) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

Even overlooking that this is a (bad) port of a game from 2005, was it too much to ask that the controls for turning not be so sensitive and reloading not be done by flicking the remote at the ground, causing about one-third of the game to be spent either drunkenly swinging back and forth and/or staring at the ground trying to get the reload command to register and hoping that the game doesn't spring a "gotcha!' style death through a rocket launcher goon you can't see or enemies that somehow come back to life after they've already been shot AND had their weapon taken from them?

Apparently the answer is yes. Don't bother with this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STINKS!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jdog17 (KILLINGWORTH, CT) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

i got this game in the mail and it STINKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »