Rent Manhunt for PS2
view large frontback

Manhunt

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
6.9

1528 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good.

posted by MikeGee (DRACUT, MA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a great gorefest. I love the executions which are anything but clean. I also like the tensity and the strategy you need to use in the game. It may be quite old graphics but it's still awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Extremely Brutal Extremely Fun

posted by BlkWolf (PORTLAND, ME) Jun 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Oddly enough this game is not all about the gore. Although it is about 99% about it. The sneaking is great, its like MGS mixed with Splinter Cell, is Sam and Snake were convicts who kill people with cleavers, nail guns and plastic bags. But it also is a very solid shooter, has the best door kicking ever! And the fighting is great too. But the most powerful thing in the game is the fear... Having insane neo-nazis, mental patients, weekend warriors and crooked cops trying to smash your head into a bloody pulp all the time. The hatred you feel for your foes is nearly unsurpassed, you feel no guilt killing them, because their all killers, rapists and phycos. It's kill or be killed out there, so have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You need to play this

posted by crazy8 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Jul 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I read some of the other user reviews and I am very
surprised at what I read. This game is one of the best games for the PS2.If you have not played this game rent it immediately! The controls take some getting used to but the graphics are good story is great. Just an overall great gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Read this if your game freezes on startup

posted by OdinTrane (SALEM, OR) Oct 17, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Had to search the web to find out why this game was freezing up when you first try to start. Turns out this game will not load if you have a "Max Memory" or other card instead of the standard blue or red colored Playstation brand save cards.

I wasn't a fan of this game. Clunky controls left it difficult to really sneak up on the Hunters. Maybe it gets more fun after the first 2 levels, but I was expecting more after reading the good reviews here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sheer Bloody Pleasure

posted by MissusH (ARLINGTON, TX) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The controls are a little difficult, and the sneaking technique leaves something to be desired, but the cut scenes are gruesome. Although, to play the game, you will need a walk thru since there are not enough helpful hints to get you along. I will say there is a drawback to not being able to use the cheats until you have beaten the game in Hardcore mode. However, my husband and I play it together and I guide him as to where he is supposed to go next. The executions are brutal and cool to see, although it may leave you feeling a little concerned about yourself for enjoying it! Overall, the game is good, I just wish the controls had been set up a little easier, and there were more clues as to where you are supposed to go. The "map" leaves a lot to be desired too. But if you like gore, then this game will definitely fulfill that niche for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Any Fun

posted by playallday (CATOOSA, OK) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is not fun for me at all. I thought it was mundane and very repetitve. It is alright in the violent, gory catagory. Scary it is NOT. The only thing I actually liked was the voice of the "master" telling you what & when to do things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

!!!!

posted by CPTxCRUNCH (Tarzana, CA) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a great game and very fun. You get to kill people in the funest ways possible. The only bad thing about this game is that it's a little on the short side, but other then that it's great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My Favorite Game

posted by gregr1 (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was pretty much my favorite game ever. You get to run around, hide in the shadows, pop out and execute a buncha guys in so many ways with stuff like plastic bags, glass shards, choke wire, machetes, baseball bats and stuff. It's the only game that really makes you feel like a ninja. other ninja games just have you out in the open in a hack-and-slash style. It's just awesome, you can cut off peoples heads and then throw them at other guys. If you like violence, the movie saw, hostel, etc. you'll like this (as long as you get the hang of it and don't get frustrated). I don't own it though. I wish it was for sale so I could buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolute Brilliant Game

posted by Lauwee (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Apr 12, 2006

Member since May 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Back when Manhunt first came out, I gave it a rent and I got just to the part where you have to save your family members. I thought it was too difficult, so I returned it. But I began to think of renting it again, so I did. And I love it. This game is so awsome with everything it does, it's very intense. I just finished it a few hours ago, and I've got to say, it is nothing less than spectacular. I think the only complaint I have is that the executions get pretty repetitive rather quickly. But other than that, this game is definetely one of Rockstar's best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Two thumbs up.

posted by Enigmatic (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 26, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game. I found it challenging, also, to get past the third level at first. All you need is a little practice. This game is GREAT. I'm only about halfway through, but I really enjoy it already. If you dont mind 'fairly' excessive Blood, Gore, and Gruesome violence, then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected after 5 yrs

posted by PaulJC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Controls: I had no issues here
Gameplay: I see someone playing this far into the night
Atmosphere: Belivable, but can get uninspired fast
Action: It's there, and you will keep at your senses
Presentaion: Graphics are impressive for the era and genre. It was released in 2003 so don't you DARE judge it by 2008 standards.
Replayablity: Only if you're compelled...

When this game out it caused a fire-storm everywhere, similar to the one caused by Grand theft Auto: San Andreas. Why? The swearing and the violence. But this game was, I thought from the packaging, was supposed to be about an escaped serial killer on a murderous rampage - or so I thought. That would have been - disturbing to play a psychotic serial killer. But this...

It's just a "running" game. You sneak, and run, and kill them before they kill you while you try to make it to the next area or door or whatever. I'm 40 yrs old: this is DOOM with better graphics and swearing. So I was not impressed, I was hoping that after I complete the first four Scenes the game would "start" - but I found out through reviews that is not so - this is basically, as The Master says "a snuff film" that you play out to his audience's gratification.

Literally. James just kills the Hunters before they kill him. Apparently, they'll get paid or whatever if they kill you. But, after reading walkthroughs, the game is nothing more. Which disappoints me - because when this game came out I wanted it, now that I rented it I want to send it back. There is some more story, but as the game starts out so repetitious (in the early stages it should deliver more) I wonder if I should even go onto Scene 4 or further? I really want to like this game, but it's hard because all it has is s-word & f-word aplenty and killing.

Too bad; the serial killer idea would've been more interesting: finding/killing victims, leading the FBI on, pandering to the media, (sigh) THAT would be a great and disturbing "game"!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

death for this game

posted by agrippa (POST FALLS, ID) May 31, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

graphics suck,the stealth kills become very very very repetitive very fast, not enough bullets for the guns,not enough gore, the total amount of people impressed with this game is astoundingly low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spooky

posted by TheMonk (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rockstar brought it to the table this time, delivering a chilling title that will keep you playing for hours on end, that is, if you can stomach the gruesome and macabre content. This one's not for the kids, the language, gruesome executions, and feel of the game itself is enough to earn in that, ever-so enticing M Rating slapped on the cover. The unlockables in the game make the gruesome journey all worth while in the end, which include, concept art, mini-games, and even a few cheat codes. Only real problem is that the graphics at times can be a bit ugly, but that's no obstacle in the way of making this a fun game. Simply put, the game is good, nothing spectacular, but no real cons. A great rent, and maybe even a buy if you think you can handle it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best stealth game for the PS2

posted by gamejunki (MT JACKSON, VA) Sep 4, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the most violent and brutal game I've ever played. This game's got some awesome weapons, my fav. is the chainsaw, although the graphics are kind of gritty. Oh, this game also has some VERY rough language. MANHUNT is a game for people with strong stomachs ONLY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i like where they were going with it

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) May 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is good but is missing that key element to be great. I played this back with my friends when it first came out. And about a week ago i found it browsing through the the ps2 games, and rented it. The game is like most rockstar games - different. And thats what makes this game good, the executions are pretty good, i would have liked to see more. The script is lacking, if fact it reminded me instantly of the movie running man. The graphics were good at its time, but lacking as of now. I would say this game is a must rent but when you first start playing it, it gets frustrating. Until, you get down the controls and gameplay. Took me the first two levels before i could start executing everyone without being spotted. If you like violence and being quiet, then this is a game for you. If your more of a run in kill everyone then prolly not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than the first time played

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

When i first played the game, i couldent even get past the third level, and the game wasn't to good, not even the execution styles.

Then, i rented it again about a year later. And it was better this time. I beat the whole game. It was good. I thought the execution styles were good, but some arent that great. The main character doesent talk to much, except for some parts. It got a little confusing when starkweather betrays you, and wants to kill you, its a little hard to understand that. I like how the game is very gritty, and violent. The game is filled with violent, brutal people, and gritty looking, not to mention evil looking. The game takes strategy, and you can blow through bad guys pretty quick, but sometimes you get cornered off. Good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Whatever

posted by justluckie (ACKERLY, TX) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was so boring I had to force myself to play it hoping it would get better..... it didn't. You play this guy who like the tv show Alias he was sentenced to death but then they faked it and he woke up not knowing what was going on. They force him to do their dirty work by walking around these deserted streets looking for these guys to sneak up on and kill in stupid ways like putting a plastic bag over their head or stabbing them in the neck. but it shifts to a movie so you are not even in control of killing them unless you are in fight mode which is what happens when sneaking up didn't work and you get caught. This game is so slow and you just get bored it is not even worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

clunk clunk

posted by Trustknow (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I do not recommend renting this game. The controls are clunky, and if feels as if your trying to move a brick, also it has very poor camera views that make hard to see your enemy coming, and it makes you feel as if your going to have a seizure. I played this game for about 10 minutes turned off my playstation 2, put it back in the envelope and sent it on it's way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Thanks for trying, come back soon.

posted by kenny31539 (HAZLEHURST, GA) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

OK...let's sneak up on the fellow, poke him with something...put a bag over his head...yeesh, talk about overkill.

First off, you're a fellow recently reawakened from his own execution...and your new purpose in life is to help some sadistic fellow make a snuff film. Odd? Ok, but still a rather enjoyable adea for those of us who love just mindless mayhem.

Whoops...if you're sneaking up on whoever with whatever, you're assured a victory, and as it should be. Problem is...if they catch you face to face you're very likely to be in a whole world of hurt...which, again, can be fun all things considered...I mean, you already died once, right?

Groovy parts: Sneak up behind someone while wielding a base-ball bat...who hasn't wanted to do that at one point in time or another? Almost as fun as the crowbar...but...well...no- thing says "I Love You" like a Louisville Slugger to the base of the skull, right?
The animation is good and very straight forward with very few places that you can get lost in, which is a good thing considering that all you're going to want to think about is how to kill your next...what, co-star?
Not so groovy parts: Did I mention the game was very straight forward? To a fault. The plot twists are predictable (if you're paying attention to such things, if not then kick back and enjoy the mindless mahem!). Your co-stars, so to speak, become way too powerful way too early in the game for my liking, while your own energy and strength never seems to go up. The other down side is that you have only two maneuvers that you can come up with...power strikes and quick strikes...boring.

All in all, the game is not bad if you are looking for something easy to play and even easier to follow. If you're looking for a game that has a decent amount of mental challenge with a good variety of maneuvers, then this game is definately not something to look into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good

posted by toyz (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Awsome tottaly good, old but good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

I got some moderate enjoyment out of "Manhunt" for as long as I bothered to play it (mostly because I liked the emphasis on stealth), but it got old pretty fast. Make no mistake; this game has not aged well over the years since its release. The graphics are ugly by today's standards, the gameplay and camera are pretty clunky, the action is repetitive, and the "shock" factor - the game's big selling point - just isn't there anymore. After the grisly violence we've seen from many more recent video games, "Manhunt" no longer possesses the power to shock or disturb.

I played the first three levels, then sent it back to Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Manhunt Greatest Hits and PS3

posted by Thanatron81 (EDISON, NJ) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This is a good game. However the Greatest Hits version does not work with the PS3. I have the original version locked up in storage. I can't get to my storage so I rented this game. I was sent the Greatest Hits version and that does not work on my PS3. Yes, my PS3 is backwards compatible. Other wise the game is good, but not as good as Manhunt 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Creepy, gorey,stealth action

posted by slicknick (Brooklyn, NY) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

I dont see why this got bad reviews from some people. Its not boring at all. There a lot of tension in the game cause you basically have to keep yourself hidden throughout it.This isnt the type of game where you can just run into a room and blow everyone away.youll get killed everytime if you do that.Its very challenging and you need a lot of patience.in the later levels theres more gunplay.you need to develop some strategy in order to figure out how to survive.

the controls take some getting used to.they have a GTA feel to them.I thought the game was really creepy and entertaining. it also takes a while to beat which is good.just play it with the lights off and youll have a great time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

:)

posted by FeistyFemme (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Best game EVER.....that is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Manhunt

posted by 212416 (SIKESTON, MO) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

This game is great. The execution are gory but are hard to do. What I don't really like about the game is that you only get a little ammo to start out with with the guns and then when you use it all you have to kill others just to get more. I couldn't finish the game because I couldn't do a 3rd stage execution on the level Doing Time, but all in all it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse