Rent Manhunt 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Manhunt 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.2

1370 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rockstar brutally executed Manhunt 2-Thanks ESRB!

posted by Vykor81 (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Like most people, I was most anxious to see how far Rockstar pushed the envelope, how far they could stretch their freedom of artistic expression. As we all know, it was rejected for its graphical content and Rockstar was forced to water it down a bit to make it acceptable for a mature audience. Unfortunately, they watered it down completely. Honestly, the only reason people play this game and the reason it gets so much attention is because of how brutal it is. As a game, it’s very, very average. So when you take away the executions as Rockstar has done in order to comply with the ESRB board, there’s really nothing left to see. When you commit an execution, you literally see nothing. The original sequence that depicted to brutal killing has been completely blurred out. All you see are red, black, and white lines and scratches all over the screen. You can’t anything out at all, not even the outline of a character. All you get is the knowledge of what weapon you are attacking the rest is left to your imagination. The audio is still grizzly, but visuals are non-existent during executions. So, having said that, all you have left is the rest of the game – which is very mediocre. It’s a clumsy stealth game with very little challenge or problem solving. Hide in a shadow where the baddies will look for you but will never enter to look further, wait for them to decide that there is no danger, watch them turn their backs, then sneak up and kill them. Rinse, repeat. That’s the whole game. It’s interesting for a couple hours, then boring. Without the payoff of the executions, this game has no legs at all. The only positive attributes of the game are that it has production value (it is Rockstar afterall), and the audio and voiceovers are good. But that’s it. It won’t keep you entertained. Unless you LOVE stealth games and have a high level of forgiveness, or you strongly enjoy Rockstar’s visual style (the environment and people look like GTA games), there’s nothing to see here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

man hunt 2 awsome

posted by mothersnyd (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

playing this is so fun and gorry that i cant help but wunder if this is the tuned down version just how bad was man hunt 1 for the wii that it was pulled off the shelvs 5stars for this game (a must play)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Close, but no cigar

posted by emwolf (SAVANNAH, GA) Oct 30, 2007

Member since May 2004

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Manhunt 2 for the Wii is a decent game, but considering all the controversy that it has stirred up, it fails to be a really great game. The executions are so blurry and distorted that it is really tough to tell exactly what is happening. The AI is pretty dumb in some areas as well. It's definitely worth playing through to the end, but rent it through Gamefly instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I can't stand the bashing this game is getting...

posted by Virtuater (IRVINE, CA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 22 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

OK, this game isn't perfect, no...but it's far better than average. Yes, the super-kills are blurred out to all heck, but even WITH the blurriness, I can still grasp what the guy is doing, and it's still some of the most intense, messed up stuff I've ever seen.

That's not all though, this game has a great storyline going, and I can't wait to finish it up. I'm about 5 levels in, and I love the gameplay as much now, as I did in the first level. Lure people over, do horrible things, continue...great fun!

The ONLY thing that's a bummer, is the enemy AI...but what the heck ever, it's still a blast to play, and I think that shouldn't change your mind one bit from renting, or buying it. The graphics aren't the best, but what the heck, you're playing the Wii, not Ps3, so what did you expect?

Bottom line...if you want to kill stuff by doing stabbing and slitting motions, get this game. Just don't be such a game punk like all the people who've reviewed it before me... It can be fun to play if you let it entertain you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the First

posted by ecase629 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Despite all the bashing of this game, I really like it. It is a bit repetitive and the AI can be a little...dumb, but it is still really good.
The storyline is much better than the first game, with flashbacks that are pretty cool. I also really like the attention to detail in the game (blood splatters stay on you throughout the game). The whole thing with the blur effect isn't really that bad. I've actually played the PS2 version with the effect removed, and it wasn't that much better. You do get to see more, but the effect also kinda adds to the whole "crazy" storyline.
This game is definitely not for kids or people who do not like violence. If you're like me and you like gangster films, horror movies and overall goriness, then you'll love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For all the prior reviews.

posted by TheBigZ (MITCHELL, SD) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

12 out of 22 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Apparently what all of you fail to realize is, is that the reason the game was delayed in the first place was because the ESRB said it was too violent and if that violence was not toned down the game would have gotten an AO rating for adults only. Have you ever seen a game at a major retailer (Wal-mart, Best Buy) with that rating? NO. Because they do not carry them. So Rockstar, in some crazy scheme to make a few bucks, decided to appease the ESRB and make the game less gruesome in an effort to get it to these major retailers. So that is why the executions are not very good.

crua99, it does not seem like you have any idea what you are actually talking about... If what you say is true about Nintendo not having games that parents would not want their children playing, there would be no Scarface, Godfather, or any other game that has an M rating. Lastly the part where you said "trust me, i make games" I thought was HILARIOUS because reading your post made me think of the SIMS. Did you help make the language that one? Because I could barely make out what you had typed, try using real words, full words, and proper spelling when posting like this and maybe someone might take you seriously.

I can't really understand why everyone talks about how much they anticipated the game dropping, yet failed to do any research as to why it was delayed, or if they did the research continue to cry about the fact that the executions had to be blurred. Here's one that should really get you guys riled up.... They actually REMOVED a whole execution because the ESRB thought that even the blurry version was too grotesque.

Don't blame Nintendo and don't blame Rockstar, it is not their fault. Blame the ESRB and the fact that games are becoming more and more censored and that the artists who are creating these games are being restricted by politicians who probably don't even play games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible, Pathetic, SHOULD BE RATED TEEN!

posted by Squelch (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I was so disappointed with this game. I have been anticipating it for 6 months and it is an even more of a let down than Halo 3 was. The graphics are at least 5 times worse than the first Manhunt and the executions are totally pathetic. I mean horrible. The executions consist of a pretty much blurred out, red screen that you can barely see anything the character is even doing to the victim. Sigh... Even on the first Manhunt we could see the executions in plain view! I wanted this game because I thought it would be like that (brutal executions that you can SEE) but it is a 1000% dulled down version of the first one. I am totally disappointed with this game. Rockstar has successfully released a terrible game, never thought I would see the day... Arent we supposed to have games evolve on the sequels rather than devolve? Do not buy this game, do not even rent it. I am so shocked you can barely see the executions, it is just a big blur. How could they do this???? Manhunt did it and it is rated mature! I think this game should be rated TEEN. Really, it is that bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pro and con of this game

posted by crua99 (COCOA BEACH, FL) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

pro: it has a ok story line

con: how wii is, with any game that there might be somthing that a mom and dad may not like the wii people will remove it or change it. (that most of the reason y it take 5 times longer to get somthing on the wii. trust me i make games)
on the last man hunt you can see what is happening but this one they pretty much block out it with red
the control on it is like it has a bug in it
the wii imaging system sucks so this game looks like it was let out be4 manhunt 1
the story line is ok but that it
truth i think the wii people gave this game a m bc of the problems of what the moms and dads may say bad things, even tho it be there own fault for letting there kid do anything

i think this game should be rated t bc there realy isnt so much in there to make it a m. beside the rateing in over all i think this game shouldnt be rented bc of a mix of bad grapichs, bad control, and it realy look like this game is not done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

manhunt 2

posted by redz4881 Jul 16, 2013

wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PRETTY COOL

posted by casejon (HAINES CITY, FL) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

it has a lot of kkills, lot of swearing, and a lot of fun gore filled hours of gameplay. it it a really good game that is a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Manhunt 2

posted by DeathBringerMan (ALTOONA, AL) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The game is brutal and twisted,but the only thing I'm having trouble is that the controls are kinda difficult to maintain, I mean sure you can use the motions to execute the gruesome deaths, but I find it difficult to control the character, therefore I have a hard time playing the game, so if you have a sick and twisted mind, and have rage issues, I'm sure this game would satisfy you needs to maintain your blood lust.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great grusemness

posted by timtim90 (SANDUSKY, OH) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

this is by far the most violent game on the wii and its really fun once you get it the controlls are realistic and its just fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I really ejoyed this game

posted by JonM7o3 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

if you can get past its control issue its actually a really fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

man hunt for wii

posted by rebeccawin (SOUTH BOSTON, VA) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

game lagged on me several times when i went down a dead end hallway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A good idea that became a bad one

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I heard all the hype for this game and after playing it, I was really disappointed. I can't help but wonder if I would have been able to look past the lack of substance in this game if it weren't watered down. Maybe not, but maybe so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Manhunt 2 is ridiculously inferior to Manhunt 1

posted by JDoggyDogg (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

If you have played Manhunt 1, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME, you will be really p'd off.

The game is CENSORED: They use several types of filters, including turning the whole screen red so you can't see the blood, among distortion of the video and such, which leaves you with "I can't quite see what he's doing". Go YouTube Manhunt 1 executions, then Manhunt 2, and you will see a MAJOR difference.

Also, the Wii controls make that split second timing hard to pull off, making all the executions screw up, so you then have to just hit the guy to death (swinging the remote to punch gets old). The storyline isn't as good, the graphics are the same it looks like, and the characters aren't as good.

I don't care if it's from 2003, GO GET MANHUNT 1, as it is the most violent video game out there. When I played Manhunt 1 back then, I was shocked, and I'm really hard to shock. In hindsight I'm not at all surprised they censored the game.

BTW, if you think that only the Wii is censored, or that I'm in some weird country that has a special version of the game, think again. ALL versions of the game are censored, and the only way to uncensor it is to get the PSP version of the game and hack it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MANHUNT 2 FOR WII

posted by MARK1UABID (MANITOWOC, WI) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

GREAT CONCEPT, DEFINITELY A THRILLER.
GAMEPLAY FOR THE NINTENDO WII IS DIFFICULT AT BEST.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Below average game

posted by PROWLERSL (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game is just for wasting your time, gt it one day sent it back the other a waste of time playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE GAME!!!

posted by dooger (SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game had it all, a good story, a mystery to be solved, and a medly of weapons to kill people with. The slow-mo killing was very fun and gory. It had blood and guts and it did it perfectly.(I liked how your guy stayed covered in blood through the game and had a dirty look to him). It was so sick i couldn't put it down. The end is kind of hard but you get though it. 10/10 BEST GAME EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

manhunt2

posted by killknife1 (BURIEN, WA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

this game sucks i thot it was going to kick buttbut it sucked scrow this game and and the f-u-c-k with the wii controlers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unplayable

posted by Shalograve (DANIEL ISLAND, SC) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Short and Bitter of it:

1. The controls are cumbersome and unreliable

2. AI is mentally handicapped at best

3. The story is played out

4. The "scary" screen flash will probably send you into epileptic shock

I tried to play this game for about 20 minutes. Granted this is not a fair shake for a game, typically; in this case it was 19 minutes too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

favorite game ever!

posted by mrgnmnstrr (MENTOR ON THE LAKE, OH) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

this is ultimately my favorite game ever. i'm going to frame it. hahaha.

the only things that sucked was it wasn't brutal enough and you couldnt see the executions clearly. but other than that, this game kept me up until the sun came up every night because i couldnt stop playing it. so entertaining. you need to buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

manhunt 2 for wii

posted by chimebone (KANSAS CITY, MO) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Manhunt 2 is a action adventure game when i played this game i was so shocked on how good it was to me i mean its not for children it has blood gore intense violence strong sexual content and use of drugs you kill them with the wii remote and the nunchuck i like the story of the game its so good it was made by rockstar so be sure to get this game if you like murder games thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

To bad rockstar...

posted by CocoMoroo (KENOSHA, WI) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Its hard to like this Wii game that is hard to use and looks like a bad PS2 game. (I know its a port)-but it looks like its 5 years older than it is. The wii is good, just the game is a letdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse