Rent Man vs. Wild for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Man vs. Wild

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
4.6

1139 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dont be too critical

posted by BROCK_SAMSON (FOREST FALLS, CA) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

33 out of 35 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting much out of another tv based game, at least its amusing and a half decent thousand point game. The only level that is consistently buggy and broken is the last one. But running around collecting stuff isn't as bad as I thought. Weird thing was....I actually learned some facts....lol. Albeit useless. But nevertheless, if your a fan and not expecting a totally refined game, its worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I thought it was ok.

posted by KyleFer (HARRISBURG, NC) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I heard alot of hype about how terrible the game was, I played each mission twice to get all of the achievements though you could do them all in one go. Skydiving is the best way to level up I might add.

After you get over the hype and get over how they make Bear Grylls out to be some kind of modern marvel, the game is not all that bad and the graphics of the levels start to look pretty good. Sure it is awful in comparison to some top notch games like Skyrim or Fallout 3 new vegas. But what do you expect, its a Reality TV show game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really Wanted To Like It

posted by CaptainX79 (SCHENECTADY, NY) May 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

52 out of 60 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

First off let me say I love the show, the game not so much. I found this game to be rather frustrating from the saved game loading bug to the unfair quick time events; most notable in Patagonia the last episode, trying to balance on the horse was almost impossible but trying to get on the train was the worst i must have tried 50 times, they give you no leeway what-so-ever completely unfair. I wonder sometimes who tests these games, anyway this was the first time in a long time that I had to refrain from breaking a game disc in half. Needless to say I never got on the train and I sent the game back without completing it. I never do that.

Although it seams like a fully negative review it's not, the good is the educational value this game brings to the table, it's fun for the most part reliving some of your favorite episodes of the show, at least bear does his own voice overs (I laugh every time he pronounces words differently than I do), and the achievements are easy.

If you like the show it may be worth it just to check out the game but gamer beware....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by linknos (PORT EDWARDS, WI) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i througly enjoyed this game a bit buggy but in all a good game but you cant expect to much from a game with a budget this low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Man Vs Wild parental review

posted by jremmers (ORANGE, CA) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Haven't played all the way through yet but just wanted to leave a quick note for anyone curious. My kids are HUGE fans of Bear Grylls so it's a given that they love the game. Bear does all the voice acting and there's a bunch of educational facts throughout the game (which is awesome and VERY rare to find in any game these days) as well as photos and videos you can unlock. There is no gore when hunting/catching animals either which is nice if your kids are interested. The game play and graphics are not the best and there are some parts of the game that require some finesse with the controller that can be frustrating and may be too tough for younger kids, but as a parent I think the content makes up for these shortcomings. If you're a fan of the show or an outdoor enthusiast I'd recommend checking it out, it's a good time.

And by the way, in response to the first review: Yes, you can drink your own urine. You just have to be smart enough to figure out how to do it ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bugged

posted by dabondpark (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Uh, yes you can drink your own urine. but oh well. Game is bugged. I played first round, and saved. Came back and was never able to load it again. Sent it back the same day. Brand new game, brand new x-box, but game has a loading bug.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disgusting!

posted by Raimbran (POYNETTE, WI) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

this game is neither worth the time or the money. it is a great idea for a game though. i was lookin forward to this game, but it honestly looks like it was released between 2000 and 2002. Graphics, controls, game length are all a joke to this game. the only good thing about it is if you play for achievment points, in which case it takes about 6-8 hours to beat the game and get all the points possible. End result, im dissapointed. its a joke and shouldnt even have a rating at anything higher than 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not the Worst

posted by SgtPeru (TUCSON, AZ) May 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the first two levels and I feel kinda depressed because I love the Man vs. Wild show. This game just had bad controls. The Quick Time Events, the graphics and the gameplay are all horrible. The graphics look like graphics from the Wii. It was just sad. Eating the poisonous millipedes and watching him throw up was kinda fun. And you can drink your own urine. It is qute easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MAN VS MACHINE

posted by Deilgyre (SALISBURY, MD) May 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got to play the tutorial, but the game keeps locking up on me at the Rocky Mountains mission briefing screen, once it says "A - Continue".

Game is installed on my new Xbox360 Slim model HDD, with plenty of free memory on it.

Deleted the install, and tried playing the game spinning the disk: it did the same thing. It's a new copy too, from GameFly.

Deleted everything and started over. Locked up again the first time on Training, but then worked the next time I rebooted.

Then, the first part of The Rockies mission glitched on me; apparently I assembled the zip line (rope + rock chips) before I was supposed to. Grylls kept pointing me back to the tree where my parachute was, even though there was no rope to get.
Sigh. Restart 1st misson all over again. Got half way through then quit for the day.

Next night I tried to play a little more, and the 360 locked up again at Rocky Mts mission briefing screen.
Enough.
Eject, game back in sleeve, sleeve back in cardboard, cardboard back in envelope.
Seeya, broken game.

I loaded it onto my HDD, and it did so successfully, so it's not a disk issue.
I've had absolutely no other problems playing any other games, and I have a library of over 100 Xbox360 games.

When it works, MAN VS WILD is probably an OK game, but certainly not one worth jumping through hoops in order to play.

On to BRINK or PORTAL2...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Neutral

posted by creatova (ROSEMOUNT, MN) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am not sure weather you should get this game or not it is in a way hard. It is fun because there is a lot of possible gamer points that are easily earned and it is very educational but in a fun way. But it was also bad in the way that the last part of the game is nearly impossible ( but it is possible) and it only takes you about 2 days to solve the game. I recomend getting this game if you dont have anything to do or if you really like the TV show. Just do not get your hopes high. But still if you are getting this you probably have Gamefly and you can just send int back for free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Man vs wild

posted by Leighross94 (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Didn't like this game at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

low Review

posted by pugman7484 (SANFORD, ME) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you expect good graphics this game is not for you and also the game doesnt allow you to really move around that much its kindof like playing pac man staying in the maze!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent

posted by loganator57 (CHARLESTON, WV) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Man vs. Wild the game is rlly fun! It takes some of your thought to beat all the places. It is a short game, I beat it in 1/2 of a day. But rlly fun. Some parts are kinda annoying, but all in all a very good game. The only downside of the game is that the voice of Bear Gryllis somtimes repeats alot. Highly reccomend rent not buy. Add me. My gamertag on Xbox 360 is LOGANATOR 57. See u in the games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is HORRIBLE

posted by ajizzle601 (RAYMOND, MS) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME WAS THE WORST GAME I EVER PLAYED. THE GRAPHICS LOOK LIKE ITS FOR A NINTENDO 64, ITS BORING, AND YOU DO THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER. ONLY GOOOD THING IS WATCHIN HIM DRINK HIS URINE OTHER THAN THAT THIS GETS A 0 OUT OF 10 FROM ME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Killplz (SPARKS, NV) May 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Hand's Down BEST game I have EVER PLAYED!
I got the Collectors Edition with the skinned snake with Bear's urine in it.

ok. sorry i lied this game is well close to garbage, but The show is awesome. Bear Grllys vs Chuck Norris. Bear will WIN! - That's DLC
... ok lied again, sorry. Avoid this Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well....

posted by xbrett82 (ROCHESTER, NY) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 38 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

it's ok, but you can't drunk your own urine. lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as I was expecting

posted by ben10lover (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

It was acutely pretty fun! But it was hard, annoying, and not that interesting! If you really want this, rent it first!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bout game

posted by 3240 (ARDMORE, AL) May 4, 2014

Member since May 2014

its not a good game and i done sent it bk and yall aint
sent my other game yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trash!

posted by Grinning_Joker (LEXINGTON, KY) May 22, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

This game is awful. I rented it to see how bad it really was and I heard that there were some easy achievements to be had. Well, I'll be honest, Man Vs. Wild is the worst game I have played in a long time. So long in fact, that I can't think of what it's nearest competitor would be off the top of my head.

This title basically boils down to stupid mini games where the player is forced to push a button at a certain time or in a specific pattern. It's boring. The game is glitchy too. More than once I couldn't get through a mission because the right item wouldn't appear only to appear after I restarted the mission and went through the whole mess again.

The final day I had the game rented, I had one level left to finish and I looked for chores to do rather than play it. It's that bad that I would rather mop the kitchen or clean the toilet than play it. Take that into consideration...

If you are looking for a survival atmosphere in a game then play the first half of the new Tomb Raider or just go to a national park and wander around for a couple of hours. Either would be more fun than Man Vs. Wild with Bear Grylls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by willissstone (SALISBURY, NC) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

To me it wasn't bad at all It was honestly good of a game you swam through alligators face deadly snakes face hunger and bears, bees everything bear really does so I can't believe people don't like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MAN.VS.WILD The Game

posted by ryan777ful (GALLUP, NM) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

When i saw this game i was like really a man.vs.wild game but it was actually a fun game and has EZ achements and i suggest playing this game even though it's a short game it's fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Impossible to enjoy

posted by Omally (ROCKVILLE CENTRE, NY) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I rented this knowing it wouldn't be a good game, and it isn't. But it's not even enjoyable to make fun of it. It's mostly a collection of QTE minigames. Bear moves around like he has lead shoes on. Any part that involves jumping across platforms is an exercise in frustration, not challenging but simply frustrating. And I'm not sure if I missed it but Bear never drinks his own urine in this game, completely unacceptable. It's bad, but not so bad that it's ironically good, it's just mediocre and uninspired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is fun but...

posted by Sladay (LOVES PARK, IL) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

the game is overall fun but i cannot beat the last part of the last mission because the sequence to escape sucks so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by agresticmatt (DUNBAR, PA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

way to repetive graphics sucked all around terrible animations terrible shelter building just horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worse game in existence

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this is Hands down the hardest most tedious game I have EVER played. this game is harder than dead pool on hard! this game was so bad I swear I Thought I was going to get cancer just by playing it!

Bottom line is avoid this game like the plague

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse