Rent Man vs. Wild for Wii
view large frontback

Man vs. Wild

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
5.5

163 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Man Vs. Wild, but Player Vs. Thumbstick

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

24 out of 25 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Bear Grylls is your guide - and your avatar - in Man Vs. Wild, the video game.
Through five episodes, your task is to survive five of the most inhospitable locations on Earth from the Sahara to a tropical island to Patagonia. The task is simple: go from point A to point B, collect food and water when you can, and battle wild creatures. This game can take anywhere between six to eight hours to complete the first time around.
Along the way, you will have to make fires and shelters to sleep for the night by first collecting the needed items in the immediate area. Then, you have to place the items in the correct locations using the Wiimote and thumbstick.
Other obstacles will appear and challenge you on your trek - from latching a man made grappling hook onto a tree to keeping warm in extreme cold to swimming through a bog (or quicksand.) These obstacles are mini games that are fast, short, and can be confusing (instructions are vague sometimes.)
But the biggest hurdle in the game is the thumbstick: it’s far too sensitive. Keeping item(s) at a certain point for a short period of time (something you have to do in many tasks) is made difficult because the object(s) move around far too much. Add on a time limit and you can get frustrated players who will give up rather than see the end of the level.
Other problems include a camera that’s difficult to keep in the right location, a jerky jumping mechanism, and level layouts that make it far to easy to get lost.
But I liked Bear Grylls’ narration, some of the unlocked videos and I think this game has a good foundation: the gameplay could’ve been a inventive and exciting (not to mention educational).
But Man Vs. Wild suffers from gaming glitches and that overly sensitive thumbstick. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Jul 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I like this game a lot. I have watched every episode and this game is just like the show. Here some the things I don't like:
The controls
You can only hold so much in your back pack which isn't a lot.
you canteen is filled to a hundred and every time you take one drink you use up 10 and so you run out of water fast.
The graphics are not that great.
Other then those then this is a rental for sure so put it on your list.
Just don't buy not that type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a great game, Bear Grylls style

posted by gamerkid0 (DEFUNIAK SPRINGS, FL) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I got this game and was afraid it might be boring because of the bad reveiws but i was wrong it was great you have to go around and find food water and build shelter of course if you don't have time to build shelter a dead camel will do. it is just like the game you fight animals make traps like snares and deadfalls. after just two days i decided to keep it best game out there great graphics and just fun and challenging and bear guides you through the game and there are markers to guide you but in hard mode there are not any markers. great game check it out and keep it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that good:(

posted by pickelface (CANDLER, NC) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

its good for people who like not to hard games but as for me I don't like it that mutch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dude this suu....rocks

posted by 6464644455 (CHALLIS, ID) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 34 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

dude come on bye it do your self a favor and bye this game and just do it. well....... what are you waiting for!! GO BYE IT! GO WHILE I STILL GIVE YOU THE CHANCE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

man vs garbage

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was very disappointed considering i like the show and wild. The graphics are very poor with not much attention to detail. The controls dont work very well with you moving with the nunchuk and jumping with the b button. The gameplay as to many buttons to push to collect this item or fend of this animal. Also you need to keep stopping and drinking water and eating and sleeping which gets really annyoing. There are no detailed mission lists so you could wonder around aimlessly trying to find out what you do next. I would not recommend this game to anyone, instead go out for a real hike in the woods.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid Game

posted by BeccaCRN (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Will not be spending time playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good if you like this type of game genre

posted by gamerman2202 (MALVERN, AR) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Well in the recent reviews i'v read.Most of them are about the thumbstick being touchy.That is not wat i experienced.The controlls are good but the matter of fact i found is.Even though this game is cool,it gets boring faster then i thought.The graphics are pretty realistic and the animals you encounter to fight and kill for food is good to.You also have to forage stuff to build shelters and fire to ward off the night and bug.And roast meat.Its cool and all.But thisis te first game of this sort i have played and i must say,i got bored quickly.

All in all,and really good game for a survival game.Its rent worthy,but unless you love these types of games,do NOT buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »