Rent Man vs. Wild for PS3
view large frontback

Man vs. Wild

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.1

704 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been better!

posted by FPSguy (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

37 out of 41 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Man vs. Wild had plenty of room for correction. With only five episodes to play, the game last about four hours tops and thats with getting a platinum. Some parts of the game is very glitchy. Such as while in the Rockies when you climb a mountain sometimes you cannot climb down. The game does have a lot of fun moments though. You get to kill snakes and whiz in there skin then drink it!? Also there is a lot of collecting in the game, every mission has at least two different sets of things to collect. The graphics are pretty weak, but they're not Rogue Warrior awful or anything. It is games like this that make Gamefly amazing, because as a fan of the t.v. show I wanted to try it out, but trust me it is worth a rent only. I wouldn't buy this game for any more than $20!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

They could have done a lot more

posted by Muggrudd (GREENACRES, WA) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics are a generation behind on this one which is always a bummer but gameplay can make up for what graphics lack. Not this time the gameplay is even worse then the graphics.

The game is choppy, full of glithches (try takin on the black bear in the everglades or the horse ride at the end of the game) and kinda boring after about 30 minutes.

The side missions are pointless (why would you look for junk in the everglades but salvage nothing from what you find for survival?) and the movements of the character and enemy's is not much above activisions game Pitfall from the 1980's. The worst is building fires and shelters they could have done a lot more with that theme of the game by letting you choose your own sites for fires or camps (giving bonuses for peeps who pick ideal terrain) and got rid of the drag and drop way of building fires and shelters and replace it with something more challenging and interesting.

I love the show and thought this would be more fun then it was. The ideas are there but they coulda spent a lot more time on game controls, graphics and subplots.

All in all this game is a disappointment and is only something you may want to rent. It is a slow paced game that only gives you about 5 hrs gameplay but that is about 4 hrs too many anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Avoid at all costs!

posted by mgrantz (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This is the WORST game I ever played. Controls are horrible, the button sequencing events are not fun, and the game gets super annoying rapidly. Further, I was never able to complete the sequence of getting on the train in Patagonia, making earning the platinum impossible.

I rented this game after reading a few posts about an easy 5-hour plat; plus I liked the show, so why not? But don't be misled by an "easy plat". I highly recommend avoiding this piece of garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its a decent game at most

posted by CherryPie (BRONX, NY) May 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

You play Bear Grylls himself and play in five missions from the show. The game itself has bad graphics and alot of glitchy moments but it wasn't Terminator Salvation bad. Its short and quick to beat in 3 hours and 5 hours if you are going for the Platinum. The game could have been good if they added more chapters to play, and put in more effort and money into this but ofcourse they didn't. Rent do not buy unless you are unable to rent this game its short and has almost no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stick to the show Bear

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) May 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The show man vs wild is awesome, but the game is lame.
very basic game functions, graphics could be better. I felt like i was playing a high-def version of jurassic park for sega genesis. If it was 1993 this game might be cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stinks

posted by painrainer (TWIN CITY, GA) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game stinks it only lets u build fires in certain spot it need to be more like sims castaway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gargbage!

posted by Junes2k (PRESTONSBURG, KY) May 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Easy platinum, if you can get past the horse ride... but its so bad its not even worth trying to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

y i think u should never buy this game

posted by ashleydejong (LAKE HAVASU CITY, AZ) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

booo this game is soo underdeveloped the idea was there but it didnt make it past the conception. If you r not a begginer gamer this game will not be a game 4 u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Man Vs Wild The Game

posted by Bigkev23007 (SOLON, OH) May 6, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I did not enjoy this game at all the graphics are horrible to look at the gameplay is repetitive and its just not fun the only thing its good for are easy trophies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Make Bear Grylls drink his P1ss

posted by killquick4 (HOMESTEAD, PA) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

honestly i rented this game after losing a bet and had to rent a very very bad game thankfully i chose this as it only wasted about 5 hours of my day so it wasn't to bad but to be serious the only enjoyment i had in this game was making bear grylls drink his urine just for the laughs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by shadow89004 (BILLINGS, MT) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for all man vs wild fans it has been recently getting bad comments and reviews the last level is not impossible people dont write a review on a game just to post hate comments on it. Iwould recommend this game to all man vs wild fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

had potential, but poor execution

posted by NCSFan001 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

This game could have been really good, but it was very poorly executed. Theres only five environments and a training area that can all be completed in about 4-5 hours, less if you don't go for the easy platinum trophy. The controls are bad and there are glitchy moments, and quite a few collectables as well. I don't recommend playing unless you are going for trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wild fun in the wild!!!

posted by lucareview (BUFFALO, NY) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

I had high hopes for this game. At some point, they started dropping, but I kept them anyway. When I FINALLY got it, I got a BURST of joy. When I get a job, I'll make a game similar to this one. I waited long, but it was 100 percent worth it. Here is how good everything in it was:
Graphics: Kinda plain, but that's not what made me give this game a nine.
sound: The soundtrack was great, but the announcer was annoying. Again, this isn't why man vs wild got a nine from me.
Entertainment: I don't think you should listen to the bad reviews. This game will keep you happy for at least two months. Hopefully it won't stop working forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glitched Trophy

posted by Axman77 (LAURENS, SC) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I'm a trophy hunter just like most community members i know around here are so i wanted to let all Community Members know if you are looking to obtain all Trophies/Platinum then the very last trophy on the list which is "Born Survivor" can cause you some trouble, but thier is a soulution..Read Carefully Below.

Trophy Glitched: Born Survivor
Solution:3 Soulutions Below

1: Replay All Chapters from Start to Finish ALL in one go/sit through. (Start to Finish includes playing the Tutorial/Base Camp Level all way to Chapter 5 in ONE sitting)

2:Try The XMB Trick if you find yourself about to die or become unable to continue with your mission

3: Worst case delete all game data & save data start fresh,you would then know the levels & should be able to get through it with careful play.

The 3rd option worked for me & i was able to get the Platinum i hope this information helps other community members..Also the game is fun for the survival type & a Trophy Hunters must have!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BAD

posted by JTV (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Sep 16, 2012

Member since May 2011

This game is full of problems and glitches. The platinum is easy but its confusing to figure out what counts as passing out for one of the trophies. Its too short to enjoy and the game play is boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by zach1217 (CHASE CITY, VA) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this is by far the WORST game i have ever played and I've played A LOT of games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you like the show, you'll like the game.

posted by Happyfish41 (WORCESTER, MA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I have been watching Man Vs. Wild since it came on a few years ago, and I am a big fan. The game is based on scenarios from the show. In each scenario you play as Bear - gathering supplies, managing hydration and energy, fighting wildlife, and working your way through the terrain of each different scenario. The controls are easy to learn and it is easy to get the hang of following your way through each scenario.

This is not a complex game. It is easy and fun. If you enjoy the show, then this game is worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) Jan 6, 2012

Member since May 2011

Don't the the threat of a quick Platinum convince you to rent this trash. I sent it back with only one trophy as it is just that bad. Garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rent only

posted by chopchop (ARVADA, CO) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

graphics were horrible
game play was pretty boring
lots of glitches

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

if your not a fan of the show....

posted by happyfun (ALPINE, CA) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

then dont bother. if you are then give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

man vs. wild

posted by xXipwnall21Xx (POWELL, TN) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i didnt like it at all. the only thing i liked were the places u went. the gameplay was terrible. i am a fain of adventure games and exploration games but this is one u need to pass up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Trophy Hunters beware

posted by hiryu3 (RICHMOND, VA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

Very easy game but this game is known to have serious trophy glitches. The Born Survivor trophy (for never passing out in any episode) glitches and will not unlock for some reason. If your screen goes black at all, just consider it that you passed out and restart the entire episode to avoid the glitch.

On the last mission when you have to jump on the train, watch the horse's butt to balance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get this game

posted by atmcabee (CARLSBAD, CA) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this game stinks dont get it. first it has bad graphics, trophies are bad, game play is bad and there are only like two buttons. this game has lots of bad glitches but overall it really hard and super stupid.
DONT GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its okay

posted by hetrickthewon (GARDNERS, PA) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The game is not long and very easy to play and trophys are easy to come by. the graphics are okay needs work and more interaction game play than what it has. I beat it in one day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sucks

posted by LoserMoM (DREXEL HILL, PA) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

In this game you can't even beat the last level before you are about to jump on the train bear falls off his horse for no frikin reason like what the heck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »