Rent Major League Baseball 2K9 for Wii
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K9

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.0

479 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Why Gamefly Was Invented.

posted by Stabby (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth $40 or $50. This is exactly the same game as last season (which was already a half hearted effort on the Wii.) with minimal to no improvements.

I should say with "one" improvement.

Batting is no longer only based on timing, so you're no longer likely to bash ten home runs a game with Juan Pierre. Now in addition to getting the timing right you must use the control stick to choose one of nine areas in the strike zone to direct your swing. This is a very welcome change.

Other than that, some pointless trading cards have been added, but still no online play or graphical improvement whatsoever.

That being said, as a hardcore baseball fan I've found the game to be kind of fun. The pitching system is the best on any console thanks to the wii remote. Probably hang on to it for a month, but no way would I pay full price for such an effortless outing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not for non hardcore gamers

posted by gcashmoney (ARCATA, CA) May 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

the game is great good graphics good control but if you are kinda new to baseball or rather baseball games this will be really complicated

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

same game every year

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Apr 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Thsi game is the same this year as the last few years, same fan shots before the game just with updated rosters, a few minor graphic updates and updated schedule. Its a fun game to play but i updated my 2K8 roster to match the 2k9 roster and i wasnt about to start a whole new season over by buying this game. Its a good game, but they really need to make alot of changes so they wont keep putting the same game out every year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hard

posted by DJReaction (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

hard to even hit the ball, I played it for hours on end and hit the ball maybe twice, you're either a little too early or little too late, pitching is cake but hitting difficult

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a disappointment

posted by lincolnhay (ASTORIA, NY) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pitching: fine. Batting: awful. I've played Wii Baseball countless times and really enjoy it, so I thought I'd enjoy this game. Not true. Batting in this game is impossilbe. The tutorial alone is frustrating as all get out and in a game situation I was lucky to get a base hit. The only way I got on base was to bunt. I struck people out left and right - three up/three down in most innings - but then I'd strike out at the plate every time. The "guess where the pitch will be" just threw off any kind of concentration one could have. And I was either early or late EVERY TIME. That can't be right. Time the swing and LATE, ok, swing earlier. EARLY. Ok, find the middle. LATE. EARLY. LATE. EARLY. LATE. Screw it, I'm playing Mario.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB 2K9

posted by Bohica1125 (DALLASTOWN, PA) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While this game was mildly entertaining the graphics made you almost think back to the days of the original nintendo. The gameplay really did not go that smoothly and just really bored you before you started. I would not even recommend this for a group of kids that have never seen a sports game being played. Sorry excuse for a sports game from Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont even bother

posted by KMR1978 (FEASTERVILLE TREVOSE, PA) May 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth the time it takes to figure out the menu. It took 20 minutes just to try and play a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS GAME!

posted by amnost (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I've played other MLB games before, but out of all the others this was the WORST! It was a pain to use the controls such as simply navigating through the main menu. Everything on screen was all cluttered. IT WAS A MESS! Do not rent this game. It will waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

"MLB 2K9" gives no help for new players

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is my first try into this franchise, and if this is how I'm going to get treated, it will be the last.
Most baseball games are kind enough to give an in game tutorial that will let me practice my hitting, fielding and pitching. MLB 2K9 gives me two of the three - which doesn't cut it.
There's no fielding tutorial, so I have no clue as to how to deal with line drives and fly balls.
There is a way to make a routine ground out, but the game won't tell me what it is. It's frustrating.
Adding to the aggravation are instances where my outfielder will stumble while chasing down a fly ball. Why? I have no idea.
Batting's no better; it's a guessing game between me and the pitcher as to which of the nine squares the pitch will go to.
It's a game I'll lose almost every time.
The third and last game I played, the AI's pitcher got a perfect game and struck me out twenty of the twenty seven times I went to the place.
When the basic game's no fun, I have no incentive to try any of the other modes that the game has.
MLB 2K9 was made for those who's already played the franchise on the Wii and know what they're doing.
But for those players like me who venture into the game for the first time, it's a waste of our time. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Bother

posted by willdawg (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

To rent or buy this game is a complete waste of time. It takes long enough for the game just to get started, and once it does don't even think about hitting the ball, it's impossible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad baseball game

posted by BubbaGump (OLYMPIA, WA) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this is the worst baseball game I've ever played it has the worst graphics and it has no idea how good some of the players in baseball are they even forgot to put roy holliday in the game and it makes hitting near impossible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game, Nothing Really Exciting

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This game is actually a 6.5 in my opinion. It's a good game, but there's nothing that really sparks your interest in it.
As always, 2K has an amazing association mode. I'm amazed that a game on the WIi would be this in depth in the managing part of the season. You can give offers to free agents, check your "email", scout people for the draft, and much much more.
I am an avid baseball fan and almost always find enjoyment in baseball video games, even if they are old. This game has good gameplay, and good graphics for the WIi, but nothing really sparked my imagination to keep it for a long time.

I suggest that you rent this game- it's good for a week or so- and then return it. You won't regret it, because it's really fun at first. And, if you don't want it anymore, just simply return it.

P.S: If you don't know anything about baseball or know very little, I think that you should pass on this game.

P.P.S: If you're thinking about renting The Bigs, this game is MUCH MUCH better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible, Not worth $50

posted by gamemania (MIDDLESEX, NJ) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

At the beginning of my first game I could not even get past the pitching tutorial. If I was 2 ft. away i would though it 5ft. toward the stands. Never rent this game EVER! If you want a good game rent Little League World Series 2008 or 2009 or another magor league game but not this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB 2k9 wii

posted by kingspane (PORT TOWNSEND, WA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

This game is easily the worst game for Wii that i have played! if you want a good game do not get this one absulute waste of my time! DONT GET IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by lelouchp11 (COLUMBIA, SC) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

It is one of the best games i have played on the wii. This game is for anyone. But it might take time to get used to hitting. Other than that it is easy. That is why it got a 10 out of 10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is a pitcher's game

posted by DocJM1 (EDWARDSVILLE, IL) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I really enjoyed getting 15+ strikeouts per game; however, I did not enjoy getting shut out almost 90% of the time. I only played the one player mode, but I thought batting was a little ridiculous. Not only do you have to get the timing right, you also have to select to zone that the ball will be in when it crosses the plate. Those two controls are with separate controlers (remote and nunchuck). On top of that you have to select to hit a ground ball by holding A or select to go long by holding B. Worst of all is the check swing control. To check swing you cannot simply stop swinging the bat in time you also have to hold A and B at the same time! That is not just doing two things at once, that is doing at least three things at one time. Maybe for a skilled gamer, this game would be a fun challenge, but for a novice like me it was no fun not scoring. Good luck gamers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a very easy game to play

posted by radtec (CLEARWATER, FL) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

Difficult game to play and not easily able to beat the computer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thank you Gamefly

posted by igendreau (BIRDSBORO, PA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Already saved my monthly fee by not buying this game.

Forget the graphics, we all knew we were getting a sub-par graphics system when we bought the Wii in the first place.

Batting is bad. I understand making it more difficult, but having to select one of the 9 quadrants while swinging makes it awkward and doesn't make it nearly as natural as even Wii Sports baseball.

Pitching is worse. At least in Wii Sports baseball, it matters how fast you move your arm. No correlation in this. Way to easy to paint whatever corner you want.

Has it's moments, not a total loss, but I will keep playing EA's MVP Baseball 2005 on my PC before I jump on the Wii to play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

should have been better

posted by gamer8904 (ANAHEIM, CA) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

hitting is succy and the stats are fake totall rippppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp!ppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

AWSOME BASEBALL GAME EXACTLY WHAT I WAS LOOKIN FOR

posted by FOOLISH (TEMPE, AZ) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

THIS GAME WAS WHAT A BASEBALL GAME SHOULD BE. IF YOU ARE LIKE ME THAN IT IS A LITTLE DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND AT FIRST BUT IF U ARE A GAMER ITS PERFECT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Single A at Best

posted by TiredTeach (BINGHAMTON, NY) May 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The graphics are not even close to the 128 bit systems. The batting the is horrid and the pitching is too easy. Perhaps they should sell their contract back to EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what?

posted by insaneman6 (CHARLOTTE, VT) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

it is confusing how do you play with two players??????????????????- ?????????????????????????- ?????????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very hard to enjoy

posted by Roll300 (GLENS FALLS, NY) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game was hard for me to enjoy, Ive never really devoted any time to a baseball game and im fairly new to the wii. I found the game to be boring, hard to swing when batting with the nun chuk attached, also found it hard to do anything but pop out or ground out. I couldnt beat anyone at the home run derby and found it to take at least an hour just to lose a game. The game for me was simply annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Give it a few days... it gets easier.

posted by ateuperic (ENGLEWOOD, FL) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Okay. You've probably read the other reviews, so I'll focus on what they didn't say...

First, this game takes a few days to get used to. I lost the first ten games or so, mostly due to not being able to even hit a single. After a few days the hitting got much easier and now I can beat the Red Sox pretty easily, which is nice for me. Just remember that most pitchers are going to throw strikes. Don't swing on the first pitch though. Get inside the pitcher's head.

Second, the pitching is fun. Not much else to say about that...

Third, fielding sucks... at first. Press B to throw to the cut-off guy. Again, after a few days, this gets easier too.

The base running is pretty difficult too.

This game is pretty challenging, but what do you want? Life is challenging. Practice makes perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible!!

posted by dseraf (COLLEGEVILLE, PA) Mar 11, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game is horrible, absolutely the worst baseball game made since the Triple Play games for N64. What a joke, I was looking forward to buying this, and thank god for Gamefly, because that just save me 50 bucks. Where do I start, the graphics look like they are Sega Saturn/PSOne. The gameplay is horrible, the pitching is alright, but the batting interface is a mess. You have to waggle the remote and also position the hitting cursor, which is next to impossible, it becomes a total guessing game, and is not fun at all. The Homerun derby is a joke, you can't select who to pick from, and for some reason it defaults to include guys like Jerry Hairston Jr. as top HR Sluggers...This is a cheap port, that must've taken all of one day to produce...Total garbage, STAY AWAY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse