Rent Major League Baseball 2K9 for PS3
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K9

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

473 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unreliable MLB 2K9

posted by SonyHDNA (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Despite all the negative reviews, I thought I'd still give Major League Baseball 2K9 a chance. What a true disappointment! This seems like an incomplete game. Four out of five games that I played in Franchise Mode froze after the 5-6th inning! This game seemed rushed to be released and has to rely on patches to fix what should have been done correctly the first time. This disc went right back into the GameFly envelope and into the mailbox before my PS3 cooled. I'm anxiously awaiting Sony's MLB: The Show 2K9. Shame on 2K Sports for releasing such a buggy game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unbelievable... how bad can a game get?

posted by majorgamor (BOISE, ID) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The customization is great (You can put your batting gloves in your back pocket while base-running and fielding or god sake!)... that's the end of the good news.

Control - horrible
Presentation - Although it presents like a TV game, that's not exactly a good thing #1, and the people/seats are very fake. I was in fenway opening day and there were a ton of empty seats... bottom of the 8th 4-3 up by one and it was silent... lame.
Graphics - Pretty good, but that's expected now days.

Quite literally everything about this game was frustrating. The menu, the control, the gameplay, the settings, player creation, roster setup... the list goes on. T=Should have gone with "The Show" first. Now I have to wait!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

2K9

posted by jonboxer12 (ROSEMEAD, CA) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To be honest this game is not great. I gave a try and I was very disappointed. Thank god that they made it faster unlike 2k8 but still not a game that you would want to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!

posted by crimopolis (IRVINGTON, NJ) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is flat out the worst baseball game ever!! You can tell this is an unfinished game (ex: the help files are not even in the game). Glaring obvious bugs that will annoy you(ex: your fielders wander around the field w/o tagging the runners or stepping on the base 6-10 errors a game). this is just a stripped down version of last years game (ex: you can not edit the game play settings as in last years version, you can not hire/fire managers and staff). Make sure you rent before you buy no matter what. this will be sold for 30 bucks in a month. they never should have released an incomplete game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you have PS3 Play The Show

posted by Mark22036 (WILLIAMSON, NY) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

2k sports should be embarassed!!! They know that WII or 360 owners will not be able to get The Show, so they just threw this piece of garbage together. The graphics look like last generation, the fielding motions are jerky, the bats are too small, the players uniforms look like they are spray painted on, there are no shadows at all on the fields, the spectators look terrible, there are way too many homeruns, the players have no shape ( the just go straight down) the total control pitching is ridiculous, the swing animation looks and sounds stupid,(too fast), the balls appear out of nowhere when hitting, and the game is just not fun. I hope 2k sports doesnt get exclusive rights again. Please please please I beg, let their be competition again. MLB 2k9, plays like it should be called MLB '98. Although Id rather play RBI Basebal or Baseball Stars than this junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

if you have a ps3 buy the show!!!!!

posted by OZZY4275 (SUNNYSIDE, NY) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i just bought a new hd tv. so i was siked to try out both baseball games. boy what a difference. the show runs so much smoother than 2k9. the pixalation is horrible on 2k9 and the pitcher/batter interface is stupid. do not buy this game if you own a ps3. go with the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hitting

posted by tcron (NEW RINGGOLD, PA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Very hard to hit during the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game Ever

posted by Mwhite56 (WALLA WALLA, WA) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

I have played SEVERAL baseball games but this game is probably the worst i've ever played. The commentary is from people I like but is poorly put together, the graphics look like they are from a Gamecube game, and the gameplay is completely terrible. I'm going to have to say if you rent this game you will regret it and if you buy it you'll probably die from realizing you just spent money on possibly the worst baseball game ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Half bad

posted by redsox479 (PEABODY, MA) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I don't understand all of the bad reviews, this game hasn't frozen on me once. It has slightly better picture quality than 2k8 as well. I can't bleive how fast you can speed the game up, If you wish you could probably finish a game in 20 minutes. It even has all of the correct stances every batter has. All in all this game is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB 2k9 not worth it

posted by Gamer287 (SONOMA, CA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I thought that i would love this game because i love baseball, and i like how they put lincecum on the front. Even though they have a great player on the front doesn't mean that this game can be horrible. Why i say this is because they controls are bad, the way you bat is horrible, even the way you pitch is horrible. You cant even choose your pitch. Also another thing that made me really mad was the fact that they did a horrible job on how they made the players. Velez from the Giants doesn't even look like him. Same with Pablo Sandoval. I say screw this game and play MLB 09 the show, or wait until MLB 10 or whatever it will be called.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed

posted by imarc3g (El Paso, TX) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I received this game today, and I must say I was disappointed, From the moment the menu pops out, it gets very confusing. I didnt like the controls, the graphics. and the online gameplay is too poor too. If you have to buy a baseball game , get The Show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by Savannah42 (RENO, NV) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I bought this game because overall i like the controls better than the Show. I wasn't happy with only being able to play frachise mode as a career. With the show you get Franchise, Road to the Show, and Season. The graphics on the show are much more life like also. Like I said I liked the control better but overall the Show is a much better game and i would stick with it. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT GET GAME!!

posted by Jake94 (EDWARDSVILLE, IL) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This maybe the worst baseball game ever made. Its very confusing and hard and non realistic. Ive like 2k9 baseball games in the past but this is just the worse. Whatever you do... do NOT get this game and if you do, you will be sorry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nail in the coffin of the franchise..

posted by Stromp (Webster, TX) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

When I first got 2k4, and 2k5 right after the Sox won their first series in 90 years, and Manny was on the cover.

It was a great baseball franchise. They had IMO resurrected Baseball as a viable gaming sport (compared to Football and Basketball which with EA dominate).

The trading elements, the stadium design control and management (i.e. manager abilities, like ticket prices, setting up extra seating, making your franchise into a profitable baseball business).

They've gone completely backwards.

It's impossible to make a good pitch on this game. You have no idea when you're in the sweet spot. The CPU will hit off you at will your pitching is so bad. Throwing equally as bad...because they start your meter "after" you start pressing the button, which screws you up. Directional hitting is terrible. The bat concept is terrible. Franchise is terrible.

I just don't see how they could go backwards from the pitch meter, and excellent controls they used to have. They've made base running complicated instead of good. Yes, you should at features, but not at the cost of good game controls.

Just awful. Will have to try MLB the Show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not that bad.

posted by bulldog83 (BEL AIR, MD) May 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

i bought m.l.b the show first. Downloaded 2k9 from the network demos, and really liked it. It does not look as good as the show but does play better. Its more realistic then the show, An the game play is more fun. You use the right stick to do differnt pitches and bat. It just makes playing more intresting an fun. I'm not saying to rush out an buy it, but you should atleast rent it. The game is worth a shot. Plus 2k9 has home run derby the show does not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really bad

posted by heynon (ARVADA, CO) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

This game sucks! Dont get! Bad graphics, not realistic, never get! 2K7 on PS2 has better graphics and is more realistic. i extremely hated it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Baseball games need to be less complicated.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Mar 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

I am not a big sports fan when it comes to gaming. But, having played MLB 2K9, I have yet to be swayed as to how fun they can be. This years MLB is a bit of an upgrade from '08, but still miles away from being perfect let alone exciting. Many small flaws in the controls add up to a frustrating time doing the basics like fielding and batting. The analog swing can be very inaccurate for something as simple as batting. You cannot adjust your player's position in the batting box. So when you push back to swing and follow through, it makes it harder to judge where you want to hit the ball. After much trial and error playing with the LA Dodgers, I found that I hit 10x more foul balls than actual hits. More precision in the batting for next years game please. The pitching is decent and I like how every pitch is given a specific motion on the analog stick. Allowing you to adjust the angle of the pitch helps give you more accuracy. The fielding and base running are mapped out on the controller quite well, but it seems that the players do not move fast enough when fielding a pop fly or ground ball. Having each button correspond to a certain base makes things a bit confusing when you have bases loaded and someone hits a grounder into left field. It would have been better if there was one button designated to throw and we got to use the analog stick to choose where to throw to. The commentary does get a bit stale and the graphics get a bit blurred when the camera pulls out to the outfield. The overall graphics are nice and the player models are large and detailed. Maybe its just me, but I miss the simpler baseball games where the controls where as simple as pressing a button. If you like baseball, then MLB 2K9 is worth a look at, but with a new one in the works, I would put of buying the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game blows!

posted by lex27nia (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

Unlike its cousin NBA 2k9, this game does not upload the recent rosters for you to use in the franchise mode. The game basically sucks in general. Hope to get MLB the show 09...very happy with MLB the Show 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »