Rent Major League Baseball 2K8 for Wii
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

622 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

MLB2K8 Surprises and Delivers

posted by Moodys13 (LEXINGTON, SC) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MY WIFE SURPRISED ME WITH THIS GAME. I WASN'T EXCITED BECAUSE MLB 2K8 FOR PS2 WASN'T MY FAVORITE. BUT PLAYING IT ON THE WII WAS GREAT! THE GRAPHICS WERE GOOD AND THE GAMEPLAY WAS BETTER. HITTING WAS EASY AND THE PITCHING WAS CHALLENGING.THE BASERUNNING WAS HARD TO GET USED TO, AND THE FIELDING GETS EASIER WITH PLAYING MORE. I REALLY LIKED THIS GAME AND ANYONE WHO LIKES SERIOUS SPORTS GAMES SHOULD PLAY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fun for a game or two till the AI gets uber cheap

posted by acsgamer (DENVER, CO) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first I liked this game.

Then the flaws started to show like the really hot chick who after a week turns out to be a psychopath.

Here's why the game stinks:

1. "Inside Edge" Never works; Staying in a batters cold zone with .192 average yields as many home runs as throwing it right down the middle

2. Random players hit constant HR's: Sean green hit 4 off of me in 2 games and got a total of 8 hits even though I through every ball in his cold zone.
5. Fielding is completely wacky. There must be some magical zone that you have to be in in order to field. Far too often you charge the ball only to have it bounce by you without your player even looking at it. Or you'll line up for a fly ball and the circle moves at the last second causing your player to lunge like an idiot. Rarely do you drop these balls but it really takes away realism.

6. CHEAP AI!!: Have fun when you are in a tie game in the 9th and hit back to back HR's only to have both robbed in deep center field by a crippled Jim Edmonds scaling the wall like he was 20. This happens A TON! I got robbed of game changing HR's 3 times in 2 games! Twice in a tie game late and once when down by 4 with the bases loaded in the 8th!! NICE!!! That is not fun at all and grossly impossible. Also, be prepared for the other team who was stifled all day to unleash a barrage of hits the last moments of the game. Especially when you throw it in a cold zone. They'll blast it ever time.

All in all this game takes away all the fun of baseball. Its mostly a HR derby on both sides of the ball. Rarely does a single score a runner.

The AI is cheap, the hitting random, the INsiders Edge inaccurate and pointless, and overall that game feels buggy and arcadey without any arcade flare.

STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What's everyone's problems

posted by geeper (BARKSDALE AFB, LA) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This is a baseball game. If you are looking for a game that's goofball fun and super exciting, go to the BIGS!! If you are a purist, like myself, you will enjoy nearly every aspect of the game. Here are the many plusses and a few minuses.

Pros: Ballparks are accurate and players attributes are nearly accurate to a T. Trades cannot just be made, Computer thinks about lineups and everything when evaluating a trade. The insude edge works, contrary to popular belief. All the inside edge does is give you the tendencies each player you "own" has. Any baseball fan knows that any player can hit any pitch, regardless of hot or cold zones. If shawn green hit 4 homers off you in two games, then make better pitches. I like the fact that my catcher, McCann, calls pitches for me. Yeah, he's wrong sometimes and I place it wrong sometimes, but it plays like baseball. So what about graphics, grow up and stop being a nerd. People complain about no minor leagues, again, grow up. If you play minor leagues, where only two players are good per team, then you suck. Bottom line is the game plays like baseball should.

Cons: Okay, there are a few. SOmetimes, the computer selects the wrong fielder and someone will get an infield single. You check swing way too much, but that's a settings thing. If your batter has a good eye and you don't fully swing, you just flick, then you check a lot. Running takes a little getting used to and stil lcan cause headaches when bases are juiced or with two on. The only other con is that rosters aren't completely updated but with a little work, they can be. Only real player issue is that some aren't there, like players that could make the big team but haven't played in a major league game yet. This makes teams incomplete in some cases but most the players missing would be rated garbage anyhow.

Like I said, this plays real. You can make mistakes with pitches and miss hit the ball. If you are engaged in a home run derby, up the difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So much potential, so much dissapointment...

posted by Wii60Gamer (DORCHESTER, MA) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was obviously rushed out the door and if I had purchased it instead of renting, I would have been very mad. This is one of those games (like a number of Wii games sadly) that will leave you thinking about all the wasted potential...

While I don't expect great graphics on the Wii, the graphics on this game are terrible, we're talking PS1 level.

Even worse, the motion controls are pretty weak, with the exception of pitching which makes the best use of motion controls (and may even be better than the pitching system in the 360 & PS3 versions). Batting on the other hand is very frustrating. Making contact feels somewhat arbitrary and at the same time it's way too easy to hit home runs. Additionally, the "precision fielding" system isn't in this version of the game for some reason, which makes no sense to me...

There's also a major bug in the franchise mode where the second season (and beyond) inexplicably gets shortened to about a month or so. Go to the 2K Sports Forums if you want more info about the bug. Just know that it ruins franchise mode.

I understand the the first iteration of a game on a new system is going to be flawed but this just feels quickly thrown together and poorly tested. Apparently 2K Sports spent all their development time on the pitching system... fine, but what about the rest of the game?

Lets just hope 2K9 is a far better game. In Summary:

Positives:
- The Pitching system is great and is frankly the the best part of the game.
- Can be fun to play after making some serious slider adjustments

Negatives:
-PS1 level graphics (look at the players eyes!)
-Batting is frustrating and gets boring very quick.
-Lack of the XBOX 360 & PS3 "precision fielding" system
-Major franchise glitch that makes it impossible to play more than one season
-No online play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It Had Potential

posted by Bozo33 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jul 10, 2008

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The title says it all. The game had potential, but didn't come through. Baseball is a sport that should fit the Wii perfectly, but hasn't yet. Here's a list of the big problems I encountered:

- The game is buggy. I've thrown out guys at 1st for the 3rd out, but they've allowed the runner on 3rd to score. That's inexcusable.

- I looked for a way to sort free agents by ratings, but couldn't find anything. There aren't even separated by position during the season.

- Contracts in the game do not match real life. For example, Francisco Cordero is signed for 4 years in real life, but only for 1 year in the game.

- Contracts are not believable. 80 OA pitchers will sign for under a million dollars, for example.

- Bad AI. Teams will trade young, mid-80 OA SP for older players who are near retirement. When the computer rests a starter, they put the backup in his batting spot. Thus bums are batting 4th in the order. Just a couple examples.

- The Wii remote is not used effectively. It's the same motion for every pitch. You would think they could arrange it so each pitch has a different motion with the Wii remote. The Bigs tried that and failed, but you'd think 2k would be able to get it right. Batting is pretty good, but you'll still check your swing at least once a game when you don't want to do so.

- Player ratings are not very good. Brandon Phillips was one of the best 2B in the league last year and is a very, very average player in the game. Then there is Corey Patterson, whom the game thinks is good enough to start for a lot of teams. Bad.

So like I said, this game could and should have been good, but it's not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Bigs is WAYYYY better.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) May 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loaded this game up, started an exhibition game...didn't even make it through the first inning. This game is as boring as watching paint dry. The controls are very poor. If you wanna play a good baseball game get the bigs. This one just isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best baseball games EVER!!!

posted by wiilover27 (TEMECULA, CA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since May 2006

i just got it a little bit ago,but it's the BEST baseball games i have ever played(it's the only baseball game i've ever played),i sugest you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

m

posted by kennyp98 (MOUNT GILEAD, OH) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

this game is sooooooo awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth renting or buying

posted by Barlym (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Graphics is pretty good, but controls are the worst. Baseball was meant for controllers and not for Wii controllers. This is perhaps the reason for the poor response time when hitting and fielding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by jzhockey97 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game truly isn't bad for a first generation effort. It is fun to play and, unlike many Wii sports games, the controls actually make logical sense. The pitching controls are innovative and fun, though it would be more enjoyable if you actually had to perform a different motion to throw different pitches like curves and sliders.

My biggest gripe was with the batting. I didn't find it realistic at all. First of all, the virtual distance between batter and pitcher is way too short, making it very difficult to actually be selective while hitting. I ended up swinging at most every pitch that wasn't way out of the strike zone. Also, the home runs hitters on your team hit home runs far too often. Pujols and Rolen went back to back three times in the second game I played. This element will need some tweaking.

Overall, though, it was what I expected and an enjoyable experience. I'll wait until 2K9 comes out and the price comes down before getting ripped off for the $40 or so it costs. Not really worth it when the next generation will probably be decently improved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Franchise is Broken

posted by HugoPepper (ATHENS, GA) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The gameplay is great. not complaints here about that.

Wanna know what bites? The franchise mode doesn't work! I played an entire season, went to the playoffs and, although i had my settings set for 5-7-7 playoffs ... it opted to give me 1 game playoffs.

I had already played 162, so I figured, welp might as well keep rolling. I went through the off season, signing great pitchers and making my team rule and such. Then I went to the next season.

The season was 10 games long.

No!!!! What's the point of having a franchise and keeping awesome baseball stats if you can only play 10 games per season?

How am I supposed to hit 90 homeruns in a single season if i can only play 10 games!?!?!

This made me sad. To all you hardcore franchisers out there. You're in for some disappointment. Sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Disappointing

posted by cmac2010 (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I was very excited when i saw that this title had been released for the wii. However, the graphics are absolutely horrible, and the gameplay is way too easy. Something is wrong when Manny and Papi hit a homerun almost everytime they come up to bat and u are beating teams like 18-3. The pitching controls were actually very good though (just as good as 360 pitching controls). This game had so much potential but turned out to be a real disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by bandman (WETUMPKA, AL) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

It isn't a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rushed Out (Baseball Should Be Good On Wii)

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jul 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

The iterface is pretty nice (but basic), it does not feel polished. The graphics are ok. The pitching is terrible and it would be nice to have a better camera to see when you switch positions. At least I rented it and not bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by ilovebball (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

This is a really cool game. I like the controls, but it's hard to get used to. It's a fun game anyway and it will get you moving around. I give it 4.5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game for entire family

posted by Vi0L8r (BOONE, IA) May 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I haven't played a baseball game since EA baseball '03 and this was definitely much more fun. My 3 and 5 year olds could play the homerun derby without problem. 162 game season franchises are unrealistic for me since a 9 inning game takes about an hour. Also it would be nice to be able to share a single controller between multiple batters for HR derby (unless I couldn't figure out how then my bad). The overall controls were great with a nice combination of basic controls being easy to master and advanced moves being difficult. The big problem I had was with pitch recognition, it would be nice if they made the ball a different color at the release point according to the batter's awareness. Considering those were the only things I wasn't thrilled about with this game I think that's a positive. I'll likely buy this game once the price comes down or wait and see what upgrades are made to next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty slick!!!!

posted by scottynic (MANVILLE, NJ) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

bizarrely accurate player movements... almost all swings and pitching throws are just like the real guys... pitching is very well designed, very user controlled... the harder you move controller forward the faster,bigger the movement...

batting is tough to get down, but still is neat and user based also...you can control where you hit ball with nunchuck..

overall i really liked,enjoyed playing this game...

highly recommend to anyone...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Way better than expected!

posted by DegoFever (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

Great use of the wii's controller mechanics without being too gimmicky or useless. pitching mechanics work well, and the target system (Z button) for multiplayer games is great too.

the only complaints I have are lack of online roster updates, and a the Wall Climb control is at best sketchy, and at worst completely unresponsive. Despite all that, this is far and away the best 3rd party sports game for the Wii so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Major League Baseball 2K8 Wii Version

posted by navycop31 (ROYSE CITY, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

You'd be better off getting the 360 or PS3 version of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK I guess

posted by sigman (KISSIMMEE, FL) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Some of the same bugs that have plagued 2K sports' baseball games since MLB 2K5 are still intact. If you pinch hit for a pitcher, the batter cannot stay in the game (unless he is to be a meatball pitcher). The pitching interface is awesome, but the batting leaves much to be desired with many false swings and the check swing doesn't always work. Also, don't bother trying to determine if the pitch will be a ball or a strike, because if you wait until the ball is visible to swing at it, you'll be late. No customization of the players' appearance, even for created players. You get a random guy and can't even change the skin color (but you can change the height, weight, and body type). Overall, this game is OK, but there are too many glaring issues for me to like it. I would rather play the graphically challenged MLB Power Pros than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For Baseball It Is Good, BUT WHERE IS THE WIFI?

posted by Type2Logic (EAST TAUNTON, MA) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The controls are easy enough to follow and it is a really nice package, but my question is.... WHERE IS THE WIFI!

I can't stand playing solo sports and then to boot, I have no option for WiFi.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did I just play an N64 game?

posted by WiiRocks (FORT COLLINS, CO) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

I don't usually care about graphics in a game, but this game actually looked like an n64 game. Not only were the graphics horrible, the controls were stupid and unresponsive. This was one of the few games that i have returned the day i relieved it. I highly recommend getting "The Bigs" if you want to play a decent baseball game, but DO NOT GET THIS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a disappointment!!!

posted by LolaMaisy (San Clemente, CA) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

What a difference a year can make! Unlike a lot of Wii players, I rent a game for the sheer enjoyment. I really don't care about graphics, bugs or anything tech-related really. So after playing MLB 2K7, I was really looking forward to the release of 2K8. All I can say is what a disappointment!!

To me, it seemed like the game designers were so worried about getting the little details so life-like, that they overlooked one big thing--it's boring!! The game looks and sounds good, but that's it.

I found the different options very confusing. So much so, it took about 30 minutes for me to lose total interest. I love my sports game usually, but MLB 2K8 was, to put it simply, just no fun. Best advice...don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »