Rent Major League Baseball 2K8 for PS3
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.6

925 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Has it's flaws but Still An Excellent game

posted by EliteOne (JACKSON, OH) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

When I first started playing this game I didn't really care for it the pitching it was hard to master but once I got the timing down it kind of made the game more interesting.
I feel the graphics are better than MLB 08 The Show. The Stadium, Players, and Animations. Only thing Graphic wise I noticed was the up close views were better on MLB 08.
Gameplay once you get used to the batting and pitching is really pretty awesome, much better than the button masher MLB 08. It gives you more control and brings you into the game, but if you like the button masher type games it has the option to change.
MLB 08 The Show has way too many glitches in it to make it fun I was fighting the game the whole time I was playing it. I hit a fly ball to the outfield and it dropped between 2 outfielders, The AI had the Catcher come to get the ball while the other 2 outfielders just stood there and looked at it. That is just to name 1 instance but there were many more.
Only thing I had a problem with on MLB 2K8 was the game kept freezing in the middle of a Game and I kept loosing all the previously played games I didn't save.
Overall The game was much better than most people are posting on here, but it gets some getting used too but once you understand the game play it is Truly A much better game than MLB 08 The Show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Can i get a good PS3 game Please?

posted by AILDfreak (RIO RANCHO, NM) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Well i was excited for the release of this game but from the first time i played it i was glad i had game fly so i could send it back. what can i say the graphics are not to great with shaky animations. the cut scenes are bad too. i hit a walk of home run and the crowd didnt stand up and cheer and the dugout didnt clear. another bad thing is the pitching control. the new pitching feature is very hard to master and until you learn it very well you will get lit up all day long by the opposing team. I was interested in the franchise feature but was very disapointed at the fact you only have control of ticket prices, trades, call ups send downs and playing in the game witch gets very boring very quickly. oh and the game makes the players butts look very very big. This dissapointing baseball game gets a 4 out of 10. look for the price of the game to drop very soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hidden Gem

posted by JohnnyQ (WACO, TX) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played both 2K8 and The Show, and I must say that 2K8 is more realistic than The Show, because let's face it, The Show turns into a HR Derby more times than not.

The Graphics in 2K8 are very sub-par, especially for NextGen. The Player Models are pathetic, and there are some frame rate issues at times during fielding. Plain and simple, The Show is a far more visually satisfying experience, especially with the Player Models, which are top notch.

With that said, there has never been a better Batter/Pitcher interface in a baseball game than there is in 2K8. And that is where you spend most of the game, is it not?

Is pitching difficult? Yep. But guess what, pitching in real life is no cake walk either. It is so immersive that I feel like I'm back on my H.S. baseball team, taking the mound. Success and failure will ultimately depend on whether or not you can hit your spots or not. If you can, and not throw "Meatballs", then anyone can EASILY keep teams under 5-10 runs a game. But if you just start throwing them down the middle, expect to get lit up. (Duh)

Then batting, like in real life, is all about timing. If you got it, you will hit, plain and simple. Also, in 2K8 you can also "direction" hit (as in to move a runner over to 3rd by hitting to the right side of the infield), which is something I still can't do in The Show.

If you TAKE THE TIME TO LEARN HOW TO PITCH, the game is flat out realistic. If you hit your spots, more so then just throwing fast, you will get outs (Look at Greg Maddux's career).

But if you give up because the pitching is too difficult, I guess the face button method of batting and pitching interface is more suited for you anyways. Not that that is a bad thing though. It just suits some better, that's all.

But for me, I like sub double digit run games, like in real life, than having HR Derbys every other game that you can get with The Show.

Only the sub-par graphics keeps this game out of a 10.

Just one man's opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is absolute garbage

posted by ficarrar (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I played this game for 5 minutes and hate it. The graphics, animation, camera angles are terrible. 2k should be ashamed of themselves for continually producing garbage each baseball season. Now I have to resort to playing MLB The Show which isn't that great, but a LOT better than this horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2k8 is top notch....

posted by knowledge4 (REDLANDS, CA) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

MVP was the greatest baseball game ever made. With that said, 2k8 is just below it. The thing about most games that suck is that there is no skill involved. They are made for little kids. MVP and 2k8 are real games. I give it a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Decent

posted by crocopisbk (GARNET VALLEY, PA) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

its a lot better then 2k7 was i say go with the show if your a hardcore baseball fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DISAPOINTING

posted by nineball (SANFORD, ME) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's hard to believe they couldn't improve a game like 2k7, I mean the grafix somehow got worse,the pitching is hard to control,and the fielding is totaly different than in previous years. They had an ok game before and changed the only good things about it. I can't believe I was actualy looking forward to this game getting to me so that I could just send it back. EA SPORTS PLEASE MAKE ANOTHER BASEBALL GAME AND SAVE US FROM THESE HORRIBLE WANNABEES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MLB 2K8

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Well let me start by saying the first day I played it I liked it. The pitching and batting was different, even somewhat hard, and as a result I lost the first 3 games. So I changed the setting to rookie and guess what, I still haven't won a game. The computer AI won't let you win. Every time I pitch the ball the computer AI always hit home runs, when it's my turn to bat I strike out. Last game I played the computer AI scored 35 points, I scored 2 points this is at the rookie setting. I'm glad I didn't set the game at pro or above. The bottom line is this game was made to be unfair, don't rent or buy this game. GameInformer gave this game a score of 8. I don't know how. Stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent all around Baseball gaming experience

posted by Gmingpsyco (BURLINGTON, VT) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I will agree that some props need to be giving up for the game to the extent that it is more than just a roster update from the previous year. However, there is nothing in the game that compares to the reality of MLB '09 the show.

The new pitcher interface is ok to say the least, and the swing stick control, a lot of people I see state they can't hit because of it, me personally I found it very easy to gain the upper hand against the AI and began hitting more than 10 HRs a game.

It can be fun if you're looking for the arcade style baseball games. If you're looking for realism go with the Show!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SO sad

posted by Ozwald (KING GEORGE, VA) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Baseball games have taken a huge downfall in the last year or so in my opinion.

What i mean by that is, the game creators are trying to make the games controls way to complex, i have to look back at the control screen just to remember everything because there is 80 bajillion button combos that do all kinds of different things depending on wether you are batting, pitching, running, fielding... It gets kinda annoying afterwhile.

Another thing that will bother you is replays, there is a replay after EVERYTHING, after a pitched strike, pitched ball, hit, pitcher walking back to the mound after a hit, catcher getting setup, its so irritating...its like you just want to scream "I JUST WANT TO PLAY THE GAME!"

The Total Control pitching in this game is also kind of annoying, the slightest drift of the stick even a milimeter off in the wrong direction and it makes you throw a meatball which the AI hits a homer off of almost every single time...

Not to mention the 3 stop process involved in the Total COntrol Pitching is just annoying, its not like 2k7 where you judge power and accuracy, now you have power/accuray/efficiency of the pitch...that as well is quite a turn off from this games true potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i never received the game

posted by leeclemons (CANOGA PARK, CA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

i never received this game can you send the hulk game because i never played our seen the baseball game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

disappointed

posted by jungdaddy (Syracuse, NY) Jun 21, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2k7 was much better.
just go with MLB 08 the show IF you have a ps3.
but if you just own a xb360....this is only baseball game out there. so your choice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For the very coordinated

posted by dezreid (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Jun 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game puts you in COMPLETE control of your players. They will not do anything you don't tell them to do. For a casual player like myself, it was a bit too left brain/right brain. Too many decisions to make too quickly for me.

The control you have over the pitching is really good but too "rich" for my play style. For hardcore wanting to control down to the nth degree, they might like it but it wasn't my cup of tea. It is not a pick up and play type of game and that is what I am looking for in my game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The same problem on XBOX 360

posted by Bighurt (BOWIE, MD) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

The PS3 version had the same problem that the XBOX 360 had but worst. The game get stuck while playing it. What makes this game worst than the XBOX 360 version. PS3 doesn't have vibration in the controller which means you can't judge when you are making a bad pitch. Hopefully next year the will have a return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Need better controller options.

posted by mythoughts (EAST LIVERPOOL, OH) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This is a terrible game its not like baseballs game use to be. The controls are hard and I think it should be X to hit the ball on offense and defence should be arrow to move ur guy and L1 turbo when you getting the ball.Also I think O should be First base,Triangle 2nd base,Square 3rd base and X home base when you hit the button.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but hard to learn

posted by pspphanati (SECAUCUS, NJ) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

the controls weren't as intuoitve as that other baseball game demo i played. in the other game you simply hit x to throw to home plate for example & swiong the 6-axos like it was a bat.

in this game it took me a whole game to figuire out how to swing and i still dont know how to throw the ball from the outfield to teh infield

i still hae it out cause im a baseball junkie, if anybody can give me a quick easy how-to that'd be cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Baseball 2K8 Missing Key Features

posted by DuckFan43 (EUGENE, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Overall MLB 2K8 is an above average game missing key features that could help catch MLB The Show. Unlike The Show, 2K8 does not have a Career mode. While you can create your own player, it does not let you negotiate your own contract and follow your progession through the ranks. The graphics are fine, and the pitching and hitting mechanics are the best feature to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good not great

posted by hammer4 (DICKINSON, ND) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

Gameplay was fun - when it worked. The inside edge aspect and the total control pitching were very cool but I just couldn't get by the fact that I had to keep rebooting the system. My PS3 is brand new so it had to be the disc. This happened the most while I was adjusting the teams' lineups - so save your game! Gameplay sliders need to be adjusted to avoid the 15-0 scores one way or the other but that wasn't too difficult to do. The gameplay was very fun and the pitching was unlike any other I have ever tried. It worked well, once I got the hang of it. Good to try but I am betting that The Show will be a better overall game. I look forward to next year's edition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME SUCKS

posted by JOSTAV (BELLE GLADE, FL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

THIS GAME IS REALLY BUT REALLY BAD IT NOT EVEN DONE THE GRAPHICS ARE HORRIBLE.PLEASE DON'T EVEN RENT OR BUY THIS GAME MLB THE SHOW IS WAY BETTER.EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GAME SUCKS AND I MEAN EVERYTHING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by dakydd (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Garbage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why is this a downgrade from last year?

posted by scooterge (BALLWIN, MO) Apr 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

Why indeed. Last year's entry into the baseball stadium with 2k7 was ok, but this one is terrible. The pitching interface on this is terrible. I have played a total of almost a dozen games, and only one time did the opposition not score 10 runs on my team. My team shouldn't be that bad. I played last year's game and that was not the case.

Now if the opposition scores 10 runs, I don't really mind if that happens as long as I can occasionally score more than 10 runs. When I scored more then 10 runs, then they scored 12 or 14. My pitcher was not tired, but you just can't throw more than about 5 strikes in a row, then the pitchers are gets loose and you end up throwing a meatball which the hitter promptly hits over the wall.

I didn't mind the hit stick 2.0 controls for the hitter, it was a bit better than just hitting a button to swing, the throw controls using the stick, I did pretty much like it there too.

Framerates drop on this game and at points make the fielder attempting to get to the gap, look like he's in slow-motion. Even when the animation goes to running of bases, it drops to looking like he's in slow-motion.

I can't believe that Take 2 had another year with the consoles and this is what we're rewarded with.

I'm definitely glad that I rented this game before purchasing this waste of money. I played almost a dozen games, and not one did I win. Not one, and the only one that was close went to the 10th inning before it was lost.
I know that my team shouldn't have won all the games, but wow, out of 12 games, I can't win one!?!?!
Not worth your money, if you're a baseball fan, definitely rent this one first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Good

posted by pitts6866 (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

Hitting stinks in this game. Your timing has to be way to precise. I want to play a Major League game not have to work like I am trying make the Yankees!!!!!!
Pitching isn't that great neither you do everything the instructions tell you to do to execute a good pitch and the thing winds up being on the opposite side of the plate and 1/2 the time being knocked out of the park.
I returned this game almost instantly, kept it for like 3-4 days and sent it packing!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the best game made.

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I gotta tell you.. this game is not as good as the '07 version! The game play is choppy and confusing.. pitching is a joke... and the graphics do not even look as good as last years version. The pitching has been totally revamped and is soooo tedious and hard it makes this game no fun to play. I would suggest trying another title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Improved over last year

posted by jdocter (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I have to say, the game plays better than it did last year and is a little more realistic. I wasn't a fan of The Show either. However, this year I have found that The Show has better gameplay, better graphics and is just much more realistic. A fun game, but I am waiting to play more of the The Show

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB 2K8

posted by JAK31919 (HOLIDAY, FL) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

THIS GAME IS GARBAGE IMPOSSIBLE TO PITCH AND HIT I WOULDNT KNOW ABOUT FIELDING THE COMPUTER EITHER HITS THE BALL OF THE FENCE OR OVER EVERYTIME I HOPE MLB THE SHOW IS BETTER OR ITS GONNA BE A LONG WAIT UNTIL THE NEW MADDEN GAME COMES OUT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse