Rent Major League Baseball 2K7 for PS3
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K7

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.4

621 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game

posted by prod4288 (FREMONT, CA) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The graphics are realistic and look great, the signature style deliveries and batting looks great... but the sixaxis batting can get really annoying, and extremely difficult, it sometimes doesn't do what u want it to do, its not very accurate... but overall its a pretty fun game. and a big improvement from last years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, but...

posted by scooterge (BALLWIN, MO) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Graphics are really good in this game, and for the most part the game play is phenomenal, with two minor issues that I have about this game.

I like the fact that you have some control choices, if you are playing this game with the default control scheme you may want to take note that the game uses the sixaxis control scheme for hitting, which is ok to use, but certainly raises the difficulty of the game.

Most of the game is fairly normal of any baseball game as in years past. I liked this game initially so much that I considered keeping it, but because of what I describe below, I'm not sure about keeping it any more.

Now two things that I didn't care for about this game were the following: when playing defense, and your opponent gets a man on first, that runner will almost always score, because your pitcher, no matter how good, how fresh he is, he will throw three straight wild pitches to score that runner from first. Very disappointed in this aspect of the game, even first inning of play your pitcher will throw not one or two wild pitches, but three to score the runner.

The other problem is that it is very disturbing how good the outfielders are at scaling the walls and taking away home runs from your offense. I've seen at least a couple of games that I've been in, that the same outfield scaled the wall 3 or 4 different times to take home runs away, same player, same game.
Unless you hit the ball so far that it's no where near the wall, it will be brought back in for an out about 9 out of 10 times.

All the while your defense usually has one maybe two opportunities to do this throughout a game.

Not sure this game was as good as I initially had thought, in fact I lowered my score, from what I had thought would be an 9 to the 7 I gave it because of these two issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Next -Gen Baseball is here(Finally!)

posted by TylersDad1 (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2003

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Even though it technically made it's next-gen debut on the Xbox 360 last year, 2K Sports baseball sim was just the Xbox/PS2 game in a higher resolution with a higher price tag. This year's game is a different story, however. The game's visuals are outstanding with its almost photo-realistic player models, but it's the little details that really grab you. When you fire up a game, you're treated to all the different little rituals that the players go through during an at-bat, and sometimes you forget that you're not watching a real game.

While visuals and atmosphere are important, if the gameplay isn't there, you're not gonna play the thing and thankfully, this game does not disappoint. 2K Sports delivers a rock-solid experience in that department. The pitching is done very well and having the catcher suggesting how to pitch to the hitters is pretty cool.

I'm not a big fan of the Swing Stick, but after trying it for a few games, I quickly got the hang of it and now it's my preferred batting method. The game also offers Sixaxis batting control, but it's really not my cup of tea(I'd rather have rumble any day). Standard face-button control is there as well, so most people should be able to find a style that fits them the best.

The game is not perfect, though. While the commentary is quite good, some of it has been recycled and repeats itself way too often. Also, the AI players are very good at making diving catches, wall grabs, and over-the-shoulder catches--a little too good in my opinion. Home runs can be a bit too plentiful, but most of these issues can be adjusted via the game's sliders, so you can tinker with it until you get it to your liking.

Overall, Major League 2K7 is a home run and is definitely worthy of a rental or purchase for baseball sim fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty cool for a baseball game

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I think this game overall is pretty good, but it has room for improvement, for Ex, im not really crazy about the pitching controls.

And also for people who already played this game and are having a hard time hitting. Make sure you use the classic hitting controls instead of sixaxis hitting. You may access classic hitting using the "My VIP options"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Shouldn't I be Getting Paid For This?

posted by theSTUD53 (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you ever thought to yourself, "Man, I would be a great GM for the Yankees. Georgie boy should really give me a chance." Then you might want to check this game out. You can customize almost anything about a team and you can take the helm and just run a team any old way you want. It starts out awesome too, but after a few months of the schedule go by it starts to feel like work. The game quickly becomes more tedious then exciting, but why try a new game mode? I mean you have already put so much time into this GM mode you would kill yourself knowing it was for not. So keep plugging away, signing free agents keeping the hitters happy, and being as delicate as possible with your star ace. Once you actually play some games though you will find that this game comes with some outstanding presentation. They give some great insight into baseball with the FOX pregame crew then ESPN's own John Miller and Joe Morgan doing play by play and color commentary, really with John and Joe they doing the in game announcing they struck gold. Some of the controls are mushy, and base running can become more difficult then washing paint off your neighbors cat because you wondered how a paintball would affect him. Some great features make this a fun game but most of them are only appealing to the hardcore baseball fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definately Cool

posted by PanzerAce (Brooklyn, NY) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This is a cool game. I think people should give it a shot. Although the gamemakers haven't quite used the Six Axis that well, it really takes off the extra fun the PS3 posses. Overall graphics and gameplay is good but yeah I think people should give it a shot. I liked it and maybe you would like it too.

->Ace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Baserunner needs work

posted by bigbigfly8 (METAIRIE, LA) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like the pitching and batting aspect of it. Fielding and baserunning are horrid and nowhere near realistic or easy to use

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Game is Horrible - MLB '06 on PS/2 blows it away

posted by ScottNY (SCHENECTADY, NY) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Not sure why all the glowing reviews, not sure if anyone has ever played any of the other baseball games release beforehand.

MLB '06 The Show on PS/2 blows this game away. The graphics were weak at best, and the gameplay was horrible. What were they thinking with the Sixaxis motion control batting?

Thank goodness I only rented this through GameFly and didn't purchase it. Now will wait patiently for MLB '07 The Show in April.

Great thing about GameFly is that you can try these before buying, so no risk to make your own conclusion as to whether you like it. If you do, great. This is just my $0.02.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Man WOW!

posted by Glenjamin (FRESNO, CA) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Well let me start by saying the game has great graphics but other than that..... it has lame controls. The controller doesn't act on the drop of a dime very disappointed. I would rather watch Oprah than play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I hate this game.

posted by marmit66 (ELKHART, IN) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I spent twenty minutes in practice mode just trying to hit one pitch and I couldn't do it. The controls on this game are horrible and I am yet to be able to hit a single pitch. I'm not sure why Playstation feels the need to change controls every year. Six Axis on the PS3 is a joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Vs Bad

posted by lltpppdove (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

The Bad

First off the pitching needs some improvement. When you start getting into extra innings, something happens to the pitching were you aim it in one spot and it says it was thrown in another spot. That was a little hard for me on the season campaign. Second Off, the teams didn't really have a "Difficulty" difference, So its like playing the Oriels versus the Yankee's They ran just as fast and some of the hitters were hitting better then A rod. Third Off The hitting was very difficult unless turned on classic controls, nearly impossible to hit home runs or even hit a consistent ground ball. Fourth Off when play a game your innings can sometimes only last up to 2 minutes making the AI a little to difficult

The Good

They have a very unique custom character creating system that lets you build a character that's a baseball god or someone that lacks in the baseball department. The season campaign lets you take full advantage of your team and lets you give a pep speech Roster changes, Line up changes, Management showdown, to setting the ticket price. The use of the inside edge gives you an advantage over your opponent making it easy to strike out that so called batter. The AI has a very competitive difficulty making the game a little harder. And They allow you to change the difficulty and pace of the game making games last longer and a little bit more challenging. The SIXAXIS controls need some work but if you like them they can give you some advantage over hitting the ball, if your a professional.

OVER ALL ASPECTS

The game might need some improvements and tweaks but it is the best one of the Franchise. And is a better choice then the newest one MLB 2K 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could be better..

posted by PharCyDe (WALKER, LA) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

Although there isn't too much you can do with a baseball game...the controls are not all that great. The pitching is kind of awkward and if you don't use the classic controls for batting you will find yourself even more frustrated. Not a bad game, but could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MLB 2K7 is not "A Whole New Ballgame"

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Presentation: 7/10

Presentation is a high point of this game. Replays and cutscenes look great. Looks like you are watching a real baseball game.

Graphics: 5/10

Character models and the field looks terrific (life like). Stadiums and the crowd look hideous however. Framerate/Slowdowns are a major problem with this game which hurt this category deeply.

Sound: 8/10

The soundtrack is good. Most importantly, the commentary is great. It gets repetitive after awhile but listening to Miller and Morgan feels like you are watching a real game. They do a good job.

Gameplay: 4/10

Gameplay is the weakest point of the game. Hitting is bad and does not feel natural especially with the Sixaxis imprements. Everything hit is either a homerun or a double. Fielding is by far the worst. It is hard to see where the ball is in the infield. Overrunning the ball is something you will be accustomed
too. Pitching is a high point of the three. I like the speed/accuracy mechanics. Motions look realistic too. Not a fan of the controls either.

Overall: 5/10

Pros: Replays/Cutscenes look great, commentary is nice to listen to, many elements of the game are life-like.

Cons: Framerate and slowdowns are a hassle and they will distract you. Gameplay/Controls are weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid gameplay with some flaws.

posted by Muthachugg (KINGSTON, TN) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Mlb 2k7 as a sum of its parts is a solid baseball game on the ps3 platform. Good online features on a game outside of the xbox360 platform is rarely seen. Although this title could of done more in this department I was content based upon any previous concerns I might of had. In terms of gameplay, there is finaly a baseball game that made me enjoy pitching. This might be a slight to the batting however. Firstly, it is slightly too hard making contact. And when you do hit the ball it is likely a home run. As for the franchise mode, it is pretty well featured and shouldn't disappoint. The only thing left to be desired in this department would be a more fleshed out minor league/farming system. The sound is more than competent with good comentary and a stellar soundtrack(in my opinion). Unfortunatly the game is not without flaws. The ability to edit player attributes mid season makes the franchise too easy unless you have the discipline to not to cheat in this devious method. Also, there are problems with the player advancements in terms of attributes throughout a franchise. Alphoso Soriano shouldn't loose 5 pts. in overall ratings after one season. The baserunning control mechanism is below average at best. Unless you have magik hands, it is hard to advance one player around the bases at a time. This usually leaves one of your players getting thrown out at a base you didn't want him running to. Also, the base stealing mechanism is frustrating and should be avoided all together during play even though this is an intergal part of runs scoring in the sport. On to the graphics. The player models look amazing and everything else looks like something from the ps2. In the end, baseball fans will get tons of enjoyment out of the game if they can overlook some of the many minor flaws. If your on the fence, then ask yourself if you are a big fan of baseball. If so then go for it. The flaws are easily overlooked if you have enjoyed past baseball games. Score:7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this and 360

posted by priest401 (NORWICH, CT) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

360 is better. however six axis is cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great sim

posted by sjl651 (HUDSON, WI) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Other then the siaxais issue, ( go to clasic control ) its a 100x better then road to the show... rent em both and make the decision... but if u go for graphics... mlb 2k7 will blow the show away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun

posted by llamafuns (RAMONA, CA) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game is a great baseball game. The graphics arent to good but this game is very realistic.Dont use stick axis use classic control. i was playing this game for like an hour and not hitting the ball because i was pressing x. I give it an 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its about time.

posted by eddieriver (KNOX, IN) Jul 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I will be completely honest with you guys. I dont even like baseball games,, annnnnnd,, i only played the demo. Why did i rate this a perfect 10? Well the fact is i used to love baseball games, back when it was easy to pitch and hit. Game companys took all the fun out of baseball when they started making them so complicated that It took all the fun out of baseball games for me. Then i played mlb 2k7, The pitching is natural and fluid, even though i didnt get it right at first. And i have to say that hitting the ball is actually fun now, and I say that because I dont have to worry about hitting the ball hard or soft with different buttons, and all the other downfalls that these games have infected our minds with. One swing with your controler is it. Everyone is complaining about how hard it is. I think its easier than even the NES games like bases loaded. I dont know what else to say besides im actually having fun playing baseball games now, and i cant wait to tell all my friends and family about this amazing achievment 2k did. 2K has done nothing but blow my mind since it came out with nba2k for the dreamcast. Besides Madden, I dont wanna ever play a sports game that doesnt have the 2k label on it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but has some flaws

posted by EricPS3 (SUNLAND, CA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game is great although there are a few flaws like the fact that at least 2 home runs will be robbed and its really annoying. Also it seems like sometimes certain games it will seem like you are supposed to lose the game because even if you pitch great they'll hit them anyway and its very frustrating. And that other guy who posted a review said if someone gets on first they will score because of three wild pitches you cant do anything about it, that's not true at all, it has never ever happened to me. Overall this is a great game and im glad i bought it, im already on like my fifth 40 game season and its a lot of fun so i reccomend this game to everyone, hope this review is helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

MLB 2K7

posted by WISteel (TURTLE LAKE, WI) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I bought this game because of a suggestion from a guy on my buddy list. I've played other baseball games, and they (for the most part) have the same huge flaw...After a season is complete, you feel like it's just not worth playing again. This game is no different. I played a full 162 game season (skipping my 5th starters games) and after finishing the world series, I realized there wasn't enough money in the world to make me suffer through that again. On line play is HORRIBLE, the lag from the time you press the swing button until the player moves on screen is sad. I played 3 on line games against another player, and either we are both the absolute worst at hitting or it's the lag, because in those three games I don't remember there being more than 10 hits total between both of us, and I know he rung me up 13 times on strikeouts in one game. During my season I struck out with all my batters less than 100 times as a team. I would recommend this game to anyone who has a weekend or two to kill, but if given the option to buy or rent it all over, I would rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as 360

posted by Yomama8762 (GARDNERVILLE, NV) Jun 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

First of all PS3 is way overpriced and it looks the same as Xbox 360. I got a refund for my PS3 and spent it on 360 games, the only different thing about PS3 is Blue Ray, but that isn't so great either, i recommend HD DVD. Plus the 360 has a much wider selection of games. Save a couple hundred bucks and get an Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by ncsurules7 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

I didnt think that it was too great. The other mlb game is much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok i guess

posted by TMAC06 (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Jun 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

this game isn't as good as the 360 version. mostly the same but frame rate is total bunk. this will prevent you from wanting to play multiple games. good game if you have no 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good

posted by gimmedagam (WOODHAVEN, NY) Jun 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

This game has excellent graphics,and features.
The sixaxis leys you feel like you're hitting the ball.And the new baserunner mode lets you play
as the baserunner.I really did'nt like the sixaxis
it was so hardto hit a ball.Everything else is killer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok but could be better

posted by srt4driver (SANTEE, CA) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I liked the game overall it was pretty fun to play the pitching took some time to get use to but after that it is just like any other baseball, game I would say try it first before you buy I'm glad I did because MLB 07 The show is way better in all aspects. The biggest thing I didn't really like was the fact that they(MLB 2k7) made it way to easy to rob home runs, I mean they had Barry Bonds rob me of a home run!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse